DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 12th August 2026.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 12-16 and 19 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12th August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the light receiving opening…to the first direction”) are not recited in the rejected claims. [[Here, Applicant argues that none of the cited references disclose or suggest at least the aforementioned feature of present claim 1.]] However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 12th August 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Weng and Lee’521 addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Weng, Lee’521 and Lee’911 in the present Office Action.
In response to applicant’s arguments, page 11, paragraph 3-4, filed on 12th August 2026, that “it is improper to rely on drawings of the cited art to allegedly disclose proportions of features in the drawings when the drawings are not to scale”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in Fig. 2B, paragraph [0026] of Weng’s invention, “in order to detect ambient signals in a wider range…is a height difference between the second receiving unit ALS and the first receiving unit PS”. Therefore, drawing 2B is considered to be scaled based on the relative heights H1 and H2 and the PA is describing a mode of manufacture of the entire detector on substrate 200. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conceivably recognize that the two FOVs would also be relative.
In response to applicant’s arguments, page 11, last paragraph trough page 12 first paragraph, that teaching reference of “Sony Lidar sensor (Sony AS-DT1)” and “(LG counter-depth MAX refrigerator)” don’t qualify as prior art due to date issue. Two new teaching references are replaced and calculations are updated in current Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Weng et al. (U.S. 20170186886 A1, hereinafter “Weng”), modified in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 20170061521 A1, hereinafter “Lee’521”), in view of Lee (US 20160029911 A1, hereinafter “Lee’911”),.
Regrading claim 1, Weng teaches at least one distance measuring apparatus (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20), wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus comprises:
a distance sensor comprising:
a light emitting unit configured to irradiate light toward a front of the distance sensor and emit the irradiated light in a measurement direction of the distance sensor to a first field of view (first FoV) within a first angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light emitting unit (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20 includes a signal emitting unit 220 (same as proximity sensing element 120 in Fig. 1). The sensor 20 emits a light signal [0005] to the object and detector reflected light from the object by the receiving unit PS to determine the distance to the object. There is no mention of the field of view of the emitter, but would be obvious to skill of art to recognize the FoV would be the area that the signal emitting light emitted by emitting unit 220 as shown below in Fig. 1. And the angle would be the angle from the normal line of the emitting unit 220 to the edge of the emitted signal. See marked Ө1 in Fig. 1 below),
a light receiving unit configured to receive light reflected from an object and incident from the measurement direction in a second field of view (second FoV) within a second angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light receiving unit (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20 includes a first receiving unit PS; [0026], receiving unit PS has a FoV of A_Ps. There is no mention of 2nd angle but would be obvious to skill of art to recognize the 2nd angle would be the angle from the normal line of the receiving unit PS to the edge of the FoV A_PS. See marked Ө2 in Fig. 1 below); and
the first angle and the second angle are different from each other (Weng; Clear seen from Fig. 2A, 2B, the FoV of the emitting unit 220 is larger than the FoV (A_PS) of the receiving unit PS, the 1st and 2nd angle would be different as expected; furthermore, the drawing is considered to scale based on the description [0026] of relative heights H1 and H2 and the PA is describing a mode of manufacture of the entire detection on substrate, see more detailed in response to argument above).
a sensor cover comprising a light receiving opening portion configured to pass a portion of light incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light incident on the second FoV (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], [0026], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening provides a path for reflected light to the receiver and block portion of light to the receiver).
wherein the distance sensor is configured to:
determine, by calculation based on the reflected light received by the light receiving unit, a distance to the object (Weng; [0025], the sensor 20 emits a light signal [0005] to the object and detector reflected light from the object by the receiving unit PS to determine the distance to the object).
Fig. 1, on the right hand side, the light emitting unit with opening PN2 with the FoV and 1st angle Ө1 as marked; on the left hand side, the light receiving opening PN1 with the FoV (A_PS) and 2nd angle Ө2 as marked.
Weng does not teach,
A refrigerator comprising:
a body including at least one door at a front of the refrigerator; and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body,
the light receiving opening portion having a width in a first direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light receiving unit that is less than a width in a second direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the first direction,
Lee’521 teaches,
A refrigerator (Lee’521; Fig. 2, a refrigerator 1) comprising:
a body including at least one door at a front of the refrigerator (Lee’521; Fig. 1, [0092], the refrigerator 1 (includes at least one front door as shown)); and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body (Lee’521; [0092], the refrigerator 1 may include a proximity sensor 150; [0095], the proximity sensor 150 may be installed in the front part of the refrigerator 1. The proximity sensor 150 may measure a distance from the front part of the refrigerator 1 to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to apply the distance measuring apparatus from Weng to replace the proximity sensor on a refrigerator from Lee’521 to detect the distance from the refrigerator to the human when approaching. Using Weng’s sensor with package cover 250 which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) and close to floor to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device and the floor.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521 still not teach,
the light receiving opening portion having a width in a first direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light receiving unit that is less than a width in a second direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the first direction.
Lee’911 disclosed in Figs. 4A,-4D, [0068], the light detector PLDSD 332 is covered by the pre-molded cover structure 432 includes a pre-molded cavity 452 covered by a window 454 from the light transmissive molding compound and ; [0090], each of the window (e.g., 444, 454) of the pre-molded cover structure was shown as having a rectangular shape (implies the opening portion of the light receiving having a different width and length in first and second direction which are perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light receiving unit). It is also within the scope of embodiments of the present technology that the windows of the pre-molded cover structure can have alternative shapes, such as circular, oval, pentagonal, hexagonal, octagonal, or the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having a rectangle shape of the opening window predictably to constrain the light from one direction rather than the other direction.
Regarding claim 9, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensor cover comprises a light emitting opening portion configured to pass a portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV and block a remaining portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening provides a path for light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the FoV and block a remaining portion of light to the FoV as expected).
Regarding claim 10, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein the sensor cover is configured such that a portion of the sensor cover is adjacent one surface of the distance sensor, so that the light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV is not reflected by the sensor cover as to be incident on the light receiving unit (Weng; Fig. 2, package cover 250; the cover is attached to the substrate 200).
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng modified in view of Lee’521, in view of Lee’911, in view of Yoon (US 20210270519 A1, hereinafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 2, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1.
Weng does not teach, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to block light incident from the second FoV that is reflected by the body.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the body. See Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the distance measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Fig. 2, the sensor is attached to the bottom of the refrigerator (top) and floor (bottom). On the top contact with refrigerator door, the light receiving opening portion PN1 is provided to block light reflected by the body (dash-line) and incident from among the light incident (dash-dot-line) on the FoV A_PS; On the bottom contact with the floor (or 2nd door), the light receiving opening portion PN1 is provided to block light reflected by a floor (dash-line) where the refrigerator is placed and incident (dash-dot-line) on the second FoV.
Regarding claim 3, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1.
Weng does not teach, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to block light incident from the second FoV that is reflected by a floor where the refrigerator is placed.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the distance measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) and close to floor to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device and the floor.
Regarding claim 11, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9.
Weng does not teach, wherein the light emitting opening portion is configured to block light irradiated to the first FoV toward the body or a floor on which the refrigerator is placed.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the body. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the distance measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light emitted from sensor to the electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein a width of the light emitting opening portion in the first direction of the light emitting opening portion is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion in the first direction (Weng; Fig. 2 clearly shows that the width of the emitter opening area PN2 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion PN1 along both directions which are perpendicular to the front direction of the sensor), and
Weng does not teach
the first direction of the light emitting opening portion and the first direction of the light receiving opening portion are perpendicular to a direction toward a front of the refrigerator.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator (implies the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the sensor). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 13, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to:
pass light having an incident angle in the first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is less than a first blocking angle, and
block light having an incident angle in the first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a first blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the first blocking angle).
the light emitting opening portion is configured to:
pass light having an irradiation angle in a first direction of the light emitting opening portion that is less than a second blocking angle, and
block light having an irradiation angle in the first direction of the light emitting opening portion that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN2 pass light having an irradiation angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an irradiation angle that is greater than the second blocking angle), and
the second blocking angle is greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], shows that the width of the emitter opening area PN2 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion PN1 along both directions implies the second blocking angle is greater than the first blocking angle).
Weng does not teach,
the first direction is perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator,
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed, here the first direction is downward direction toward to the floor (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator. Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the body or floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the distance measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Weng teaches, at least one distance measuring apparatus, and at least one distance measuring apparatus includes (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20) comprises:
a distance sensor including:
a light emitting unit and a light receiving unit configured to irradiate light toward a front of the distance sensor and emit the irradiated light in a measurement direction of the distance sensor to a first field of view (FoV) within a first angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light emitting unit (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20 includes a signal emitting unit 220 (same as proximity sensing element 120 in Fig. 1). The sensor 20 emits a light signal [0005] to the object and detector reflected light from the object by the receiving unit PS to determine the distance to the object. There is no mention of the field of view of the emitter, but would be obvious to skill of art to recognize the FoV would be the area that the signal emitting light emitted by emitting unit 220 as shown below in Fig. 1. And the angle would be the angle from the normal line of the emitting unit 220 to the edge of the emitted signal. See claim 1 marked Ө1 in Fig. 1 above), and
the light receiving unit configured to receive light reflected from an object and incident from the measurement direction in a second field of view (second FoV) within a second angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light receiving unit (Weng; Fig. 2B, [0025], the sensor 20 includes a first receiving unit PS; [0026], receiving unit PS has a FoV of A_Ps. There is no mention of 2nd angle but would be obvious to skill of art to recognize the 2nd angle would be the angle from the normal line of the receiving unit PS to the edge of the FoV A_PS. See claim 1 marked Ө2 in Fig. 1 above); and
the first angle and the second angle are different from each other (Weng; Clear seen from Fig. 2A, 2B, the FoV of the emitting unit 220 is larger than the FoV (A_PS) of the receiving unit PS, the 1st and 2nd angle would be different as expected), and
a sensor cover including a light receiving opening portion configured to pass a portion of light incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light incident on the second FoV (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening provides a path for reflected light to the receiver and block portion of light to the receiver).
wherein the distance sensor is configured to:
determine, by calculation based on the reflected light received by the light receiving unit, a distance to the object (Weng; [0025], the sensor 20 emits a light signal [0005] to the object and detector reflected light from the object by the receiving unit PS to determine the distance to the object).
Weng does not teach,
an electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
a body; and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body;
the light receiving opening portion having a width in a first direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light receiving unit that is less than a width in a second direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the first direction,
Lee’521 teaches,
an electronic apparatus (Lee’521; Fig. 2, a refrigerator 1) comprising:
a body; (Lee’521; Fig. 2, a refrigerator); and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body (Lee’521; [0092], the refrigerator 1 may include a proximity sensor 150; [0095], the proximity sensor 150 may be installed in the front part of the refrigerator 1. The proximity sensor 150 may measure a distance from the front part of the refrigerator 1 to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to apply the distance measuring apparatus from Weng to replace the proximity sensor on a refrigerator from Lee’521 to detect the distance from the refrigerator to the human when approaching. Using Weng’s sensor with package cover 250 which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) and close to floor to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device and the floor.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521 still not teach,
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
the light receiving opening portion having a width in a first direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light receiving unit that is less than a width in a second direction of the light receiving opening portion perpendicular to the first direction.
Lee’911 disclosed in Figs. 4A,-4D, [0068], the light source PLSSD 312 (the light detector PLDSD 332) is covered by the pre-molded cover structure 432 includes a pre-molded cavity 442 (452) covered by a window 444 (454) from the light transmissive molding compound and ; [0090], each of the window (e.g., 444, 454) of the pre-molded cover structure was shown as having a rectangular shape (implies the opening portion of the light transmitting/light receiving having a different width and length in first and second direction which are perpendicular to the normal line passing through the center of the light transmitting/ light receiving unit). It is also within the scope of embodiments of the present technology that the windows of the pre-molded cover structure can have alternative shapes, such as circular, oval, pentagonal, hexagonal, octagonal, or the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having a rectangle shape of the opening window predictably to constrain the light from one direction rather than the other direction.
Nevertheless, Weng modified in view of Lee’521 and Lee’911 still not teach,
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
Yoon teaches,
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
(Yoon; [0047], the memory 150 is typically implemented to store data to support various functions of features of the refrigerator 1. For instance, the memory 150 may include a non-transitory memory configured to store application programs to be executed in the refrigerator 1, data or instructions for operations of the refrigerator 1, and the like; [0049] the controller 100 may control at least some of the components shown in Fig. 1A to execute application programs store in the memory 170. The controller may control at least two of those components included in the refrigerator to activate the application programs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, include a memory to store one or more instructions; a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to implement the controller to execute application programs stored in the memory and control at least two of those components included in the refrigerator to activate the application programs (Yoon; [0047]-[0050]).
Regrading claim 17, Weng as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 16, wherein the sensor cover further includes a light emitting opening portion configured to pass a portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit and block a remaining portion of the light irradiated from the light emitting unit (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN2 pass light having an irradiation angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an irradiation angle that is greater than the second blocking angle).
Regrading claim 18, Weng as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein a width of the light emitting opening portion in a first direction is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion in the first direction (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, shows that the width of the emitter opening area PN2 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion PN1 along both directions).
Regrading claim 19, Weng as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in the first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a first blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the first blocking angle).
the light emitting opening portion is configured to pass light with an irradiation angle in a first direction of the light emitting opening portion that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an irradiation angle in the first direction of the light emitting opening portion that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0026], Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN2 pass light having an irradiation angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an irradiation angle that is greater than the second blocking angle),
the second blocking angle is greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, shows that the width of the emitter opening area PN2 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion PN1 along both directions).
Weng does not teach,
the first direction of the light receiving opening portion and the first direction of the light emitting opening portion are perpendicular to a direction toward a front of the at least one distance measuring apparatus, and
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed, here the first direction is downward direction toward to the floor (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator. Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the distance measuring sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 250 can block light reflected from the body or floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
the first direction is perpendicular to a front of the distance measuring apparatus (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed) and the proximity sensor 700 is facing the front direction of the refrigerator such that the first direction is perpendicular to the front of the proximity sensor),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regrading claim 20, Weng as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein the sensor cover includes a portion that is adjacent a surface of the distance sensor such that the light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV is not reflected by the sensor cover so as to be incident on the light receiving unit (Weng; Fig. 2, package cover 250; the cover is attached to the substrate 200).
Claim(s) 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng modified in view of Lee’521, in view of Lee’911 in view of Yoon, in view of Shamlian et al. (US 20140257622 A1, hereinafter “Shamlian”).
Regarding claim 4, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass:
passing light having an incident angle in a second direction of the at least one door opposite to the first direction of the at least one door that is less than a first blocking angle, and
block light having an incident angle in the second direction of the at least one door that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a first blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the first blocking angle), and
Weng does not teach, the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door,
the first direction of the at least one door is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator,
the first blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the second direction of light reflected by a surface of the at least one door in the first direction of the at least one door toward the light receiving unit.
Yoon teaches, the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed),
the first direction of the at least one door is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator (Yoon; Fig. 7, the 1st direction here is downward direction toward to the floor. Which is perpendicular to the forward direction of the front of the refrigerator),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Yoon still not teach,
the first blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the second direction of light reflected by a surface of the at least one door in the first direction toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Using Fig. 2 above in claim 2 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by a surface of the door (or floor on the other side) is shown below. Two teaching references are used here for calculation: including the dimension of German Lidar tech startup Blickfeld (Series A), and the thickness of a LG refrigerator (LNXS 30996D refrigerator).
FOV angle of receiver/emitter (Өb) is as small as 5 degree;
German Lidar tech Lidar sensor dimension (2 (w) x 2 (H) x 2 (D) inch); and assuming the receiver/emitter is positioned in the center of the Lidar which is about 1 inches away from the door;
The thickness of the LG refrigerator (LNXS 30996D refrigerator) is in the range of (5 inches);
Based on the geometry calculation, the minimum blocking distance x along the door (or floor on the other side) will be:
X = 1 / tan(5) = 11.4 (inches).
The minimum blocking distance x is larger than the thickness of front door of the refrigerator as shown in the calculation, Shamlian’ proximity sensor with a small FOV (5 degrees) can satisfied the claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 5, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is attached to a side of the at least one door in the first direction of the at least one door (Lee’521; Fig. 2, a refrigerator 1 includes at least one door, see mapping of claim 1 for detail), and
Weng does not teach, the first direction of the at least one door is along a direction from a center of the at least one door toward a handle of the at least one door. However, known sensors for detecting the distance of a human are generally known and applicant is simply placing sensor in different direction. MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts)
Regarding claim 7, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a second blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the second blocking angle), and
Weng does not teach, wherein the first direction of the at least one door is along a downward direction of the refrigerator,
the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed,
an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the second blocking angle.
Yoon teaches, wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator,
the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed (Yoon; Fig. 7, shows the lower surface of the at least one door (door 240, 230) is adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator is placed),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator; wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator; the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Yoon still not teach,
an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit is greater than the second blocking angle.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the floor shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the floor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator; wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator; the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
Regarding claim 8, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in a downward direction that is less than a blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is equal to or greater than the blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the blocking angle), and
Weng does not teach, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed,
the blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit.
Yoon teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Yoon still not teach,
the blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the floor shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the floor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng modified in view of Lee’521, in view of Lee’911, in view of Yoon, in view of Shamlian, in view of Kim’601 et al. (US 20200327601 A1, hereinafter “Kim’601”).
Regarding claim 6, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the blocking angle), and
Weng does not teach,
wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door,
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door,
the second blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the first direction of light reflected by a surface in the second direction of the second door toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the door shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the door (replace the floor with a 2nd door) and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the 2nd door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Yoon, Shamlian still not teach,
wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door,
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door,
Kim’601 teaches, wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door (Kim’601; Fig. 1, [0051], [0072], sensor 161 included in sensing unit 160 is located in between two door; [0078], the sensing unit 160 may include a proximity sensor capable of detecting a user proximate to the refrigerator 100),
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door (same as above),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Weng, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian, include sensors arranged in between two doors taught by Kim’601 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put sensor unit 160 in between door to detector a user approaching the refrigerator (Kim’601; [0051], [0072], [0078]). Furthermore, known sensors for detecting the distance of a human are generally known and applicant is simply placing sensor in different direction. MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts)
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng modified in view of Lee’521, in view of Lee’911, in view of Kim’715 (US 20210285715 A1, hereinafter “Kim’715”), in view of Yoon, in view of Pacala et al. (US 20190011567 A1, hereinafter “Pacala”).
Regarding claim 14, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, a light receiving opening portion of each of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses is provided to pass light with an incident angle in a first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction of the light receiving opening portion that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the blocking angle),
Weng does not teach,
wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and are arranged to have a certain angular difference such that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a direction toward the front of the refrigerator.
Kim'715 teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door).
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction from the door of refrigeration to the sensors (downward direction)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, include to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use more than one sensor on the refrigerator to predictably broad the detection field of view.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Kim’715 does not teach,
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to front direction of the refrigerator (implies the first/second direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the package housing 250 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, include apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect the distance of human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Nevertheless, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
Pacala teaches the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction (Pacala; Fig. 20, [0186], a simplified top-down illustration of an exemplary LIDAR system 2000 that includes more than one set of emission and detection systems to achieve an expanded field of view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, include apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon, include the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to arrange a plurality of the lidar sensor in one direction which has certain angles different such that to achieve an expanded field of view (Pacala; [0186]).
Regarding claim 15, Weng as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, a light receiving opening portion of each of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses is configured to pass light with an incident angle in a first direction that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Weng; Fig. 2A, 2B, [0025], a package housing 250 (made of material with obstructing effect) with opening PN1 and PN2 for limiting signal path. This implies the opening PN1 pass light having incident angle that is less than a blocking angle and block light having an incident angle that is greater than the blocking angle),
Weng does not teach,
wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the refrigerator includes:
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a direction toward a front of the refrigerator.
Kim'715 teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door).
the refrigerator comprises a first distance measuring module and a second distance measuring module (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction of the front direction of the refrigeration, and 1st direction (here refer to the direction of the door to the sensor; downward direction)).
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction from the door of refrigeration to the sensors (downward direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, to include a plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use more than one sensor on the refrigerator to predictably broad the detection field of view.
However, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Kim’715, does not teach,
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to a direction toward a front of the refrigerator.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to front of the refrigerator (implies the first/second direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator). Combined with the distance measuring sensor taught by Weng modified in view of Lee’521 from claim 1, when the sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the package housing 250 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, to include a plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Weng’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Nevertheless, Weng modified in view of Lee’521, Lee’911, Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
Pacala teaches a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Pacala; Fig. 20, [0186], a simplified top-down illustration of an exemplary LIDAR system 2000 that includes more than one set of emission and detection systems to achieve an expanded field of view. The first distance measuring module can be 2002a-2002e. And the second distance measuring module can be 2002f-2002i).
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction (same as above and consider 2002a-2002e as the first distance measuring module),
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction (same as above and consider 2002f-2002i as the second distance measuring module),
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction (same as above and Fig. 20 also shows that the distance measuring module is apart from each other), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Weng to apply the distance measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Lee’521, include the rectangular shape of the window opening taught by Lee’911, to include a plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon, include 2 set of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to arrange a plurality of the lidar sensor and separated into two sets (2002a-2002e for 1st set and 2002f-2002i for 2nd set) in one direction which has certain angles different such that to achieve an expanded field of view (Pacala; [0186]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goh et al. (US 10107911 B1) disclosed in Figs. 3-4, column 5, line 66, another difference between the proximity sensor Z of Figs. 1-2 and the proximity sensor Z of Figs. 3-4 is that the first opening A1 of the proximity sensor Z of Figs. 3-4 is smaller than the first opening A1 of the proximity sensor Z of Figs. 1-2. More specifically, the way the present embodiment reduces the man radius of the first opening A1 is adjusting the chamfer structure C and forming the first opening A1 into an elliptic shape. Implies the FOV of the emitter 21 (elliptic shape) and the FOV of the receiver 31 (circular shape) in Fig. 4 are different.
Hashimoto et al. (JP 2018138865 A) disclosed in Figs. 1-3, [0033], [0079], a human body detecting means 42 (proximity sensor or an infrared sensor) is positioned on the back of the refrigerator door to detector the user’s feet F.
Heidemann et al. (DE 102013101204 A1) disclosed in Fig. 1, [0027], [0029], , a radar sensor 6 to detect a user’s foot 12.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645