DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 12th December, 2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-20 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12th December, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “configured to irradiate light toward a front of the distance sensor and emit the irradiated light in a measurement direction of the distance sensor to a first field of view (first FoV) within a range of a first angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light emitting unit”, “reflected from an object and incident from the measurement direction in a second field of view (second FoV) within a range of a second angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light receiving unit” and “he first angle and the second angle are different from each other”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 12th December 2025. Therefore, the issue of whether Kim’082 and Kim’715 addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed in the present Office Action.
In response to applicant’s statement regarding interview summary filed on 12th December 2025, see page 9, “interview summary”. Applicant mentioned that amendments along the line set forth above were discussed. Based on the discussion, it is the undersigned’s understanding that Examiner understands the amendments and will consider the amendments of the response as filed.
However, the amended claims presented in interview agenda filed on 14th November 2025 is different than the amended claims presented in current case filed on 12th December 2025. Specially marked the part which were discussed in the interview for interview agenda filed on 14th November 2025, claim 1, line 14, “and determine, by calculation, a distance to the object based on the received reflected light, and …” were not presented in current amended claim. Therefore, the current claim does not overcome the prior art rejection as discussed during interview on 14th November 2025 as recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20170068082 A, hereinafter “Kim'082”) modified in view of Kim et al. (US 20210285715 A1, hereinafter Kim'715).
Regrading claim 1, Kim'082 teaches at least one distance measuring apparatus (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st/2nd light emitting portion, a light receiving portion (400)), wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus comprises:
a distance sensor comprising:
a light emitting unit configured to irradiate light toward a front of the distance sensor and emit the irradiated light in a measurement direction of the distance sensor to a first field of view (first FoV) within a range of a first angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light emitting unit (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st /2nd light emitting portion (200/300) with FOV adjusted by the 1st and 2nd lenses (610, 620), see Fig. 1 below Өb2 equivalent to 1st angle),
a light receiving unit, the light emitting unit being configured to irradiate light along a first field of view (FoV), and the light receiving unit being configured to receive light incident on a second FoV (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], a light receiving portion (400) with FOV depending on the opening (510), see Fig. 1 below Өb1 equivalent to 2nd angle); and
the first angle and the second angle are different from each other (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, clearly shows the field of view of emitting and recovering are different such that the first angle and second angle will be different as expected, see Fig. 1 below Өb2 and Өb1 are different).
a sensor cover comprising a light receiving opening portion, the light receiving opening portion being provided to pass a portion of light incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light incident on the second FoV (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 below).
Fig. 1, on the right hand side, the light receiving opening portion (510) being provided to pass a portion of light (dash-dot-line) incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light (dash-line) incident on the second FoV; on the left hand side, a light emitting opening portion (520) configured to pass a portion of light irradiated (dash-dot-line) from the light emitting unit to the first FoV and block a remaining portion of light (dash-line) irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV.
Kim'082 does not teach,
A refrigerator comprising:
a body including at least one door at a front of the refrigerator; and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body,
Kim'715 teaches,
A refrigerator (Kim'715; Fig. 1, a refrigerator 1) comprising:
a body including at least one door at a front of the refrigerator (Kim'715; Fig. 1, [0157]-[0158], a refrigerator 1 includes at least one door (door 20, 30, 40 and 50) with a sensing assembly 90); and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body (Kim'715; Fig. 1, a refrigerator 1 includes a sensing assembly 90; Fig. 13, Fig. 27, a sensing assembly 90 includes 1st detection device 92. [0345], the 1st detection device 92 includes a light emitting part 923 and a light receiving part 924).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to apply the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 to replace the detection device 92 on a refrigerator which was used to detect a user’s foot is located at the area of the image projected by the projector 91 and thus may transmit a signal for opening the main door 40 (Kim’715; [0395]). Using Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) and close to floor to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device and the floor.
Regarding claim 9, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensor cover comprises a light emitting opening portion configured to pass a portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV and block a remaining portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st/2nd light emitting portion (200/300) with FOV adjusted by the 1st and 2nd lenses (610, 620), a light receiving portion (400) with FOV depending on the opening (510). Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 520 can block part of the emitting FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein the sensor cover is configured such that a portion of the sensor cover is adjacent one surface of the distance sensor, so that the light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV is not reflected by the sensor cover as to be incident on the light receiving unit (Kim'082; Fig. 2, [0049], cover 500 includes a blocking wall positioned between the 2nd light-emitting part 200 and the light receiving part 400. The cover portion 500 can be bonded to the upper surface of the based substrate 100 to form a barrier wall. The barrier can prevent the light from the first light emitting unit 200 from being reflected elsewhere and directly directed to the light receiving unit 400, thereby preventing the light from being detected by the light receiving unit 400).
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715, in view of Yoon (US 20210270519 A1, hereinafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1.
Kim’082 does not teach, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to block light incident from the second FoV that is reflected by the body.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the body. See Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Fig. 2, the sensor is attached to the bottom of the refrigerator (top) and floor (bottom). On the top contact with refrigerator door, the light receiving opening portion (510) is provided to block light reflected by the body (dash-line) and incident from among the light incident (dash-dot-line) on the second FoV; On the bottom contact with the floor (or 2nd door), the light receiving opening portion (510) is provided to block light reflected by a floor (dash-line) where the refrigerator is placed and incident (dash-dot-line) on the second FoV.
Regarding claim 3, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1.
Kim'082 does not teach, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to block light incident from the second FoV that is reflected by a floor where the refrigerator is placed.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) and close to floor to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device and the floor.
Regarding claim 11, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9.
Kim'082 does not teach, wherein the light emitting opening portion is configured to block light irradiated to the first FoV toward the body or a floor on which the refrigerator is placed.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 from claim 1 (Kim’082; Fig. 2), when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the emitting part, the cover area 520 can block light reflected from the body. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light emitted from sensor to the electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein a width of the light emitting opening portion in a first direction is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion in the first direction (Kim'082; Fig. 1 clearly shows that the width of the emitter opening area 520 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion 510 along both directions which are perpendicular to the front direction of the sensor), and
Kim'082 does not teach
the first direction which is perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator (implies the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the sensor). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 13, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 9, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to:
pass light having an incident angle in a first direction that is less than a first blocking angle, and
block light having an incident angle in the first direction that is greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated).
the light emitting opening portion is configured to:
pass light having an irradiation angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle, and
block light with an irradiation angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 520 can block part of the emitting FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated), and
the second blocking angle is greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, shows that the width of the emitter opening area 520 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion 510 along both directions).
Kim'082 does not teach,
the first direction is perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator,
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed, here the first direction is downward direction toward to the floor (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator. Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, Kim'082 teaches, at least one distance measuring apparatus, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus includes (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st /2nd light emitting portion, a light receiving portion (400)) comprises:
a distance sensor comprising:
a light emitting unit and a light receiving unit configured to irradiate light toward a front of the distance sensor and emit the irradiated light in a measurement direction of the distance sensor to a first field of view (FoV) within a range of a first angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light emitting unit (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st /2nd light emitting portion (200/300) with FOV adjusted by the 1st and 2nd lenses (610, 620), see Fig. 1 above Өb2 equivalent to 1st angle), and
the light receiving unit configured to receive light reflected from an object and incident from the measurement direction in a second field of view (second FoV) within a range of a second angle relative to a normal line passing through a center of the light receiving unit (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], a light receiving portion (400) with FOV depending on the opening (510), see Fig. 1 above Өb1 equivalent to 2nd angle); and
the first angle and the second angle are different from each other (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, clearly shows the field of view of emitting and recovering are different such that the first angle and second angle will be different as expected, see Fig. 1 above Өb2 and Өb1 are different), and
a sensor cover comprising a light receiving opening portion, the light receiving opening portion being provided to pass a portion of light incident on the second FoV and block a remaining portion of the light incident on the second FoV (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Kim'082 does not teach,
an electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
a body; and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body;
Kim'715 teaches,
an electronic apparatus (Kim'715; Fig. 1, a refrigerator 1) comprising:
a body; (Kim'715; Fig. 1, [0157]-[0158], a refrigerator 1 includes at least one door (door 20, 30, 40 and 50) with a sensing assembly 90); and
at least one distance measuring apparatus attachable to the body (Kim'715; Fig. 1, a refrigerator 1 includes a sensing assembly 90; Fig. 13, Fig. 27, a sensing assembly 90 includes 1st detection device 92. [0345], the 1st detection device 92 includes a light emitting part 923 and a light receiving part 924).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use the measuring apparatus on a refrigerator to detect a user’s foot is located at the area of the image projected by the projector 91 and thus may transmit a signal for opening the main door 40 (Kim'715; [0395]).
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715 does not teach,
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
Yoon teaches,
a memory to store one or more instructions;
a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions;
(Yoon; [0047], the memory 150 is typically implemented to store data to support various functions of features of the refrigerator 1. For instance, the memory 150 may include a non-transitory memory configured to store application programs to be executed in the refrigerator 1, data or instructions for operations of the refrigerator 1, and the like; [0049] the controller 100 may control at least some of the components shown in Fig. 1A to execute application programs store in the memory 170. The controller may control at least two of those components include in the refrigerator to activate the application programs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715 include a memory to store one or more instructions; a processor configured to execute the one or more instructions taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to implement the controller to execute application programs stored in the memory and control at least two of those components included in the refrigerator to activate the application programs (Yoon; [0047]-[0050]).
Regrading claim 17, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 16, wherein the sensor cover further includes a light emitting opening portion configured to pass a portion of light irradiated from the light emitting unit and block a remaining portion of the light irradiated from the light emitting unit (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0038], optical sensor package includes a base substrate (100), 1st /2nd light emitting portion (200/300) with FOV adjusted by the 1st and 2nd lenses (610, 620), a light receiving portion (400) with FOV depending on the opening (510). Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 520 can block part of the emitting FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above).
Regrading claim 18, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein a width of the light emitting opening portion in a first direction is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion in the first direction (Kim'082; Fig. 1 clearly shows that the width of the emitter opening area 520 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion 510 along both directions which are perpendicular to front of the sensor), and the first direction is perpendicular to a front of the at least one distance measuring apparatus (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator (implies that the first direction would be perpendicular to the front of the sensor)).
Regrading claim 19, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in a first direction that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated).
the light emitting opening portion is configured to pass light with an irradiation angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an irradiation angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 520 can block part of the emitting FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated),
the second blocking angle is greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, shows that the width of the emitter opening area 520 is greater than a width of the light receiving opening portion 510 along both directions).
Kim'082 does not teach,
the first direction is perpendicular to a front of the at least one distance measuring apparatus, and
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed, here the first direction is downward direction toward to the floor (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator. Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
the first direction is perpendicular to a front of the distance measuring apparatus (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed) and the proximity sensor 700 is facing the front direction of the refrigerator such that the first direction is perpendicular to the front of the proximity sensor),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regrading claim 20, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the electronic apparatus as recited in claim 17, wherein the sensor cover includes a portion that is adjacent a surface of the distance sensor such that the light irradiated from the light emitting unit to the first FoV is not reflected by the sensor cover so as to be incident on the light receiving unit (Kim'082; Fig. 2, [0049], cover 500 includes a blocking wall positioned between the 2st light-emitting part 200 and the light receiving part 400. The cover portion 500 can be bonded to the upper surface of the based substrate 100 to form a barrier wall. The barrier can prevent the light from the first light emitting unit 200 from being reflected elsewhere and directly directed to the light receiving unit 400, thereby preventing the light from being detected by the light receiving unit 400).
Claim(s) 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715, in view of Yoon, in view of Shamlian et al. (US 20140257622 A1, hereinafter “Shamlian”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass:
light having an incident angle in a second direction opposite to the first direction that is less than a first blocking angle, and
block light having an incident angle in the second direction that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated; see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above regarding all direction and angle with related to refrigerator door and floor/2nd refrigerator door), and
Kim'082 does not teach, the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door,
the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator,
the first blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the second direction of light reflected by a surface of the at least one door in the first direction toward the light receiving unit.
Yoon teaches, the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed),
the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator (Yoon; Fig. 7, the 1st direction here is downward direction toward to the floor. Which is perpendicular to the forward direction of the front of the refrigerator),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715, Yoon still not teach,
the first blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the second direction of light reflected by a surface of the at least one door in the first direction toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Using Fig. 2 above in claim 2 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by a surface of the door (or floor on the other side) is shown below. Two teaching references are used here for calculation: including the dimension of a Sony Lidar sensor (Sony AS-DT1), and the thickness of a LG refrigerator (LG counter-depth MAX refrigerator).
FOV angle of receiver/emitter (Өb) is as small as 5 degree;
Sony Lidar sensor dimension (1.14 (w) x 1.14 (H) x 1.22 (D)); and assuming the receiver/emitter is positioned in the center of the Lidar which is about 0.57 inches away from the door;
The thickness of the LG refrigerator counter-depth MAX refrigerator is in the range of (2.2-3.9 inches);
Based on the geometry calculation, the minimum blocking distance x along the door (or floor on the other side) will be:
X = 0.57 / tan(5) = 6.5 (inches).
The minimum blocking distance x is larger than the thickness of front door of the refrigerator as shown in the calculation, Shamlian’ proximity sensor with a small FOV (5 degrees) can satisfied the claim limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Regarding claim 5, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is attached to a side of the at least one door in the first direction (Kim'715; Fig. 1, [0157]-[0158], a refrigerator 1 includes at least one door (door 20, 30, 40 and 50) with a sensing assembly 90), and
Kim’082 does not teach, the first direction is along a direction from a center of the at least one door toward a handle of the at least one door. However, known sensors for detecting the presence of a human are generally known and applicant is simply placing sensor in different direction. MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts)
Regarding claim 7, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated; see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above regarding all direction and angle with related to refrigerator door and floor/2nd refrigerator door), and
Kim'082 does not teach, wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator,
the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed,
an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the second blocking angle.
Yoon teaches, wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator,
the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed (Yoon; Fig. 7, shows the lower surface of the at least one door (door 240, 230) is adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator is placed),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator; wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator; the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit is greater than the second blocking angle.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the floor shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the floor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator; wherein the first direction is along a downward direction of the refrigerator; the at least one door is arranged so that a lower surface of the at least one door is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
Regarding claim 8, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in a downward direction that is less than a blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the downward direction that is equal to or greater than the blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated; see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above regarding all direction and angle with related to refrigerator door and floor/2nd refrigerator door), and
Kim'082 does not teach, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed,
the blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit.
Yoon teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is adjacent to a floor on which the refrigerator is placed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137], the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
the blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the downward direction of light reflected by the floor toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the floor shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the floor and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the floor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715, in view of Yoon, in view of Shamlian, in view of Kim et al. (US 20200327601 A1, hereinafter “Kim'601”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 4, the light receiving opening portion is configured to pass light with an incident angle in the first direction that is less than a second blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the second blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated; see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above regarding all direction and angle with related to refrigerator door and floor/2nd refrigerator door), and
Kim'082 does not teach,
wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door,
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door,
the second blocking angle is less than an incident angle in the first direction of light reflected by a surface in the second direction of the second door toward the light receiving unit.
Shamlian teaches a proximity sensor with a FOV for emitter in the range about 5-15 degrees and a FOV for receiver in the range about 5-30 degrees (Shamlian; [0090], the FOV angle β523b of the far volume emitter FOV 523b may be approximately 5-15 degrees same as near volume emitter FOV β 523a. The FOV angle β525 of the receiver FOV 525 is 1-3 times (5-30 degrees) the width of the FOV of the emitter. This implies the FOV of the receiver of the proximity sensor can be as small as 5 degree)). Similar calculation as shown in claim 4 to calculate the relationship of the blocking angle and an incident angle of light reflected by the door shows that an incident angle along the downward direction of light reflected by the door (replace the floor with a 2nd door) and directed toward the light receiving unit is greater than the third blocking angle which implies the cover can block the light from the 2nd door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor; the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the at least one door and arranged along a first direction of the at least one door; the first direction is perpendicular to a forward direction of the refrigerator taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light and Shamlian specifically defines the angle of the FOV of the proximity sensor which is small enough to block most of light reflected from the closed side wall. This predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator or floor) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the refrigerator or the floor.
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, Yoon, Shamlian still not teach,
wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door,
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door,
Kim'601 teaches, wherein the at least one door includes a first door and a second door arranged along the first direction of the first door (Kim'601; Fig. 1, [0051], [0072], sensor 161 included in sensing unit 160 is located in between two door. [0078], the sensing unit 160 may include a proximity sensor capable of detecting a user proximate to the refrigerator 100),
the at least one distance measuring apparatus is behind a front surface of the second door and between the first door and the second door (same as above),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, further to replace the proximity sensor in the lower body of the refrigerator and adjust to the floor taught by Yoon with the measuring apparatus from Kim'082, include a small receiver/emitter FOV of a proximity sensor taught by Shamlian, include sensors arranged in between two doors taught by Kim'601 with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to put sensor unit 160 in between door to detector a user approaching the refrigerator (Kim'601; [0051], [0072], [0078]). Furthermore, known sensors for detecting the presence of a human are generally known and applicant is simply placing sensor in different direction. MPEP § 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP § 2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts)
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim'082 modified in view of Kim'715, in view of Yoon, in view of Pacala et al. (US 20190011567 A1, hereinafter “Pacala”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, a light receiving opening portion of each of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses is provided to pass light with an incident angle in a first direction that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated;),
Kim'082 does not teach,
wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
Kim'715 teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door).
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction from the door of refrigeration to the sensors (downward direction)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use more than one sensor 90a and 90b for independent refrigerator doors 203 and 204 (Kim'715; [0522]).
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715 does not teach,
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to front direction of the refrigerator (implies the first/second direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Nevertheless, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction, and
Pacala teaches the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction (Pacala; Fig. 20, [0186], a simplified top-down illustration of an exemplary LIDAR system 2000 that includes more than one set of emission and detection systems to achieve an expanded field of view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon, include the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to arrange a plurality of the lidar sensor in one direction which has certain angles different such that to achieve an expanded field of view (Pacala; [0186]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim'082 as modified above teaches the refrigerator as recited in claim 1, a light receiving opening portion of each of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses is configured to pass light with an incident angle in a first direction that is less than a first blocking angle and block light with an incident angle in the first direction that is equal to or greater than the first blocking angle (Kim'082; Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0051] a cover portion (500) include 1st and 2nd opening (510, 520). Fig. 2 shows the cover opening 510 can block part of the receiving FOV; see Fig. 1 in claim 1 above regarding all direction and angle indicated; see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above regarding all direction and angle with related to refrigerator door and floor/2nd refrigerator door),
Kim'082 does not teach,
wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the refrigerator includes:
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
Kim'715 teaches, wherein the at least one distance measuring apparatus is among a plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door).
the refrigerator comprises a first distance measuring module and a second distance measuring module (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction of the front direction of the refrigeration, and 1st direction (here refer to the direction of the door to the sensor; downward direction)).
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Kim'715; Fig. 52, plurality of sensing assembly 90 (90a and 90b) is arranged in the bottom of the refrigeration door and along the direction perpendicular to the direction from the door of refrigeration to the sensors (downward direction)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use more than one sensor 90a and 90b for independent refrigerator doors 203 and 204 (Kim'715; [0522]).
However, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, does not teach,
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator.
Yoon teaches the proximity sensor 700 disposed adjacent to the floor on which the refrigerator 1 is installed (Yoon; Fig. 7, [0137]), please also see Fig. 2 in claim 2 above. The first direction will be perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigerator (since the sensor is designed to sensing the human approach to the refrigerator, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the first direction would be perpendicular to front of the refrigerator (implies the first/second direction would be perpendicular to the front of the refrigerator). Combined with the proximity sensor taught by Kim’082 (Kim’082; Fig. 2) from claim 1, when the proximity sensor is located on the lower body of the refrigerator and close to the body, in the receiver part, the cover area 510 can block light reflected from the floor. See Fig. 2 in claim 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Kim'082’s sensor has cover which block unwanted light for both emitting and receiving side. Predictably when the sensor attaches to an electronic device (such as refrigerator) to detect human approaching the electronic device, the cover can block unwanted light reflected by the electronic device.
Nevertheless, Kim'082 modified in view of Kim’715, Yoon still not teach,
a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and
a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses,
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction,
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction,
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction, and
Pacala teaches a first distance measuring module including two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses, and a second distance measuring module, including another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses (Pacala; Fig. 20, [0186], a simplified top-down illustration of an exemplary LIDAR system 2000 that includes more than one set of emission and detection systems to achieve an expanded field of view. The first distance measuring module can be 2002a-2002e. And the second distance measuring module can be 2002f-2002i).
the two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the first distance measuring module are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction (same as above and consider 2002a-2002e as the first distance measuring module),
the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses included in the second distance measuring module are arranged along the second direction, and are arranged to have an angular difference such that detection areas of the another two or more distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other in the second direction (same as above and consider 2002f-2002i as the second distance measuring module),
the second distance measuring module is arranged along the second direction and spaced apart from the first distance measuring module in the second direction (same as above and Fig. 20 also shows that the distance measuring module is apart from each other), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the measuring apparatus taught by Kim'082 to apply plurality of the measuring apparatus to a refrigerator taught by Kim'715, include arranging the position of proximity sensor in the first direction which is perpendicular to the front direction of the refrigeration taught by Yoon, include 2 set of distance measuring apparatuses are arranged to have a certain angular difference so that detection areas of the plurality of distance measuring apparatuses are radially widened without overlapping each other along the second direction taught by Pacala with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to arrange a plurality of the lidar sensor and separated into two sets (2002a-2002e for 1st set and 2002f-2002i for 2nd set) in one direction which has certain angles different such that to achieve an expanded field of view (Pacala; [0186]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645