DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (US 2014/0087227 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a first cell 22a having a first chemical composition and a second cell 22b having a second chemical composition, wherein each cell has respective cathode, anode, electrolyte, and separator wherein the cells have non-uniform current distribution has a result (paragraph 59). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a first cell 22a having a first chemical composition and a second cell 22b having a second chemical composition, wherein each cell has respective cathode, anode, electrolyte, and separator (paragraph 59); wherein the electrodes have different thicknesses (paragraph 48). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 8, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a first cell 22a having a first chemical composition and a second cell 22b having a second chemical composition, wherein each cell has respective cathode, anode, electrolyte, and separator (paragraph 59); wherein the electrodes have different loading (paragraph 42). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary.
Regarding claim 9, Shih discloses that the capacity of one cell is 10-20 less than the other (paragraph 60).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Shih discloses lithium-ion batteries for space systems (paragraphs 2 and 3).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a first cell 22a having a first chemical composition and a second cell 22b having a second chemical composition, wherein each cell has respective cathode, anode, electrolyte, and separator wherein the cells have non-uniform current distribution has a result (paragraph 59). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary.
Regarding claims 18-20, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a first cell 22a having a first chemical composition and a second cell 22b having a second chemical composition (paragraph 59). Shih discloses a third cell, fourth cell, and so on (paragraph 123). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary.
Claims 13, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0416330 A1).
Li discloses an apparatus comprising a first cell and second cell with separators having different porosities (paragraphs 18 and 19), wherein the cells comprise cathode, anode, separator, and electrolyte (paragraph 75).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Modjtahedi (US 2023/0352741 A1).
Shih discloses that the cathode is at least about 50 microns (paragraph 48) but that the anode is 0.1 to 20 microns (paragraph 88). Changes in size/proportion are not grounds for patentability, however. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. Modjtahedi—in an invention for batteries stack—discloses anodes in the range 10-70 microns for optimal pore/size ratio (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the anode of Shih to 50 microns since the cathode of Shih is this size and Modjtahedi discloses anodes of this size given that size/proportion are not grounds for patentability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2021/0043922 A1).
Shih discloses that the capacity of one cell is 10-20 less than the other (paragraph 60) but not the actual amount of loading. Huang—in an invention for solid state battery packs—discloses that the anode layer can have a loading range of 6.5-10 mg/cm2 (paragraph 28) and the cathode a range of 12-23 mg/cm2 (paragraph 29). Huang discloses that the batteries are composed to achieve higher specific capacity, stable cycle life, and enhanced stability (paragraph 24) and these values are used to achieve the targets (paragraph 54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the loading values available in Huang to optimize the batteries of Shih.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2024/0372212 A1).
Li discloses separators with different properties but not the claimed thicknesses. Chen—in an invention for a battery stack with a plurality of separators—discloses that the first and second separators can each range from 1 to 200 microns (paragraph 32). Chen discloses that separators with different properties can be tuned to the differences between the cathodes and anodes to optimize results (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the separators of Li to the known ranges taught in Chen to optimize results.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725