DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Shih and Li references still anticipates at least the independent claims but the rejections have been modified to address the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 of the Remarks directed to the anticipation of independent claims 21 and 13 in view of Shih simply state that “Shih merely discloses mismatching cells.” It is unclear why this one assertion obviates the rejections of record. The cells of the instant claims are “mismatched.” Further, the rejections have been obviated the address the amended limitations. These modified rejections are not addressed by the Remarks, including those for claim 18.
The arguments directed to claims 13 and 17 are moot since a new reference is used to reject the new limitations.
The arguments directed to the USC 103 rejections rely on ostensible deficiencies in the base references that are not maintained.
An updated search has yielded a new double patenting rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,451,553 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims recite stacked cells with a pair of endplates, wherein the cells have different thicknesses. The instant claims recite that the electrodes or separators have different thicknesses which would mean cells with different thicknesses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (US 2014/0087227 A1).
Regarding claims 21 and 4, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of outer cells 22a and an inner cell 22b to form a stack 20 (paragraph 32); a pair of endplates 21 arranged to compress the stack (paragraph 93), wherein the electrodes of 22a have a different thickness than the electrode of 22b (paragraph 48). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary. Paragraphs 41 and 42 of the instant specification state clearly that the ability to accommodate higher operating temperatures or pressures is a direct result of electrode thickness.
Regarding claims 21 and 7, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of outer cells 22a and an inner cell 22b to form a stack 20 (paragraph 32); a pair of endplates 21 arranged to compress the stack (paragraph 93), wherein the electrodes have different loading (paragraph 42). It should be noted that separators are inherent features of a battery cell as they are necessary. Paragraphs 41 and 42 of the instant specification state clearly that the ability to accommodate higher operating temperatures or pressures is a direct result of loading level.
Regarding claim 9, Shih discloses that the capacity of one cell is 10-20 less than the other (paragraph 60).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Shih discloses lithium-ion batteries for space systems (paragraphs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Shih discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of outer cells 22a on opposite sides of an inner cell 22b to form a stack 20 (paragraph 32), wherein the electrodes of 22a have a different composition than the electrode of 22b (paragraph 59). Paragraph 25 of the instant specification state clearly that the ability to accommodate different operating conditions is a direct result of compositions.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0416330 A1).
Li discloses an apparatus comprising a first cell 5a and a plurality of second cells 5b with separators having different porosities (paragraphs 18 and 19); and a plurality of endplates arranged to compress the stack (paragraph 74).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2015/0132626 A1).
Park discloses an apparatus comprising: second cells 20, 30 and a first cell 40 between the second cells (see Figure 5) with the endplates of case 10 in contact with the assemblies (paragraph 101), wherein the separators have different thicknesses from one another (paragraph 38). The amount of pressure applied to each cell is considered intended use; the instant cells would experience pressure in the same manner as the disclosed invention for the reasons give in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Modjtahedi (US 2023/0352741 A1).
Shih discloses that the cathode is at least about 50 microns (paragraph 48) but that the anode is 0.1 to 20 microns (paragraph 88). Changes in size/proportion are not grounds for patentability, however. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A. Modjtahedi—in an invention for batteries stack—discloses anodes in the range 10-70 microns for optimal pore/size ratio (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the anode of Shih to 50 microns since the cathode of Shih is this size and Modjtahedi discloses anodes of this size given that size/proportion are not grounds for patentability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Huang (US 2021/0043922 A1).
Shih discloses that the capacity of one cell is 10-20 less than the other (paragraph 60) but not the actual amount of loading. Huang—in an invention for solid state battery packs—discloses that the anode layer can have a loading range of 6.5-10 mg/cm2 (paragraph 28) and the cathode a range of 12-23 mg/cm2 (paragraph 29). Huang discloses that the batteries are composed to achieve higher specific capacity, stable cycle life, and enhanced stability (paragraph 24) and these values are used to achieve the targets (paragraph 54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the loading values available in Huang to optimize the batteries of Shih.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2024/0372212 A1).
Li discloses separators with different properties but not the claimed thicknesses. Chen—in an invention for a battery stack with a plurality of separators—discloses that the first and second separators can each range from 1 to 200 microns (paragraph 32). Chen discloses that separators with different properties can be tuned to the differences between the cathodes and anodes to optimize results (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the separators of Li to the known ranges taught in Chen to optimize results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Li.
Park discloses that the separators are porous (paragraph 52) and have different thicknesses but not different porosities. Li—in an invention for multiple cells with different properties from one another—discloses that the permeability of one separator is 1-50% greater than the other to ensure the consistency of the kinetic performance of the first-type battery cell and the second-type battery cell, thereby facilitating further improvement of the power output characteristics of the battery module during long-term cycling process (paragraph 112). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to optimize the porosity of the separators of Park so as to improve the power output characteristics of the battery module as suggested by Li.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725