DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 19 February 2026, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 8, and 15 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 8, and 15. No claims were newly added or cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers in parent application number 16/904,479, filed 17 June 2020, required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 19 November 2025, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Predovic, Daniel (U.S. 2007/0244849 and known hereinafter as Predovic) in view of Sancheti, Ashwin et al (U.S. 20180113625 and known hereinafter as Sancheti)(newly presented).
As per claim 1, Predovic teaches an apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, the memory comprising programmed instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a client, a first structured query language (SQL) query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0040], which discloses retrieving large data volume (LDV) that is requested by the user client);
execute the first SQL query against a metadata server that stores metadata of a bucket (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket.), the first list of objects having metadata satisfying a metadata relationship specified in the first SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket, where a bucket is defined as all of the data returned from a corresponding SQL query, set with a pre-defined sort order (e.g. metadata), in which upper and lower boundaries are used to specify the range of data contained in the bucket.);
receive, from the client, a second SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses receiving a request from an LDV user to retrieve or view a particular record or group of related records, LDV determines appropriate bucket that record or group is stored in and retrieves the bucket. An appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query.);
execute the second SQL query against the temporary bucket to filter the first list of objects and generate a second list of objects having a fewer number of objects than the first list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.); and
provide, to the client, the second list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.).
Predovic does not explicitly disclose the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket, the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects, wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object stored in the bucket.
Sancheti teaches the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0083-0086], which discloses secondary copies are created from the primary data (e.g. first SQL executed query), where the secondary copies can include a point-in-time data, a pointer or location indicia (e.g. reference) to the primary data. Since an instance of data object or metadata in primary data may change over time as it is modified by the application, the system may create and manage multiple secondary copies of a particular data object or metadata.), the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses secondary copy data objects can individually represent more than one primary data object, where for example, secondary copy data object represents three separate primary data objects, such as denoted by a prime (‘) mark, indicating the symbolic link.). wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object store in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses the secondary storage subsystem may process the data received from primary storage subsystem and store a secondary copy including transformed and/or supplemented representation of a primary data object and/or metadata that is different from the original format, so when the prime (‘) mark object is accessed, the secondary storage subsystem can redirect to the secondary copy associated with the prime mark primary data.).
Predovic is directed to accessing and displaying data from large data sets. Sancheti is directed to targeted snapshot based on virtual machine location. Both are analogous art because they are directed to SQL query execution and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Predovic with the teachings of Sancheti to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve on-demand execution of query objects.
As per claim 8, Predovic teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
execute the first SQL query against a metadata server that stores metadata of a bucket (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket.), the first list of objects having metadata satisfying a metadata relationship specified in the first SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket, where a bucket is defined as all of the data returned from a corresponding SQL query, set with a pre-defined sort order (e.g. metadata), in which upper and lower boundaries are used to specify the range of data contained in the bucket.);
receive, from the client, a second SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses receiving a request from an LDV user to retrieve or view a particular record or group of related records, LDV determines appropriate bucket that record or group is stored in and retrieves the bucket. An appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query.);
execute the second SQL query against the temporary bucket to filter the first list of objects and generate a second list of objects having a fewer number of objects than the first list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.); and
provide, to the client, the second list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.).
Predovic does not explicitly disclose the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket, the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects, wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object stored in the bucket.
Sancheti teaches the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0083-0086], which discloses secondary copies are created from the primary data (e.g. first SQL executed query), where the secondary copies can include a point-in-time data, a pointer or location indicia (e.g. reference) to the primary data. Since an instance of data object or metadata in primary data may change over time as it is modified by the application, the system may create and manage multiple secondary copies of a particular data object or metadata.), the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses secondary copy data objects can individually represent more than one primary data object, where for example, secondary copy data object represents three separate primary data objects, such as denoted by a prime (‘) mark, indicating the symbolic link.). wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object store in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses the secondary storage subsystem may process the data received from primary storage subsystem and store a secondary copy including transformed and/or supplemented representation of a primary data object and/or metadata that is different from the original format, so when the prime (‘) mark object is accessed, the secondary storage subsystem can redirect to the secondary copy associated with the prime mark primary data.).
Predovic is directed to accessing and displaying data from large data sets. Sancheti is directed to targeted snapshot based on virtual machine location. Both are analogous art because they are directed to SQL query execution and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Predovic with the teachings of Sancheti to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve on-demand execution of query objects.
As per claim 15, Predovic teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
execute the first SQL query against a metadata server that stores metadata of a bucket (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket.), the first list of objects having metadata satisfying a metadata relationship specified in the first SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses retrieving a large number of rows of data into a number of smaller queries, where each query specifies a set of data contained in a data bucket, where a bucket is defined as all of the data returned from a corresponding SQL query, set with a pre-defined sort order (e.g. metadata), in which upper and lower boundaries are used to specify the range of data contained in the bucket.);
receive, from the client, a second SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses receiving a request from an LDV user to retrieve or view a particular record or group of related records, LDV determines appropriate bucket that record or group is stored in and retrieves the bucket. An appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query.);
execute the second SQL query against the temporary bucket to filter the first list of objects and generate a second list of objects having a fewer number of objects than the first list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.); and
provide, to the client, the second list of objects (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.).
Predovic does not explicitly disclose the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket, the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects, wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object stored in the bucket.
Sancheti teaches the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0083-0086], which discloses secondary copies are created from the primary data (e.g. first SQL executed query), where the secondary copies can include a point-in-time data, a pointer or location indicia (e.g. reference) to the primary data. Since an instance of data object or metadata in primary data may change over time as it is modified by the application, the system may create and manage multiple secondary copies of a particular data object or metadata.), the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses secondary copy data objects can individually represent more than one primary data object, where for example, secondary copy data object represents three separate primary data objects, such as denoted by a prime (‘) mark, indicating the symbolic link.). wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object store in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses the secondary storage subsystem may process the data received from primary storage subsystem and store a secondary copy including transformed and/or supplemented representation of a primary data object and/or metadata that is different from the original format, so when the prime (‘) mark object is accessed, the secondary storage subsystem can redirect to the secondary copy associated with the prime mark primary data.).
Predovic is directed to accessing and displaying data from large data sets. Sancheti is directed to targeted snapshot based on virtual machine location. Both are analogous art because they are directed to SQL query execution and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Predovic with the teachings of Sancheti to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve on-demand execution of query objects.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the medium of claim 8 and the method of claim 15, respectively, wherein the first SQL query and the second SQL query are S3 application programming interface (API) calls (e.g. Predovic, see paragraph [0037], which discloses set of modules that interact using appropriate APIs in response to user input.).
As per claims 3, 10, and 17, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the medium of claim 8 and the method of claim 15, respectively, wherein the bucket resides in an S3-compliant object storage system (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3 which discloses an object storage system.).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the medium of claim 8 and the method of claim 15, respectively, the memory comprising the programmed instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to: execute the first SQL query to create the temporary bucket that includes a symbolic link to the first list of objects included in the bucket (e.g. Pedrovic, see paragraph [0059], which discloses building bucket boundaries can be carried on during operation of the database, where appropriate seed data can easily be implemented to define a temporary set of boundaries that may be used to retrieve records from the data set using temporary buckets.).
Predovic does not explicitly disclose the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket, the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects.
Sancheti teaches the first SQL query executed to create a temporary bucket that references a first list of objects included in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0083-0086], which discloses secondary copies are created from the primary data (e.g. first SQL executed query), where the secondary copies can include a point-in-time data, a pointer or location indicia (e.g. reference) to the primary data. Since an instance of data object or metadata in primary data may change over time as it is modified by the application, the system may create and manage multiple secondary copies of a particular data object or metadata.), the temporary bucket including symbolic links to the first list of objects (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses secondary copy data objects can individually represent more than one primary data object, where for example, secondary copy data object represents three separate primary data objects, such as denoted by a prime (‘) mark, indicating the symbolic link.). wherein the symbolic links are configured such that when an object in the temporary bucket is requested, the request is redirected to the object store in the bucket (e.g. Sancheti, see paragraphs [0085-0086, 0092-0093], which discloses the secondary storage subsystem may process the data received from primary storage subsystem and store a secondary copy including transformed and/or supplemented representation of a primary data object and/or metadata that is different from the original format, so when the prime (‘) mark object is accessed, the secondary storage subsystem can redirect to the secondary copy associated with the prime mark primary data.).
Predovic is directed to accessing and displaying data from large data sets. Sancheti is directed to targeted snapshot based on virtual machine location. Both are analogous art because they are directed to SQL query execution and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Predovic with the teachings of Sancheti to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve on-demand execution of query objects.
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the medium of claim 8 and the method of claim 15, respectively, the memory comprising the programmed instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
determine that an object that is uploaded to the bucket and that the object has metadata satisfying the metadata relationship (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses receiving a request from an LDV user to retrieve or view a particular record or group of related records, LDV determines appropriate bucket that record or group is stored in and retrieves the bucket. An appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query.); and
responsive to determining that the uploaded object has metadata satisfying the metadata relationship, add, to the temporary bucket, a second reference to the object (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses receiving a request from an LDV user to retrieve or view a particular record or group of related records, LDV determines appropriate bucket that record or group is stored in and retrieves the bucket. An appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query.).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1, the medium of claim 8 and the method of claim 15, respectively, wherein each object of the first list of objects includes immutable data (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.).
As per claims 7 and 14, the modified teachings of Predovic with Sancheti teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the medium of claim 8, respectively, the memory comprising the programmed instructions that, when executed by the processor, further cause the apparatus to:
execute the first SQL query to generate the first list of objects having an object prefix matching a prefix specified in the first SQL query (e.g. Predovic, see Figures 2 and 3, paragraphs [0033-0045], which discloses an appropriate query (e.g. second query) is then formulated and submitted to database for execution, returning a data set comprising a bucket that includes data contained within a lower boundary and upper boundary specified by the query. The bucket is then returned to the LDV user, whereupon it may be used in a batch process or filtered by a client application that enables users to request and view data stored in database.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 March 7, 2026