DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: RCE filed on 8/07/2026.
Claims 1-13, 15-20 are pending. Claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent. Claim 14 has been previously cancelled.
The previous rejection of claims 1-13, 15-20 under 35 USC § 102 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to claim 1,
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1 recites:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
analyzing a character string of a message accompanying an electronic document, the analyzing being performed using natural language processing; and
performing processing relating to viewing of the electronic document on a basis of a result of the analyzing,
wherein, in the performing, the processing relating to the viewing of the electronic document is performed on a basis of a result of an analysis of a certain character string specified by a user.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the bolded limitations above are directed to a mental process able to be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human can use natural language processing to analyzed a character string.
Step 2A, Prong 1 (yes)
Step2A, Prong 2
The additional elements in this claim are “performing processing related to viewing”. This element is recited at a high level of generality and thus is a generic computer component performing computer functions. Thus these are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f)
Even when viewed in combined the additional element does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A, Prong 2 (No).
Step 2B
As explained with respect to Step 2A, the only additional element is “performing processing related to viewing” which at best is mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas and cannot provide an inventive concept, even when considered in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B (No).
Claim 1 is ineligible.
With respect to claims 19 and 20,
These claims are similar in scope to claim 1 and are rejected under a similar rationale. The “perform processing relating to viewing” recited in these claims are also generic computing components.
Claims 19 and 20 are ineligible.
Dependent Claim:
Claims 2-10, 12, and 16: These claims only recite further abstract ideas (mental process) and thus are ineligible.
Claims 11, 13, 15, and 17: These claims recite further generic computer components (display, electronic document, database, email) and as explained above these do not provide a practical application or inventive concept and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, 15-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (US2019/0012303) in view of Deleuze (US2020/0293615).
In regards to claim 1, Okamoto et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
Analyzing a character string of a message accompanying an electronic document (Okamoto et al. para[0020], a user requests a review of the electronic document from other relevant users. In this case, a user who has received the review request checks the content of the electronic document and writes a comment on the electronic document, para[0032], The user instruction receiving interface 120 receives a comment on the electronic document made by a user, as a user instruction); and
performing processing relating to viewing of the electronic document on a basis of a result of the analyzing (Okamoto et al. fig. 2b para[0023], FIG. 2B illustrates window W2 displayed on the display mechanism of the terminal apparatus 10. As illustrated, a state where the electronic document Db is opened is displayed in the window W2. The content written on the opened page P is displayed, and the sticky F placed on the page P is displayed. A comment written by a user is displayed on the sticky F, para[0048], the display controller 150 performs control to collectively display multiple pieces of attachment information for each of the conclusion attributes, para[0049], in the electronic document A (A document), for sticky F having a conclusion attribute of “finished”, the sticky F and related stickies F having the same area ID are collectively displayed on the first row of the left-side area RL),
wherein, in the performing, the processing relating to the viewing of the electronic document is performed on a basis of a result of an analysis of a certain character string specified by a user (Okamoto et al. para[0039], at the timing of assigning a specific annotation (for instance, a stamp of “settled” is placed) on a comment or at the timing of writing a specific keyword (for instance, “complete”, “finished”), the above-mentioned dialog D1 may be displayed, and a conclusion attribute may be assigned).
Okamoto et al. does not explicitly disclose analyzing a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing.
However Deleuze discloses analyzing a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing (Deleuze para[0031], the NLP module 106 may analyze the text message for context, semantics, grammar, and spelling to determine the appropriate corrective action for the text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the attachment information of Okamoto et al. with the natural language processing of Deleuze in order to automatically correct errors identified by annotations (Deleuze para[0004]).
In regards to claim 2, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein, in the performing, the processing relating to the viewing of the electronic document is performed on condition that a predetermined operation is detected (Okamoto et al. fig. 2B para[0023], selecting sticky F opens associated page P for display).
In regards to claim 3, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 2, wherein the predetermined operation is selecting or opening of the message (Okamoto et al. fig. 2B para[0023], selecting message (sticky F) opens associated page P for display).
In regards to claim 4, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 2, wherein the predetermined operation is selecting of the character string included in the message (Okamoto et al. para[0022], when the sticky F is selected by an operation such as clicking, control is jumped to page P).
In regards to claim 5, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes content relating to the viewing of the electronic document, the processing is performed (Okamoto et al. para[0023], the content written on the opened page P is displayed and the character string (sticky F) placed on page P is displayed).
In regards to claim 6, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 2, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes content relating to the viewing of the electronic document, the processing is performed (Okamoto et al. para[0023], the content written on the opened page P is displayed and the character string (sticky F) placed on page P is displayed).
In regards to claim 7, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 3, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes content relating to the viewing of the electronic document, the processing is performed (Okamoto et al. para[0023], the content written on the opened page P is displayed and the character string (sticky F) placed on page P is displayed).
In regards to claim 8, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 4, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes content relating to the viewing of the electronic document, the processing is performed (Okamoto et al. para[0023], the content written on the opened page P is displayed and the character string (sticky F) placed on page P is displayed).
In regards to claim 9, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 5, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes a page number, processing for displaying a corresponding page of the electronic document is displayed (Okamoto et al. para[0022], displays pages corresponding to page number).
In regards to claim 10, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 6, wherein, in the performing, if the character string includes a page number, processing for displaying a corresponding page of the electronic document is displayed (Okamoto et al. para[0022], displays pages corresponding to page number).
In regards to claim 12, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein, in the performing, if the character string does not include content relating to the viewing of the electronic document, the processing is not performed (Okamoto et al. fig. 9 para[0072], does not perform processing S104 if there is comment).
In regards to claim 13, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein the message is associated with the electronic document in one-to-one correspondence (Okamoto et al. fig. 6 para[0055], assigns one message (stamp) to a document indicating status).
In regards to claim 15, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein a database manages association between the message and the electronic document (Okamoto et al. para[0029], attachment information assignor manages attaching messages to associated document).
In regards to claim 16, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 15, wherein, in the database, the message is managed in an area different from an area for the electronic document (Okamoto et al. fig.3 para[0033], document managed by Electronic document acquirer 110 separate from attachment information assignor 130).
In regards to claim 18, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1, wherein a body of an email attached with the electronic document includes the message (Okamoto et al. para[0064], notification e-mail contains message).
In regards to claim 19, Okamoto et al. discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to:
perform analyzing of a character string of a message accompanying an electronic document (Okamoto et al. para[0020], a user requests a review of the electronic document from other relevant users. In this case, a user who has received the review request checks the content of the electronic document and writes a comment on the electronic document, para[0032], The user instruction receiving interface 120 receives a comment on the electronic document made by a user, as a user instruction); and
perform processing relating to viewing of the electronic document on a basis of a result of the analyzing (Okamoto et al. fig. 2b para[0023], The content written on the opened page P is displayed, and the sticky F placed on the page P is displayed), (Okamoto et al. fig. 2b para[0023], FIG. 2B illustrates window W2 displayed on the display mechanism of the terminal apparatus 10. As illustrated, a state where the electronic document Db is opened is displayed in the window W2. The content written on the opened page P is displayed, and the sticky F placed on the page P is displayed. A comment written by a user is displayed on the sticky F, para[0048], the display controller 150 performs control to collectively display multiple pieces of attachment information for each of the conclusion attributes, para[0049], in the electronic document A (A document), for sticky F having a conclusion attribute of “finished”, the sticky F and related stickies F having the same area ID are collectively displayed on the first row of the left-side area RL),
wherein, in the performing, the processing relating to the viewing of the electronic document is performed on a basis of a result of an analysis of a certain character string specified by a user (Okamoto et al. para[0039], at the timing of assigning a specific annotation (for instance, a stamp of “settled” is placed) on a comment or at the timing of writing a specific keyword (for instance, “complete”, “finished”), the above-mentioned dialog D1 may be displayed, and a conclusion attribute may be assigned)
Okamoto et al. does not explicitly disclose perform analyzing of a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing.
However Deleuze discloses perform analyzing of a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing (Deleuze para[0031], the NLP module 106 may analyze the text message for context, semantics, grammar, and spelling to determine the appropriate corrective action for the text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the attachment information of Okamoto et al. with the natural language processing of Deleuze in order to automatically correct errors identified by annotations (Deleuze para[0004]).
In regards to claim 20, Okamoto et al. discloses a method for processing information performed by a computer that manages an electronic document, the method comprising:
Analyzing a character string of a message accompanying the electronic document on a basis of an operation performed by a user who views the electronic document (Okamoto et al. para[0020], a user requests a review of the electronic document from other relevant users. In this case, a user who has received the review request checks the content of the electronic document and writes a comment on the electronic document, para[0032], The user instruction receiving interface 120 receives a comment on the electronic document made by a user, as a user instruction), the analyzing being performed using natural language processing; and
performing processing relating to viewing of the electronic document on a basis of a result of the analyzing (Okamoto et al. fig. 2b para[0023], FIG. 2B illustrates window W2 displayed on the display mechanism of the terminal apparatus 10. As illustrated, a state where the electronic document Db is opened is displayed in the window W2. The content written on the opened page P is displayed, and the sticky F placed on the page P is displayed. A comment written by a user is displayed on the sticky F, para[0048], the display controller 150 performs control to collectively display multiple pieces of attachment information for each of the conclusion attributes, para[0049], in the electronic document A (A document), for sticky F having a conclusion attribute of “finished”, the sticky F and related stickies F having the same area ID are collectively displayed on the first row of the left-side area RL),
wherein, in the performing, the processing relating to the viewing of the electronic document is performed on a basis of a result of an analysis of a certain character string specified by a user (Okamoto et al. para[0039], at the timing of assigning a specific annotation (for instance, a stamp of “settled” is placed) on a comment or at the timing of writing a specific keyword (for instance, “complete”, “finished”), the above-mentioned dialog D1 may be displayed, and a conclusion attribute may be assigned).
Okamoto et al. does not explicitly disclose analyzing a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing.
However Deleuze discloses analyzing a character string of a message, the analyzing being performed by using natural language processing (Deleuze para[0031], the NLP module 106 may analyze the text message for context, semantics, grammar, and spelling to determine the appropriate corrective action for the text.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the attachment information of Okamoto et al. with the natural language processing of Deleuze in order to automatically correct errors identified by annotations (Deleuze para[0004]).
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. and Deleuze as applied to claims 5, and 1 above, and further in view of Shaver (US2014/0033015).
In regards to claim 11, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 5.
Okamoto et al. does not explicitly disclose the process further comprising: displaying characters of the character string indicating the content relating to the viewing of the electronic document in a display mode different from a display mode for other characters of the character string.
However Shaver discloses the process further comprising: displaying characters of the character string indicating the content relating to the viewing of the electronic document in a display mode different from a display mode for other characters of the character string (Shaver para[0059], highlights content relating to document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined comments of Okamoto et al. with the of Shaver in order to accurately identify portion of a document associated with a comment (Shaver para[0020]).
In regards to claim 17, Okamoto et al. as modified by Deleuze discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium according to Claim 1.
Okamoto et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the message is a file and attached to an email along with the electronic document.
However Shaver discloses wherein the message is a file and attached to an email along with the electronic document (Shaver para[0021], message is a file attached to an email.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined comments of Okamoto et al. with the of Shaver in order to accurately identify portion of a document associated with a comment (Shaver para[0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13, 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andrews (US2022/0180317) teaches using natural language processing on strings associated with a document.
Ansari et al. (US2022/0382524) teaches customizing software based on natural language processing of requests.
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141