Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, starting on page 22, filed 04/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-19 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Duggan (US 20030182756 A1) and Johnson (US 20200069139 A1) and Scanlon (US 20010047721 A1)
Additionally, Applicant argues that since the opening of the liner 200 is closed by the filter 80, Examiner notes that Applicants claim amendments have changed the metes and bounds of the opening of the impermeable bag, as the opening no longer must lie in a horizontal plane, and instead only requires “an uppermost end of the air impermeable bag has an opening”, As seen in Fig. 6 and 7 of Duggan, the bag 200 of Duggan has an air inlet 210 which is located on an uppermost end of the side wall of the air impermeable bag. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant first argues that a POSITA would not modify Sernecki in view of Yu as in the proposed modification, as Sernecki has an interior filter bag which is inaccessible until the base dust chamber 2 is opened, and thus a POSITA would have no motivation to add a handle in view of Yu, Where the handle is employed to decouple and remove the docking station cup from the exterior of the docking station 1300 and thus the handle of Yu would be inapplicable to the base dust chamber 2 and the filter bag of Sernecki. Examiner respectfully disagrees Yu, as cited in the previous office action discloses See Para [0154] “As shown, the docking station dust cup 1312 includes a handle 1402 that extends over a portion of the base 1302. For example, the handle 1402 may extend over a portion of the suction housing 1301 that defines the pre-motor filter chamber 1304, the motor chamber 1306, and the post-motor filter chamber 1308. In some instances, the handle 1402 may include a latch which couples the handle 1402 to the base 1302 such that the docking station dust cup 1312 doesn't inadvertently become decoupled from the base 1302.”
The handle latch, which is discussed in final sentence of this citation of Yu indicates that this handle is not only for removing the dust cup, but for allowing for the dust cup and the base to which it is coupled to do be held via the handle. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that including a handle to the base cleaner of Sernecki would allow for an easier time for an operator or user to open the base cleaner for access to the dust chamber 2, and including such a latch as described by Sernecki would additionally prevent the access from being inadvertently decoupled.
Additionally, Applicant argues that the proposed modifications cannot arrive at the claimed invention, arguing that the docking stations of Sernecki, Yu and Meyer are stationary docking stations and cannot yield a portable vacuum cleaner, to which Examiner respectfully disagrees. Merriam-Webster teaches the plain meaning of the word Portable to be “capable of being carried or moved about”. As such for a cleaner to be portable, it must be capable of being carried or moved about, which the cleaners of Sernecki, Yu and Meyer are capable of being moved, non-of which are absolutely static or stationary such as a central cleaning unit installed in a home.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Applicant argues that Yu does not disclose a carry handle, and thus could not be used to allow a user to easily move and reposition the docking station, to which Examiner disagrees. A person of ordinary skill in the art of suction cleaners would understand that a handle would allow for an operator to more easily to manipulate, move, carry, reposition a cleaning device. Additionally, the discussed feature of “a portable vacuum cleaner having a surface cleaning mode in which the base vacuum cleaner is carried together with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner by a user using the carry a carry handle and Is concurrently operated using the second air flow path to clean a surface” as discussed on Page 20 of Applicants arguments and the associated claim limitations are interpreted as an intended use limitation of the cleaner. MPEP 2114 II discusses that in an apparatus claim, the claim covers what the device is and not what the device does, further stating “A claim containing “a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art teaches all the structural limitations of the claim”. As such intended use limitations are interpreted to require the device to be capable of carrying out the described function, not to disclose additional structure to further limit the device. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive, as adding a handle to the device of Sernecki as described by Yu has the benefits of allowing for easier transport, handling, manipulation as would be appreciated by a POSITA. And Sernecki in view of Meyer that has been further modified by Yu to include a handle would be capable of performing the claimed intended use limitation.
Definition Courtesy of Merriam Webster as of June 17th 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Meyer (DE 102010016263 A1) and Yu (US 20220061614 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sernecki discloses A portable vacuum cleaner comprising:
(a) a base vacuum cleaner, the base vacuum cleaner comprising:
(i) a first dirty air inlet (12) and a second dirty air inlet (7);
(ii) an air treatment unit (2) downstream from the first dirty air inlet (See Sernecki Fig. 5);
(iii) a first docking unit (left side of cleaner 1, Seen in Fig. 5) having a clean air outlet (8); and,
(b) an auxiliary vacuum cleaner (3) which is removably docked to the first docking unit (See Para [0034] “The base station 1 has a first air inlet 7 and a first air outlet 8, which are suitable for being connected to an air outlet and an air inlet of the vacuum cleaner 3.”), the auxiliary vacuum cleaner comprising an auxiliary cleaning mode air flow path extending from an auxiliary vacuum cleaner dirty air inlet port to an auxiliary vacuum cleaner clean air outlet port with an auxiliary vacuum cleaner dirt collection unit and an auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly provided in the auxiliary air flow path, wherein the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is operable to clean a surface when removed from the base vacuum cleaner using the auxiliary cleaning mode air flow path (See Para [0041] of Sernecki describing the airflow path of the auxiliary cleaner during an auxiliary cleaning mode
“FIG. 6 shows a cross section through the in FIG. 5 illustrated base station 1 with a first vacuum cleaner connected thereto 3. The first vacuum cleaner 3 has a suction nozzle 28 which is connected to the first air inlet 7 of the base station 1. From the suction nozzle 28 to a blower 11 of the first vacuum cleaner 3, an air duct 9 runs inside the first vacuum cleaner 3. In a usual suction operation of the first vacuum cleaner 3, suction material 15 is sucked into the suction nozzle 28 from a floor to be cleaned by means of the blower 11, flows through the air duct 9 and thereby passes an air filter 27, which filters the sucked air, so that the suction material 15 contained therein adhere to the filter material of the air filter 27 and exclusively freed of suction material 15 air can flow further in the direction of the blower 11.”;
wherein, with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner docked at the first docking unit, the portable vacuum cleaner is operable in an auxiliary vacuum cleaner emptying mode in which the second dirty air inlet (7) of the base vacuum cleaner (1) is connected in flow communication with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner (3) at a location that is downstream from the auxiliary vacuum cleaner dirt collection unit (See Fig. 8 showing the connection at 29 and 8 which is downstream of the dirt collection unit 5 of the cleaner 3), and the clean air outlet is connected in flow communication with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner at a location that is upstream of the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly of (See Fig 8 showing 28 and 7 connected, which is upstream of the motor and fan assembly 11 of the auxiliary cleaner);
wherein, in the auxiliary vacuum cleaner emptying mode, the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly generates a first airflow path through the air treatment unit of the base vacuum cleaner from the auxiliary vacuum cleaner dirt collection unit to the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly, whereby the portable vacuum cleaner is operated using the first air flow path to withdraw dirt from the auxiliary vacuum cleaner and collect withdrawn dirt in the air treatment unit (See Fig. 8 showing air flow from the debris collection bin 5 of the auxiliary cleaner, into the second dirty air inlet, into the port (8) of the auxiliary cleaner and out the exhaust, additionally see Para [0046]
“The cleaning process for the cleaning of the vacuum cleaner dust chamber 5 is now carried out so that the fan 11 via the first air outlet 8 successively generates a negative pressure in the base dust chamber 2, the suction nozzle 28, the vacuum cleaner dust chamber 5 and then the air filter 27 of the first vacuum cleaner 3. As a result, secondary air is sucked through the secondary air valve 26 into the secondary air channel 25, which flows through the air filter 27 in a direction opposite to a filter function of the air filter 27 flow direction. In this case, the outer wall of the air filter 27 is cleaned and the suction material 15 adhering thereto is sucked into the suction dust chamber 5. The total suction dust 15 located in the suction dust chamber 5 is then transferred through the suction nozzle 28 into the base dust chamber 2, where the suction material 15 is collected and can be disposed of during a subsequent cleaning process of the base dust chamber 2. The suction-laden air flowing through the base dust chamber 2 is thus cleaned and passes without suction material 15 via the first air outlet 8 to the blower 11 of the first vacuum cleaner 3. Overall, the first vacuum cleaner 3 is thus cleaned by means of its own blower 11, wherein in the suction dust chamber. 5 contained suction material 15 in the base dust chamber 2 of the base station 1 is transferred. It is not necessary that the base station 1 has its own fan, but the base station 1 may be formed as a passive station, which provides the corresponding flow paths and collects the suction material 15 within the base dust chamber 2.”), and
with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner docked at the first docking unit (See Fig. 11), the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly generates a second airflow path through the air treatment unit from the first dirty air inlet of the base vacuum cleaner to the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly with the air treatment unit of the base vacuum cleaner positioned in the second airflow path (See Fig. 11 showing a secondary airflow path from the first dirty air inlet (12) to the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly (11) with the air treatment unit (2) of the base vacuum cleaner positioned in the second air flow path).
But does not explicitly disclose wherein, (iv) a carry handle;
Wherein when the portable vacuum cleaner in a surface cleaning mode, whereby the base vacuum cleaner is carried together with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner by a user using the carry handle and is concurrently operated using the second air flow path to clean a surface.
However, Meyer discloses a similar vacuum cleaning base station (3, see Fig. 1) wherein with an auxiliary vacuum cleaner docked at the docking unit, the base station can operate with a surface cleaning mode (See Fig. 2 showing a cleaner in the dock 8), wherein a suction tube (14) attached as a first dirty air inlet (See 14 forming a first dirty air inlet and 9 forming a second one in Fig. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the base station of Sernecki to utilize a cleaner hose through the suction port (12 of Sernecki), as doing so would allow for the cleaner to have an additional surface cleaning mode wherein an operator can perform easy spot cleaning around the vicinity of the suction cleaner (See Para [0004] “Accordingly, in such a configuration the base station can be used as a normal, albeit stationary, vacuum cleaner, even while the robot is performing its cleaning cycle across the floor. In suction hose operation, a suction channel docking section for the robot is preferably deactivated, so that the suction airflow flows solely through the suction hose located at the base station.”).
And Yu discloses a docking station for a vacuum cleaner similar to the portable vacuum cleaner further comprising a carry handle (1402, See Para [0154] “As shown, the docking station dust cup 1312 includes a handle 1402 that extends over a portion of the base 1302. For example, the handle 1402 may extend over a portion of the suction housing 1301 that defines the pre-motor filter chamber 1304, the motor chamber 1306, and the post-motor filter chamber 1308. In some instances, the handle 1402 may include a latch which couples the handle 1402 to the base 1302 such that the docking station dust cup 1312 doesn't inadvertently become decoupled from the base 1302.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the base station to include a handle to in order to allow for a user to easily move and reposition the docking station.
Examiner notes that modifying Sernecki in view of Yu and Meyer would result in the Sernecki as modified being capable of performing the function of whereby the base vacuum cleaner is carried together with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner by a user using the carry handle and is concurrently operated using the second air flow path to clean a surface (an operator could utilize the hose (14 of Meyer) to perform a spot clean near the docking station, and use the handle to move the station to extend the range an operator would be able to spot clean).
Regarding Claim 2, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the base vacuum cleaner (1 of Sernecki) has an absence of a motor and fan assembly (See Fig. 8, motor and fan assembly 11 is supplied by cleaner 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses when the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is docked at the first docking unit, the auxiliary vacuum cleaner motor and fan assembly is the sole air moving member of a portable vacuum cleaner (See Fig. 8 of Sernecki showing the airflow path driven via motor 11 of the auxiliary vacuum cleaner 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses comprising a flexible hose (14 of Meyer) which, in the cleaning mode (Fig. 11 of Sernecki), is positioned upstream of the first dirty air inlet (hose 14 of Meyer extends from 12 and would be where air enters 12 through).
Regarding Claim 11, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a second docking unit for an additional vacuum cleaner, the second docking unit comprising a third dirty air inlet wherein, when the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is docked at the first docking unit and the additional vacuum cleaner is docked at the second docking unit, a third air flow path extends from the fourth dirty air inlet to the clean air outlet, whereby the portable vacuum cleaner is operable in an additional vacuum cleaning emptying mode using the third air flow path to withdraw dirt from the additional vacuum cleaner.
However, Sernecki discloses a cleaning unit with two docking units (See Fig. 11) for auxiliary vacuum cleaners (3 and 4).
And Meyer discloses a docking unit for a robotic cleaner (1) with a secondary airflow path (14).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to further modify the station of Sernecki such that maintains two docking stations (as shown in Fig. 11 of Sernecki) and to include an additional airflow path connected to a flexible hose as doing so would allow for claiming the benefits of having a docking unit for a hand cleaner for manual cleaning, an automatic cleaner for an automatic cleaner, and a flexible hose for spot cleaning in the vicinity of the station.
Examiner notes that Sernecki as modified would result in the cleaner with a first docking unit (7 and 8 of Sernecki), downstream from the air treatment unit and having a clean air outlet and a first dirty air inlet (at 7)
A second dirty air inlet and a second airflow path (hose 14 of Meyer)
A third dirty air inlet (inlet 17 connected to cleaner 5)
further comprising a second docking unit (17) for an additional vacuum cleaner (4), the second docking unit comprising the third dirty air inlet (16) wherein, when the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is docked at the first docking unit (See Fig .11) and the additional vacuum cleaner is docked at the second docking unit (See Fig. 11), a third air flow path (See airflow in Fig. 11) extends from the third dirty air inlet to the clean air outlet (See Airflow in Fig. 11), whereby the portable vacuum cleaner is operable in an additional vacuum cleaner emptying mode using the third air flow path to withdraw dirt from the additional vacuum cleaner (See Sernecki Para [0050] “The adapter module 16 is designed to provide a flow connection between the base station 1 and a second vacuum cleaner 4, e.g. a cleaning robot. For this purpose, the adapter module 16 has an air duct which connects the adapter air outlet 17 with the adapter air inlet 18. The swiveling suction arm 23 allows the position of the adapter air inlet 18 to be varied, so that differently shaped and/or differently high second vacuum cleaners 4 can be connected.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses wherein the third airflow path (See the airflow in Fig. 11) extends through the air treatment unit (2) and, in the additional vacuum cleaner emptying mode the portable vacuum cleaner is operable using the third air flow path to withdraw dirt from the additional vacuum cleaner and collect withdrawn dirt in the air treatment unit (See Sernecki Para [0050] as cited above in the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding Claim 13, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the additional vacuum cleaner is an autonomous vacuum cleaner (4 of Sernecki is an autonomous vacuum cleaner).
Regarding Claim 14, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the auxiliary vacuum cleaner has an on-board energy storage member and the first docking unit further comprises a first charging unit whereby the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is rechargeable when docked at the first docking unit.
Sernecki does teach however, electrical contacts (20) on the docking unit.
However, Meyer discloses a similar cleaning apparatus wherein the auxiliary vacuum cleaner (1) has an on—board energy storage member and the first docking unit (9 and 8) comprises a first charging unit whereby the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is rechargeable when docked at the first docking unit (See Para [0009] “The base station has electronics for charging the vacuum and/or sweeping robot in the docking position, and may also include a transformer and electrical coupling means for electrical contact with the corresponding robot's counterparts”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the auxiliary cleaner to include on-board energy storage as doing so would allow for a user to use the cleaner without worrying about an electrical cord, and it would additionally be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electrical contacts of the base station to charge the on-board energy of the cleaner, ensuring the cleaner is always charged and ready to be used by the user.
Claim 21 Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the first docking unit comprises at least one coupling member (See Fig. 1 and 3 docking unit 7 has coupling portion configured to receive the auxiliary cleaner, and additionally comprises contact portions 19, to connect and confirm connection of the auxiliary cleaner to the base cleaner) attached to the air treatment unit (See docking portion in Fig. 1, 3 and 5 connected to air treatment member 2) and the auxiliary vacuum cleaner is removably received in the at least one coupling member whereby the second dirty air inlet (7) and the clean air outlet of the base vacuum cleaner (8) are connected in flow communication with the auxiliary vacuum cleaner (See Fig. 8 showing auxiliary cleaner attached to the base cleaner and see air flow arrows showing the flow communication).
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Meyer (DE 102010016263 A1) and Yu (US 20220061614 A1) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Maclean (US 20170209875 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the air treatment unit is removably mounted as part of the base vacuum cleaner, the air treatment unit has an openable door and, when the door is opened, dirt is emptyable from the air treatment unit, and the air treatment unit is removable from the base vacuum cleaner with the door closed.
However, Maclean discloses a cleaner wherein the air treatment unit (see Figure 4 showing the dual cyclone and dirt cup of the cleaner of Maclean) has an openable door (24) and, when the door is opened, dirt is emptyable from the air treatment unit (See Para [0023] “Although closed during normal operation to collect dust and debris, the base 24 is openable to release the dust by being pivotally connected to the outer wall 12 via a hinge or pivot joint and locks to an opposing part of the outer wall 12 via a catch 25.”), and the air treatment unit is removable from the assembly with the door closed (See Para [0027] “Once the capacity of the dirt collection chamber 11 is reached, the cyclonic separation apparatus 3 can be detached from the main body for emptying. The dirt collection chamber 11 of the cyclonic separation apparatus 3 can be emptied by the user pushing the push rod 26 downwardly and releasing the catch 25.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air treatment unit or the cleaner to be removable and openable via a door as doing so would allow for the user to easily empty the cleaning station of accumulated dirt and debris by taking it directly to a disposal spot before opening the door and allowing the debris to fall out.
Regarding claim 5, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the air treatment unit comprises a first stage air treatment member, which comprises a first dirt collection region, and a downstream second stage comprising a second stage air treatment member.
However, Maclean discloses a similar cleaner with an air treatment unit that comprises a first stage air treatment member (first cyclone 7), which comprises a first dirt collection region (9), and a downstream second stage comprising a second stage air treatment member (second cyclone 8).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaner to modify the air treatment unit to be a two-stage cyclonic separator as taught by Maclean doing so would result in a high separation efficiency from the dirt laden air, increasing the efficiency of the cleaner. See Maclean Para [0025] “During use of the vacuum cleaner 1, dirt laden fluid is drawn through the hose assembly 4 and into the cyclonic separation apparatus 3 via the inlet duct 5. The fluid is drawn through the cyclonic separation apparatus 3 and introduced into the first cyclone stage 7 via the fluid inlet 14 of the cyclonic chamber 11. The fluid travels in a cyclonic pathway following the limits of the outer wall 12 and the inner wall 13. The fluid inlet 14 is positioned at an end of the flattened section 19 of the inner wall 13, such that the fluid is drawn around the curved section 18 of the inner wall 13 (as shown by arrow 20 in FIG. 5). High initial separation efficiency is achieved by creating a fluid flow path that first travels around the curved section 18 of the inner wall 13 before reaching the flattened section 19 of the inner wall 13.”
Regarding Claim 6, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses wherein the first dirt collection region comprises a first stage cyclone (cyclone 7) and the second stage air treatment member comprises a second cyclone (cyclone 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses wherein the first dirt collection region comprises a first stage air treatment chamber (7) having a dirt collection region at a lower end thereof (See Para [0023] “The dirt collection chamber 9 is formed at the bottom of the cyclonic separation apparatus 3 and is therefore located beneath both the first and second cyclone stages 7,8.”) and the second stage air treatment member comprises a cyclone (8 is a second cyclone).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Meyer (DE 102010016263 A1) and Yu (US 20220061614 A1), and Maclean (US 20170209875 A1) as modified in claim 5 and in further view of Duggan (US 20030182756 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 but does not explicitly disclose wherein an air impermeable bag is removably receivable in the first dirt collection region whereby, in operation dirt is collected in the bag and the first dirt collection region is openable and, when the first dirt collection region is opened, the bag is removable.
However, Duggan discloses a cleaner wherein an air impermeable bag (filter liner 200) is removably receivable in the first dirt collection region whereby (50), in operation dirt is collected in the bag and the first dirt collection region is openable and, when the first dirt collection region is opened, the bag is removable (See Para [0087] “Once the upper section 22 has been pivoted into the open position, the user grasps handle 66 on the canister and slides the canister off base 30. The canister is then moved to a location to remove dirt D from the base of the filter liner and to replace filter 80 and filter liner 200. During the replacement of the filters and the filter liner, filter 80 and filter liner 200 are lifted out of the canister and disposed of. The adhesive between the filter and the filter liner is typically designed to prevent the separation of the filter from the filter liner so as to minimize the amount of particles that escape during the disposal of the filter and the filter liner. The use of the filter liner also eliminates the need to carry the canister to a disposal site. As a result, the changing of the filter is made simpler and more convenient by the use of the filter liner.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaner to include an air impermeable bag to allow for effective emptying of the cleaner without bringing the entire air treatment member to the where the debris is meant to be disposed of, while preventing any undesirable leakage of debris out of the dust cup container See Duggan Para [0029] “In accordance with another and/or alternative aspect of the present invention, the filter arrangement includes a filter liner to enable more convenient disposal of particles that have fallen to the base or bottom of the low velocity chamber.”
Regarding Claim 9, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and in addition discloses wherein the first dirt collection region has an openable lid when the lid is opened, the bag is removable upwardly (See Para [0087] of Duggan cited in the rejection of claim 8, describing the opening of lid (22), removing the canister upwardly, removing the bag 200 from the canister upwardly).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Duggan (US 20030182756 A1) and Johnson (US 20200069139 A1) and Scanlon (US 20010047721 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Sernecki discloses: A docking unit comprising:
(a) an air treatment unit (2) comprising a first dirty air inlet (at 7) and
(b) a first docking unit (7 and 8) for a first vacuum cleaner (3) wherein, when the first vacuum cleaner is docked at the first docking unit (See Fig, 8), the first dirty air inlet is connected in flow communication with an outlet port of the first vacuum cleaner (nozzle 28 which mates with 7), which outlet port (28) is downstream from a dirt collection unit (5) of the first vacuum cleaner (3); and,
(c) a first air flow path (air flow path seen in Fig. 8) extending from the first dirty air inlet (7) to a clean air outlet (where air exhausts out of the cleaner 3 after passing through the docking station 1 in Fig. 8), wherein the air treatment unit (2) is provided in the first air flow path (See Fig. 8) and,
wherein the docking unit is operable in a first docking mode in which the first vacuum cleaner is docked at the first docking unit and is connected in air flow communication with the first dirty air inlet (See Fig. 8 of Sernecki), and
wherein, in the first docking mode, the docking unit is operable using the first air flow path to withdraw dirt from the first vacuum cleaner into the air treatment unit through the first dirty air inlet (See airflow in Fig. 8).
But does not explicitly disclose, the air treatment unit being openable whereby a flexible air impermeable bag is removably receivable in the air treatment unit and, when the air impermeable bag is positioned in the air treatment unit, an interior surface of the air impermeable bag surrounds and provides an inner dirt collection volume of the air impermeable bag;
when the docking unit is positioned on the floor and the air impermeable bag is positioned in the air treatment unit, an uppermost end of the air impermeable bag has an opening,
whereby dirt separated from the first air flow path enters the air impermeable bag downwardly through the opening, and wherein, when the air treatment unit is opened, the bag is removable, and wherein the docking unit is inoperable when the air treatment unit is open.
However, Duggan discloses
a first stage air treatment member (filter 80), the air treatment unit being openable (22) whereby an air impermeable bag (200) is removably receivable in the air treatment unit and an interior surface of the air impermeable bag surrounds and defines an inner dirt collection volume of the air impermeable bag (See Para [0079] “Once the filter and filter liner are inserted in the low velocity chamber, seal rings 70 and 154 on canister 50 and motor housing support 148 will cause the filter and filter liner to be pressed together, thereby resulting in an adhesive bond between the filter and filter liner. The adhesive can be selected such that the bond between the filter and filter liner cannot be easily broken once formed. Alternatively, the adhesive can be selected such that the bond between the filter and filter liner can be easily broken once formed. Typically, the adhesive is selected such that the bond between the filter and filter liner cannot be easily broken once formed. One potential advantage of not having a filter preconnected to the filter liner is that the operator may more easily insert the filter liner into the low velocity chamber.”); an uppermost end of the air impermeable bag has an opening which lies in a horizontal plane (See Duggan Fig. 1 horizontal plane along 150),
whereby withdrawn dirt travels downwardly from the first dirty air inlet into the air impermeable bag and collects in the inner dirt collection volume of the air impermeable bag, and wherein, when the air treatment unit is opened, the bag is removable (See Para [0072] “Referring now to FIGS. 4 and 5, filter liner 200 includes a side wall 202 and a base 204. Base 204 includes a generally conical portion 206 in the center of the base that is designed to fit in a filter support 60 of the low velocity chamber. The filter liner also includes a side opening 210 and an elbow 212 which are designed to receive elbow section 78 of inlet nozzle 72. Elbow 212 of the filter liner, like the elbow section of inlet nozzle 72, functions as a barrier to at least partially inhibit or prevent the particles from continuing to circulate about the base of the low velocity chamber.”),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air treatment unit of the docking station of Sernecki to include an air impermeable bag such that the air treatment unit (2 of Sernecki) being openable whereby an air impermeable bag (200 of Duggan) is removably receivable in the air treatment unit (removable as taught by Duggan in Para [0079] cited above) and, the air impermeable bag is positioned in the air treatment unit (See 200 in Duggan Fig. 1), an interior surface of the air impermeable bag surrounds and provides an inner dirt collection volume of the air impermeable bag (See citation of Para [0072] above);
when the docking unit is positioned on the floor (See Fig. 8 of Sernecki) and the air impermeable bag is positioned in the air treatment unit (As modified by Duggan), an uppermost end of the air impermeable bag has an opening (See opening 210 in 200 of Duggan in fig. 1 of Duggan),
whereby dirt separated from the first air flow path enters the air impermeable bag downwardly through the opening and wherein, when the air treatment unit is opened, the bag is removable (See Para [0072] “As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, a filter liner 200 is inserted in the base of the low velocity chamber. The use of the liner simplifies the disposal of dirt in the canister and reduces the amount of time and effort needed to clean the interior of the low velocity chamber after each filter replacement. The filter liner is formed of a substantially air impermeable material such as a plastic material; however, other materials can be used.”). As doing so would allow for a user to have an easy and convenient way of emptying out the docking station by opening the air treatment unit, removing the air impermeable bag and filter, dispose of or clean the bag and filter, and replace them in the cleaner. Without requiring the operator to carry the docking station or even the entire air treatment unit to the place where the debris is to be disposed of.
But does not explicitly disclose, Wherein the air impermeable bag is flexible and wherein the docking unit is inoperable when the air treatment unit is open.
Further, Johnson does teach a similar docking station that monitors the status of the filter bag and prevents different operations of the station depending on the status of the filter bag (See Johnson Para [0072] “The interface 600 also presents an unelectable empty bin button 608 (e.g., the button 608 is greyed out) indicating that the bin 124 of the robot 102 cannot be evacuated because the filter bag 304 of the evacuation station 200 is full.” And [0073] “In the interface 620, a clean button 622 is also unelectable (e.g., the clean button 602 is greyed out) to indicate that the robot 102 cannot be instructed to execute a cleaning mission when the bin 124 of the robot is full and cannot be emptied (because the filter bag 304 of the evacuation station 200 is also full).”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the docking unit of FOR1 to monitor the status of the filter bag and adjacent opening and enable or disable the operation of the cleaner based on the status of the monitored components, such as the first dirt collection region being open.
Finally, Scanlon discloses a cleaner with an impermeable bag for collecting debris in a cleaner which can be made of a plurality of materials, including flexible materials (See Para [0053] “The vacuum cleaner bag of the present invention is shown in front view in FIG. 2, side view in FIG. 3, and back view in FIG. 4. The bag is formed of an impermeable media 36 having an interior cavity 38 for storing the dirt. Suitable impermeable medias include any durable film that essentially prevents airflow such as polyethylene, polypropylene, vinyl, nylon, coated fabric, coated paper, or other natural or synthetic materials. The thickness of the impermeable media can vary from a completely flexible material that allows inflation of the bag under use to a rigid material that has a firm shape that does not change during usage.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the air impermeable bag of Sernecki as modified to be made of a flexible material such as coated fabric or paper as Scanlon discloses that a rigid or flexible shape are equivalents for the purpose of an air impermeable bag for a suction cleaning device. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 17, Sernecki as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition teaches wherein the docking unit is inoperable when a bag is absent from the air treatment unit (See Johnson Para [0072] “The interface 600 also presents an unelectable empty bin button 608 (e.g., the button 608 is greyed out) indicating that the bin 124 of the robot 102 cannot be evacuated because the filter bag 304 of the evacuation station 200 is full.” And [0073] “In the interface 620, a clean button 622 is also unselectable (e.g., the clean button 602 is greyed out) to indicate that the robot 102 cannot be instructed to execute a cleaning mission when the bin 124 of the robot is full and cannot be emptied (because the filter bag 304 of the evacuation station 200 is also full).”).
Regarding Claim 18, Sernecki as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition discloses wherein the air treatment unit has an openable lid and, when the lid is opened, the bag is removable upwardly (See Duggan Para [0087] “Once the upper section 22 has been pivoted into the open position, the user grasps handle 66 on the canister and slides the canister off base 30. The canister is then moved to a location to remove dirt D from the base of the filter liner and to replace filter 80 and filter liner 200. During the replacement of the filters and the filter liner, filter 80 and filter liner 200 are lifted out of the canister and disposed of. The adhesive between the filter and the filter liner is typically designed to prevent the separation of the filter from the filter liner so as to minimize the amount of particles that escape during the disposal of the filter and the filter liner. The use of the filter liner also eliminates the need to carry the canister to a disposal site. As a result, the changing of the filter is made simpler and more convenient by the use of the filter liner.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sernecki (DE 102014119191 A1) in view of Duggan (US 20030182756 A1) and Johnson (US 20200069139 A1) and Scanlon (US 20010047721 A1) as modified in claim 16 and in further view of Morin (US 20160183752 A1).
Regarding Claim 19 Sernecki teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and but does not explicitly teach wherein the air treatment unit comprises a second stage air treatment member comprising a second stage dirt collection region and dirt collected in the second stage dirt collection region is emptiable into the bag.
However, Morin does teach a similar docking station for a similar cleaner that teaches a two-stage air treatment member (see figure 8a and 8b of Morin, 860 filter, 852 first cyclone and 854 second cyclone).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the docking station of Song to include a secondary air treatment member as doing so would allow for more efficient separation of the dust from the air, ensuring it is removed from the air stream, and is not reintroduced to the environment through the exhaust and to allow for one air treatment member stage to focus on one type of debris while the second focuses on another (See Para [0068] “In some examples, coarse and fine debris are separated during two stages of air particle separation using an air-particle separator device 750c (FIGS. 9A and 9B) and to have debris separated via the second stage air treatment member be emptiable into the air impermeable bag as doing so would prevent an operator from having to empty two different sections instead of removing and replacing a single bag.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723