Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the claim objections (page 7) have been fully considered and – in light of the amendment - are persuasive, therefore the related objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejections of the claims (pages 7-9) have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons, therefore the related rejections have been maintained:
Regarding the applicant’s argument (page 9) that the amended independent claims and newly added claims 21 and 24 recite limitations not taught by the prior art, the examiner disagrees, pointing to the related 103 rejections below.
The examiner notes that claims 22-23 and 25-27 were found to have features not taught by the prior art, see Allowable Subject Matter below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 11, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOLMES (US-2824754-A) in view of Chen (US-6196943-B1) and Uxcell’s 3/8" Drive Sliding Wrench Breaker Bar T-Handle Socket Hand Tool (https://www.amazon.com/uxcell-8-Inch-Sliding-T-Handle-Socket.../ Hereinafter “Uxcell”) (note: the underlined portions relate to the latest amendment, for the applicant’s convenience).
Regarding Claim 1, BOLMES teaches a coupler (the apparatus of Fig. 1 described in Col. 2: Line 7 as a trailer coupling) for use with a trailer (Title, Col. 2: Line 7, and Fig. 1), the coupler configured for attachment to the trailer (Para. starting Col. 2: Line 54 teaches that Holes 34 are provided for attaching to a trailer with bolts) and for receiving and selectively locking onto a hitch ball (Ball Member 6, Fig. 2) of a towing vehicle (Para. Col. 2: Line 24 describes the invention as: quick releasable- i.e. selectively locking, and the Socket 9 being cooperable with- i.e. receiving- Ball Member 6; Para. Col. 2: Line 54 describes Ball Member 6 being clamped to a towing vehicle), the coupler comprising:
a. a coupler body (Opposite End 10, Figs. 1 & 2) configured to be attached to the trailer (Para. Col. 2: Line 24 teaches that Opposite End 10 is formed for attachment to a trailer tongue), the coupler body (10) defining an upper surface (the upper surface of Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2, hereafter: “US”);
b. a socket (Socket 9, Fig. 2) attached to the coupler body (10) adjacent the upper surface (Socket 9 being formed together with near the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2), the socket (9) configured to receive the hitch ball (Socket 9 being receiving Ball Member 6 as discussed above);
c. a clamp (Retainer Clamp 12, Fig. 2) disposed adjacent to the socket (Retainer Clamp 12 being located near Socket 9, as illustrated in Fig. 2), the clamp (12) configured to cooperate with the socket (9) for selectively locking onto the hitch ball (Para. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches Retainer Clamp 12 being pressed against Ball Member 6, pressing it into Socket 9 as illustrated in Fig. 2); and
d. a handle (Handle 18, Fig. 2) disposed above the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (as illustrated in Fig. 2), the handle (18) operatively coupled to the clamp (Handle 18 being connected to Retainer Clamp 12 through Latch Bolt 14 and Bolt Shank 15, as illustrated in Fig. 2) for selectively moving the clamp (12) between a locked position and an unlocked position (Para. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches Handle 18 raising Retainer Clamp 12 into a ball retaining-i.e. locked- position, and Para. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches Handle 18 lowering Retainer Clamp 12 into a releasing-i.e. unlocked- position), wherein the handle (18) is rotatable about an axis (an axis along the length of Bolt Shank 15 as illustrated in Fig. 2) that is substantially perpendicular to the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (Bolt Shank 15 defining the axis as discussed above and being substantially perpendicular to the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2), and wherein a rod (Bolt Shank 15, Fig. 2) connects the handle (18) to the clamp (Bolt Shank 15 connecting Handle 18 and Retaining Clamp 12 as illustrated in Fig. 12), the rod (15) defining a long axis (along the length of Bolt Shank 15 as illustrated in Fig. 2), and wherein the rod (15) rotates about its long axis during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Para. Col. 2: Line 71 teaches Bolt Shank 15 rotating in Openings 16 & 17, which are aligned with the axis of the Bolt Shank; and Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 & Col. 3: Line 17 teaches Handle 18 swinging to move between a ball retaining-i.e. locked- position, and a releasing-i.e. unlocked- position), and wherein the upper surface (US) includes an opening (Opening 17, Fig. 2) defined therethrough, and the rod extends through the opening (Opening 17 extending through the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10 and Bolt Shank 15 extending through it as illustrated in Fig. 2),
further including {a} curved ramped surface (Inclined Cam Surface 20, Fig. 2; curved as illustrated in Fig. 1), {the} curved ramp surface (20) provided by a structure (Arcuate Element 19, Fig. 2) on the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (Inclined Cam Surface 20 being disposed on Arcuate Element 19 which is disposed on the Upper Surface US of Opposite Side 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2), the ramped {surface} (20) cooperating with the handle (18) to move the clamp (12) between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches that the Handle 18 rides upward along the Inclined Cam Surface 20 to raise the Retaining Clamp 12 into the ball retaining- i.e. locking- position and Paras. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches describes a similar action in the downward direction to move into a ball releasing- i.e. unlocking- position),
further wherein the handle (18) includes {a} curved {channel} (Flattened Portion 37, Fig. 2, considered a channel in that it is formed as a groove and considered curved in that it is illustrated with a curved shape in Fig. 1) and wherein the ramped {surface} (20) {is} received in the {channel} (37) when the handle (18) is rotated so as to move the clamp (12) to the locked position (Flattened Portion 37 being in contact with-i.e. receiving- Inclined Cam Surface 20 while Retaining Clamp 12 is in the locked position, as illustrated in Fig. 2) and wherein the rod (15) further includes a pin (Handle 18 forming a pin) wherein the pin (18) rides on the ramped {surface} (20) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches that the Handle 18 rides upward along the Inclined Cam Surface 20 to move into the ball retaining- i.e. locking- position and Paras. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches describes a similar action in the downward direction to move into a ball releasing- i.e. unlocking- position) and further wherein {the structure} (19) providing the curved ramp surface (20) includes a space (Stop Abutment 21, Figs. 1 and 2) to receive the pin (18) in the locked position (Stop Abutment 21, and the portion of Cam Surface 20 adjacent to it, form a space that receives Handle 18 while it is in the locked position illustrated in Figs. 1 and 2).
BOLMES does not teach that the curved ramped surface and the curved channel are each pairs.
Chen teaches, in another handle apparatus that converts an operator’s rotational input into linear movement (Para. Col. 3: Line 4 teaches that rotating Knob 5 causes Spur Cam-Disk 30 to drive Passive Cam-Disk 31 in an axial direction; see also Figs. 2- 3), a pair of curved ramped surfaces (formed by the surface of Cam-Disk Flanges 312 that engages with Cam-Disk Flanges 3011 as illustrated in Fig. 1; Para. Col. 2: Line 31 teaches the Cam-Disk Flanges 312 as a pair in that it teaches a plurality of Cam-Disk Flanges 3011 which are coordinately formed with them, curved in that the Cam-Disk Flanges 3011 are therein described as circular, and ramped in that they are angled with respect to their direction of motion as illustrated in Fig. 1) which cooperate with a handle (Knob 5, Fig. 1) to drive a linear movement (as discussed above), and a pair of curved channels (Cam-Disk Recesses 3012, Fig. 1; considered a pair and curved for similar reasons as the Cam-Disk Flanges 312) wherein the ramped surfaces (313) are received in the channels (3012) when the handle (5) is rotated (Para. Col. 3: Line 4 teaches that when Knob 5 is rotated Cam-Disk Flanges 312 engage with- i.e. are received by- Cam-Disk Recesses 3012).
The pair of curved ramped surfaces of Chen are arranged such that they are substantially semicircular (Cam-Disk Flanges 3011 are described as circular in Para. Col. 2: Line 31 and illustrated such that, if a pair was chosen as the plurality, they would be substantially semicircular as each would be disposed about half of the circle formed by Spur Cam-Disk 30 as illustrated in Fig. 1), and an opening is centered relative to them (Cam-Disk Flanges 3011 being centered around an opening which extends at least through Spur Cam-Disk 30 and Knob 5, as illustrated in Fig. 1) (note: these teachings relate to the 103 rejection of claim 18 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of BOLMES and Chen in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify BOLMES’s coupler such that the curved ramped surface and the curved channel were each pairs as suggested by Chen. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a balancing axial force across the axis of rotation that would beneficially provide a smoother acting handle movement.
BOLMES, as modified above, does not teach an opening in the rod where the pin is inserted.
Uxcell teaches, in another handle apparatus for rotational movement (being described in the title as “T-Handle” and “Wrench”, where a wrench is understood to be for the purpose of driving a rotational movement), a rod (Rod “RD”, Fig. 1 Annotated) including an opening (Opening “OP”, Fig. 1 Annotated) perpendicular to the long axis (up and down along Rod RD- in Fig. 1 Annotated) of the rod (Opening OP being disposed perpendicular to the long axis- i.e. up and down- of Rod RD as illustrated in Fig. 1 Annotated) and further including a pin (Pin “PN”, Fig. 1 Annotated) inserted through the rod opening (Pin PN being inserted through Opening OP of Rod RD as illustrated in Fig. 1 Annotated).
Uxcell further teaches that sliding the straight bar all the way to one side of the T-Bar allows the application of more leverage and therefore more torque to a fastener (“About this item”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of BOLMES, Chen, and Uxcell in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify BOLMES’s coupler, as modified above, to include an opening in the rod where a pin is inserted as suggested by Uxcell. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of allowing the rod to slide all the way to one side that would beneficially allow the application of more torque to a fastener as taught by Uxcell and discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, BOLMES further teaches that the socket further includes a side opening (the right side portion of Socket 9 being open as illustrated in Fig. 2) into which the clamp (12) moves for the selective locking of the hitch ball (Retainer Clamp 12 being illustrated as in the side opening and in a ball retaining position in Fig. 2) and a channel (a channel shape being formed by Opposite End 10, as illustrated in Figs. 1 & 2 and being described as u-shaped in Para. Col. 2: Line 53) adjacent the side opening (Opposite End 10 being next to the side opening as illustrated in Fig. 2), the channel (10) defining a lower opening (the opening disposed downwards in Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2), wherein the clamp (12) is movable within the channel (Para. Col. 2: Line 54 teaches Retainer Clamp 12 swinging on Pivot 11, and being disposed within Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2, is understood to be moveable within it) for the selective movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (the ball retaining and releasing positions discussed above), and further including a stop (Self Locking Nut 29, Fig. 2, considered a stop in that it prevents movement of the Retainer Clamp 12 in at least one direction) disposed in the channel adjacent the lower opening (as illustrated in Fig. 2), the stop (29) operative to prevent the clamp from moving beyond the lower opening (Self Locking Nut 29 securing Retaining Clamp 12 to Latch Bolt 14, as illustrated in Fig. 2, it prevents Retaining Clamp 12 from detaching from the Latch Bolt 14 which would cause it to move beyond the lower opening in Opposite End 10).
Regarding Claim 4, BOLMES further teaches that the rod (15) rotates relative to the clamp (12) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 & Col. 3: Line 17 teaches Handle 18 swinging to move between a ball retaining-i.e. locked- position, and a releasing-i.e. unlocked- position; Handle 18 being connected to Bolt Shank 15 such that they turn together and Retaining Clamp 12 being fixed rotationally in the axis along Bolt Shank 15 that Bolt Shank 15 is understood to rotate relative to Retaining Clamp 12 when moving between the locked and unlocked positions).
Regarding Claim 6, BOLMES further teaches that the rod (15) is coupled to the clamp (12) below the opening (17) and coupled to the handle (18) above the opening (Bolt Shank 15 passing through Opening 16 of the Retaining Clamp 12 below Opening 17 of the Opposite End 10 so as to be coupled there, and Bolt Shank 15 coupled to Handle 18 at a corner of Latch Bolt 14 which is disposed above Opening 17 of the Opposite End 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, BOLMES, as modified above such that the ramped surfaces are a pair (see the 103 rejection of claim 1 above), further teaches that at least one of the ramped surfaces includes a detent (the lower-right side of Inclined Cam Surface 20, Fig. 2) to receive and hold the pin (18) with the clamp (12) in {the unlocked position} (the lower-right side of Inclined Cam Surface 20 forming a low point in the path of Handle 18 such that, together with a downward force applied to the Handle 18 by Spring 26, it would prevent a vertical motion of Handle 18 when positioned there, it is considered a detent that would receive and hold Handle 18 while the Retaining Clamp 12 is in a unlocked position; see also the corresponding claim objection above).
Regarding Claim 21, BOLMES, as modified above, does not specifically teach that each of the pair of structures includes a space to receive the pin, but it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify BOLMES’s coupler such each structure included a space for the same reasons that the curved ramped surface and the curved channel were modified to be pairs as discussed in the 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 24, BOLMES further teaches that the space (21) includes a detent (Latch Handle Portion 25, Figs. 1 and 2) to hold the pin (18) in the space (Col. 3: Lines 49- 61 teach that Latch Handle Portion 25 automatically assumes a locking position to hold Handle 18 when Handle 18 rides over it).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOLMES, Chen, and Uxcell in view of Kraai (US-7690673-B1).
Regarding Claim 12, BOLMES does not teach a pair of tabs for a padlock shaft.
Kraai teaches, in another coupler for a trailer (Coupler 10, Fig. 1 and Para. Col. 2: Line 39), a pair of tabs (Locking Surface 36 of Lever 26 and Bracket 42, Fig. 1), one (36) affixed to a handle (Lever 26, Fig. 1) and one (42) affixed to a coupler body (10), the tabs (36 & 42) each including an opening (Locking Opening 56 in Locking Surface 36 and Locking Hole 46 in Bracket 42, Fig. 1), wherein the openings (56 & 46) are aligned with one another when a clamp (Ball Clamp Member 22, Fig. 1) is in a locked position (Para. Col. 3: Line 46 teaches Locking Opening 56 and Locking Hole 46 being aligned when Lever 26 is in a locked position and Para. Col. 2: Line 63 teaches that Lever 26 acts to move Clamp 22 to a clamping- i.e. locking- position), the aligned openings (56 & 46) operative for insertion of a padlock shaft therethrough (Para. Col. 3: Line 46 teaches that a padlock may be positioned within the Locking Opening 56 and Locking Hole 46 to retain the Lever 26 in the locked position).
Kraai further teaches that a padlock may advantageously be used to secure against theft of the towed vehicle by an unauthorized decoupling (Para. Col. 3: Line 46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of BOLMES and Kraai in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify BOLMES’s coupler to include a pair of tabs for a padlock shaft as suggested by Kraai. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a means for securement against theft as taught by Kraai and discussed above.
Claims 13-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOLMES in view of Chen.
Regarding Claim 13, BOLMES, as modified above, teaches a coupler for use with a trailer that has many features which are substantially similar to the coupler of claim 1 (see the 103 rejection of claim 1 above, noting that at least the features taught by Uxcell of claim 1 are not recited in claim 13), and further teaches at least one structure (Arcuate Element 19, Fig. 2) that provides a ramped surface (Inclined Cam Surface 20, Fig. 2) extending upward from the upper surface (Inclined Cam Surface 20 being disposed on Arcuate Element 19 which is disposed on the Upper Surface US of Opposite Side 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2);
and that the handle (18) includes a skid (Flattened Portion 37, Fig. 2, considered a skid in that it is formed to provide a bearing surface as described in Para. Col. 2: Line 72) that rides on the ramped surface (20) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches that the Flattened Portion 37 of Handle 18 rides upward along the Inclined Cam Surface 20 to raise the Retaining Clamp 12 into the ball retaining- i.e. locking- position and Paras. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches describes a similar action in the downward direction to move into a ball releasing- i.e. unlocking- position), and further wherein the at least one structure (19) providing the curved ramp surface (20) includes a space (Stop Abutment 21, Figs. 1 and 2) to receive the pin (18) in the locked position (Stop Abutment 21, and the portion of Cam Surface 20 adjacent to it, form a space that receives Handle 18 while it is in the locked position illustrated in Figs. 1 and 2).
BOLMES, as modified above, does not teach that the skid is a pair of skids, but it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of BOLMES, Chen, and Uxcell in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify BOLMES’s coupler, as modified above, such that the skid was a pair of skids for the same reasons that the curved ramped surface and the curved channel were modified to be pairs as discussed in the 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 14, BOLMES further teaches the handle (18) is rotatable about an axis (an axis along the length of Bolt Shank 15 as illustrated in Fig. 2) that is substantially perpendicular to the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (Bolt Shank 15 defining the axis as discussed above and being substantially perpendicular to the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, BOLMES further teaches that a rod (Bolt Shank 15, Fig. 2) connects the handle (18) to the clamp (Bolt Shank 15 connecting Handle 18 and Retaining Clamp 12 as illustrated in Fig. 12), the rod (15) defining a long axis (along the length of Bolt Shank 15 as illustrated in Fig. 2), and wherein the rod (15) rotates about its long axis relative to the clamp (12) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 & Col. 3: Line 17 teaches Handle 18 swinging to move between a ball retaining-i.e. locked- position, and a releasing-i.e. unlocked- position; Handle 18 being connected to Bolt Shank 15 such that they turn together and Retaining Clamp 12 being fixed rotationally in the axis along Bolt Shank 15 that Bolt Shank 15 is understood to rotate relative to Retaining Clamp 12 when moving between the locked and unlocked positions).
Regarding Claim 17, BOLMES further teaches that the upper surface (US) includes an opening (Opening 17, Fig. 2) defined therethrough, and the rod extends through the opening (Opening 17 extending through the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10 and Bolt Shank 15 extending through it as illustrated in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, BOLMES, as modified by Chen, teaches all limitations (see the 103 rejection of claim 1 above for the teachings of Chen and the motivation to combine them with the coupler of BOLMES).
Regarding Claim 19, BOLMES teaches a trailer (any of the “trailer vehicles” cited in Col. 1: Line 15) including a coupler (Col. 2: Line 7 describes the apparatus of Fig. 1 as a trailer coupling for trailing vehicles) for receiving and selectively locking onto a hitch ball (Ball Member 6, Fig. 2) of a towing vehicle (Para. Col. 2: Line 54 describes Ball Member 6 being clamped to a towing vehicle), wherein the coupler comprises:
a. a socket (Socket 9, Fig. 2) configured to receive the hitch ball (Socket 9 being cooperable with- i.e. receiving- Ball Member 6;);
b. an upper surface (the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2) adjacent the socket (Socket 9 being formed together with near the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10 as illustrated in Fig. 2) and at least one structure (Arcuate Element 19, Fig. 2) that provides a ramped surface (Inclined Cam Surface 20) extending upward from the upper surface (Inclined Cam Surface 20 being disposed on Arcuate Element 19 which extends upward from the Upper Surface US of Opposite Side 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2);
c. a clamp (Retainer Clamp 12, Fig. 2) disposed adjacent to the socket (Retainer Clamp 12 being located near Socket 9, as illustrated in Fig. 2), the clamp (12) configured to cooperate with the socket (9) for selectively locking onto the hitch ball (Para. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches Retainer Clamp 12 being pressed against Ball Member 6, pressing it into Socket 9 as illustrated in Fig. 2); and
d. a handle (Handle 18, Fig. 2) disposed above the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (as illustrated in Fig. 2), the handle (18) operatively coupled to the clamp (Handle 18 being connected to Retainer Clamp 12 through Latch Bolt 14 and Bolt Shank 15, as illustrated in Fig. 2) for selectively moving the clamp (12) between a locked position and an unlocked position (Para. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches Handle 18 raising Retainer Clamp 12 into a ball retaining-i.e. locked- position, and Para. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches Handle 18 lowering Retainer Clamp 12 into a releasing-i.e. unlocked- position), wherein the handle (18) is rotatable about an axis (an axis along the length of Bolt Shank 15 as illustrated in Fig. 2) that is substantially perpendicular to the upper surface (US) of the coupler body (Bolt Shank 15 defining the axis as discussed above and being substantially perpendicular to the Upper Surface US of Opposite End 10, as illustrated in Fig. 2), and wherein the handle (18) includes a skid (Flattened Portion 37, Fig. 2, considered a skid in that it is formed to provide a bearing surface as described in Para. Col. 2: Line 72) that rides on the ramped surface (20) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches that the Flattened Portion 37 of Handle 18 rides upward along the Inclined Cam Surface 20 to raise the Retaining Clamp 12 into the ball retaining- i.e. locking- position and Paras. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches describes a similar action in the downward direction to move into a ball releasing- i.e. unlocking- position) and further including a pin (Handle 18 forming a pin) that rides on the ramped surfaces (20) during movement between the locked position and the unlocked position (Paras. Col. 3: Line 49 teaches that the Handle 18 rides upward along the Inclined Cam Surface 20 to move into the ball retaining- i.e. locking- position and Paras. Col. 3: Line 17 teaches describes a similar action in the downward direction to move into a ball releasing- i.e. unlocking- position), and further wherein the at least one structure (19) providing the curved ramp surface (20) includes a space (Stop Abutment 21, Figs. 1 and 2) to receive the pin (18) in the locked position (Stop Abutment 21, and the portion of Cam Surface 20 adjacent to it, form a space that receives Handle 18 while it is in the locked position illustrated in Figs. 1 and 2).
BOLMES does not teach that the curved ramped surface and the skid are each pairs, but it would have been obvious to make them pairs in view of the teachings of Chen (see the 103 rejections of claims 1 and 13 above for the teachings of Chen and motivation to combine them with the coupler / trailer of BOLMES).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-23 and 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102/103 is not made because the claims are patentably distinguishable from the prior art of record. Every element of the claims is not taught by any of the references individually and the prior art of record fails to permissibly teach the overall combination as claimed. Even if one could construe the prior art of record such that the combination disclosed each and every limitation of the claims, the ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references in reference to themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The closest prior art of record, as highlighted above, BOLMES, Chen, Uxcell, and Kraai, generally disclose a coupler and a trailer including a coupler with similar components to the claimed invention.
However, none of these specifically disclose a curved ramp surface which includes an upper edge that is particularly arranged to prevent upward movement of a pin while the pin is in a locked position.
Even if each and every element of the present invention were taught individually by the aforementioned references, combining the references as an ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references present in the aforementioned references themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For at least these reasons, claims 22-23 and 25-27, as far as they include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, are indicated as reciting allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611