Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigensberg et al. (Pub. No. 20150272223).
Regarding claim 1, Weigensberg discloses an inhalation component generation device, comprising:
a load configured to vaporize or atomize an inhalation component source with electric power from a power supply [0047] (Abstract);
a controller configured to generate a command for supplying electric power to the load [0049][0050]; and
a light emitting element (LED) configured to provide a notification [0046],
wherein the controller is configured to change light emission of the light emitting diode in a second light emission pattern while electric power is being supplied to the load according to a second command generated in a state where a value indicating a remaining amount of the power supply is lower than a predetermined value that is lower than a value corresponding to a full charge, and end light emission of the notification unit in the second light emission pattern in response to completion of supply of electric power to the load according to the second command [0046][0054],
Weigensberg discloses different colors LED can be used to indicate any different level of battery charge [0054] (they can all be light emitting diode with the same notification pattern include a continuous light emission for a predetermined period with different colors associated with the depletion level of the battery). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art can have the control unit is configured to change light emission of the notification unit in a first light emission pattern while electric power is being supplied to the load according to a first command generated in a substantially full-charge state of the power supply, and end light emission of the notification unit in the first light emission pattern in response to completion of supply of electric power to the load according to the first command,
and wherein the controller is configured to control the LED so that light emission of the LED corresponding to the first command can be distinguished from light emission of the LED corresponding to the second command [0054] (different colors), and
Weigensberg discloses the warning mechanism may be the LED at a tip of the electronic vapor device that lights during use [0057] corresponding to the claimed wherein the controller starts the light emission of the LED in response to acquiring an operation request signal to the load.
Regarding claim 2, Weigensberg discloses wherein the first light emission pattern includes a repetition of light emission and non-light emission [0055].
Regarding claim 3, Weigensberg discloses wherein light emission of the LED corresponding to the second command is controlled to notify that a remaining amount of the power supply is reduced than a full- charge state [0046][0054].
Regarding claim 4, since Weigensberg discloses the percentage of battery charge remaining can be used (corresponding to the claimed a value indicating a remaining amount of the power supply is lower than a predetermined value that is lower than a value corresponding to a full charge), the amount of times (natural number) that the load can be operated can be determined by the remaining amount of the power supply)
Regarding claim 5, Weigensberg discloses the controller is configured to automatically turn off the inhalation component generation device after the load has been operated M times (corresponding to battery percentage as disclosed above for claim 4) [0061].
Regarding claim 6, Weigensberg discloses wherein the controller can be configured to cause the notification unit to emit light in a pattern different from the first light emission pattern and/or in a color different from a color of light emission of the LED corresponding to the first command, when degradation or abnormality of the power supply is detected [0054] [0055].
Regarding claim 7, Weigensberg discloses a system comprising a charger and an electrical unit configured to be connectable to the charger, wherein the electrical unit comprises:
a first power supply; a load configured to vaporize or atomize an inhalation component source with electric power from the first power supply [0047] (Abstract);
a control unit configured to generate a command for supplying electric power to the load [0049][0050]; and
a notification unit that includes a light emitting element [0046],
wherein the control unit is configured to change light emission of the notification unit in a first light emission pattern while electric power is being supplied to the load according to a first command generated in a substantially full-charge state of the first power supply, and end light emission of the notification unit in the first light emission pattern in response to completion of supply of electric power to the load according to the first command [0046][0054],
wherein the control unit is configured to change light emission of the notification unit in a second light emission pattern while electric power is being supplied to the load according to a second command generated in a state where a value indicating a remaining amount of the first power supply is lower than a predetermined value that is lower than a value corresponding to a full charge, and end light emission of the notification unit in the second light emission pattern in response to completion of supply of electric power to the load according to the second command [0046][0054],
wherein the first light emission pattern used in a first mode and the second light emission pattern used in a second mode are a same notification pattern having identical notification timing and notification periods [0054] (they can all be light emitting diode), and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the notification unit so that light emission of the notification unit corresponding to the first command can be distinguished from light emission of the notification unit corresponding to the second command [0054] (different colors), and wherein the charger comprises:
a second power supply to charge the first power supply of the electrical unit when the electrical unit is connected to the charger; and a processer configured to control charge from the second power supply to the first power supply [0066-0067].
Regarding claim 8, Weigensberg discloses the control unit of the electrical unit and the processor of the charger perform a process in cooperation [0066][0067].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 16856260 in view of Weigensberg et al. (Pub. No. 20150272223). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both toward an inhalation component generation device comprising a load, a control unit a notification unit for indicating a remaining amount of charge with a first threshold and a second threshold of amount of charge in the power supply. Furthermore, Weigensberg discloses the warning mechanism may be the LED at a tip of the electronic vapor device that lights during use [0057] corresponding to the claimed wherein the controller starts the light emission of the LED in response to acquiring an operation request signal to the load.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Double Patenting rejection, Applicant essentially argues that there’s a different in concept wherein the current claimed, as amended, is directed to a puff-sychronized LED notification system. However, as explained above, Weigensberg discloses the warning mechanism may be the LED at a tip of the electronic vapor device that lights during use [0057] corresponding to the claimed wherein the controller starts the light emission of the LED in response to acquiring an operation request signal to the load.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially argues that Weigensberg does not disclose or suggest “wherein the controller starts the light emission of the LED in response to acquiring an operation request signal to the load” because nowhere does Weigensberg teach or suggest starting LED emission in response to an operation request signal such as a user’s inhalation, the notification is triggered by and synchronized with the user’s puff operation rather than being a passive battery status indicator. This argument is not persuasive because Weigensberg discloses the warning mechanism may be the LED at a tip of the electronic vapor device that lights during use [0057] corresponding to the claimed wherein the controller starts the light emission of the LED in response to acquiring an operation request signal to the load.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747