`Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAfee et al., “Two-Color Laser Induced Fluorescence Measurements of Natural Convection in a Dielectric Fluid” (hereafter, McAfee) in view of Igata et al (US 2020/0080199, hereafter, Igata).
As per claim 1, McAfee teaches the following:
“An optical thermography system (see pg. 498, Introduction, para 2) comprising,”.
a fluorescent solution channel formed therein (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup),
and a test sample surface disposed above the fluorescent solution channel (see pg.499 Experimental Setup).
However, McAfee does not teach temperature regulating fluid channel or a fluorescent solution fluid inlet and outlet.
Igata teaches a microfluidic device including a channel configured for a flow of a known viscosity fluid (see para [0026], [0040]), with the channel having an inlet outlet on opposite sides (see para [0030]), and discloses the use of the channel for temperature sensing via fluid flow.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify McAfee by incorporating the teaching of Igata to include a separate fluorescent solution channel formed in the base member with respective inlets/outlets and a fluid channel with a temperature sensor for the purpose of temperature measurement, with fluid entering and exiting through ports on opposite sides.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “The optical thermography system according to claim 1, further comprising a thermal insulator on the base member, circumscribing the test sample surface.”
McAfee teaches a base member and test sample surface (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach a thermal insulator on a base member that circumscribes the test sample surface.
Igata teaches a microfluidic temperature sensing system with a temperature adjusting device and microfluidic device layered above thermally isolating materials to stabilize thermal behavior of the fluidic and sensing region (see para [0041], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Mcafee in view of Igata to include a thermal insulator circumscribing the sensing surface in order to stabilize temperature measurement and reduce thermal noise during optical detection.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites, “The optical thermography system according to claim 2, wherein the temperature regulating fluid inlet, the temperature regulating fluid outlet, the fluorescent solution fluid inlet, and the florescent solution fluid outlet all extend through the thermal insulator.”
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see Experimental Setup, para 2), but does not teach temperature control and fluorescent solution channels that all the inlets and outlets extend through the thermal insulator.
Igata teaches thermal interface systems in which multiple inlet/outlet ports are located on a surface of the device that are connected to internal channels (see para [0030]). These ports pass through the structure, and Igata further teaches a temperature control setup beneath the device using thermal insulation layers (see para [0040] – [0042]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that these ports pass through the thermally isolating region in order to deliver fluid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee by incorporating the insulated routing of fluid inlets and outlets taught by Igata. This modification would maintain thermal stability and signal fidelity, reduce thermal leakage across fluid paths, and ensure physical and thermal separation between regulated temperature fluid and emitted optical signal pathways.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites, “The optical thermography system according to claim 3, wherein the temperature regulating fluid inlet is diametrically opposite the temperature regulating fluid outlet.”
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach a temperature regulating fluid channel, nor that the fluid inlet and outlet are diametrically opposite.
Igata teaches a microfluidic temperature regulation system including fluidic channels with opposing inlets and outlets (see para [0032], [0040] – [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by arranging the temperature regulating fluid inlet and outlet in a diametrically opposite configuration. This modification would improve thermal uniformity across the test sample surface by promoting linear fluid flow, as suggested by Glass.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 3, wherein the fluorescent solution fluid inlet is diametrically opposite the florescent solution fluid outlet.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the fluorescent solution fluid inlet is diametrically opposite the fluorescent solution fluid outlet.
Igata teaches opposing inlets and outlets are positioned in a microfluidic temperature control system (see para [0032], [0040] – [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by arranging the fluorescent solution fluid inlet and outlet in a diametrically opposite configuration in order to enable linear dye flow and enhance thermal uniformity.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 1, further comprising a first temperature measurement device at the temperature regulating fluid inlet and a second temperature measurement device at the temperature regulating fluid outlet.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach a fluid channel that a first temperature measurement device is at the temperature regulating fluid inlet and second temperature measurement device is at the temperature regulating fluid outlet.
Igata teaches a unit for measuring pressures in an inlet and outlet of a micro channel that is used to calculate the viscosity of the fluid and measure the temperature in the micro channel from a difference between the pressures (see para [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee’s system to include a unit for measuring pressures in an inlet and outlet of a microchannel as taught by Igata, in order to enable temperature monitoring at the fluid inlet and outlet to improve control over thermal flow dynamics in the system.
Claims 7, 13, and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAfee in view of Igata and Xu et al. (CN 110906988, hereafter Xu).
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 1, wherein the fluorescent solution channel extends above the temperature regulating fluid channel.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup) as stated above, but MacAfee in view of Igata does not explicitly express a fluorescent solution channel that extends above the temperature regulating fluid channel.
However, Xu teaches a Xu teaches a double micro-fluid device, wherein one fluidic channel is above the separate fluid channel (see translated specification, “the invention uses upper and lower microfluidic channel structure design”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by introducing a fluorescent solution channel extending above a separate fluid channel, as suggested by Xu, in order to separate and independently control the thermal and optical environments within the thermographic sensing structure. This configuration would enhance thermal isolation and signal fidelity for improving detection accuracy.
As per claim 13, McAfee teaches the following:
“An optical thermography system (see pg. 498, Introduction, para 2),
and a test sample surface disposed above the upper channel (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup).
However, McAfee does not teach a lower fluid channel with temperature regulation on the sides of the inlet and outlet and an upper fluid channel that is above the lower fluid channel with temperature regulation on the sides of the inlet and outlet, nor a microfluidic device including a channel configured for the flow of know viscosity fluid with temperature measurement (see para [0032]).
Igata teaches a microfluidic device including a channel configured for a flow of a known viscosity fluid (see para [0026], [0040], [0032]), with the channel having an inlet outlet on opposite sides (see para [0030]), and discloses the use of the channel for temperature sensing via fluid flow.
It would have been obvious to a person ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing data to modify McAfee in view of Igata by combining the optical thermography system with a test sample surface and incorporating the temperature sensing fluidic channel that has an inlet and outlet on opposing sides in order to facilitate thermal sensing across a controlled flow path, allowing accurate detection of temperature changes as fluid traverses the channel.
However, McAfee in view of Igata does not teach a layered fluidic channel system having both an upper channel for fluorescent sensing and a lower temperature regulating fluid channel, each with respective inlets and outlets positioned on opposite sides.,
Xu teaches a double micro-fluid channel structure including micro-channels (1) and (2) with fluid flowing from the inlet to the outlet. Channel 1 is described as “left above the fluid inlet,” indicating an upper channel above a lower one. Xu does not explicitly teach a temperature regulating fluid channel (see translated specification, “the invention uses upper and lower microfluidic channel structure design”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by incorporating the teachings of Xu to provide an upper channel above a lower fluid channel in order to enable thermal measurement and fluid management within layered structures.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 14, wherein the lower fluid inlet, the lower fluid outlet, the upper fluid inlet, and the upper fluid outlet all extend from the top surface of the thermal insulator.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach temperature control and fluorescent solution channels that all the inlets and outlets extend from the top surface of the thermal insulator.
Igata teaches thermal interface systems in which multiple inlet/outlet ports are located on the top surface of the device that are connected to internal channels (see para [0030]). These ports pass through the structure, and Igata further teaches a temperature control setup beneath the device using thermal insulation layers (see para [0040] – [0042]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that these ports pass through the thermally isolating region in order to deliver fluid.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee by incorporating the insulated routing of fluid inlets and outlets through the top surface as taught by Igata in order to simplify device layout and enable compact integration of thermally isolated fluid pathways while maintaining efficient fluid communication through internal sensing.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 14, wherein the lower fluid inlet is diametrically opposite the lower fluid outlet.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the lower fluid inlet and outlet are diametrically opposite.
Igata teaches a microfluidic temperature regulation system including fluidic channels with opposing inlets and outlets (see para [0032], [0040] – [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by arranging the lower fluid inlet and outlet in a diametrically opposite configuration in order to promote fluid flow distribution and thermal balance across the sensing region.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 14, wherein the upper fluid inlet is diametrically opposite the upper fluid outlet.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the upper fluid inlet and outlet are diametrically opposite.
Igata teaches a microfluidic temperature regulation system including fluidic channels with opposing inlets and outlets (see para [0032], [0040] – [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by arranging the upper fluid inlet and outlet in a diametrically opposite configuration in order to facilitate predictable fluid pathing and uniform temperature distribution across the test sample surface.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the optical thermography system according to claim 13, wherein the upper channel is configured to flow a thermographic fluid therethrough.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but McAfee in view of Igata does not specify if the channel in which the fluid flows is an upper or lower channel.
However, Xu teaches a double micro-fluid device, wherein one fluidic channel is above a separate fluid channel (see translated specification, “the invention uses upper and lower microfluidic channel structure design”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee’s fluorescent solution channel in view of Xu by arranging the upper channel to flow a thermographic fluid in order to achieve layered thermal measurement through separation of sensing and regulating functions within compact microfluidic structures.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 13, wherein the lower channel is configured to flow a temperature regulating fluid therethrough.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pg. 499, Experimental Setup), but McAfee in view of Igata does not specify if the channel in which the fluid flows is an upper or lower channel.
However, Xu teaches a double micro-fluid device, wherein one fluidic channel is above the separate fluid channel (see translated specification, “the invention uses upper and lower microfluidic channel structure design”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee’s fluorescent solution channel in view of Xu by arranging the lower channel to flow a temperature regulating fluid in order to enable stratified fluid routing that separates sensing and thermal control functions within a compact system for improved heat regulation.
As per claim 20, McAfee teaches the following:
“An optical thermography system (see pg. 498, Introduction),
and a test sample surface disposed above the upper channel (see pg. 499 Experimental Setup).
However, McAfee does not teach a lower base member, nor does it disclose that the lower fluid channel is formed above a lower base member. McAfee also does not teach an upper base member located above the lower channel.
Igata teaches a microfluidic device including a channel configured for the flow of know viscosity fluid with temperature measurement (see para [0032]), with the channel having an inlet outlet on opposite sides (see para [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to modify McAfee by combing the optical thermography system and device with Igata’s fluidic channels comprising of an inlet and outlet with temperature measurement in order to enable accurate monitoring and regulation of temperature changes across the fluid path, improving system responsiveness and control for thermal sensing applications.
McAfee in view of Igata it does not teach that the optical thermography system comprising of a fluidic channel that is layered with an upper and lower chamber.
Xu teaches a double micro-fluid channel structure where a first fluid channel is located above a second fluid channel [see translated specification, “the invention uses upper and lower microfluidic channel structure design”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by incorporating the teaching of Xu to configure layered temperature regulated fluidic channels in order to improve modular thermal management across multiple zones and support precision sensing within stacked assemblies.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAfee in view of Igata in view of Blemel et al (US 2016/0099126, hereafter, Blemel).
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 2, wherein the thermal insulator comprises a polymer.
McAfee in view of Igata teaches an optical thermography system with a fluorescent solution channel formed (see pgs. 498 – 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the thermal insulator comprises a polymer.
Blemel teaches the use of polymeric materials that are used to produce thermal isolation and contained in a suitable polymer, metal, or glass, with polymers being preferred for strength, reliability, and protection from environmental factors (see para. [0120]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by incorporating a polymer as the material for the thermal insulator in order to better regulate temperature, improve isolation performance, and provide durability and resistance to environmental stressors.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 13, further comprising a thermal insulator on the base member, the thermal insulator having a top surface.
McAfee teaches an optical thermography system (see pgs. 498 – 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach a thermal insulator integrated with the base member with the thermal insulator having a top surface.
Blemel teaches a thermal insulating polymer material positioned between layers to reduce thermal conduction and insulate sensitive elements (see para. [0120]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata to include a thermal insulator on the base member, the thermal insulator having a top surface, as taught by Blemel in order to reduce heat transfer to temperature sensitive regions and enhance thermal stability by providing an integrated insulating surface on the base structure.
Claims 8 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAfee in view of Igata in view of Cumbie et al (US 2016/0099126, hereafter Cumbie).
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 1, wherein the test sample surface comprises an optically transparent polymer.
McAfee in view of Igata teaches an optical thermographic system comprising a test sample surface ( see pgs. 498 – 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the test sample surface comprises an optically transparent polymer nor does it disclose the use of a fluorescent solution channel.
Cumbie teaches the use of temperature regulating flow channels comprising an optically transparent material that is also thermally conductive. The use of a transparent material allows for optical access to the reaction chamber for testing (see para [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the test sample surface of McAfee in view of Igata to comprise an optically transparent polymer as taught by Cumbie, in order to enhance optical access and measurement accuracy for fluorescent based thermal sensing systems.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 8, further comprising an aluminum coating on the optically transparent polymer.
McAfee in view of Igata teaches an optical thermography system (see pgs. 498 – 499, Experimental Setup), but does not disclose an aluminum coating on the optically transparent polymer.
Cumbie teaches the application of metal coatings such as aluminum or copper on optical components to improve heat transfer and measurement accuracy in infrared thermography systems (see para [0046] – [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata by incorporating an aluminum coating on the optically transparent polymer as taught by Cumbie in order to improve reflectivity, reduce signal loss, and enhance thermal imaging accuracy in the optical thermography system.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 1, wherein the base member is constructed from an optically transparent or an optically translucent material.
McAfee in view of Igata teaches an optical thermography system (see pgs. 498 – 499, Experimental Setup), but does not teach that the base member is constructed from an optically transparent or an optically translucent material.
Cumbie teaches the use of optically transparent materials in a temperature regulating flow channel (see para [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the base member in McAfee in view of Igata to be formed from an optically transparent or translucent material, as taught by Cumbie in order to enable optical access for thermal measurements or inspection through the base member, thereby enhancing functionality without disassembling the system.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites: The optical thermography system according to claim 1, wherein the fluorescent solution channel has a thickness of about 0.40 mm.
McAfee in view of Igata teaches an optical thermography system (see pgs. 498 - 499 Experimental Setup), but does not teach a fluorescent solution channel that has a thickness of about 0.40. mm.
Cumbie teaches a microfluidic system that uses microfluidic channels to enable fine thermal measurement accuracy and precise thermal mapping, and describes the layer or lid suitable thickness for thermal analysis and fluorescence detection, which commonly range from approximately 0.1 mm to 1 mm depending on the desired resolution and application (see para [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify McAfee in view of Igata’s optical thermography system with Cumbie’s microfluidic channels to have a thickness of about 0.44 mm, as such dimensions are well within known ranges for microfluidic channels used in optical and thermal sensing systems, and would allow for improved measurements precision and thermal control as suggested by Cumbie.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANUEL CASTELLON whose telephone number is (571)-272-4107. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached on 571-272-4107. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patentcenter for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MANUEL CASTELLON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855