DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, and 16-17 are amended. Claim 20 is new.
Response to Amendments
The amendments to the claims filed on October 27, 2025 are acknowledged. The objections to claims 10 and 16-17 have been withdrawn due to the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs 12-18, filed October 27, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 10 to include a limitation that was not previously presented and that the previously applied prior art does not disclose: “wherein the atomizing component and the first outer case jointly form an air outlet of the atomizing device, the atomizing component is in fluid communication with the air outlet, and the atomizing piece is disposed between the air outlet and the accommodating piece… wherein the accommodating piece is disposed between the atomizing piece and the battery component along the axial direction.” Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously applied references in combination with a newly found prior art reference.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 10-12, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danek (US 2020/0230329 A1) in view of Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Danek, directed to atomizing devices ([0014]-[0015], The invention is directed to an electronic device for producing an aerosol for inhalation by a person. The electronic device comprises a vibrating mesh which is configured to atomize a liquid to generate an aerosol), teaches an atomizing device ([0154], Fig. 1; Electronic device 100 for producing an aerosol for inhalation), comprising:
a first body ([0154]-[0158], Figs. 1-2; Electronic device 100 comprises a mouthpiece 102 and an upper housing component 106, which cooperate to form a first body), comprising:
a first outer case ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 and upper housing component 106 cooperate to define a first outer case surrounding cartridge 122 and mesh assembly 118);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 and cartridge 122 is disposed in upper housing component 106 (first outer case). Cartridge 122 stores the liquid which is aerosolized. [0014]-[0015], Mesh assembly 118 is configured to atomize the liquid to generate an aerosol. Mesh assembly 118 and cartridge 122 form an atomizing component), comprising:
an atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)); and
an accommodating piece disposed on the atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) stores (accommodates) the liquid which is aerosolized. [0167]-[0169], Fig. 11-14 show that cartridge 122 is disposed on the mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the accommodating piece is in fluid communication with the atomizing piece, and the accommodating piece is configured to store a filler ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) stores the liquid (filler) which is aerosolized. [0167]-[0169], Fig. 11-14; Stopper 126 within cartridge 122 moves toward mesh assembly 118 such that the liquid (fluid) flows out of cartridge 122 to contact mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece));
wherein the atomizing component and the first outer case jointly form an air outlet of the atomizing device ([0154]-[0160], [0167]-[0169], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing component) and mouthpiece 102 (first outer case) jointly form an air outlet of the electronic device 100 (atomizing device)),
the atomizing component is in fluid communication with the air outlet ([0154]-[0161], [0167]-[0169], Figs. 1-4, 11-14; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) is in fluid communication with the air outlet defined by mouthpiece 102 and mesh assembly 118), and
the atomizing piece is disposed between the air outlet and the accommodating piece ([0154]-[0161], [0167]-[0169], Figs. 1-4, 11-14; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) is disposed between the air outlet (defined by mouthpiece 102 and mesh assembly 118) and cartridge 122 (accommodating piece)); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body along an axial direction and away from the air outlet ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Electronic device 100 comprises lower housing component 108 (second body) detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction and away from the air outlet (defined by mouthpiece 102 and mesh assembly 118)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2, 4; Lower housing component 108 (second body) defines a second outer case surrounding battery 128);
a controlling component electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0176], Circuitry (not shown for clarity of illustration) is included in each electronic device for controlling actuation of the vibrating mesh (atomizing component). The circuitry may be a microcontroller located within the lower housing component 108 (second body)); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the atomizing component ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Battery 128 disposed on one side of lower housing component 108 (second outer case) away from elements 118/122 (atomizing component)),
wherein the accommodating piece is disposed between the atomizing piece and the battery component along the axial direction ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) is disposed between mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) and battery 128 along the axial direction),
but does not teach the atomizing device wherein a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the atomizing component, wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the controlling component.
Fenner, directed to atomizing devices ([0003]), teaches an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor), comprising:
a first body ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body)), comprising:
a first outer case ([0045], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 comprises a hollow cylindrical body 25 including inner cylinder 40 surrounded by an outer cylinder 60. Outer cylinder 60 is the first outer case defining the exterior of atomizer 10);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a handpiece 200 (second body) detachably connected to the reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) via threaded connections 120, 225), comprising:
a second outer case ([0045], Fig. 1; Handpiece 200 (second body) includes an elongated body 202. Elongated body 202 is a second outer case defining the exterior of handpiece 200);
a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the atomizing component ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Handpiece 200 (second body) includes a manual switch 210 (controlling component) disposed on one side of elongated body 202 (second outer case) close to the atomizing component defined by elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90. [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized),
wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Atomizing component comprises coil assembly 50 and heating element 90. [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized; therefore, switch 210 must also be electrically connected to heating element 90); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the atomizing component ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Handpiece 200 (second body) includes a battery 220 (battery component) disposed on one side of elongated body 202 (second outer case) away from the atomizing component),
wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the controlling component (0046], [0055], Fig. 1; Battery 220 is electrically connected to manual switch 210 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek wherein a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the atomizing component, wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the controlling component as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Fenner demonstrates that a side of a second outer case close to an atomizing component is a suitable location for a controlling component (Fenner, ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29), Fenner demonstrates that electrically connecting a battery component to a controlling component allows for current to be delivered to an atomizing piece (Fenner, [0022], [0045]-[0052], [0055], Figs. 1-3, 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 2 and 20, Danek in view of Fenner teaches the atomizing device according to claim 1, but does not teach the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component further comprises: a transmission wire, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece; and a first electrical connector, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire, wherein the first electrical connector is disposed between the accommodating piece and the battery component.
Fenner teaches an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor), comprising:
an atomizing component ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150),
wherein the atomizing component comprises: an atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150);
an accommodating piece disposed on the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The surfaces of inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 define a storage cavity 61 configured to accommodate an e-fluid 150. Inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 form an accommodating piece. Filament disc 80 is an optional wicking component, and therefore the inner sleeve 70 may be disposed on the heating element 90 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the accommodating piece is in fluid communication with the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The inlet holes 74 formed on the top surface 71 of the inner sleeve 70 (accommodating piece) allows E-fluid 150 to flow from the lower cavity 75 and contact heating element 90 (atomizing piece)), and
the accommodating piece is configured to store a filler ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 form an accommodating piece configured to store an e-fluid 150 (filler));
a transmission wire, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (first electrical connector). [0016], Wires (at least one transmission wire) electrically connect the electrical element 130 to the heating element 90 (atomizing piece). One end of the transmission wire must be electrically connected to heating element 90 (atomizing piece)); and
a first electrical connector, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (first electrical connector). [0016], Wires (transmission wire) electrically connect the electrical element 130 to the heating element 90. The other end of the transmission wire must be electrically connected to electrical element 130 (first electrical connector))
wherein the first electrical connector is disposed between the accommodating piece and the battery component ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Electrical element 130 (first electrical connector) is disposed between heating element 90 (atomizing piece) and battery 220 (battery component)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner wherein the atomizing component further comprises: a transmission wire, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece; and a first electrical connector, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire, wherein the first electrical connector is disposed between the accommodating piece and the battery component as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Fenner demonstrates that the configuration is suitable for establishing electrical connection between an atomizing piece and a battery component (Fenner, [0016], [0054]-[0055]), Fenner demonstrates that a location between an accommodating piece and a battery component is suitable for a first electrical connector (Fenner, [0054]-[0055], Fig. 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 3, Danek in view of Fenner teaches the atomizing device according to claim 1. Danek further teaches the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component comprises: a piston disposed in the accommodating piece ([0159]-[0160], [0165], Figs. 3, 7; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) contains the liquid that is aerosolized. Cartridge 122 comprises a cylinder or barrel 124 and a stopper 126. [0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Stopper 126 (piston) is configured to be pushed by plunger 120 to advance the liquid within cartridge 122 towards mesh assembly 118),
but does not teach the atomizing device wherein the piston has a magnet inside, wherein the atomizing component comprises: an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece, wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece; and a second electrical connector disposed on one side of the induction coil, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil.
Fenner teaches an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor), comprising:
an atomizing component ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150),
wherein the atomizing component comprises: an atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150);
an accommodating piece disposed on the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The surfaces of inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 define a storage cavity 61 configured to accommodate an e-fluid 150. Inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 form an accommodating piece. Filament disc 80 is an optional wicking component, and therefore the inner sleeve 70 may be disposed on the heating element 90 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the atomizing component comprises: a piston disposed in the accommodating piece ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-3, 29; Sliding plunger disc 30 is disposed inside inner cylinder 40 (accommodating piece). A coil assembly 50 is located outside of the inner cylinder 40. [0055]-[0056], When the coil assembly 50 is energized, the windings of the coil assembly 50 produced a magnetic attractive force that draws the plunger disc 30 downward and apply a force to the E-fluid 150. Sliding plunger disc 30 is therefore a piston because it slides to apply a force to the e-fluid 150),
wherein the piston has a magnet inside ([0021], [0065], [0068], Figs. 1-3, 29; Sliding plunger disc 30 is formed from magnetic or ferrous containing material. A magnetic material necessarily has a magnet inside);
an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-3, 29; Coil assembly 50 surrounds inner cylinder 40 (accommodating piece). [0010], Cylindrical coil assembly 50 is configured to produce a uniform, continuous magnetic field parallel to the inner cylinder's 40 longitudinal axis. When an electric current is applied to the coil assembly 50, the plunger disc 30 is pulled downward inside the inner cylinder 40 and applying a force against the top surface of the E-fluid 150 at a constant rate. A coil configured to induce a magnetic field upon application of a current is an induction coil),
wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece ([0055]-[0056], Figs. 1-3, 29; When the coil assembly 50 is energized, the windings of the coil assembly 50 produced a magnetic attractive force that draws the plunger disc 30 downward and apply a force to the E-fluid 150); and
a second electrical connector disposed on one side of the induction coil ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (second electrical connector) disposed below the coil assembly 50 (induction coil)),
wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; At least one wire electrically connects the electrical element 130 (second electrical connector) to the coil assembly 50 (induction coil)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner wherein the piston has a magnet inside, wherein the atomizing component comprises: an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece, wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece; and a second electrical connector disposed on one side of the induction coil, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Danek states that the atomizing device may comprise an active or passive pump system for advancing the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Danek, [0067]-[0068], [0175]), Danek states that the pump system does not have to comprise the threaded shaft, motor, and plunger shown in Figs. 11-14 (Danek, [0167]-169], [0175], Figs. 11-14), Fenner demonstrates that the induction coil, magnetic piston, and second electrical connector cooperate to pump the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Fenner, [0010], [0045]-[0055], Figs. 1-3, 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 10, Danek, directed to electronic cigarettes ([0014]) and atomizing devices ([0014]-[0015], The invention is directed to an electronic device for producing an aerosol for inhalation by a person. The electronic device comprises a vibrating mesh which is configured to atomize a liquid to generate an aerosol), teaches an assembling method of an atomizing device ([0154], Fig. 1; Electronic device 100 for producing an aerosol for inhalation. Device 100 comprises a mouthpiece 102 connected to an upper housing component 106, wherein the upper housing component 106 is connected to lower housing component 108. Danek does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’; however, the implicit step of connecting the elements 102/106/108 forms an assembly method for electronic device 100 (atomizing device)), comprising:
providing a first outer case ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 and upper housing component 106 cooperate to define a first outer case surrounding cartridge 122 and mesh assembly 118);
obtaining an atomizing component, comprising: providing an atomizing piece; and disposing an accommodating piece on the atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 and cartridge 122 is disposed in upper housing component 106 (first outer case). Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) stores (accommodates) the liquid which is aerosolized. [0014]-[0015], Mesh assembly 118 is configured to atomize the liquid to generate an aerosol. Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) and cartridge 122 form an atomizing component. [0167]-[0169], Fig. 11-14 show that cartridge 122 is disposed on the mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the accommodating piece is in fluid communication with the atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) stores the liquid (filler) which is aerosolized. [0167]-[0169], Fig. 11-14; Stopper 126 within cartridge 122 moves toward mesh assembly 118 such that the liquid (fluid) flows out of cartridge 122 to contact mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece));
disposing the atomizing component in the first outer case to form a first body and an air outlet of the atomizing device ([0154]-[0160], [0167]-[0169], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing component) and mouthpiece 102 (first outer case) jointly form an air outlet of the electronic device 100 (atomizing device). Mouthpiece 102, upper housing component 106, and their internal components are the first body),
wherein the atomizing piece is disposed between the air outlet and the accommodating piece ([0154]-[0161], [0167]-[0169], Figs. 1-4, 11-14; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) is disposed between the air outlet (defined by mouthpiece 102 and mesh assembly 118) and cartridge 122 (accommodating piece));
providing a second outer case ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2, 4; Lower housing component 108 (second body) defines a second outer case surrounding battery 128);
disposing a controlling component and a battery component in the second outer case to form a second body, wherein the battery is disclosed at an end of the second outer case ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Battery 128 (battery component) disposed on the lower end of lower housing component 108 (second outer case). [0176], Circuitry (not shown for clarity of illustration) is included in each electronic device for controlling actuation of the vibrating mesh (atomizing component). The circuitry may be a microcontroller (controlling component) located within the lower housing component 108 (second body));
making the first body be detachably connected to the second body along an axial direction ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Lower housing component 108 (second body) is detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction),
wherein the second body is away from the air outlet ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Lower housing component 108 (second body) is away from the air outlet defined at the mouthpiece 102), and
the controlling component is electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0176], Circuitry (not shown for clarity of illustration) is included in each electronic device for controlling actuation of the vibrating mesh (atomizing component). The circuitry may be a microcontroller located within the lower housing component 108 (second body));
wherein the accommodating piece is disposed between the atomizing piece and the battery component along the axial direction ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) is disposed between mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece) and battery 128 along the axial direction),
but does not teach the method comprising: disposing a controlling component and a battery component on two ends of the second outer case to form a second body, wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the battery component, wherein the controlling component is located between the atomizing component and the battery component
Fenner, directed to e-cigarettes ([0003]) and atomizing devices ([0003]), teaches an assembling method of an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor. Fenner does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’; however, the implicit step of mounting the atomizer 10 to the handpiece 200 forms an assembly method for e-cigarette 5 (atomizing device)), comprises:
providing a first outer case ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body). Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 comprises a hollow cylindrical body 25 including inner cylinder 40 surrounded by an outer cylinder 60. Outer cylinder 60 is the first outer case defining the exterior of atomizer 10 (first body));
disposing an atomizing component in the first outer case to form a first body ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150. The atomizing component must be disposed in outer cylinder 60 to form the first body);
providing a second outer case ([0045], Fig. 1; Handpiece 200 (second body) includes an elongated body 202. Elongated body 202 is a second outer case defining the exterior of handpiece 200);
disposing a controlling component and a battery component on two ends of the second outer case to form a second body ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Handpiece 200 (second body) includes a manual switch 210 (controlling component) disposed on one side of elongated body 202 (second outer case) close to atomizer 10. Handpiece 200 (second body) includes a battery 220 (battery component) disposed on one side of elongated body 202 (second outer case) away from atomizer 10. [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 (controlling component) is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 (controlling component) is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized),
wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the battery component (0046], [0055], Fig. 1; Battery 220 is electrically connected to manual switch 210 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50); and
making the first body be detachably connected to the second body ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a handpiece 200 (second body) detachably connected to the reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) via threaded connections 120, 225),
wherein the controlling component is located between the atomizing component and the battery component ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Manual switch 210 (controlling component) is located between the atomizing component (elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90) and battery 220 (battery component)), and
the controlling component is electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Atomizing component comprises coil assembly 50 and heating element 90. [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized; therefore, switch 210 must also be electrically connected to heating element 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembling method of Danek comprising disposing a controlling component and a battery component on two ends of the second outer case to form a second body, wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the battery component, wherein the controlling component is located between the atomizing component and the battery component as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Fenner demonstrates that a side of a second outer case close to an atomizing component is a suitable location for a controlling component (Fenner, ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29), Fenner demonstrates that electrically connecting a battery component to a controlling component allows for current to be delivered to an atomizing piece (Fenner, [0022], [0045]-[0052], [0055], Figs. 1-3, 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, Danek in view of Fenner does not teach the method wherein an assembling method of the atomizing component further comprises: disposing a transmission wire on the atomizing piece, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece; and disposing a first electrical connector on the transmission wire, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire.
Fenner teaches an assembling method of an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor. Fenner does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’; however, the implicit step of mounting the atomizer 10 to the handpiece 200 forms an assembly method for e-cigarette 5 (atomizing device)), comprises:
providing an atomizing component ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150);
wherein an assembling method of the atomizing component comprises: providing an atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150);
disposing an accommodating piece on the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The surfaces of inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 define a storage cavity 61 configured to accommodate an e-fluid 150. Inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 form an accommodating piece. Filament disc 80 is an optional wicking component, and therefore the inner sleeve 70 may be disposed on the heating element 90 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the accommodating piece is in fluid communication with the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The inlet holes 74 formed on the top surface 71 of the inner sleeve 70 (accommodating piece) allows E-fluid 150 to flow from the lower cavity 75 and contact heating element 90 (atomizing piece));
disposing a transmission wire on the atomizing piece, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (first electrical connector). [0016], Wires (at least one transmission wire) electrically connect the electrical element 130 to the heating element 90 (atomizing piece). One end of the transmission wire must be electrically connected to heating element 90 (atomizing piece)); and
disposing a first electrical connector on the transmission wire, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (first electrical connector). [0016], Wires (transmission wire) electrically connect the electrical element 130 to the heating element 90. The other end of the transmission wire must be electrically connected to electrical element 130 (first electrical connector)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembling method of Danek in view of Fenner wherein an assembling method of the atomizing component further comprises: disposing a transmission wire on the atomizing piece, wherein one end of the transmission wire is electrically connected to the atomizing piece; and disposing a first electrical connector on the transmission wire, wherein the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the other end of the transmission wire as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Fenner demonstrates that the configuration is suitable for establishing electrical connection between an atomizing piece and a battery component (Fenner, [0016], [0054]-[0055]), Fenner demonstrates that a location between an accommodating piece and a battery component is suitable for a first electrical connector (Fenner, [0054]-[0055], Fig. 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 12, Danek in view of Fenner teaches the assembling method of the atomizing device of claim 10. Danek further teaches the method wherein an assembling method of the atomizing component comprises: disposing a piston in the accommodating piece ([0159]-[0160], [0165], Figs. 3, 7; Cartridge 122 (accommodating piece) contains the liquid that is aerosolized. Cartridge 122 comprises a cylinder or barrel 124 and a stopper 126. [0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Stopper 126 (piston) is configured to be pushed by plunger 120 to advance the liquid within cartridge 122 towards mesh assembly 118),
but does not teach the method wherein the piston has a magnet inside, the method comprising: disposing an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece; and disposing a second electrical connector on the induction coil, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil.
Fenner teaches an assembling method of an atomizing device ([0008], [0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 mounted on a handpiece 200. E-cigarette 5 is an atomizing device configured to atomize an e-fluid to generate a vapor. Fenner does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’; however, the implicit step of mounting the atomizer 10 to the handpiece 200 forms an assembly method for e-cigarette 5 (atomizing device)), comprises:
providing an atomizing component ([0008], [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) comprises a sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with E-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Elements 30, 40, 50, 61, 70, 80, and 90 form an atomizing component because said elements cooperate to atomize the e-fluid 150);
wherein an assembling method of the atomizing component comprises: providing an atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50, storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90. Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150);
disposing an accommodating piece on the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The surfaces of inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 define a storage cavity 61 configured to accommodate an e-fluid 150. Inner cylinder 40 and inner sleeve 70 form an accommodating piece. Filament disc 80 is an optional wicking component, and therefore the inner sleeve 70 may be disposed on the heating element 90 (atomizing piece)),
wherein the accommodating piece is in fluid communication with the atomizing piece ([0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The inlet holes 74 formed on the top surface 71 of the inner sleeve 70 (accommodating piece) allows E-fluid 150 to flow from the lower cavity 75 and contact heating element 90 (atomizing piece));
disposing a piston in the accommodating piece ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-3, 29; Sliding plunger disc 30 is disposed inside inner cylinder 40 (accommodating piece). A coil assembly 50 is located outside of the inner cylinder 40. [0055]-[0056], When the coil assembly 50 is energized, the windings of the coil assembly 50 produced a magnetic attractive force that draws the plunger disc 30 downward and apply a force to the E-fluid 150. Sliding plunger disc 30 is therefore a piston because it slides to apply a force to the e-fluid 150),
wherein the piston has a magnet inside ([0021], [0065], [0068], Figs. 1-3, 29; Sliding plunger disc 30 is formed from magnetic or ferrous containing material. A magnetic material necessarily has a magnet inside);
disposing an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece ([0045]-[0047], Figs. 1-3, 29; Coil assembly 50 surrounds inner cylinder 40 (accommodating piece). [0010], Cylindrical coil assembly 50 is configured to produce a uniform, continuous magnetic field parallel to the inner cylinder's 40 longitudinal axis. When an electric current is applied to the coil assembly 50, the plunger disc 30 is pulled downward inside the inner cylinder 40 and applying a force against the top surface of the E-fluid 150 at a constant rate. A coil configured to induce a magnetic field upon application of a current is an induction coil); and
disposing a second electrical connector on the induction coil ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; Atomizer 10 further comprises an electrical element 130 (second electrical connector) disposed below the coil assembly 50 (induction coil)),
wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; At least one wire electrically connects the electrical element 130 (second electrical connector) to the coil assembly 50 (induction coil)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembling method of Danek in view of Fenner wherein the piston has a magnet inside, , the method comprising: disposing an induction coil surrounding the accommodating piece; and disposing a second electrical connector on the induction coil, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the induction coil as taught by Fenner because Danek and Fenner are directed to atomizing devices, Danek states that the atomizing device may comprise an active or passive pump system for advancing the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Danek, [0067]-[0068], [0175]), Danek states that the pump system does not have to comprise the threaded shaft, motor, and plunger shown in Figs. 11-14 (Danek, [0167]-169], [0175], Figs. 11-14), Fenner demonstrates that the induction coil, magnetic piston, and second electrical connector cooperate to pump the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Fenner, [0010], [0045]-[0055], Figs. 1-3, 29), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 4 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danek (US 2020/0230329 A1) in view of Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024) as applied to Claims 1 and 10, and further in view of Johnson (US 2017/0354186 A1), Saygili (US 2022/0022536 A1), and He (US 2023/0087448 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Danek further teaches the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component comprises an atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)).
As applied to claim 3, Danek can be modified in view of Fenner such that the atomizing component comprises an atomizing piece and a pump system comprising an induction coil for advancing the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Fenner, [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50 (induction coil), storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90 (atomizing piece). [0052], Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150. [0010], Cylindrical coil assembly 50 is configured to produce a uniform, continuous magnetic field parallel to the inner cylinder's 40 longitudinal axis. When an electric current is applied to the coil assembly 50, the plunger disc 30 is pulled downward inside the inner cylinder 40 and applying a force against the top surface of the E-fluid 150 at a constant rate. A coil configured to induce a magnetic field upon application of a current is an induction coil).
Danek in view of Fenner does not teach the device i) wherein the controlling component comprises: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface; a microprocessor disposed on the first surface; a first connecting piece disposed on the first surface; a second connecting piece disposed on the first surface; and a first conductive protrusion disposed on the second surface, wherein the first conductive protrusion is electrically connected to the battery component; ii) wherein the first connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece, wherein the second connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil, iii) wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface, iv) wherein the microprocessor is a controlling chip, and v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to i), Johnson, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]-[0004], [0035], [0042]-[0044], Figs. 1-3; Personal electronic vaporizer 1 comprises an oven assembly 13 configured to heat at medium to generate a vapor. Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, PEV 1 is an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0035], Figs. 1-3; Personal electronic vaporizer 1) comprising:
a controlling component positioned above a battery component along a longitudinal axis of the atomizing device ([0046], [0050]-[0051], Figs. 3, 9; Circuit board assembly 91 (controlling component) is positioned above battery 26 (battery component) along a longitudinal axis of the PEV 1),
wherein the controlling component comprises: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Circuit board assembly 91 (controlling component) comprises a circuit board 105 (substrate) having a first (upper) surface and a second (lower) surface);
a microprocessor disposed on the first surface ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Microprocessor 103 is disposed on the first (upper) surface of circuit board 105);
a first connecting piece and a second connecting piece disposed on the first surface, wherein the first and second connecting pieces are configured for electrical connection ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; A pair of receiving terminals 109 (first and second connecting pieces) are disposed on the first (upper) surface of the circuit board 105. Terminals 109 are configured to receive electrodes 71 extending from oven assembly 13 and electronically couple the oven assembly 13 with the circuit board assembly 91); and
a first conductive protrusion disposed on the first surface, wherein the first conductive protrusion is electrically connected to the battery component ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; A pair of receiving terminals 107 (at least one first conductive protrusion) are disposed on the first (upper) surface of the circuit board 105 proximate a bracket 106, configured to receive electrodes 61 extending from the battery 26 and electronically couple the battery 26 to the circuit board 105 to energize the circuit board assembly 91. Terminals 109 protrude from the first surface, and must be conductive to allow for electrical connection of the circuit board 105 to battery 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner with the controlling component of Johnson because Danek, Fenner, and Johnson are directed to atomizing devices, Danek is relatively silent with respect to the structure of the internal controlling components of the device (Danek, [0176]), Johnson demonstrates that the controlling component facilitates electrical connection between a heating element and a battery (Johnson, [0050]-[0052], Fig. 9), and Johnson demonstrates that the controlling component can be used to control the temperature, heating profile, and overall operation of the atomizing device (Johnson, [0050]-[0052], Fig. 9).
Danek in view of Fenner and Johnson does not teach the atomizing device ii) wherein the first connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece, wherein the second connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil, iii) wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface, iv) wherein the microprocessor is a controlling chip, and v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to ii), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device wherein the first connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece, wherein the second connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil because Fenner demonstrates that the atomizing piece and the induction coil require electrical connection to the battery and a control component to operate (Fenner, [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Atomizing component comprises coil assembly 50 (induction coil) and heating element 90 (atomizing piece). [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized by battery 220; therefore, switch 210 must also be electrically connected to heating element 90), and Johnson provides a first and second connecting piece which are configured to be connected to atomizing components (Johnson, [0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Terminals 109 (first and second connecting pieces) are configured to receive electrodes 71 extending from oven assembly 13 (atomizing component) and electronically couple the oven assembly 13 with the circuit board assembly 91).
With respect to iii), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface because Johnson demonstrates that a conductive protrusion can establish electrical connection with an element facing toward or away from the conductive protrusion (Johnson, [0050]-[0051], Figs. 2, 5, 9; Electrodes 71 of oven assembly 13 face toward terminals 109 (conductive protrusions) to establish electrical connection. Electrodes 61 of battery 26 face away from terminals 107 (conductive protrusions to establish electrical connection), this would only merely involve duplicating a part on the first surface and positioning said part on the second surface.
With respect to iv), Saygili, directed to atomizing devices ([0005]-[0015], [0073], Fig 1; The aerosol generating system 100 comprises an atomizer configured to atomize an aerosol-generating substrate) teaches an atomizing device ([0005]-[0015], [0073], Fig 1; The aerosol generating system 100) comprising:
a microprocessor or a controlling chip ([0053]-[0054], The system may further comprise electric circuitry connected to the heater element and to an electrical power source. The electric circuitry may comprise a microprocessor, which may be a programmable microprocessor, a microcontroller, or an application specific integrated chip (ASIC) or other electronic circuitry capable of providing control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the microprocessor of Danek in view of Fenner and Johnson with a controlling chip as disclosed by Saygili because Danek, Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili are directed to atomizing devices, Saygili demonstrates that microprocessors are controlling chips are analogous elements which may be used to providing control for an atomizing device (Saygili, [0054), and this involves substituting one known control element for another to yield predictable results.
Danek in view of Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili does not teach the atomizing device v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to v), He, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an atomizing device ([0032], Figs. 1-21; The cartridge of Figs. 1-21 comprises an atomizing core. Therefore, the cartridge is an atomizing device), comprising:
elastic connecting pieces configured for electrical contact ([0032], Figs. 1-2; Cartridge comprises base 50. [0054], Figs. 2, 14, 20; Base 50 is integrally formed with at least one pair of conductive columns 55 (elastic connecting pieces). This pair of conductive columns 55 electrically press against two ends of the heating wire 33, so as to transmit electric energy for heating the heating wire 33. The conductive columns 55 may be elastic contact members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic connecting pieces as taught by He because Danek, Fenner, Johnson, Saygili, and He are directed to atomizing devices, He demonstrates that elastic connecting pieces can elastically contact an element to provide support for the element which they contact (He, [0054], Conductive columns (elastic connecting pieces) elastically contact heating wire 33 of atomizing core 30 to support atomizing core), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 13, Danek further teaches the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component comprises an atomizing piece ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)).
As applied to claim 12, Danek can be modified in view of Fenner such that the atomizing component comprises an atomizing piece and a pump system comprising an induction coil for advancing the filler within the accommodating piece toward the atomizing piece (Fenner, [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; The atomizing component comprises sliding plunger disc 30, inner cylinder 40, cylindrical coil assembly 50 (induction coil), storage cavity 61 filled with e-fluid 150, inner sleeve 70, filament disc 80, and heating element 90 (atomizing piece). [0052], Heating element 90 (atomizing piece) is configured to heat and atomize the e-fluid 150. [0010], Cylindrical coil assembly 50 is configured to produce a uniform, continuous magnetic field parallel to the inner cylinder's 40 longitudinal axis. When an electric current is applied to the coil assembly 50, the plunger disc 30 is pulled downward inside the inner cylinder 40 and applying a force against the top surface of the E-fluid 150 at a constant rate. A coil configured to induce a magnetic field upon application of a current is an induction coil),
but does not teach the assembling method i) wherein an assembling method of the controlling component comprises: providing a substrate, wherein the substrate has a first surface and a second surface; disposing a microprocessor on the first surface; disposing a first connecting piece on the first surface; disposing a second connecting piece on the first surface; and disposing a first conductive protrusion on the second surface, wherein the first conductive protrusion corresponds to the battery component, ii) wherein the first connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece, wherein the second connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil, iii) wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface, iv) wherein the microprocessor is a controlling chip, and v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to i), Johnson, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]-[0004], [0035], [0042]-[0044], Figs. 1-3; Personal electronic vaporizer 1 comprises an oven assembly 13 configured to heat at medium to generate a vapor. Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, PEV 1 is an atomizing device), teaches assembling method of an atomizing device ([0035], Figs. 1-3; Personal electronic vaporizer 1 (atomizing device). Johnson does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining elements 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 and 17 forms an assembly method for PEV 1) comprising:
providing a controlling component positioned above a battery component along a longitudinal axis of the atomizing device ([0046], [0050]-[0051], Figs. 3, 9; Circuit board assembly 91 (controlling component) is positioned above battery 26 (battery component) along a longitudinal axis of the PEV 1),
wherein an assembling method of the controlling component comprises: providing a substrate, wherein the substrate has a first surface and a second surface ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Circuit board assembly 91 (controlling component) comprises a circuit board 105 (substrate) having a first (upper) surface and a second (lower) surface);
disposing a microprocessor on the first surface ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Microprocessor 103 is disposed on the first (upper) surface of circuit board 105);
disposing a first connecting piece and a second connecting piece on the first surface, wherein the first and second connecting pieces are configured for electrical connection ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; A pair of receiving terminals 109 (first and second connecting pieces) are disposed on the first (upper) surface of the circuit board 105. Terminals 109 are configured to receive electrodes 71 extending from oven assembly 13 and electronically couple the oven assembly 13 with the circuit board assembly 91); and
disposing a first conductive protrusion disposed on the first surface, wherein the first conductive protrusion corresponds to the battery component. ([0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; A pair of receiving terminals 107 (at least one first conductive protrusion) are disposed on the first (upper) surface of the circuit board 105 proximate a bracket 106, configured to receive electrodes 61 extending from the battery 26 and electronically couple the battery 26 to the circuit board 105 to energize the circuit board assembly 91. Terminals 109 protrude from the first surface, and must be conductive to allow for electrical connection of the circuit board 105 to battery 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method of Danek with the assembling method of the controlling component of Johnson because Danek, Fenner, and Johnson are directed to atomizing devices, Danek is silent with respect to the structure of the internal controlling components of the device (Danek, [0176]), Johnson demonstrates that the controlling component facilitates electrical connection between a heating element and a battery (Johnson, [0050]-[0052], Fig. 9), and Johnson demonstrates that the controlling component can be used to control the temperature, heating profile, and overall operation of the atomizing device (Johnson, [0050]-[0052], Fig. 9).
Danek in view of Fenner and Johnson does not teach the assembling method ii) wherein the first elastic connecting piece corresponds to an atomizing piece of the atomizing component, wherein the second elastic connecting piece corresponds to an induction coil of the atomizing component, iii) wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface, iv) wherein the microprocessor is a controlling chip, and v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to ii), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method wherein the first elastic connecting piece corresponds to an atomizing piece of the atomizing component, wherein the second elastic connecting piece corresponds to an induction coil of the atomizing component because Fenner demonstrates that the atomizing piece and the induction coil require electrical connection to the battery and a control component to operate (Fenner, [0045]-[0052], Figs. 1-3, 29; Atomizing component comprises coil assembly 50 (induction coil) and heating element 90 (atomizing piece). [0046], [0055], Manual switch 210 is electrically connected to coil assembly 50 to control when current is delivered from battery 220 to the coil 50. [0022], Claim 1, Figs. 1-3, 29; When the switch 210 is activated, the coil assembly 50 and heating element 90 are energized by battery 220; therefore, switch 210 must also be electrically connected to heating element 90), and Johnson provides a first and second connecting piece which are configured to be connected to atomizing components (Johnson, [0050]-[0051], Fig. 9; Terminals 109 (first and second connecting pieces) are configured to receive electrodes 71 extending from oven assembly 13 (atomizing component) and electronically couple the oven assembly 13 with the circuit board assembly 91).
With respect to iii), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method wherein the first conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface because Johnson demonstrates that a conductive protrusion can establish electrical connection with an element facing toward or away from the conductive protrusion (Johnson, [0050]-[0051], Figs. 2, 5, 9; Electrodes 71 of oven assembly 13 face toward terminals 109 (conductive protrusions) to establish electrical connection. Electrodes 61 of battery 26 face away from terminals 107 (conductive protrusions to establish electrical connection), this would only merely involve duplicating a part on the first surface and positioning said part on the second surface.
With respect to iv), Saygili, directed to atomizing devices ([0005]-[0015], [0073], Fig 1; The aerosol generating system 100 comprises an atomizer configured to atomize an aerosol-generating substrate) teaches an atomizing device ([0005]-[0015], [0073], Fig 1; The aerosol generating system 100) comprising:
a microprocessor or a controlling chip ([0053]-[0054], The system may further comprise electric circuitry connected to the heater element and to an electrical power source. The electric circuitry may comprise a microprocessor, which may be a programmable microprocessor, a microcontroller, or an application specific integrated chip (ASIC) or other electronic circuitry capable of providing control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the microprocessor of Danek in view of Fenner and Johnson with a controlling chip as disclosed by Saygili because Danek, Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili are directed to atomizing devices, Saygili demonstrates that microprocessors are controlling chips are analogous elements which may be used to providing control for an atomizing device (Saygili, [0054), and this involves substituting one known control element for another to yield predictable results.
Danek in view of Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili does not teach the assembly method v) wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic.
With respect to v), He, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an atomizing device ([0032], Figs. 1-21; The cartridge of Figs. 1-21 comprises an atomizing core. Therefore, the cartridge is an atomizing device), comprising:
elastic connecting pieces configured for electrical contact ([0032], Figs. 1-2; Cartridge comprises base 50. [0054], Figs. 2, 14, 20; Base 50 is integrally formed with at least one pair of conductive columns 55 (elastic connecting pieces). This pair of conductive columns 55 electrically press against two ends of the heating wire 33, so as to transmit electric energy for heating the heating wire 33. The conductive columns 55 may be elastic contact members).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method of Danek in view of Fenner, Johnson, and Saygili wherein the first and second connecting pieces are elastic connecting pieces as taught by He because Danek, Fenner, Johnson, Saygili, and He are directed to atomizing devices, He demonstrates that elastic connecting pieces can elastically contact an element to provide support for the element which they contact (He, [0054], Conductive columns (elastic connecting pieces) elastically contact heating wire 33 of atomizing core 30 to support atomizing core), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 5, 8, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danek (US 2020/0230329 A1) in view of Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024) as applied to Claims 1 and 10, and further in view of Yilmaz (US 2023/0180850 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Danek teaches the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component is configured to be installed into the first outer case along the axial direction to form the first body ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 and cartridge 122 is disposed in upper housing component 106 (first outer case) to form the first body. Fig. 11 shows that the atomizing component (elements 118/122) are necessarily capable of being installed into upper housing component 106 (first outer case) along the axial direction to form the first body), and
the second body is detachably connected to the first body along the axial direction ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Electronic device 100 comprises lower housing component 108 (second body) detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction),
the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Battery 128 disposed on one side of lower housing component 108 (second outer case) [0176], Circuitry is included in each electronic device for controlling actuation of the vibrating mesh (atomizing component). The circuitry may be a microcontroller located within the lower housing component 108 (second outer case). Battery 128 (battery component) and microcontroller (controlling component) are necessarily capable of being installed into the lower housing component 108 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form second body),
wherein the first body comprises an air outlet ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 (first body) comprises an air outlet 104),
but does not teach the atomizing device wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction.
Yilmaz, directed to atomizing devices ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 comprises a control unit 2 and a consumable part 4. [0029]-[0032], Consumable part 4 comprises a heater 65 configured to heat and vaporize an e-liquid to generate a vapor (aerosol). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 is an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1), comprising:
a first body ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 comprises a control unit 2 and a consumable part 4 (first body)), comprising:
a first outer case ([0029], Fig. 1; Consumable part 4 (first body) comprises a consumable housing 42 (first outer case));
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0029]-[0031], Fig. 1; Consumable part 4 (first body) comprises a heater (vaporizer) 65 disposed in consumable housing 42 (first outer case). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, heater 65 is an atomizing component); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0027], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) is detachably connected to consumable part 4 (first body) via screw threads, latch mechanism, or bayonet fixing), comprising:
a second outer case ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises an outer housing 12 (second outer case));
a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the atomizing component ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises a controlling component defined by control circuitry 20 and inhalation sensor 16. The controlling component is disposed on one side of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) close to heater 65 (atomizing component)),
wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0035], [0046], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20 is electrically connected to heater 65 (atomizing component) via wires as shown in Fig. 1); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the atomizing component ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises a battery 26 disposed on one side of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) away from heater 65 (atomizing component)),
wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the controlling component ([0035], [0046], Fig. 1; Battery 26 is electrically connected to control circuitry 20 via wires as shown in Fig. 1),
wherein the second outer case has an air inlet and the first body has an air outlet such that an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28. Consumable part 4 (first body) has an air outlet at mouthpiece opening 50. An inner cavity (cartridge air path 52) of consumable housing 42 (first outer case) and an inner cavity (air path 30) of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) are communicated with each other along the axial direction), and
the battery component and the controlling component are configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0035], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20, inhalation sensor 16, and battery 26 are configured to be installed in the outer housing 12 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form the second body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the controlling component the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner with a controlling component comprising control circuitry and a inhalation sensor as taught by Yilmaz such that the battery component and the controlling component are configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body because Danek, Fenner, and Yilmaz are directed to atomizing devices, Danek is relatively silent with respect to the functions of the internal controlling components of the device (Danek, [0176]), Yilmaz demonstrates that the control circuitry is configured to monitor the output from the inhalation sensor to determine when a user is inhaling so that power can be automatically supplied to the atomizing component to generate aerosol (Yilmaz, [0035]), and Yilmaz demonstrates that the operations of the control circuitry and the inhalation sensor can eliminate the need for a manual input switch (Yilmaz, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second outer case taught by Danek in view of Fenner with an air inlet such that an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction as taught by Yilmaz because Danek, Fenner, and Yilmaz are directed to atomizing devices, Yilmaz demonstrates that providing an air inlet in the second outer case allows the inhalation sensor to detect when a user inhales to trigger operation of the atomizing component (Yilmaz, [0035], Fig. 2), Yilmaz demonstrates that adding an air inlet can introduce external air to dilute or ventilate the aerosol (Yilmaz, [0037]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz teaches the atomizing device according to claim 5. Yilmaz further teaches the atomizing device wherein the second outer case has an air inlet ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28. Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet as applied to Claim 5).
Danek further teaches the device the air outlet is located in one side of the atomizing component away from the air inlet ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 (first body) comprises an air outlet 104 located on one side of mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)) away from lower housing component 108 (second outer case), which now comprises an air inlet);
wherein a diversion channel is formed between the first outer case and the atomizing component, the diversion channel surrounds the atomizing component ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; As mouthpiece 102 comprises an air outlet 104, and Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet, wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction, it is reasonably understood that the air must divert around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) to reach the outlet 104 when flowing downstream. The path around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) is the diversion channel), and
the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction so that the air inlet, the diversion channel, and the air outlet are in fluid communication with each other ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Electronic device 100 comprises lower housing component 108 (second body) detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along the axial direction. When lower housing component 108 is connected to elements 102/106, lower housing component 108 which now comprises an air inlet, the diversion channel (the path around elements 118/122), and the air outlet 104 are in fluid communication with each other).
Regarding Claim 14, Danek teaches the assembling method the assembling method of the atomizing device further comprises: installing the atomizing component into the first outer case along the axial direction to form the first body ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mesh assembly 118 and cartridge 122 is disposed in upper housing component 106 (first outer case) to form the first body. Fig. 11 shows that the atomizing component (elements 118/122) are necessarily capable of being installed into upper housing component 106 (first outer case) along the axial direction to form the first body);
installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0167]-[0169], Figs. 11-14; Battery 128 disposed on one side of lower housing component 108 (second outer case) [0176], Circuitry is included in each electronic device for controlling actuation of the vibrating mesh (atomizing component). The circuitry may be a microcontroller located within the lower housing component 108 (second outer case). Battery 128 (battery component) and microcontroller (controlling component) are necessarily capable of being installed into the lower housing component 108 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form second body); and
making the second body detachably connected to the first body along the axial direction ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Electronic device 100 comprises lower housing component 108 (second body) detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction),
wherein the first body comprises an air outlet ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 (first body) comprises an air outlet 104),
but does not teach the assembly method wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction.
Yilmaz, directed to atomizing devices ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 comprises a control unit 2 and a consumable part 4. [0029]-[0032], Consumable part 4 comprises a heater 65 configured to heat and vaporize an e-liquid to generate a vapor (aerosol). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 is an atomizing device), teaches an assembly method of an atomizing device ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1. Yilmaz does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining control unit 2 and consumable part 4 forms an assembly method for non-combustible aerosol provision system 1), comprising:
providing a first body ([0027], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision system 1 comprises a control unit 2 and a consumable part 4 (first body)), comprising:
a first outer case ([0029], Fig. 1; Consumable part 4 (first body) comprises a consumable housing 42 (first outer case));
disposing an atomizing component in the first outer case ([0029]-[0031], Fig. 1; Consumable part 4 (first body) comprises a heater (vaporizer) 65 disposed in consumable housing 42 (first outer case). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, heater 65 is an atomizing component); and
providing a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0027], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) is detachably connected to consumable part 4 (first body) via screw threads, latch mechanism, or bayonet fixing), comprising:
a second outer case ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises an outer housing 12 (second outer case));
disposing a controlling component on one side of the second outer case close to the atomizing component ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises a controlling component defined by control circuitry 20 and inhalation sensor 16. The controlling component is disposed on one side of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) close to heater 65 (atomizing component)),
wherein the controlling component is electrically connected to the atomizing component ([0035], [0046], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20 is electrically connected to heater 65 (atomizing component) via wires as shown in Fig. 1); and
disposing a battery component on one side of the second outer case away from the atomizing component ([0035], Fig. 1; Control unit 2 (second body) comprises a battery 26 disposed on one side of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) away from heater 65 (atomizing component)),
wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the controlling component ([0035], [0046], Fig. 1; Battery 26 is electrically connected to control circuitry 20 via wires as shown in Fig. 1),
wherein the second outer case has an air inlet and the first body has an air outlet such that an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28. Consumable part 4 (first body) has an air outlet at mouthpiece opening 50. An inner cavity (cartridge air path 52) of consumable housing 42 (first outer case) and an inner cavity (air path 30) of the outer housing 12 (second outer case) are communicated with each other along the axial direction), and
installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0035], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20, inhalation sensor 16, and battery 26 are configured to be installed in the outer housing 12 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form the second body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the controlling component the atomizing device of Danek with a controlling component comprising control circuitry and a inhalation sensor as taught by Yilmaz because Danek, Fenner, and Yilmaz are directed to e-cigarettes, Danek is relatively silent with respect to the functions of the internal controlling components of the device (Danek, [0176]), Yilmaz demonstrates that the control circuitry is configured to monitor the output from the inhalation sensor to determine when a user is inhaling so that power can be automatically supplied to the atomizing component to generate aerosol (Yilmaz, [0035]), and Yilmaz demonstrates that the operations of the control circuitry and the inhalation sensor can eliminate the need for a manual input switch (Yilmaz, [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second outer case taught by Fenner with an air inlet such that an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction as taught by Yilmaz because Fenner and Yilmaz are directed to e-cigarettes, Yilmaz demonstrates that providing an air inlet in the second outer case allows the inhalation sensor to detect when a user inhales to trigger operation of the atomizing component (Yilmaz, [0035], Fig. 2), Yilmaz demonstrates that adding an air inlet can introduce external air to dilute or ventilate the aerosol (Yilmaz, [0037]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 17, Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz teaches the assembling method of the atomizing device of claim 14. Yilmaz further teaches the method wherein the second outer case has an air inlet ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28. Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet as applied to Claim 14).
Danek further teaches the method wherein the assembling method of the atomizing device further comprises: disposing the atomizing component in the first outer case to form a diversion channel and an air outlet, wherein the diversion channel surrounds the atomizing component ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; As mouthpiece 102 comprises an air outlet 104, and Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet, wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction, it is reasonably understood that the air must divert around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) to reach the outlet 104 when flowing downstream. The path around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) is the diversion channel. The space between mesh assembly 118 and the outlet 104 of mouthpiece 102 is the air outlet), and
the air outlet is located on one side of the atomizing component ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Mouthpiece 102 (first body) comprises an air outlet 104 located on one side of mesh assembly 118 (atomizing piece)) away from lower housing component 108 (second outer case), which now comprises an air inlet); and
making the first body and the second body be connected to each other so that the air inlet, the diversion channel, and the air outlet are in fluid communication with each other, and the diversion channel is located between the air inlet and the air outlet ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a handpiece 200 (second body) detachably connected to the reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) along the axial direction via threaded connections 120, 225. When handpiece 200 is connected to atomizer 10, elongated body 202 (second outer case) which now comprises an air inlet, the diversion channel (the path between center bore 136, exit ports 77, gap 66, and mouthpiece 20), and the air outlet (the path through gap 66, inlet ports 24, and mouthpiece 20) are in fluid communication with each other. The diversion channel is located between the air inlet and the air outlet).
Claims 6 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danek (US 2020/0230329 A1) in view of Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024) and Yilmaz (US 2023/0180850 A1) as applied to Claims 5 and 14, and further in view of Yamada (US 2021/0235757 A1) and Weigensberg (US 2018/0338529 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Yilmaz further teaches the atomizing device wherein the battery component and the controlling component are configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0035], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20, inhalation sensor 16, and battery 26 are configured to be installed in the outer housing 12 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form the second body),
but does not teach the atomizing device wherein the second body further comprises a fixing plug and a second inner case, the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction, the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction, the fixing plug is detachably disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case, and the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case.
Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device) comprising:
a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 (first body) comprises a heater 194 disposed in tank 191 (first outer case) configured to heat and atomize a liquid aerosol source); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component)),
the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction),
the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction), and
the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case, the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction, the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction, and the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case as taught by Yamada because Danek, Fenner, Yilmaz, and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that the second inner case is configured to support and retain the internal components of the second body (Yamada, [0069]-[0076], Fig. 3; Base portion 40 (second inner case)), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Yamada does not teach the atomizing device wherein the second body further comprises a fixing plug, the fixing plug is detachably disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case.
Weigensberg, directed to atomizing devices ([0002], [0049], [0059]-[0061], Figs. 1-2; E-vaping device 10 comprises vaporizer 80 including a heating element 85 to heat and vaporize a pre-vapor formulation to generate an aerosol; Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, non-combustible e-vaping device 10 is an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0049], [0059]-[0061], Figs. 1-2; E-vaping device 10 (atomizing device)), comprising:
a first body, comprising: a first outer case ([0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic vaping device (e-vaping device) 10 may include a replaceable cartridge 15 (first body). [0054], Replaceable cartridge 15 comprises a first housing 30 defining a first outer case); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic vaping device (e-vaping device) 10 may include a replaceable cartridge 15 (first body) and a reusable battery section 20(second body), which may be detachably connected together at a threaded connector 25), comprising:
a second outer case ([0054], Figs. 1-2; Reusable battery section 20 (second body) includes a second housing 30′ defining a second outer case);
a controlling component and a battery component disposed in second outer case ([0086], [0090], Fig. 2; Second section 20 includes a power supply 145 (battery component), a control circuit 185 (controlling component) disposed in second housing 30’ (second outer case)),
wherein the second body further comprises a fixing plug, the fixing plug is detachably disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0059], [0164], Fig. 2; Second section 20 (second body) comprises end cap 40 (fixing plug) detachably disposed on one side of the second housing 30’ (second outer case) away from first housing 30 (first outer case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Yamada wherein the second body further comprises a fixing plug, the fixing plug is detachably disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case as taught by Weigensberg because Danek, Fenner, Yamada, and Weigensberg are directed to atomizing devices, Weigensberg demonstrates that the fixing plug enables reversible access to the interior space of the second body ([0059], [0164]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 15, Yilmaz further teaches the assembling method wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second outer case along the axial direction wherein the battery component and the controlling component are configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction to form the second body ([0035], Fig. 1; Control circuitry 20, inhalation sensor 16, and battery 26 are necessarily capable of being sequentially installed in the outer housing 12 (second outer case) along the axial direction to form the second body),
but does not teach the method wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: i) providing a second inner case; sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction; installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction, wherein the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case; and ii) disposing a fixing plug on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case.
With respect to i), Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an assembly method for an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device. Yamada does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining main body unit 10, tobacco capsule 12, and cartridge 11 forms an assembly method for suction device 1) comprising:
providing a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case);
disposing an atomizing component in the first outer case ([0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 (first body) comprises a heater 194 disposed in tank 191 (first outer case) configured to heat and atomize a liquid aerosol source); and
providing second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
disposing a controlling component on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
disposing a battery component on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component));
sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction);
installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction), and
wherein the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case; sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction; installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction, wherein the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case as taught by Yamada because Danek, Fenner, and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that the second inner case is configured to support and retain the internal components of the second body (Yamada, [0069]-[0076], Fig. 3; Base portion 40 (second inner case)), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Yamada does not teach the method wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: ii) disposing a fixing plug on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case.
Weigensberg, directed to atomizing devices ([0002], [0049], [0059]-[0061], Figs. 1-2; E-vaping device 10 comprises vaporizer 80 including a heating element 85 to heat and vaporize a pre-vapor formulation to generate an aerosol; Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, non-combustible e-vaping device 10 is an atomizing device), teaches an assembly method of an atomizing device ([0049], [0052], [0059]-[0061], Figs. 1-2; E-vaping device 10 (atomizing device). Weigensberg does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining replaceable cartridge 15 and reusable battery section 20 forms an assembly method for e-vaping device 10), comprising:
providing a first body, comprising: a first outer case ([0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic vaping device (e-vaping device) 10 may include a replaceable cartridge 15 (first body). [0054], Replaceable cartridge 15 comprises a first housing 30 defining a first outer case); and
providing a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0052], Figs. 1-2; Electronic vaping device (e-vaping device) 10 may include a replaceable cartridge 15 (first body) and a reusable battery section 20(second body), which may be detachably connected together at a threaded connector 25), comprising:
a second outer case ([0054], Figs. 1-2; Reusable battery section 20 (second body) includes a second housing 30′ defining a second outer case);
wherein the step of forming the second body comprises: disposing a controlling component and a battery component in second outer case ([0086], [0090], Fig. 2; Second section 20 includes a power supply 145 (battery component), a control circuit 185 (controlling component) disposed in second housing 30’ (second outer case)); and
disposing a detachable fixing plug on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0059], [0164], Fig. 2; Second section 20 (second body) comprises end cap 40 (fixing plug) detachably disposed on one side of the second housing 30’ (second outer case) away from first housing 30 (first outer case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Yamada wherein the step of forming the second body comprises disposing a fixing plug on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case as taught by Weigensberg because Danek, Fenner, Yamada, and Weigensberg are directed to atomizing devices, Weigensberg demonstrates that the detachable fixing plug enables reversible access to the interior space of the second body ([0059], [0164]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Danek (US 2020/0230329 A1) in view of Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024), Yilmaz (US 2023/0180850 A1), Yamada (US 2021/0235757 A1), and Weigensberg (US 2018/0338529 A1) as applied to Claims 6 and 15, and further in view of Strophair (US 2024/0245113 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Danek further teaches the atomizing device wherein the atomizing component comprises a second electrical connector, the second electrical connector is located on one end of the atomizing component close to the second body ([0056]-[0057], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Electrical pathways connect the mesh assembly 118 of the upper housing component 106 with the circuitry and power supply (battery 128) of the lower housing component 108. The upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are detachable from each other, and electrical contacts connect the electrical pathways between the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 when the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are connected. Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing component) is electrically connected to (comprises) the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) of upper housing component 106. Only the lower surface of upper housing component 106 contacts lower housing component 108; therefore, the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) must be located at the lower surface of upper housing component 106 (one end of the atomizing component close to lower housing component 108 (second body)),
but does not teach the atomizing device i) wherein the controlling component comprises a second elastic connecting piece, the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body, and ii) the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and the first body and the second body are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction through the magnetic connection between the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece.
With respect to i), Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device) comprising:
a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 (first body) comprises a heater 194 disposed in tank 191 (first outer case) configured to heat and atomize a liquid aerosol source); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component)),
the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction),
the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction), and
the second inner case is disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the controlling component comprises a second elastic connecting piece ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is the second inner case. [0076]-[0079], [0081], Figs. 3-5; A pair of electrode retainers 50 and are formed in the connection pedestal 48. A pin electrode 49 (second elastic connecting piece) is individually held by each electrode retainer 50. The pin electrode 49 is configured from a pin-shaped electrode main body that is elastically supported in a tubular case. The pin electrodes are configured to electrically connect to first substrate 60 of first substrate module 34 (controlling component). Therefore, the controlling component comprises a second elastic connecting piece),
the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body ([0076]-[0079], [0081], Figs. 3-5; Connection pedestal 48 defines an end surface of the base portion 48 (second inner case). Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) passes through connection pedestal 48 (end surface) close to cartridge 11 (first body)),
wherein the second elastic connecting piece is configured to connect to an electrode formed on the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component ([0171]-[0172], Figs. 13-16; Cartridge 11 includes heater holder 196 at its lower surface as shown in Fig. 13. [0182]-[0184], Fig. 13-16; Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) are configured to connect to connection electrodes 213b, 214b formed on the lower surface of heater holder 196 (cartridge 11, first body) as shown in Fig. 16. Connection electrodes 213b, 214b are associated with extraction electrodes 213a, 214a respectively. Extraction electrodes 213a, 214a are electrically connected to heater 194 (atomizing component) via electrical heating wires 205. It is reasonably understood that electrical power is supplied to heater 194 via electrodes 213, 214 and pin electrodes 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device taught by Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the controlling component comprises a second elastic connecting piece, the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body as disclosed by Yamada because Danek, Fenner, and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that providing a controlling component with a second elastic connecting piece which passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body allows the second elastic connecting piece to electrically connect to an electrode located at the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component (Yamada, [0171]-[0172], [0182]-[0184], Figs. 13-16; Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) are configured to connect to connection electrodes 213b, 214b formed on the lower surface of heater holder 196 (cartridge 11, first body) as shown in Fig. 16. Electrical power is supplied to heater 194 (atomizing component) via electrodes 213, 214 and pin electrodes 49), and Danek teaches a device comprising an electrode (electrical contact) located at the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component ([0056]-[0057], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Electrical pathways connect the mesh assembly 118 of the upper housing component 106 with the circuitry and power supply (battery 128) of the lower housing component 108. Electrical contacts (electrode) connect the electrical pathways between the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 when the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are connected. Only the lower surface of upper housing component 106 contacts lower housing component 108; therefore, the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) must be located at the lower surface of upper housing component 106 (first body)). Based on the disclosures in Danek and Yamada, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the controlling component comprising the second elastic connecting piece as disclosed by Yamada to connect to the second electrical connector disclosed by Danek to supply power to the atomizing component.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, Yamada, and Weigensberg does not disclose the atomizing device ii) wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and the first body and the second body are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction through the magnetic connection between the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece.
With respect to ii), Strophair, directed to atomizing devices ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an aerosol provision device 20 and an article 30. Article 30 may comprise an atomiser 15 for provision of heat energy to an aerosolizable material to generate an aerosol. E-cigarette 10 is therefore an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10) comprising:
a first body ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an article 30 (first body)), comprising:
a second electrical connector ([0129], Fig. 1; Article 30 (first body) comprises engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) which cooperates with engagement element 21 of device 20 to provide mechanical and electrical connectivity between the device 20 and the article 30); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0113]-[0115], [0129], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an aerosol provision device 20 (second body) detachably connected to article 30 (first body)), comprising:
a second connecting piece ([0129], Fig. 1; Device 20 (second body) comprises engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) which connects to engagement element 31 of article 30 (first body)),
wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and the first body and the second body are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction through the magnetic connection between the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece ([0129], Fig. 1; Engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) and engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) cooperate via magnetic connection such that the article 30 (first body) and device 20 (second body) are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction (left to right as shown in Fig. 1. Engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) and engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) must necessarily have opposite magnetic poles to realize the magnetic attraction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, Yamada, and Weigensberg wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and the first body and the second body are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction through the magnetic connection between the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece similarly taught by Strophair because Danek, Fenner, Yamada, Weigensberg, and Strophair are directed to atomizing devices, Strophair demonstrates that configuring two electrical elements to have opposite poles facilitates detachable mechanical and electrical connection between a first body and a second body (Strophair, [0129], Fig. 1). As Danek discloses that the first and second body are detachably connected but does not provide a specific means for detachable connection (Danek, [0057]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures of Strophair to provide a detachable engagement method like magnetic engagement.
Regarding Claim 16, Danek teaches the assembling method further comprising: disposing a second electrical connector on one end of the atomizing component close to the second body ([0056]-[0057], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Electrical pathways connect the mesh assembly 118 of the upper housing component 106 with the circuitry and power supply (battery 128) of the lower housing component 108. The upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are detachable from each other, and electrical contacts connect the electrical pathways between the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 when the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are connected. Mesh assembly 118 (atomizing component) is electrically connected to (comprises) the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) of upper housing component 106. Only the lower surface of upper housing component 106 contacts lower housing component 108; therefore, the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) must be located at the lower surface of upper housing component 106 (one end of the atomizing component close to lower housing component 108 (second body)),
but does not teach the method comprising i) disposing a second elastic connecting piece on the controlling component, wherein the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body, and ii) the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles; and making the first body and the second body be connected to each other so that the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece are magnetically connected to each other.
With respect to i), Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an assembly method for an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device. Yamada does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining main body unit 10, tobacco capsule 12, and cartridge 11 forms an assembly method for suction device 1) comprising:
providing a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case);
disposing an atomizing component in the first outer case ([0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 (first body) comprises a heater 194 disposed in tank 191 (first outer case) configured to heat and atomize a liquid aerosol source); and
providing second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
disposing a controlling component on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
disposing a battery component on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component));
sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction);
installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction), and
disposing a second elastic connecting piece on the controlling component ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is the second inner case. [0076]-[0079], [0081], Figs. 3-5; A pair of electrode retainers 50 and are formed in the connection pedestal 48. A pin electrode 49 (second elastic connecting piece) is individually held by each electrode retainer 50. The pin electrode 49 is configured from a pin-shaped electrode main body that is elastically supported in a tubular case. The pin electrodes are configured to electrically connect to first substrate 60 of first substrate module 34 (controlling component). Therefore, the controlling component comprises a second elastic connecting piece),
wherein the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body ([0076]-[0079], [0081], Figs. 3-5; Connection pedestal 48 defines an end surface of the base portion 48 (second inner case). Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) passes through connection pedestal 48 (end surface) close to cartridge 11 (first body)),
wherein the second elastic connecting piece is configured to connect to an electrode formed on the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component ([0171]-[0172], Figs. 13-16; Cartridge 11 includes heater holder 196 at its lower surface as shown in Fig. 13. [0182]-[0184], Fig. 13-16; Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) are configured to connect to connection electrodes 213b, 214b formed on the lower surface of heater holder 196 (cartridge 11, first body) as shown in Fig. 16. Connection electrodes 213b, 214b are associated with extraction electrodes 213a, 214a respectively. Extraction electrodes 213a, 214a are electrically connected to heater 194 (atomizing component) via electrical heating wires 205. It is reasonably understood that electrical power is supplied to heater 194 via electrodes 213, 214 and pin electrodes 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly method taught by Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz further comprising disposing a second elastic connecting piece on the controlling component, wherein the second elastic connecting piece passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body as disclosed by Yamada because Danek, Fenner, and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that providing a controlling component with a second elastic connecting piece which passes through an end surface of the second inner case close to the first body allows the second elastic connecting piece to electrically connect to an electrode located at the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component (Yamada, [0171]-[0172], [0182]-[0184], Figs. 13-16; Pin electrodes 49 (second elastic connecting piece) are configured to connect to connection electrodes 213b, 214b formed on the lower surface of heater holder 196 (cartridge 11, first body) as shown in Fig. 16. Electrical power is supplied to heater 194 (atomizing component) via electrodes 213, 214 and pin electrodes 49), and Danek teaches a device comprising an electrode (electrical contact) located at the lower surface of the first body to supply power to the atomizing component ([0056]-[0057], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; Electrical pathways connect the mesh assembly 118 of the upper housing component 106 with the circuitry and power supply (battery 128) of the lower housing component 108. Electrical contacts (electrode) connect the electrical pathways between the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 when the upper housing component 106 and the lower housing component 108 are connected. Only the lower surface of upper housing component 106 contacts lower housing component 108; therefore, the electrical contacts (second electrical connector) must be located at the lower surface of upper housing component 106 (first body)). Based on the disclosures in Danek and Yamada, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the controlling component comprising the second elastic connecting piece as disclosed by Yamada to connect to the second electrical connector disclosed by Danek to supply power to the atomizing component.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, Yamada, and Weigensberg does not the assembly method ii) wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles; and comprising making the first body and the second body be connected to each other so that the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece are magnetically connected to each other.
With respect to ii), Strophair, directed to atomizing devices ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an aerosol provision device 20 and an article 30. Article 30 may comprise an atomiser 15 for provision of heat energy to an aerosolizable material to generate an aerosol. E-cigarette 10 is therefore an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10) comprising:
a first body ([0113]-[0115], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an article 30 (first body)), comprising:
a second electrical connector ([0129], Fig. 1; Article 30 (first body) comprises engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) which cooperates with engagement element 21 of device 20 to provide mechanical and electrical connectivity between the device 20 and the article 30); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0113]-[0115], [0129], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 10 comprises an aerosol provision device 20 (second body) detachably connected to article 30 (first body)), comprising:
a second connecting piece ([0129], Fig. 1; Device 20 (second body) comprises engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) which connects to engagement element 31 of article 30 (first body)),
wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and the first body and the second body are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction through the magnetic connection between the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece ([0129], Fig. 1; Engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) and engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) cooperate via magnetic connection such that the article 30 (first body) and device 20 (second body) are detachably connected to each other along the axial direction (left to right as shown in Fig. 1. Engagement element 31 (second electrical connector) and engagement element 21 (second connecting piece) must necessarily have opposite magnetic poles to realize the magnetic attraction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, Yamada, and Weigensberg wherein the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece have opposite magnetic poles, and comprising making the first body and the second body be connected to each other so that the second electrical connector and the second elastic connecting piece are magnetically connected to each other similarly taught by Strophair because Danek, Fenner, Yamada, Weigensberg, and Strophair are directed to atomizing devices, Strophair demonstrates that configuring two electrical elements to have opposite poles facilitates detachable mechanical and electrical connection between a first body and a second body (Strophair, [0129], Fig. 1). As Danek discloses that the first and second body are detachably connected but does not provide a specific means for detachable connection (Danek, [0057]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the disclosures of Strophair to provide a detachable engagement method like magnetic engagement.
Claims 9 and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenner (US 2020/0037670 A1, cited on the IDS dated 4/23/2024) in view of Yilmaz (US 2023/0180850 A1), as applied to Claims 8 and 17, and further in view of Force (US 2017/0280774 A1) and Yamada (US 2021/0235757 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Danek further teaches the atomizing device wherein the first body further comprises: a second base disposed on one end of the atomizing component ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Elements 102/106 (first body) comprises a mouthpiece 102 defining a second base disposed on the upper end of the atomizing component defined by elements 118/122);
wherein the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Lower housing component 108 (second body) is detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction),
wherein the second base forms a disc space of the diversion channel ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; As mouthpiece 102 comprises an air outlet 104, and Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet, wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction, it is reasonably understood that the air must divert around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) to reach the outlet 104 when flowing downstream. The path around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) is the diversion channel. As shown in Figs 3 and 11-14, mouthpiece 102 forms a disc shaped space of the diversion channel).
Yilmaz further teaches the atomizing device wherein the air inlet is in communication with the disc space ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28 which is in communication with the air outlet at mouthpiece opening 50. As Danek has been modified such that the air inlet is located in the second outer case, it is reasonably understood that the air inlet 28 of Yamada is in communication with the path around elements 118/122 (disc space) of Danek),
but does not teach the atomizing device i) wherein the first body further comprises: a first inner case disposed on the atomizing component; wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion; a first base disposed on one end of the atomizing component, wherein the first base has a second diversion protrusion, ii) wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case, the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction, the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction, iii) the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction so that the second inner case and the second base are spaced apart from each other to form a disc space of the diversion channel.
With respect to i), Force, directed to atomizing devices ([0079], Figs. 1A-C; Aerosol generating system 100 includes a first part 10, a vaporizing unit 20, a capsule 30, and a cover 40. [0081]-[0082], [0092], The vaporizing unit 20 comprises a heating element 220 configured to heat and vaporize an aerosol generating substrate to generate a vapor (aerosol). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, aerosol generating system 100 is an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0079], Figs. 1A-C; Aerosol generating system 100), comprising:
a first body ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; Aerosol generating system 100 includes a first part 10, a vaporizing unit 20, a capsule 30, and a cover 40. Vaporizing unit 20, capsule 30, and cover 40 cooperate to form a first body as shown in Fig. 4), comprising:
a first outer case and a first inner case ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; The first body comprises cover 40 defining a first outer case. Capsule 30 includes a housing 310 defining a first inner case);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; Vaporizing unit 20 and capsule 30 cooperate to form an atomizing component disposed within cover 40 (first outer case)); and
a first base disposed on one end of the atomizing component ([0081], Figs. 1-4; Vaporizing unit 20 (atomizing component) comprises a housing 240 having a lower surface forming a first base);
wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion ([0097], [0102], Fig. 9; The outer surface of the housing 310 (first inner case) of the capsule 30 may include one or more detents 312 (such as ridges that may form grooves) that may form one or more channels. Air is configured to be diverted through the channels formed by the detents/ridges 312. The detents/ridges 312 include portions which protrude from the outer surface of housing 310 (first inner case). Therefore, the detents/ridges 312 are diversion protrusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the first body further comprises: a first inner case disposed on the atomizing component and a first base disposed on a lower end end of the atomizing component as taught by Force because Danek and Force are directed to atomizing devices, Force demonstrates that the an additional inner case provides rigidity and support to the atomizing component (Force, [0050]-[0051], [0066]), and that a first base disposed on the lower end of the an atomizing component supports the base of the atomizing component (Force, [0081]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this configuration, the second base of Danek is located on an upper end of the atomizing component, and the first base is located on a lower end of the atomizing component such that: “a first base [is] disposed on one end of the atomizing component.. and a second base [is] disposed on the other end of the atomizing component”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion as taught by Force because Danek and Force are directed to atomizing devices, Force demonstrates that the diversion protrusions form airflow channels to control the flow of the air through an air channel (Force [0097], [0102], Fig. 9), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first diversion protrusion and dispose it on the first base such that the first base has a second diversion protrusion to form airflow channels to control the flow of the air through the diversion channel (Force [0097], [0102], Fig. 9). This would merely involve duplication of parts and positioning another diversion protrusion at a different section of the first body to control airflow at various positions.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Force does not teach the atomizing device ii) wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case, the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction, the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction, iii) the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction so that the second inner case and the second base are spaced apart from each other to form a disc space of the diversion channel.
With respect to ii), Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device) comprising:
a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case); and
a second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
a controlling component disposed on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
a battery component disposed on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component)),
the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction),
the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Force wherein the second body further comprises a second inner case, the controlling component and the battery component are configured to be sequentially installed into the second inner case along the axial direction, and the second inner case is configured to be installed into the second outer case along the axial direction as taught by Yamada because Danek and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that the second inner case is configured to support and retain the internal components of the second body (Yamada, [0069]-[0076], Fig. 3; Base portion 40 (second inner case)), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With respect to iii), Danek demonstrates that the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction ([0045], Fig. 1; E-cigarette 5 comprises a handpiece 200 (second body) detachably connected to the reusable E-fluid atomizer 10 (first body) along the axial direction), and the second base forms a disc space of the diversion channel ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 29; End cap 110 (second base) retains electrical element 130. [0057], Electrical element 130 is a cylindrical element defining center bore 136. Center bore 136 a disc space of the diversion channel (the path between center bore 136, exit ports 77, gap 66, and mouthpiece 20). As Yamada further demonstrates that the second inner case located in the second outer case separate from the first body (Yamada, [0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) separate from cartridge 11 (first body)), it is reasonably understood that the first body and the second body are configured to be detachably connected to each other along the axial direction so that the second inner case and the second base are spaced apart from each other to form a disc space of the diversion channel, regardless of the exact position of the air inlet in the second outer case.
Regarding Claim 18, Danek further teaches the assembling method wherein the step of forming the first body further comprises: disposing a second base on one end of the atomizing component ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3; Elements 102/106 (first body) comprises a mouthpiece 102 defining a second base disposed on the upper end of the atomizing component defined by elements 118/122); and
but does not teach the assembling method i) comprising: disposing a first inner case on the atomizing component, wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion; disposing a first base on one end of the atomizing component, wherein the first base has a second diversion protrusion ii) wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case; sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction; and installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction.
With respect to i), Force, directed to atomizing devices ([0079], Figs. 1A-C; Aerosol generating system 100 includes a first part 10, a vaporizing unit 20, a capsule 30, and a cover 40. [0081]-[0082], [0092], The vaporizing unit 20 comprises a heating element 220 configured to heat and vaporize an aerosol generating substrate to generate a vapor (aerosol). Based on the disclosures of the instant specification, [0055], the term atomizing device can emcompass systems which atomize a filler by heating. Therefore, aerosol generating system 100 is an atomizing device), teaches an atomizing device ([0079], Figs. 1A-C; Aerosol generating system 100), comprising:
a first body ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; Aerosol generating system 100 includes a first part 10, a vaporizing unit 20, a capsule 30, and a cover 40. Vaporizing unit 20, capsule 30, and cover 40 cooperate to form a first body as shown in Fig. 4), comprising:
a first outer case and a first inner case ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; The first body comprises cover 40 defining a first outer case. Capsule 30 includes a housing 310 defining a first inner case);
an atomizing component disposed in the first outer case ([0079]-[0082], Fig. 1-4; Vaporizing unit 20 and capsule 30 cooperate to form an atomizing component disposed within cover 40 (first outer case)); and
a first base disposed on one end of the atomizing component ([0081], Figs. 1-4; Vaporizing unit 20 (atomizing component) comprises a housing 240 having a lower surface forming a first base);
wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion ([0097], [0102], Fig. 9; The outer surface of the housing 310 (first inner case) of the capsule 30 may include one or more detents 312 (such as ridges that may form grooves) that may form one or more channels. Air is configured to be diverted through the channels formed by the detents/ridges 312. The detents/ridges 312 include portions which protrude from the outer surface of housing 310 (first inner case). Therefore, the detents/ridges 312 are diversion protrusions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the method comprises: disposing a first inner case on the atomizing component; and disposing a first base on one end of the atomizing component similarly taught by Force because Danek and Force are directed to atomizing devices, Force demonstrates that the an additional inner case provides rigidity and support to the atomizing component (Force, [0050]-[0051], [0066]), and that a first base disposed on the lower end of the an atomizing component supports the base of the atomizing component (Force, [0081]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this configuration, the second base of Danek is located on an upper end of the atomizing component, and the first base is located on a lower end of the atomizing component such that the method comprises: “disposing a first base on one end of the atomizing component… and disposing a second base at the other end of the atomizing component”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the atomizing device of Danek in view of Fenner and Yilmaz wherein the first inner case has a first diversion protrusion as taught by Force because Danek and Force are directed to atomizing devices, Force demonstrates that the diversion protrusions form airflow channels to control the flow of the air through an air channel (Force [0097], [0102], Fig. 9), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first diversion protrusion and dispose it on the first base such that the first base has a second diversion protrusion to form airflow channels to control the flow of the air through the diversion channel (Force [0097], [0102], Fig. 9). This would merely involve duplication of parts and positioning another diversion protrusion at a different section of the first body to control airflow at various positions.
Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Force does not teach the assembly method ii) wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case; sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction; and installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction.
With respect to ii), Yamada, directed to atomizing devices ([0001]), teaches an assembly method for an atomizing device ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10, a tobacco capsule 12, and a cartridge (also referred as an atomization unit) 11 detachably connected to the main body unit 10. [0153], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 is configured to atomize a liquid aerosol source in cartridge 11 to generate an aerosol; and therefore, suction device 1 an atomizing device. Yamada does not explicitly use the terms ‘method’ or ‘process’ to refer to device assembly; however, the implicit step of combining main body unit 10, tobacco capsule 12, and cartridge 11 forms an assembly method for suction device 1) comprising:
providing a first body comprising a first outer case ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises cartridge 11 (first body). [0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 comprises tank 191 defining a first outer case);
disposing an atomizing component in the first outer case ([0153]-[0155], Figs. 2, 13-14; Cartridge 11 (first body) comprises a heater 194 disposed in tank 191 (first outer case) configured to heat and atomize a liquid aerosol source); and
providing second body detachably connected to the first body ([0061]-[0063], Fig. 1; Suction device 1 comprises a main body unit 10 (second body) detachably connected to cartridge 11 (first body)), comprising:
a second outer case ([0064]-[0067], Figs. 2-4; Main body unit 10 (second body) includes a power unit 21. Power unit 21 includes a housing 31 defining a second outer case);
disposing a controlling component on one side of the second outer case close to the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises first substrate module 34. First substrate module 34 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) close to tank 191 (first outer case). [0081]-[0086], First substrate module 34 has a first substrate 60, a switching element 52 (see FIG. 3), and a pressure sensor 53. Switching element 52 and pressure sensor 53 cooperate to control the operation of the device. Therefore, first substrate module is a controlling component); and
disposing a battery component on one side of the second outer case away from the first outer case ([0066]-[0069], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises storage battery 33. Storage battery 33 is disposed on one side of the housing 31 (second outer case) away from tank 191 (first outer case)),
wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component));
sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Power unit 21 comprises a storage battery holder 36 including a base portion 40. Base portion 40 (comprising elements 40-48) is a second inner case which retains first substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component). First substrate module 34 (controlling component) and storage battery (battery component) are configured to be sequentially installed into base portion 40 (second inner case) along the axial direction);
installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction ([0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) along the axial direction), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembling method of Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, and Force wherein the step of forming the second body further comprises: providing a second inner case; sequentially installing the controlling component and the battery component into the second inner case along the axial direction; and installing the second inner case into the second outer case along the axial direction as taught by Yamada because Danek and Yamada are directed to atomizing devices, Yamada demonstrates that the second inner case is configured to support and retain the internal components of the second body (Yamada, [0069]-[0076], Fig. 3; Base portion 40 (second inner case)), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 19, Danek in view of Fenner, Yilmaz, Force, and Yamada teaches the assembling method of the atomizing device of claim 18. Danek further teaches the assembling method, further comprising: making the first body and the second body be connected to each other ([0154]-[0155], Figs. 1-2; Lower housing component 108 (second body) is detachably connected to elements 102/106 (first body) along an axial direction),
wherein the second base forms a disc space of the diversion channel ([0154]-[0160], Figs. 1-3, 11-14; As mouthpiece 102 comprises an air outlet 104, and Danek has been modified in view of Yilmaz such that the second outer case has an air inlet, wherein an inner cavity of the first outer case and an inner cavity of the second outer case are communicated with each other along an axial direction, it is reasonably understood that the air must divert around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) to reach the outlet 104 when flowing downstream. The path around elements 118/122 (atomizing component) is the diversion channel. As shown in Figs 3 and 11-14, mouthpiece 102 forms a disc shaped space of the diversion channel).
Yilmaz further teaches the assembling method wherein the air inlet is in communication with the disc space ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1; Outer housing 12 (second outer case) has an air inlet 28 which is in communication with the air outlet at mouthpiece opening 50. As Fenner has been modified such that the air inlet is located in the second outer case, it is reasonably understood that the air inlet 28 of Yamada is in communication with the center body 136 (disc space) of Fenner).
As Yamada further demonstrates that the second inner case located in the second outer case separate from the first body (Yamada, [0066]-[0076], Figs. 2-4; Base portion 40 (second inner case) is configured to be installed into the housing 31 (second outer case) separate from cartridge 11 (first body)), it is reasonably understood that when the first body and the second body are made to be connected to each other, the second inner case and the second base are spaced apart from each other to form a disc space of the diversion channel, regardless of the exact position of the air inlet in the second outer case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755