DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 7 is canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/03/2025.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 10/03/2025 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
In response to Applicant’s amendments filed 10/03/2025 , the Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection on claim 12 for lack of antecedent basis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages 10-13, filed 10/03/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation that was not previously presented, specifically, “a U-shaped groove electrically connected to the atomizing piece; a transmission wire extended along an axis direction and electrically connected to the U-shaped groove; and a first electrical connector electrically connected to the transmission wire, and wherein the transmission wire is electrically connected between the U-shaped groove and the first electrical connector, and wherein the U-shaped groove is configured to transmit a power received by the first electrical connector and transmitted through the transmission wire to the atomizing piece”. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang (CN 111685386 A).
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 24: “configured to transmitting” should read “configured to transmit”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 2019009561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), and Yang (CN 111685386 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 1, Holzherr teaches an aerosol generating system atomizing device, comprising an atomizing component containing a substrate with an atomizer capable of heating when within a magnetic field generated by an inductive coil [0052-0053], meeting the claim limitation of an atomizing device comprising an atomizing component comprising an induction coil and an atomizing piece. While Holzherr teaches electric circuitry configured to control the transfer of power from a charging device and operation of heating means [0104], Holzherr is silent to:
A controlling component disposed on one side of the atomizing component
Wherein the controlling component comprises: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface;
A battery component disposed on one side of the controlling component away from the atomizing component
A first elastic connecting piece disposed on the first surface and a second elastic connecting piece disposed on the first surface
Wherein the first elastic connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece
Wherein the second elastic connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil
A first conductive protrusion disposed on the second surface
Wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the first conductive protrusion in the controlling component
a piston, wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece
A U-shaped groove, disposed on one side of the atomizing piece and electrically connected to the atomizing piece
A transmission wire, carried by the U-shaped groove, extended along an axis direction and electrically connected to the U-shaped groove
A first electrical connector, electrically connected to the transmission wire, away from the atomizing piece, and electrically connected to the atomizing piece by the transmission wire and the U-shaped groove.
Wherein the transmission wire is electrically connected between the U-shaped groove and the first electrical connector
Wherein the U-shaped groove is configured to transmit a power received by the first electrical connector and transmitted through the transmission wire to the atomizing piece
In regards to i., ii., and iii., Neetenstrom, directed to an electronic vapor provision system, teaches (i) a controlling component ([0008], Pg. 1, Fig 1: #300) disposed on one side of the atomizing component. ([0027], Pg. 2, Fig 1: #22). Neetenstrom describes a heater to act as an atomizer or vaporizer, similar to the claimed invention, that comprises an attached control unit. Neetenstrom teaches wherein (ii) the controlling component comprises: a substrate having a first surface and a second surface (Figure 9: #460) in Figure 9 where the substrate contains multiple surfaces. (iii) Figure 1 shows the battery component (Figure 1: #31) being disposed in one side of the control unit (Figure 1: #300) while the atomizing component (Figure 1: #22) is in a different part of the device away from the battery.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Holzherr which includes a microprocessor, battery, induction coil, and substrate by substituting it with a controlling component disposed on one side of the atomizing component comprising a substrate with a first and second surface and a battery component disposed on one side of the controlling component away from the atomizing component, as taught by Neetenstrom, because both Holzherr and Neetenstrom are directed to inventions producing a vaporized substance. Neetenstrom teaches a control unit comprising a battery to supply power to a vaporizer and a substrate to support an electrical interface which merely involves simple substitution of known control and battery elements for another to obtain predictable results.
In regards to iv., v., vi., vii., and viii, Peng, directed to a heating device for electronic cigarettes, teaches (iv) two elastic component housings (Figure 2: #15a and #15b) arranged on two elastic components, disposed on the first surface (Figure 2: “fs”), meeting the claim limitation of wherein a first elastic connecting piece is disposed on the first surface and a second elastic connecting piece is disposed on the first surface. (v) The two elastic components are configured as coil springs and have conductive properties [0033] in close contact with a conductive receiving portion for transmitting electricity [0016]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a component used for transmitting electricity would form an electrical connection between the elastic component and housing, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the second elastic connecting piece is electrically connected to the induction coil.
Peng further teaches (vi) wherein an elastic component is electrically connected to a receiving portion of the atomizing device (Pg. 6, [0010], Figure 2: #14), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first elastic connecting piece is electrically connected to the atomizing piece. (vii) A conductive protrusion is disposed on the second surface (Pg. 5, [0007], Figure 2: “ss”). (viii) The conductive protrusion is configured to conduct power from a battery or an electronic control device thereof (Pg. 12, [n0028]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the battery component is electrically connected to the first conductive protrusion in the controlling component.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the controlling component with an induction coil of modified Holzherr to further comprise a first and second elastic connecting piece, first conductive protrusion, and a battery component connected to the conductive protrusion, as taught by Peng, because both Holzherr and Peng are directed to atomization devices. Peng teaches an elastic connecting piece and conductive protrusion connected to a battery to ensure a stable electrical output in a compact structure and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known vaporization methods to yield predictable results.
In regards to ix., Wensley, directed to methods and devices for smoking or nicotine urge relief, teaches a piston pump (Fig. 96: #9602) comprising a magnetic drive coil (Fig. 96: #9604), relating to the induction coil of the claimed invention. The magnetic drive coil can be used to drive the movement of the piston [0152] and can be adapted to deliver liquid nicotine from a reservoir (Fig. 96: #9606) to the heater element, relating to the atomizing piece of the claimed invention [0009]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that to move the liquid towards the heating element, the piston would need to also move towards the heating element, meeting the claim limitation of a piston, wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing device of modified Holzherr to include a piston, wherein the induction coil is configured to drive the piston to move toward the atomizing piece because both Holzherr and Wensley are directed to battery powered devices meant for generating aerosol with a liquid substrate. Wensley teaches a magnetic drive coil that is used to drive a piston to deliver liquid nicotine from a reservoir to a heater element to provide effective, customized doses on nicotine to users [0004] and this merely involves applying a known piston moving technique to a known aerosol generating device for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to x., xi., xii., xiii., and xiv., Yang, directed to an atomizer, teaches (xi) a U-shaped groove (Fig. 2: #21) disposed on an upper side of a heating assembly (Fig. 2: #10). Heating wires (Fig. 4: #11) are carried inside the U-shaped groove (Fig. 2: #21, [0043]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an electrical connection is achieved between a connector and the heating element by the wire by being carried inside the groove [0058-0059]. (xi) The heating wires (Fig. 4: #11) are carried inside the U-shaped groove (Fig. 2: #21, [0043]) and extend along a length of the of the heating assembly [0043]. The heating wires share an electrical connection with electrode wires (Fig. 4: #13, [0047]) inside the groove area [0043] and maintain an electrical path while carried inside the U-shaped groove [0049-0050].
(xii) Each end of the heating wires (Fig. 2: #11) are inserted into connecting seats (Fig. 4: #15, [0046]), wherein the connecting seats are part of the electrical pathway of the device [0046]. The connecting seats (Fig. 4: #15) extend away from the heating assembly (Fig. 4: #10) and connect to the heating assembly (Fig. 4: #10) through the heating wires (Fig. 4: #11) within the U-shaped groove (Fig. 2: #21, [0043 & 0054]). (xiii) The heating wires (Fig. 4: #11) are inside the U-shaped groove (Fig. 2: #21, [0043]) and inserted within the connecting seats (Fig. 4: #15, [0046]). The connecting seats are located outside the U-shaped groove [0046]. (xiv) The U-shaped groove carries the heating wires, enabling flow of power, that are connected to the connecting seats (Fig. 2: #15, [0054]) that supply power to the heating element activated by electrical conductivity [0059].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing component of Holzherr to comprise a U-shaped groove, transmission wire, and a first electrical connector electrically connected to each other and an atomizing piece wherein the U-shaped groove is configured to transmit a power received by the first electrical connector through the transmission wire to the atomizing piece because both Holzherr and Yang are directed to aerosol generating devices with internal atomization to heat an aerosol forming substrate. Yang teaches a U-shaped groove that carries heating wires and is connected to a heating assembly of an atomizer to provide a more stable support for the wires and improve electrical connection [0025] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 2, modified Holzherr teaches all of the limitations in the claims set forth above. However, modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the controlling component further comprises a controlling chip and a gas flow sensor
The gas flow sensor is electrically connected to the controlling chip
The controlling chip and the gas flow sensor are disposed on the first surface of the substrate
Neetenstrom teaches (i) a circuit board (Fig. 8: #404), wherein circuitry associated with the operating functionality of the aerosol provision system and an airflow sensor may be provided on the circuit board [0071], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the controlling component further comprises a controlling chip and a gas flow sensor. (ii) The airflow sensor is included on the circuit board (Fig. 8: #404) for supporting the operating functions of the system [0071], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the gas flow sensor is electrically connected to the controlling chip. A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that since the circuitry and airflow sensor are both on the circuit board and support operations of the aerosol provision system, they would be connected to achieve efficiency.
(iii) The circuit board (Fig. 8: #404) comprises a substrate to support an electrical interface between a cartridge and control unit. Although not stated, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include the circuitry and airflow sensor of the circuit board (Fig. 8: #404) on a first surface of the substrate because in the art, active components are usually mounted on one surface of the circuit board, making it accessible for wiring and testing, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the controlling chip and the gas flow sensor are disposed on the first surface of the substrate.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the electrical circuity of modified Holzherr with a controlling component further comprising a controlling chip and a gas flow sensor; the gas flow sensor is electrically connected to the controlling chip, wherein the controlling chip and the gas flow sensor are disposed on the first surface of the substrate because both Holzherr and Neetenstrom are directed to devices that contain a controlling function for atomization. Neetenstrom teaches a circuit board with circuitry and an airflow sensor teaches a gas sensor to support operations of the aerosol provision system [0071] and this merely involves applying known sensor and chip features to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 11, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the first elastic connecting piece and the second elastic connecting piece are around the gas flow sensor
Neetenstrom teaches wherein a circuit board (Fig. 8: #404) may include an airflow sensor [0071]. The circuit board is held down by two sprung pins (Fig. 8: #404), which would surround the airflow sensor and provide electrical connection between the control unit and the cartomizer [0032], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first elastic connecting piece and the second elastic connecting piece are around the gas flow sensor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the positioning of the first and second elastic connecting piece to surround the gas flow sensor because the sprung pins connect with corresponding contact pads on the circuit board to establish an electrical connection for supplying power from the battery, thus delivering power to the gas flow sensor [0037].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the location of the first elastic connecting piece and the second elastic connection of modified Holzherr to be around the gas flow sensor because both Holzherr and Neetenstrom are both directed to aerosol generating devices directed towards controlling electrical output. Neetenstrom teaches a gas flow sensor on a circuit board held down by sprung pins to supply power from the battery to the gas flow sensor and to detect a drop in pressure when a user inhales [0038] and this merely involves applying a known structural configuration to a known atomizing component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 17, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the U-shaped groove extended along a second direction which is perpendicular to the axis direction
Yang teaches wherein the U-shaped grooves (Fig. 2: #21) extend along a perpendicular direction relative to the heating element (Fig. 2: #12) to receive the heating wires within the grooves [0043] and improve retention of the heating wire within the grooves [0025].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the U-shaped groove of modified Holzherr to extend along a second direction which is perpendicular to the axis direction because both Holzherr and Yang are directed to aerosol generating devices with internal atomization to heat an aerosol forming substrate. Yang teaches a U-shaped groove extending along a perpendicular direction relative to the axis direction to improve the position and stability of the heating wire in the device [0025] and this merely involves applying a known securing technique to a known aerosol generation device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 20190099561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A hereinafter citations referring to the English Machine Translation provided), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), and Yang (CN 111685386 A), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (US 20150181944 A1)
With regard to Claim 3, Holzherr teaches a housing on the outside of the device and all of the limitations in the claims set forth above. However, Holzherr is silent to:
A first outer case and a second outer case connected to each other
Wherein a second inner case is disposed in the second outer case, the atomizing component is disposed in the first outer case
The controlling component and the battery component are disposed in the second inner case
The second inner case comprises a limiting groove, the limiting groove is disposed on an inner surface of the second inner case
The substrate has a limiting protrusion, and the limiting protrusion is engaged in the limiting groove of the second inner case
In regards to i., ii., iii., Li, directed to an electronic cigarette, teaches (i) an atomizer (Fig. 1: #10) with an external housing and a battery pack (Fig. 1: #20) with an external housing meant to be plugged together [0034], meeting the claim limitation of a first outer case and a second outer case connected to each other. (ii) The battery pack (Fig. 1: #20) comprises a battery sleeve (Fig. 2: #21) and an atomizing component (Fig. 2: #12) is disposed in the atomizer (Fig. 1: #10), meeting the claim limitation of wherein a second inner case is disposed in the second outer case, the atomizing component is disposed in the first outer case. (iii) A battery (Fig. 2: #22) is accommodated within the battery sleeve (Fig. 2: #21) and a switch button (Fig. 2: #28) disposed at the end of the battery sleeve (Fig. 2: #21), internally relative to the external housing of the battery pack (Fig. 1: #20). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the housing of Holzherr to allow for easier replacement or interchangeability, enabling the device to be connected to a different battery or atomizing component beyond the originals [0043].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of Holzherr, by substituting it with a first outer case containing an atomizing component, second outer case, and second inner case containing a battery and controlling component because both Holzherr and Liu are directed to aerosol generating devices with means for controlling power. Liu teaches an electronic cigarette in two components, an atomizing component and battery component, with an internal housing comprising more components of the device to parts allow for easier replacement or interchangeability [0043] and this merely involves simple substitution of known housing elements for another to obtain predictable results.
In regards to iv. and v., Neetenstrom, directed to an electronic vapor provision system, teaches (iv) wherein the cartomizer (Fig. 5: #200) comprises a lower base portion with an outer housing. An inner part of the housing comprises latching elements (Fig. 4: #40) used to engage two components [0041], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the second inner case comprises a limiting groove, the limiting groove is disposed on an inner surface of the second inner case. Neetenstrom also teaches wherein (v) the substrate has a limiting protrusion, and the limiting protrusion is engaged in the limiting groove of the second inner case ([0041], Pg. 4). Each of the latching elements contain protrusions (Fig 4: #44), arranged to engage with a recess in the lower portion to join a cartomizer and control unit including the substrate [0041], which is on the inner portion of the base portion of the device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the substrate of modified Holzherr with the limiting protrusion of Neetenstrom for engagement of the substrate in the device to secure its position.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the housing of modified Holzherr, by including a limiting groove and limiting protrusion in the second inner case because both Holzherr and Neetenstrom are directed to inventions producing a vaporized substance. Neetenstrom teaches latching elements and protrusions to secure the connection between individual parts of a device and this merely involves applying known engaging features to a known substrate ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 20190099561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), and Yang (CN 111685386 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ouyang (US 20200015523).
With regard to Claim 4, Holzherr teaches an atomizer with a first electrical connector and all of the limitations in the claims set forth above. However, Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the first electrical connector further comprises: a conductive sheet electrically connected to the transmission wire
A first conductive pillar disposed one side of the conductive sheet, wherein the first conductive pillar is against the conductive sheet to be electrically connected to the transmission wire and the first conductive pillar is electrically connected to the first elastic connecting piece
Ouyang, directed to an atomizer and electronic cigarette, teaches (i) conductive strips (Fig. 2: #3) in an atomizing assembly, similar to the conductive sheets in the claimed invention, where one end of a heating wire is place at one conductive terminal, similar to how the transmission wire is connected in the claimed invention (Abstract, [0014]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein a first electrical connector comprising: a conductive sheet electrically connected to the transmission wire (Abstract, [0014], Pg. 1).
(ii) Ouyang also describes conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2), relating to conductive pillars, that are connected to the conductive strips, which have a connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22), similar to the elastic connecting piece in the claimed invention (Abstract, [0014]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the conductive connections of Ouyang to modified Holzherr to increase the conductive contact area with the external power supply, thereby enhancing the stability of the power supply current.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first electrical connector of Holzherr, by comprising a conductive sheet electrically connected to the transmission wire, and a first conductive pillar because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to aerosol generating devices. Ouyang teaches conductive strips and terminals with connecting portions attached to a wire to increase the area of contact of the atomizer with the conductive properties of the device to enhance power efficiency and this merely involves applying of known conductive materials to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 5, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the number of the first elastic connecting piece is two
Wherein the number of the first electrical connector is two
Ouyang teaches (i) two conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2) connected to conductive strips. (ii) Ouyang also describes a connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22) that go into through holes (Fig. 2: #113) which serve as connectors for the conductive terminals connected to the conductive strips. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the first elastic connecting piece and first electrical connector of modified Holzherr to each be two components to allow connection between the atomizing assembly and power supply to enhance the stability of the power supply current [0016].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first elastic connecting piece and first electrical connector to wherein there is two of each because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to aerosol generating devices with external power supplies. Ouyang teaches two conductive terminals connected to two conductive strips and two connecting portions that go into through holes to enable connection with the external power supply and atomizer and this merely involves applying a known quantity to the connecting components of the device to a known atomizer ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 8, modified Holzherr teaches all of the limitations of the claims set forth above. However, Holzherr is silent to:
A second electrical connector comprising:
A conductive piece electrically connected to the induction coil
A second conductive pillar disposed on one side of the conductive piece
Wherein the second conductive pillar is against the conductive piece to be electrically connected to the induction coil
Wherein the second conductive pillar is electrically connected to the second elastic connecting piece
In regards to i., Neetenstrom teaches electrical connection leads wrapped around a heating wire to connect electrical power, similar to the function of the second electrical connector in the claimed invention, further strengthening the flow of power from the power supply to the atomizer [0055].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing component of modified Holzer to include a second electrical connector because both Holzherr and Neetenstrom are directed to electrical connections in aerosol generating devices. Neetenstrom teaches electrical connection leads for connecting electrical power to a heater [0055] and this merely involves applying a second connector to a known atomizing device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii, iii, iv, and v, Ouyang teaches (ii) a socket of the connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22) of a conductive terminal (Fig. 2: #2), wherein one end of a heating wire is placed in the socket [0034], meeting the claim limitation of a conductive piece electrically connected to the induction coil. (iii) The device comprises two conductive terminals, as seen in Figure 2. The conductive terminal (Fig. 2: #2) is attached vertically above in relation to the socket. (iv) One end of a heating wire is placed in the socket of the connecting portion and the other is placed in the socket of the connecting portion to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and the heating wire [0034]. Ouyang also teaches wherein (v) the conductive terminal is electrically connected to the connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22, [0014]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the second conductive pillar is electrically connected to the second elastic connecting piece.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second electrical connector of modified Holzherr, by including a second conductive pillar disposed on one side of the conductive piece, wherein the second conductive pillar is against the conductive piece to be electrically connected to the induction coil and wherein the second conductive pillar is electrically connected to the second elastic connecting piece because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to electrical connections in aerosol generating devices. Ouyang teaches a socket connected to a heating wire to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and heating wire [0034] and increase the area of contact of the atomizer with the conductive properties of the device to enhance power efficiency [0028] and this merely involves the application of applying known conductive materials to a known atomizing component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 9, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the number of the second elastic connecting piece is two
Wherein the number of the second electrical connector is two
Peng teaches (i) two elastic component housing (Fig. 4: #15) disposed on the same surface. (ii) The two housings are arranged on two elastic components (Fig. 2: #14) configured as coil springs. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the quantity of the second elastic connecting piece and second electrical connector of modified Holzherr to two to achieve a conductive connection to a conductive accommodating portion of the atomizing device, and electrically connect to an inductive coil [0034].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the quantity of the second elastic connecting piece and the second electrical connector of modified Holzherr to two each because both Holzherr and Peng are directed to electrical connection in aerosol delivery devices. Peng teaches two elastic component housing and two elastic components to achieve a conductive connection to a conductive accommodating portion of the atomizing device, and electrically connect to an inductive coil [0034] and this merely involves applying a known component quantity to a known atomizing component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 12, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the conductive sheet is extended along a second direction which is perpendicular to the axis direction
Ouyang teaches two conductive strips (Fig. 2: #3) that extend in a horizontal direction relative to the y-axis of the atomizer main body (Fig. 2: #1), ensuring balance and stability of supply current through the main body [0028]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify a conductive strip for a conductive sheet because they both perform the function of conducting electric current between components or terminals, despite their different appearance.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductive sheet of modified Holzherr to wherein its extended along a second direction which is perpendicular to the axis direction because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to aerosol generating devices with external power supplies. Ouyang teaches a conductive strip that extends in a horizontal direction relative to the vertical axis of the atomizer main body to ensure balance and stability of supply current through the main body [0028] and this merely involves applying a known direction to a known conductive sheet ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 13, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the two conductive sheets are arranged along a first direction
The two first conductive pillars are arranged along a second direction
The first direction is perpendicular to the second direction
The first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the axis direction
Ouyang teaches wherein (i) two conductive strips (Fig. 2: #3) are arranged along a horizontal direction of the atomizer main body. (ii) The main body further includes two conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2) that are arranged along a vertical direction of the atomizer main body. (iii) The vertical direction of the two conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2) and the horizontal direction of the two conductive strips (Fig. 2: #3) intersect at a right angle. (iv) The horizontal and vertical directions of the pillars and sheets are located at a right angle relative to the z-axis of the main body. Although Ouyang shows the first conductive pillars and conductive sheets perpendicular to a z-axis, instead of the y-axis, it is well established that such an arrangement is a routine and design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art within rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)). The mere rearrangement of the conductive pillars and conductive sheets to be perpendicular relative to an axis direction does change the function or results of the components, meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the axis direction.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the placement directions of the two conductive sheets and two first conductive pillars of modified Holzherr to wherein the two conductive sheets are arranged along a first direction; the two first conductive pillars are arranged along a second direction; the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction; and the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to the axis direction because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to aerosol generating devices with external power supplies. Ouyang teaches two conductive strips arranged in a horizontal direction and two conductive terminals arranged in a vertical direction perpendicular to each other and perpendicular to the z-axis of the main body for improved spatial organization and this merely involves the use of a known directional technique to improve similar conductive components in the same way.
With regard to Claim 15, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the conductive piece is extended along the axis direction
Ouyang teaches a socket (Fig. 4: #222) of the conductive terminal (Fig. 4: #2), wherein the socket is a symmetrical hole with an opening in the vertical axis of the main body (Fig. 2: #1). One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that defining a circle requires an opening. To properly align with the space vertically placed for the socket in the main body (Fig. 2: #1), the hole must be formed and extended in that direction. One would be motivated to apply this extension direction to modified Holzherr to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and heating wire [0034].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductive piece of modified Holzherr to extend along the axis direction because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to electrically conductive wires. Ouyang teaches a socket of a conductive terminal, that extends in the y-plane, to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and heating wire [0034] and this merely involves applying a known extension technique to a known conductive component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 16, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the two conductive pieces are arranged along a first direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the axis direction
Ouyang teaches two conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2) with a socket each (Fig. 4: #222). The sockets are extending horizontally, in the x-axis, relating to a first direction. The x-axis is perpendicular to the y-axis of the main body (Fig. 2: #1). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to arrange the conductive pieces in a first direction to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and heating wire [0034].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the two conductive pieces of modified Holzherr to be arranged along a first direction, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the axis direction because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to electrically conductive wires. Ouyang teaches a socket of a conductive terminal, wherein the sockets extend horizontally, to ensure a stable connection between the conductive terminal and heating wire [0034] and this merely involves applying a known extension technique to a known conductive component ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 20190099561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A)), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), Yang (CN 111685386 A), and Ouyang (US 20200015523), as applied to claims 1 and 4, and further in view of Ashikawa (EP 4047952 A1).
With regard to Claim 6, modified Holzherr teaches a conductive sheet, first conductive pillar, and all of the limitations in the claims set forth above. However, modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the conductive sheet is a plum-shaped folding sheet and a via, the plum-shaped folding sheet surrounds the via
The first conductive pillar comprises a mating terminal end and a connecting terminal end connected to each other
A cross-sectional area of the mating terminal end in a radial direction is larger than a cross-sectional area of the connecting terminal end in the radial direction
The connecting terminal end of the first conductive pillar passes through the via and abuts on the plum-shaped folding sheet
In regards to i. and iv., Ashikawa, directed to a piezoelectric element, teaches (i) a rounded conductive sheet (Fig. 27: #72) that surrounds a hole (Fig. 27: #31, [0029]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the conductive sheet is a plum-shaped folding sheet and a via, the plum-shaped folding sheet surrounds the via. (iv) The conductive sheet (Fig. 27: #72) is in contact with a protruding portion (Fig. 27: #71) of a filling member (Fig. 27: #70), relating to the conductive pillar, in the hole (Fig. 27: #31) and is electrically connected to the filling member (Fig. 27: #70) through the protruding part (Fig. 27: #71). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the shape of the folding sheet and connection to the first conductive pillar and connecting terminal to provide reliability when connecting to an electrical layer [0012].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductive sheet of modified Holzherr, by substituting it with a plum-shaped folding sheet and a connecting terminal end passing through the via, abutting on the conductive sheet because both Holzherr and Ashikawa are directed to converting energy to a different form through electrical contacts. Ashikawa teaches a rounded conductive sheet with an extending portion surrounding a hole that includes a filling member to create a reliable and strong electrical connection between its components and this merely involves applying a known connection technique to a known atomization device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii. and iii., Ouyang, teaches (ii) conductive terminals (Fig. 2: #2) comprising a contact portion (Fig. 2: #21) and a connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22) connected end to end. (iii) The contact portion (Fig. 2: #21) of the conductive terminal (Fig. 2: #2) is larger in width compared to the connecting portion (Fig. 2: #22). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the first conductive pillar of modified Holzherr with two connected terminal ends to fit into its meant location and increase the contact area of the mating portion, ensuring normal power supply to the atomizer [0029].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conductive terminal of modified Holzherr to comprise a mating and connecting terminal end connected to each other, wherein a cross-sectional area of the mating terminal end in a radial direction is larger than a cross-sectional area of the connecting terminal end in the radial direction because both Holzherr and Ouyang are directed to aerosol generating devices with external power supplies. Ouyang teaches a conductive terminal with a contact portion and a connecting portion to ensure normal power supply to the atomizer [0029] and this merely involves applying known terminal ends to a known conductive element ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 20190099561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), Yang (CN 111685386 A), and Ouyang (US 20200015523) as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 9 above, and further in view of Vora (US 20200288788 A1).
With regard to Claim 10, modified Holzherr teaches two second elastic connecting pieces, two second conductive pillars, and all of the limitations in the claims set forth above. However, Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the two second elastic connecting pieces respectively have opposite magnetic poles, and the two second conductive pillars respectively have opposite magnetic poles
Vora, directed to a personal vaporizer, teaches a first component with an outward facing magnetic pole and another component with outward facing magnetic pole that is opposite the first component (Claim 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the magnetic relationship of Vora to the two second elastic connecting pieces and two second conductive pillars of modified Holzherr to match the opposing connecting terminals to create a connection.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Holzherr by including opposite magnetic poles because both Holzherr and Vora are directed to vapor inhalation devices. Vora teaches two components with opposite magnetic poles to create an attractive magnetic force between two opposing magnetic parts of a device to create a connection and this merely involves combining prior art elements in vapor inhalation devices to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzherr (US 20200214357 A1) in view of Neetenstrom (US 20190099561 A1), Peng (CN 112841728 A), Wensley (US 20150216237 A1), and Liu (CN 204335830 U), and Ouyang (US 20200015523), as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of Metrangolo (US 20150181938 A1)
With regard to Claim 14, modified Holzherr teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Holzherr is silent to:
Wherein the two conductive sheets have different lengths
Metrangolo, directed to thermally conductive rods for use in aerosol-generating articles, teaches where sheets of thermally conductive material may have different dimensions depending upon their intended use [0076]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the two conductive sheets of modified Holzherr to have different dimensions, similar to the sheets of Metrangolo, to fit a proper size for its intended use in the device [0076] and help the aerosol-generation to be more responsive to vari