DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/27/2026. Claims 1, 6, 11-12, and 16 have
been amended. Claims 21-24 has been canceled. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-12, and 15-16 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 4/27/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 4/27/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 6-11), filed on 4/27/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (CHO et al.) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang
et al. (US 2020/0323024 Al, hereinafter “Huang”) in view of XU et al. (US 2022/0353641 Al, hereinafter “Xu”) and in further view of CHO et al. (US 2021/0267003 Al, hereinafter “Cho”).
Re. claim 1, Huang teaches A communication mode switching method, applied to a first network device of a source cell, wherein the method comprises (Fig.6, Fig.14, ¶0221~¶0231, ¶0268~¶0279 - access network device establishes a radio bearer with user equipment with a switching mechanism between the unicast mode to the multicast mode as shown in Fig.6. switching between the multicast manner and the unicast manner): sending, by the first network device of the source cell, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data transmission status of user equipment in a multicast mode to a second network device of a target cell (¶0274 - After sending the multicast service data that needs to be sent in the unicast manner, the access network device switches the radio bearer between the access network device and the user equipment back to the radio bearer used to receive the multicast service data. ¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report by the first network device of the source cell); wherein the method further comprises: triggering, by the first network device of the source cell, the user equipment to report a PDCP data reception status which comprises a PDCP sequence number associated with at least one data which has been correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode to the second network device of the target cell which uses the unicast mode by sending configuration information (¶0010 ~ ¶0020, ¶0245, ¶0278 - sending, by the access network device, the configuration information to the user equipment, where the configuration information is used to receive the multicast service data. After a multicast session is established or a new multicast session is established, an access network device sends information such as multicast configuration information, unicast configuration information, and a switching threshold to user equipment; and the user equipment determines, based on the switching threshold, to establish a radio bearer with the access network device. When the multicast manner is switched to the unicast manner, to ensure continuity of a multicast service, after switching to the unicast manner, user equipment may notify, by using a data packet number, an access network device of a data packet that starts to be sent in the unicast manner. the access network device may be notified of a sequence number of a last successfully received data packet, or a sequence number of a next data packet that needs to be received; or the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets from a sequence number N to a sequence number M), wherein the configuration information is used to trigger the user equipment to report the PDCP data reception status to the second network device of the target cell (¶0014 ~ ¶0026, ¶0225, ¶0278 - the access network device provides the configuration information about how to receive the multicast service data. sending, by the access network device, the configuration information to the user equipment, where the configuration information is used to receive the multicast service data. The configuration information may be classified into the multicast configuration information and the unicast configuration information, which are respectively used to establish the radio bearer applicable to transmitting the multicast service data in the multicast manner. receiving, by the access network device, the multicast service information sent by the user equipment or a core network device, where the multicast service information is used to instruct the user equipment to receive the multicast service data, and the multicast service information includes identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of the multicast service. the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets); wherein the PDCP data reception status reported by the user equipment to the second network device of the target cell further comprises (¶0274 - After sending the multicast service data that needs to be sent in the unicast manner, the access network device switches the radio bearer between the access network device and the user equipment back to the radio bearer used to receive the multicast service data. ¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report by the first network device of the source cell):
Huang does not expressly teach wherein the second network device is configured to use a unicast mode to deliver a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu explicitly discloses wherein the second network device is configured to use a second communication mode to deliver a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status (¶0134~¶0135 - the target base station sends a data packet to the terminal device in a unicast transmission mode to align the service progress, and the terminal device may receive both the data packet sent in the unicast transmission mode and the data packet sent in the multicast transmission mode. In this way, a service progress difference between the source base station and the target base station can be compensated for. the terminal device may uniquely determine a data packet by using any one of the PDCP sequence number).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Xu in order to further modify the second network device which is configured to use a unicast mode to deliver a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status from the teachings of Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the terminal device does not need to receive and obtain additional information, can quickly determine that the transmission of the at least one second data packet is completed, and further perform a subsequent operation, so that service processing efficiency is improved (Xu, ¶0014).
Yet, Huang in view of Xu does not expressly teach a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho explicitly discloses a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode (¶0025, ¶0076, ¶0088, ¶0100, ¶0137 - The eNBs may simultaneously transmit multiple data streams for a broadcast service, a multicast service, and/or a unicast service. The main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer of NR for the control plane include: sequence numbering; ciphering, deciphering and integrity protection. When integrity verification fails, the receiving PDCP entity shall indicate the integrity verification failure to upper layer. If a PDCP status report is received, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider for each PDCP SDU, if any, with the bit in the bitmap set to ‘1’, or with the associated COUNT value less than the value of FMC (First missing count) field as successfully delivered. Further, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU. This FMC field indicates the COUNT value of the first missing PDCP SDU within the re-ordering window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Xu in view of Cho in order to further modify a part of an input variable for integrity protection associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode from the teachings of Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because for downlink and uplink integrity protection and verification, the parameters required by PDCP for integrity protection are input to the integrity protection algorithm. The required inputs to the integrity protection function include the COUNT value, and DIRECTION (direction of the transmission). The parameters required by PDCP which are provided by upper layers (Cho, ¶0111).
Re. claim 2, Huang-Xu-Cho teach claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein the PDCP data transmission status comprises (¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report): a PDCP sequence number associated with last data which has been sent by the first network device to the user equipment (¶0103, ¶0278 - serving station forward to the target station the sequence number of a PDCP. The data information may be contained and transmitted in the RRC connection configuration message. access network device may be notified of a sequence number of a last successfully received data packet, or a sequence number of a next data packet that needs to be received; or the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets from a sequence number N to a sequence number M, an identifier of a data packet that is successfully received by the user equipment is 1, and an identifier of a data packet that is not successfully received is 0. ¶0286 - multicast PDCP adds a sequence number (sequence number, SN) to the multicast service SDU, and the SN is used by a receive side for data packet sorting and retransmission requests).
Re. claim 5, Huang-Xu-Cho teach claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein the first network device is an access layer network device (Fig.17 & Fig.18, ¶0010, ¶0014, ¶0027, ¶0180, ¶0285, ¶0287 - FIG. 17 and FIG. 18A and FIG. 18B show protocol stack structures for implementing multicast and unicast cooperation at a PDCP layer, including a protocol stack structure on a transmit side of a multicast user plane of an access network devices. The access network device may be a base station or another device that provides a network access function to the user equipment. the RLC entity may select an AM mode or the UM mode, and then the RLC entity of the user equipment sends the data to a unicast MAC entity. The access network device may be an access network (access network, AN)/radio access network (radio access network, RAN) device, and the access network or the radio access network is a network including a plurality of 5G-AN/5GRAN nodes).
Re. claim 6, Huang teaches A communication mode switching method, applied to user equipment (Fig.14, Fig.23), wherein the method comprises (Fig.6, Fig.14, ¶0064, ¶0221-¶0231, ¶0268-¶0279 - The communication method includes. access network device establishes a radio bearer with user equipment with a switching mechanism between the unicast mode to the multicast mode as shown in): reporting a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data reception status in a multicast mode to a second network device of a target cell (¶0023 - user equipment may report the multicast service information at any time, for example, after it is determined that the user equipment successfully joins the multicast session, or after the manner of receiving the multicast service is switched), receiving a service which is delivered by the second network device using a second communication mode (¶0102 - a manner determining unit, configured to: instruct, based on a quantity of user equipment that receive the multicast service data, the user equipment to receive the multicast service data in the unicast manner and/or the multicast manner); wherein the method further comprises: in response to a trigger condition being satisfied, reporting the PDCP data reception status to the second network device (¶0072 - sending, by the user equipment, multicast service information to the access network device, where the multicast service information is used to instruct the user equipment to receive the multicast service data, and the multicast service information includes identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service); wherein reporting the PDCP data reception status to the second network device in response to the trigger condition being satisfied comprises (¶0023 - user equipment may report the multicast service information at any time, for example, after it is determined that the user equipment successfully joins the multicast session, or after the manner of receiving the multicast service is switched):
Huang does not expressly teach the claimed feature reporting the PDCP data reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell.
However, in the field of endeavor, Xu expressly discloses reporting the PDCP data reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell (¶0119~¶0132 - The SgNB sends context (Context) information of the UE to the TgNB with the handover request. the source station sends, to the target station, status information related to a sequence number (sequence number, SN). Data first arrives at a PDCP layer of the terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Xu in order to further modify reporting the PDCP reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell from the teachings of Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the terminal device does not need to receive and obtain additional information, can quickly determine that the transmission of the at least one second data packet is completed, and further perform a subsequent operation, so that service processing efficiency is improved (Xu, ¶0014).
Yet, Huang in view of Xu does not expressly teach wherein the PDCP data reception status comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho explicitly discloses wherein the PDCP data reception status comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode (¶0025, ¶0076, ¶0088, ¶0100, ¶0137 - The eNBs may simultaneously transmit multiple data streams for a broadcast service, a multicast service, and/or a unicast service. The main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer of NR for the control plane include: sequence numbering; ciphering, deciphering and integrity protection. When integrity verification fails, the receiving PDCP entity shall indicate the integrity verification failure to upper layer. If a PDCP status report is received, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider for each PDCP SDU, if any, with the bit in the bitmap set to ‘1’, or with the associated COUNT value less than the value of FMC (First missing count) field as successfully delivered. Further, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU. This FMC field indicates the COUNT value of the first missing PDCP SDU within the re-ordering window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Xu in view of Cho in order to further modify the PDCP data reception status which comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode from the teachings of Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because for downlink and uplink integrity protection and verification, the parameters required by PDCP for integrity protection are input to the integrity protection algorithm. The required inputs to the integrity protection function include the COUNT value, and DIRECTION (direction of the transmission). The parameters required by PDCP which are provided by upper layers (Cho, ¶0111).
Re. claim 11, Huang teaches A first network device of a source cell, comprising one or more processors, and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication mode switching device to (Fig. 22 & ¶0342 - device 220 includes a processor 2201, a memory 2202, and a transceiver 2203. ¶0342 -memory 2202 is configured to store a related instruction and related data. ¶0347 - processor 2201 is configured to read the program code, and cooperate with the transceiver 2203 to implement any method performed by the access network device ..Also, see Fig. 20): send a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data transmission status of user equipment in a multicast mode to a second network device of a target cell (¶0274 - After sending the multicast service data that needs to be sent in the unicast manner, the access network device switches the radio bearer between the access network device and the user equipment back to the radio bearer used to receive the multicast service data. ¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report by the first network device of the source cell), wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the first network device is caused to (¶0347 - processor 2201 is configured to read the program code, and cooperate with the transceiver 2203 to implement any method performed by the access network device or the user equipment): trigger the user equipment to report a PDCP data reception status which comprises a PDCP sequence number associated with at least one data which has been correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode to the second network device of the target cell which uses the unicast mode by sending configuration information (¶0010 ~ ¶0020, ¶0245, ¶0278 - sending, by the access network device, the configuration information to the user equipment, where the configuration information is used to receive the multicast service data. After a multicast session is established or a new multicast session is established, an access network device sends information such as multicast configuration information, unicast configuration information, and a switching threshold to user equipment; and the user equipment determines, based on the switching threshold, to establish a radio bearer with the access network device. When the multicast manner is switched to the unicast manner, to ensure continuity of a multicast service, after switching to the unicast manner, user equipment may notify, by using a data packet number, an access network device of a data packet that starts to be sent in the unicast manner. the access network device may be notified of a sequence number of a last successfully received data packet, or a sequence number of a next data packet that needs to be received; or the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets from a sequence number N to a sequence number M), wherein the configuration information is used to trigger the user equipment to report the PDCP data reception status to the second network device (¶0014 ~ ¶0026, ¶0225, ¶0278 - the access network device provides the configuration information about how to receive the multicast service data. sending, by the access network device, the configuration information to the user equipment, where the configuration information is used to receive the multicast service data. The configuration information may be classified into the multicast configuration information and the unicast configuration information, which are respectively used to establish the radio bearer applicable to transmitting the multicast service data in the multicast manner. receiving, by the access network device, the multicast service information sent by the user equipment or a core network device, where the multicast service information is used to instruct the user equipment to receive the multicast service data, and the multicast service information includes identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of the multicast service. the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets); wherein the PDCP data reception status reported by the user equipment to the second network device of the target cell further comprises (¶0274 - After sending the multicast service data that needs to be sent in the unicast manner, the access network device switches the radio bearer between the access network device and the user equipment back to the radio bearer used to receive the multicast service data. ¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report by the first network device of the source cell):
Huang does not expressly teach wherein the second network device is configured to use a second communication mode to send a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu explicitly discloses wherein the second network device is configured to use a unicast mode to send a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status (¶0134~¶0135 - the target base station sends a data packet to the terminal device in a unicast transmission mode to align the service progress, and the terminal device may receive both the data packet sent in the unicast transmission mode and the data packet sent in the multicast transmission mode. In this way, a service progress difference between the source base station and the target base station can be compensated for),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Xu in order to further modify the second network device which is configured to use a unicast mode to deliver a service to the user equipment according to the PDCP data transmission status from the teachings of Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the terminal device does not need to receive and obtain additional information, can quickly determine that the transmission of the at least one second data packet is completed, and further perform a subsequent operation, so that service processing efficiency is improved (Xu, ¶0014).
Yet, Huang in view of Xu does not expressly teach a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho explicitly discloses a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode (¶0025, ¶0076, ¶0088, ¶0100, ¶0137 - The eNBs may simultaneously transmit multiple data streams for a broadcast service, a multicast service, and/or a unicast service. The main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer of NR for the control plane include: sequence numbering; ciphering, deciphering and integrity protection. When integrity verification fails, the receiving PDCP entity shall indicate the integrity verification failure to upper layer. If a PDCP status report is received, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider for each PDCP SDU, if any, with the bit in the bitmap set to ‘1’, or with the associated COUNT value less than the value of FMC (First missing count) field as successfully delivered. Further, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU. This FMC field indicates the COUNT value of the first missing PDCP SDU within the re-ordering window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Xu in view of Cho in order to further modify a part of an input variable for integrity protection associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode from the teachings of Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because for downlink and uplink integrity protection and verification, the parameters required by PDCP for integrity protection are input to the integrity protection algorithm. The required inputs to the integrity protection function include the COUNT value, and DIRECTION (direction of the transmission). The parameters required by PDCP which are provided by upper layers (Cho, ¶0111).
Re. claim 12, Huang-Xu-Cho teach claim 11.
Huang further teaches wherein the PDCP data transmission status comprises (¶0278 - the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report): a PDCP sequence number associated with last data which has been sent by the first network device to the user equipment (¶0103, ¶0278 - serving station forward to the target station the sequence number of a PDCP. The data information may be contained and transmitted in the RRC connection configuration message. access network device may be notified of a sequence number of a last successfully received data packet, or a sequence number of a next data packet that needs to be received; or the access network device may be notified by using a PDCP status report, where the PDCP status report is used to indicate that in data packets from a sequence number N to a sequence number M, an identifier of a data packet that is successfully received by the user equipment is 1, and an identifier of a data packet that is not successfully received is 0. ¶0286 - multicast PDCP adds a sequence number (sequence number, SN) to the multicast service SDU, and the SN is used by a receive side for data packet sorting and retransmission requests).
Re. claim 15, Huang-Xu-Cho teach claim 11.
Huang further teaches wherein the device is an access layer network device (Fig.17 & Fig.18, ¶0010, ¶0014, ¶0027, ¶0180, ¶0285, ¶0287 - FIG. 17 and FIG. 18A and FIG. 18B show protocol stack structures for implementing multicast and unicast cooperation at a PDCP layer, including a protocol stack structure on a transmit side of a multicast user plane of an access network device. The access network device may be a base station or another device that provides a network access function to the user equipment. the RLC entity may select an AM mode or the UM mode, and then the RLC entity of the user equipment sends the data to a unicast MAC entity. The access network device may be an access network (access network, AN)/radio access network (radio access network, RAN) device, and the access network or the radio access network is a network including a plurality of 5G-AN/5GRAN nodes).
Re. claim 16, Huang teaches A user equipment, comprising one or more processors, and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the user equipment to (Fig. 23 & ¶0348 - user equipment 230 may include input/output modules (including an audio input/output module 2318, a key input module 2316, a display 2320, and the like), a user interface 2302, one or more processors 2304, a transmitter 2306, a receiver 2308, a coupler 2310, an antenna 2314, and a memory 2312. ¶0355 - memory 2312 is coupled to the processor 2304, and is configured to store various software programs and/or a plurality of sets of instructions): report a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data reception status in a multicast mode to a second network device of a target cell (¶0023 - user equipment may report the multicast service information at any time, for example, after it is determined that the user equipment successfully joins the multicast session, or after the manner of receiving the multicast service is switched), receive a service which is delivered by the second network device using a unicast mode (¶0102 - a manner determining unit, configured to: instruct, based on a quantity of user equipment that receive the multicast service data, the user equipment to receive the multicast service data in the unicast manner and/or the multicast manner); wherein when the plurality of programs are executed by the one or more processors, the user equipment is caused to (¶0355 - memory 2312 is coupled to the processor 2304, and is configured to store various software programs and/or a plurality of sets of instructions): in response to a trigger condition being satisfied, report the PDCP data reception status to the second network device (¶0072 - sending, by the user equipment, multicast service information to the access network device, where the multicast service information is used to instruct the user equipment to receive the multicast service data, and the multicast service information includes identifier information of the user equipment and identifier information of a multicast service); wherein reporting the PDCP data reception status to the second network device in response to the trigger condition being satisfied comprises (¶0023 - user equipment may report the multicast service information at any time, for example, after it is determined that the user equipment successfully joins the multicast session, or after the manner of receiving the multicast service is switched):
Huang does not expressly teach report the PDCP data reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell.
However, in the field of endeavor, Xu expressly discloses report the PDCP data reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell (¶0119~¶0132 - The SgNB sends context (Context) information of the UE to the TgNB with the handover request. the source station sends, to the target station, status information related to a sequence number (sequence number, SN). Data first arrives at a PDCP layer of the terminal device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang in view of Xu in order to further modify reporting the PDCP reception status to the second network device according to configuration information sent by a first network device of a source cell from the teachings of Xu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the terminal device does not need to receive and obtain additional information, can quickly determine that the transmission of the at least one second data packet is completed, and further perform a subsequent operation, so that service processing efficiency is improved (Xu, ¶0014).
Yet, Huang in view of Xu does not expressly teach wherein the PDCP data reception status comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cho explicitly discloses wherein the PDCP data reception status comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection, except a PDCP sequence number, associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode (¶0025, ¶0076, ¶0088, ¶0100, ¶0137 - The eNBs may simultaneously transmit multiple data streams for a broadcast service, a multicast service, and/or a unicast service. The main services and functions of the PDCP sublayer of NR for the control plane include: sequence numbering; ciphering, deciphering and integrity protection. When integrity verification fails, the receiving PDCP entity shall indicate the integrity verification failure to upper layer. If a PDCP status report is received, the transmitting PDCP entity shall consider for each PDCP SDU, if any, with the bit in the bitmap set to ‘1’, or with the associated COUNT value less than the value of FMC (First missing count) field as successfully delivered. Further, the transmitting PDCP entity shall discard the PDCP SDU. This FMC field indicates the COUNT value of the first missing PDCP SDU within the re-ordering window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang and Xu in view of Cho in order to further modify the PDCP data reception status which comprises a part of an input variable for integrity protection associated with at least one data which is not correctly received by the user equipment in the multicast mode from the teachings of Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because for downlink and uplink integrity protection and verification, the parameters required by PDCP for integrity protection are input to the integrity protection algorithm. The required inputs to the integrity protection function include the COUNT value, and DIRECTION (direction of the transmission). The parameters required by PDCP which are provided by upper layers (Cho, ¶0111).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
Chun et al. (US 2012/0028631 Al); See Fig. 9, [0010], [0061]- [0074].
3GPP TSG-RAN2 Meeting #61bis R2-081594, Correction to PDCP Status report; See Fig. 6.2.6.1, Section 6.1.2, Section 6.2.6.
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467