DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter which was not described in the specification was that the two-dimensional coordination polymer has a “network structure having a repeatable structure”. The words “net”, “network”, “repeat”, and “repeatable” are not found in the specification as originally filed. The structure shown in claim 1 (Formula (I)) is disclosed, but the “---” represents a coordination bond (originally filed specification page 17), and is not disclosed to indicate repeating structure. Applicants further cite synthesis example 1 as support. Synthesis example 1 supports the structure shown:
. However, the “---” represents a coordination bond as defined by the specification on page 17 discussed above, and does not disclose a repeat. This structure reads on the claimed
and does not show a repeat or a network structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant’s argument that the amendments have support are not persuasive and are addressed in the 112(a) rejection above.
B) Applicant’s argument that the polymer of claim 1 represents the structure:
is not persuasive. Limitations are not read into the claims, and this limitation is also not supported by the originally filed disclosure, see the 112(a) rejection above. The claimed polymer has the structure
and the “---” represents a coordination bond as defined by the specification on page 17. The claimed structure is rendered obvious by the prior art, as set forth in the rejection below. Applicants further argue that the outermost compound in mEML-2-LL is not fully depicted, which serves to illustrate that the structure is repeatable. However, since the structure shows the --- as the outermost bond, and the “---” is defined as a coordination bond, there is nothing in this formula that requires the polymer to repeat.
C) Applicant’s argument that the presence of small ancillary ligand (such as Cl) in the structure does not imply that the structure can accommodate a bulky ligand like Cp* is not persuasive since the claims do not exclude “bulky ligands”. Limitations are not read into the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The “---” attached to the M moieties of formula (I) can be broadly interpreted to be a bond to other moieties, which is what is disclosed in the structure of Yamamotoa et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamotoa, Yasuhiro, et al. "Stepwise Formation of Quasi‐Octahedral Macrocyclic Complexes of Rhodium (iii) and Iridium (iii) Bearing a Pentamethylcyclopentadienyl Group." Chemistry–A European Journal 8.2 (2002): 372-379 in view of Grandjean et al. (US 2012/0125856).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4: Yamamotoa et al. teaches a two dimensional coordination polymer having the structure of claimed formula (I) (scheme 1)
where c is 0, a is 4 and R1 is methyl.
Yamamotoa et al. does not teach the metal element is selected from the claimed list. However, Grandjean et al. teaches a similar coordination polymer using cobalt as the metal (para. 217). Yamamotoa et al. and Grandjean et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely two dimensional coordination polymers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use cobalt as the metal and would have been motivated to do so since Grandjean et al. teaches it is a preferable transition metal (para. 222), and Yamamotoa et al. suggests cobalt can be used in the polymers (introduction).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamotoa, Yasuhiro, et al. "Stepwise Formation of Quasi‐Octahedral Macrocyclic Complexes of Rhodium (iii) and Iridium (iii) Bearing a Pentamethylcyclopentadienyl Group." Chemistry–A European Journal 8.2 (2002): 372-379 in view of Grandjean et al. (US 2012/0125856) as applied to claim 1 set forth above and in view of Irwin, Michael J., et al. "Rigid-rod polymers and model compounds with gold (I) centers bridged by diisocyanides and diacetylides." Organometallics 15.1 (1996): 51-57.
Regarding claim 3: Yamamotoa et al. teaches the basic claimed polymer as set forth above. Not disclosed is where a and b are 2 and c is 1. However, Irwin et al. teaches a similar coordination polymer where a is 2, b is 2 and c is 1:
(page 55). Yamamotoa et al. and Irwin et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely coordination polymers. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the ligand of Irwin et al. in the coordination polymer of Yamamotoa et al. and would have been motivated to do so as a longer linkage group.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767