DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13, 15, 17 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piorkowski (US 2018/0334641 A1) in view of OH et al. (US 2016/0213597 A1), as evidenced by Chemical information of ethylene glycol monohexylether’s properties (ethylene glycol monohexyl ether properties and applications - Google Search).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 10-12, 15, Piorkowski teaches a water soluble unit dose detergent pouch, or pack; [abstract, 2-3, 7-8], comprising; A)- 1)- a surfactant system including alcohol ethoxy sulfate (instant claim 10), AES is of formula (I), such as sodium lauryl ether sulfate containing 1-6 moles of ethylene oxide; [29, 107, 122], in amounts of 20-40%; [39], 2)- nonionic surfactant of ethoxylated alcohol (instant claim 11) in amount of 30-70%; [40], AE surfactants are C12-14 alcohols containing 3-8 moles of ethylene oxide; [128-130], and 3)- linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (claim s 11-12 in the amount of in the amounts of 10-20%; [38], B)-water in an amount as low as 5% by weight; [12], and C)- rheology control (viscosity) modifier (instant 3, 5 and 17) such as polyoxyalkelene sorbitol fatty acid ester; [31, claim 13]. Furthermore, it teaches other viscosity control agents of less than 20% by weight of a non-aqueous solvent, polyalkyleneglycol (i.e. a rheology control agent); [1-82 and Table 1], that the composition contains 4-6% by weight of glycol ethers, such as butyl cellosolve and butyl carbitol ( i.e. a rheology control agent; [92-93 and Table 1].
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 15, Piorkowski-641 does not teach the ethylene glycol monohexylether rheology modifier. However, the analogous art of OH et al. teaches a treatment and cleaning composition for laundry and household comprising ethylene glycol monohexylether both as a nonionic surfactant and effective solvent in aqueous and hydrophobic solutions; [86, 49-50]. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to add the ethylene glycol monohexylether of OH to Piorkowki with the motivation of enhancing the removal of both water soluble and water insoluble soil materials from fabric and household surfaces. This is further evidenced by data sheet(s) on properties of ethylene glycol monohexylether or any Textbook on Organic Chemistry.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 11-12, It should be noted that the amounts of individual surfactant (1) 20-40%, (2) 30-70%, (3) 10-20% correspondingly, and thus their ratios are not anticipatory, however there are a major overlapping ranges of condition between the prior art and the instant claims that renders them completely obvious. Please note that, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention (before the effective filing date of the invention) to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2, 13, 21-22 and 24-25, The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties, dynamic viscosity of less than 400 cps, are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. viscosity of less than 400 cps, would expectedly be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients.
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 20, Transitional phrase “consisting essentially of” occupies a middle ground between closed claims that are written in a consisting of’ format and fully open claims that are drafted in a comprising’ format.” PPG Industries v.Guardian Industries, 156 F.3d 1351, 1354, 48 USPQ2d 1351, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir.1998). See also Atlas Powder v. E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co., 750 F.2d 1569,224 USPQ 409 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Janakirama-Rao, 317 F.2d 951, 137 USPQ893 (CCPA 1963); Water Technologies Corp. vs. Calco, Ltd., 850 F.2d 660, 7USPQ2d 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1988). [MPEP 2111.03 R3]. For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.”
Regarding claims 23 and 26, Piorkowski does not mandate any other solvent in addition to water and rheology control agent; [claim 23].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,727 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,447,727 B2 claims a very similar unit dose composition comprising water in an amount as low as 5% by weight, same surfactant components and the viscosity.
Claims 1-2, 13 and 20 correspond to claims 1 and 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,447,727 B2 which identical in scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to priority date of Piorkowski-314 A1 is persuasive and thus a new ground of rejection is provided. This is a non-final action.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/01/31
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767