DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 9/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20200192062) in view of Mi et al. (US20210223545).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches an imaging lens (fig. 1, lens assembly 10a corresponding to the claimed imaging lens; paras. [0020]-[0024]), comprising:
a first lens group and a second lens group, wherein the first lens group and the second lens group respectively comprise three lenses with refractive power (fig. 1, first lens group 20 comprising first lens L1, second lens L2, and third lens L3, and second lens group 30 comprising fourth lens L4, fifth lens L5, and sixth lens L6, respectively corresponding to the claimed first lens group and second lens group; paras. [0020]-[0022]);
the lenses of the first lens group comprise two aspheric lenses and a glass lens (fig. 1, first lens group 20 comprising L1-L3, wherein L2 and L3 are aspheric lenses and L1 is the lens farthest from the imaging plane and is formed of glass, corresponding to the claimed two aspheric lenses and a glass lens; paras. [0021]-[0022]; claim 7), and an outermost lens surface of the first lens group facing an object side is a spherical surface (fig. 1, object-side surface S1 of first lens L1 corresponding to the claimed outermost lens surface; Table 1 and para. [0029], wherein a surface without the “*” sign is spherical);
the lenses of the second lens group comprise an aspheric lens and a glass lens (fig. 1, second lens group 30 comprising L4-L6, wherein L5 and L6 are aspheric lenses and Lin teaches that the aspheric plastic lenses may be replaced by aspheric glass lenses, corresponding to the claimed aspheric lens and glass lens; paras. [0021]-[0022]), and the second lens group comprises a cemented surface (Lin teaches that two lenses having adjacent surfaces with substantially identical or completely identical radii of curvature can form a combined lens, cermet lens, doublet, or triplet; para. [0022]);
a total system length of the imaging lens is equal to or less than 13 mm, the total system length being a distance measured on an optical axis from an outermost lens surface facing the object side to an image plane of the imaging lens (Table 1, TTL = 12.2 mm; para. [0033], total track length TTL is the distance on optical axis 12 from optical surface S1 closest to the image magnification/object side to imaging plane 19, corresponding to the claimed total system length; 12.2 mm ≤ 13 mm);
an aperture stop of the imaging lens (fig. 1, aperture 14) disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group (fig. 1, aperture 14 disposed between first lens group 20 and second lens group 30, corresponding to the claimed aperture stop; paras. [0020]-[0021], [0024]);
wherein the imaging lens meets the following conditions: 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25 and 0.5 < D1/LT < 1.5 (Lin expressly teaches 0.65 < D1/LT < 0.98, which falls entirely within the claimed 0.5 < D1/LT < 1.5; para. [0037]; Table 1 provides D1/LT = 0.915), wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the imaging lens, LT is a distance on the optical axis between outermost two lens surfaces of the first lens group and the second lens group, and D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side (Lin defines D1 as the diameter of the lens surface of the first lens group farthest from the second lens group and LT as the axial length between the outermost lens surfaces; paras. [0006], [0033], [0037]).
But Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the imaging lens meets the condition 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25.
However, Mi teaches the similar imaging lens (see Mi, fig. 13, first lens group G1, lenses 21, 22, 23 and a second lens group G2, lenses 24, 25, 26+27) and further teaches wherein the imaging lens meets the condition 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25 (value is approximately 0.19; see Mi, fig. 13, para. [0091], data of table 8, EFL/LT = f/ LT= 2.8/14.59); wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the imaging lens (Mi, fig. 13, para. [0007] f is a focal length of an optical system of the optical lens; para. [0091], data of table 8, f= 2.8), LT is a distance on an optical axis (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, the optical axis; paragraph [0004]The optical lens includes a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens and a seventh lens, which are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side along an optical axis; see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, table 8, paragraph [0091] data of table 8, LT = 14.59) between outermost two lens surfaces (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, outermost of surfaces S1 and S14) of the first lens group and the second lens group (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, and Mi, fig. 13, table 8, the LT), and D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface S1 of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25, as taught by Mi, in order to reasonably distribute the on-axis space and achieve a balance between reducing an overall length of the optical system and improving imaging quality (Mi, Table 8).
Regarding claim 4, the Lin-Mi combination discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Lin further teaches wherein the refractive power of the second lens group is positive (see Lin, fig. 1, second lens group 30 comprising fourth lens L4, fifth lens L5, and sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power, corresponding to the claimed second lens group having positive refractive power; para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, the Lin-Mi combination discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Mi further teaches wherein a distance between a concave surface (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, surface S12) and a convex surface (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, surface S11) closest to each other of the imaging lens is less than 0.3 mm (0.17 mm; Mi, fig. 13, paragraph [0091], table 8, distance between S11 and S12 = 0.17mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have a distance between a concave surface and a convex surface closest to each other of the imaging lens that is less than 0.3 mm, as taught by Mi, in order to provide the disclosed axial spacing between adjacent lens surfaces while maintaining the desired optical arrangement and imaging performance (Mi, fig. 13; para. [0091]).
Regarding claim 6, the Lin-Mi combination discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Mi further teaches wherein a number of lenses with refractive power in the imaging lens is substantially seven (fig. 1, first lens 1, second lens 2, third lens 3, fourth lens 4, fifth lens 5, sixth lens 6, and seventh lens 7 sequentially arranged from the object side to the image side, all having respective focal powers; paras. [0055]-[0057]).
Mi also expressly teaches that the sixth lens and seventh lens form a cemented doublet lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have a number of lenses with refractive power in the imaging lens that is substantially seven, as taught by Mi, in order to provide the disclosed optical arrangement for controlling aberrations while maintaining imaging performance (Mi, paras. [0050], [0055]-[0058])
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20200192062) in view of Mi et al. (US20210223545), and further in view of Wei et al. (US20210333510).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lin-Mi discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Lin further teaches wherein the imaging lens meets the following conditions: 8 mm≦D1≦11 mm; 9 mm≦LT≦15 mm (see Lin, fig. 1; para. [0025], D1/surface S1 diameter = 8.6 mm; Table 1, LT = 9.39 mm, respectively falling within the claimed ranges).
Bur Lin-Mi does not explicitly teach 1.6 mm < EFL < 2.1 mm.
However, Wei teaches the analogous an imaging lens (Wei, fig.11, paragraph [0073], refer to FIG. 11, FIG. 11 is a structural diagram of an ultra-wide-angle lens 300 according to this embodiment, from the object side to the imaging surface S16, the ultra-wide-angle lens 300 sequentially includes a first group Q1, a second group Q2, a stop ST, a third group Q3, a fourth group Q4 and a filter G1), and further teaches wherein 1.6 mm <EFL<2.1 mm (1.89; Wei, fig. 11, paragraph [0091], data of table 5, EFL = f= 1.89, Table 5 includes the system focal length f, the third embodiment, EFL= f= 1.89 mm).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens of Lin with the conditional expression as taught by Wei for the purpose to obtain a wide-angle range and develop a high-performance optical lens that can be cooperated with unmanned driving (Wei, paragraph [0003]).(---further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20200192062) in view of Mi et al. (US20210223545), and further in view of Lin et al. (US20190384042, hereinafter called Lin-042).
Regarding claim 3, the Lin-Mi combination discloses the invention as described in Claim 1. Lin-Mi does not explicitly teach wherein the imaging lens meets the following conditions: 4 mm≦DL≦8 mm; 0.4 <DL/LT<0.8; and 1<D1/DL<2; wherein DL is a diameter of an outermost surface of a lens closest to an image side in the imaging lens.
However, Lin-042 teaches the similar imaging lens and further teaches wherein the imaging lens meets the following conditions: 4 mm≦DL≦8 mm; 0.4<DL/LT<0.8; and 1<D1/DL<2; wherein DL is a diameter of an outermost surface of a lens closest to an image side in the imaging lens (fig. 1; Table 1, D1/DL = 1.639 and LT/DL = 2.112, such that DL/LT = 1/2.112 ≈ 0.4735, within 0.4<DL/LT<0.8; D1 = 10 mm, resulting in DL ≈ 6.10 mm, within 4 mm≦DL≦8 mm; paras. [0029], [0041]-[0043]).
Lin-042 expressly defines DL as the diameter of the lens surface closest to the image plane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens of Lin-Mi to have 4 mm≦DL≦8 mm; 0.4<DL/LT<0.8; and 1<D1/DL<2, as taught by Lin ’042, in order to provide a suitable relationship between the image-side lens diameter and total lens length for convergence of imaging light toward the image sensor and improved optical effect (Lin ’042, paras. [0041]-[0043]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US20200192062) in view of Mi et al. (US20210223545) and Yeh (US20180059362).
Regarding claim 21, Lin teaches an imaging lens (fig. 1, lens assembly 10a corresponding to the claimed imaging lens; paras. [0020]-[0024]), comprising:
a first lens group (fig. 1, lens group 20) and a second lens group (fig. 1, lens group 30), wherein the first lens group and the second lens group respectively comprise three lenses with refractive power (fig. 1, first lens group 20 comprising first lens L1, second lens L2, and third lens L3, and second lens group 30 comprising fourth lens L4, fifth lens L5, and sixth lens L6, respectively corresponding to the claimed first lens group and second lens group; paras. [0020]-[0022]);
the lenses of the first lens group comprise two aspheric lenses and a glass lens (fig. 1, second lens L2 and third lens L3 are aspheric lenses and first lens L1 is formed of glass, corresponding to the claimed two aspheric lenses and a glass lens; para. [0022]; claim 7), and an outermost lens surface of the first lens group facing an object side is a spherical surface (fig. 1, surface S1 of first lens L1 corresponding to the claimed outermost lens surface facing the object side; Table 1 and para. [0029], wherein a surface without an asterisk is a spherical surface);
the lenses of the second lens group comprise an aspheric lens and a glass lens (fig. 1, second lens group 30 comprising fourth lens L4, fifth lens L5, and sixth lens L6, wherein fifth lens L5 and sixth lens L6 are aspheric lenses and Lin teaches that the aspheric plastic lenses can be replaced by aspheric glass lenses, corresponding to the claimed aspheric lens and glass lens; para. [0022]), and the second lens group comprises a cemented surface (para. [0022], Lin teaches that adjacent lens surfaces having substantially identical or completely identical radii of curvature can form a combined lens, cermet lens, doublet, or triplet, corresponding to the claimed cemented surface);
a total system length of the imaging lens is equal to or less than 13 mm, the total system length being a distance measured on an optical axis from the outermost lens surface facing the object side to an image plane of the imaging lens (see Lin Table 1, TTL = 12.2 mm; para. [0033], total track length TTL is the distance on optical axis 12 from optical surface S1 closest to the image magnification/object side to imaging plane 19, corresponding to the claimed total system length);
an aperture stop of the imaging lens (fig. 1, aperture 14) disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group (see fig. 1, aperture 14 disposed between third lens L3 of first lens group 20 and fourth lens L4 of second lens group 30, corresponding to the claimed aperture stop disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group; paras. [0020]-[0024]);
wherein the imaging lens meets the following conditions: 0.5<D1/LT<1.5 (Table 1, D1/LT = 0.915, which falls within the claimed range), wherein LT is a distance on the optical axis between outermost two lens surfaces of the first lens group and the second lens group, and D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side (see paras. [0006], [0033], [0037], Lin defines D1 as the diameter of the lens surface of the first lens group farthest from the second lens group and LT as the axial distance between the outermost lens surfaces).
Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the imaging lens meets the condition 0.15<EFL/LT<0.25;
However, Mi teaches the similar imaging lens (see Mi, fig. 13, first lens group G1, lenses 21, 22, 23 and a second lens group G2, lenses 24, 25, 26+27) and further teaches wherein the imaging lens meets the condition 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25 (value is approximately 0.19; see Mi, fig. 13, para. [0091], data of table 8, EFL/LT = f/ LT= 2.8/14.59); wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the imaging lens (Mi, fig. 13, para. [0007] f is a focal length of an optical system of the optical lens; para. [0091], data of table 8, f= 2.8), LT is a distance on an optical axis (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, the optical axis; paragraph [0004]The optical lens includes a first lens, a second lens, a third lens, a fourth lens, a fifth lens, a sixth lens and a seventh lens, which are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side along an optical axis; see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, table 8, paragraph [0091] data of table 8, LT = 14.59) between outermost two lens surfaces (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, outermost of surfaces S1 and S14) of the first lens group and the second lens group (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, and Mi, fig. 13, table 8, the LT), and D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side (see annotated image, Mi, fig. 13, D1 is a diameter of an outermost surface S1 of an outermost lens of the first lens group facing the object side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to have 0.15 < EFL/LT < 0.25, as taught by Mi, in order to reasonably distribute the on-axis space and achieve a balance between reducing an overall length of the optical system and improving imaging quality (Mi, Table 8).
Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the cemented surface is located between the aperture stop and a third lens, counting from the aperture stop side, in the second lens group.
However, Yeh teaches the analogous an imaging lens (Yeh, fig.1, para. [0026], “FIG. 1 is a lens layout and optical path diagram of a lens assembly 1 in accordance with a first embodiment of the invention. The lens assembly 1, in sequence from an object side to an image side IMA1 along an optical axis OA1, comprises a first lens L11 which is a meniscus lens with negative refractive power and includes a convex surface facing the object side S11; a second lens L12 having negative refractive power and including a concave surface facing the object side S13; a third lens L13 having positive refractive power and including a convex surface facing the image side S15; a fourth lens L14 having positive refractive power; a fifth lens L15 having positive refractive power; a sixth lens L16 having negative refractive power, and a seventh lens L17 having refractive power”), and further teaches
wherein the cemented surface (Yeh, fig.1, surface s110) is located between the aperture stop (ST1) and a third lens (third lens has been referred as lens L17), counting from the aperture stop side (ST1 stop side), in the second lens group (lenses L14-L17 as the second lens group).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging lens of Lin to have with the cemented surface as taught by Yeh for the purpose to meet the miniaturization and large aperture (Yeh, paragraph [0002]).
Response to argument/amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872