DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is in response to the remarks filed 26 May 2026.
Claims 1-6 and 13-18 are pending. Claims 1 and 13 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (Efficient Repair of Polluted Machine Learning Systems via Casual Unlearning, 2018, hereafter Cao) and further in view of Hackett (US 2020/0387834, filed 5 June 2019).
As per independent claim 1, Cao discloses a method for deleting training data used for a deep learning model, the method comprising:
calculating a result value for a label allocated to data to be deleted, wherein the data to be deleted is part of trained data used to train the deep learning model (pages 736: Here, a set of polluted data is identified via oracle. This oracle data and the resulting labels are compared via a divergence score (page 738). Based upon similarity, it is determined that these data samples are also polluted by training data that is incorrected)
reallocating the label of the data to be deleted based on the calculated result value (pages 737-738: Here, the misclassified data items are grouped into clusters (page 739). These clusters are initially identified as polluted data. The peak of the divergence score is identified and data items outside the peak are maintained within the dataset while those within the peak are identified as polluted and re-labeled and/or removed)
generating a neutral model by neutralizing the deep learning model with the data to be deleted and the reallocated label of the data to be deleted as inputs (page 738: Here, a neutral model is created by removing the subset of training data. Based upon the accuracy of the classification after removing this data, the removed subset is determined to be polluted)
training the neutral model using the trained data, excluding the data to be deleted (pages 735-736: Here, misclassified samples are removed from the training set to compute a new model and determine whether the new model correctly classifies previously misclassified samples. This unlearning is performed by removing the polluted data and retraining the model (pages 740-741))
Cao fails to specifically disclose wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the learning model becomes a threshold value or lower.
However, Hackett, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward training a machine learning model, discloses wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the learning model becomes a threshold value or lower (paragraph 0065: Here, an ensemble model is trained by breaking the data into a plurality of subsets (Figure 1, item 104) and training the models in parallel (Figure 1, item 105). Based upon a determination that the error between a trained model and the ensemble model is below a threshold, the trained model is complete and deployed for use (no longer neutralized)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Hackett with Cao, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for deploying a newly trained model only when the difference between the newly trained model and the accepted previous model (ensemble model) falls below a threshold (Hackett: paragraph 0065).
As per dependent claim 2, Cao and Hackett discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Cao further discloses averaging result values calculated for each label associated with the data to be deleted (page 740-741: Here, polluted clusters are removed until one of two stopping conditions are met. The first stopping condition is that the accuracy of the learning model meets the expected accuracy value of the administrator. The second stopping condition is that no new clusters can be found to be unlearned. Both of these stopping conditions rely upon the average result values for data to be deleted to fall below a threshold. Specifically, the average result value of a cluster is no longer identified as being polluted or the average result value of the data set as a whole does not affect the accuracy of the model).
As per dependent claim 3, Cao and Hackett discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Cao further discloses wherein the reallocating includes:
identifying an object label having a lowest result value, among calculated result values of the label associated with the data to be deleted (pages 738-739: Here, during a searching sub-phase, a divergence score is calculated and maintained. The divergence score represents the divergence between a labeled object and objects identified as being polluted. If the divergence between an object and a polluted object is less than the divergence minimum (object label having a lowest result value), then the object is identified as being polluted)
reallocating the identified object label as a label of the data to be deleted when the object label is not the same as a previously allocated label of the data to be deleted (pages 738-740: Here, objects that are identified as belonging to a cluster based upon their divergence score are analyzed. This includes processing the cluster to identify items that are polluted, and unlearn the associated object labels)
With respect to claims 13-15, the applicant discloses the limitations substantially similar to those in claims 1-3, respectively. Claims 13-15 are similarly rejected.
Claims 4 and 16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao and Hackett, and further in view of Achan et al. (US 2022/0215453, filed 5 January 2021, hereafter Achan).
As per dependent claim 4, Cao and Hackett discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Cao further discloses wherein the generating of a neutral model includes:
training the deep learning model using the data to be deleted and a label to which the data to be deleted is reallocated (pages 735-736: Here, a model is trained using training data including malicious polluted data. The polluted data is identified and removed from the training set to create a new neutral model, without the polluted training data)
calculating an accuracy for the data to be deleted (pages 738-740)
stopping the training of the deep learning model learning and generating a neutral model (page 737: Here, based upon reported misclassifications, polluted data is identified and removed. The model is then retrained)
Cao fails to specifically disclose when the accuracy is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold value. However, Achan, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward removing polluted data from a training set, discloses determining when the accuracy is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold value (paragraph 0058: Here, when the accuracy of one or more values falls below a predetermined threshold, it is determined that that the session data includes polluted data). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Achan with Cao-Hackett, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for triggering retraining based upon a polluted data threshold (Achan: paragraph 0058). This would have allowed for only retraining in the event that a threshold is reached, thereby avoiding training until it is determined to be an attack.
With respect to claim 16, the applicant discloses the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 4. Claim 16 is similarly rejected.
Claims 5 and 17 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao, Hackett, and Achan and further in view of Zwol et al. (US 2012/0158716, published 21 June 2012, hereafter Zwol).
As per dependent claim 5, Cao, Hackett, and Achan disclose the limitations similar to those in claim 4, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Cao fails to specifically disclose wherein the threshold value is a reciprocal number of the number of labels allocated to the data to be deleted.
However, Zwol discloses wherein the threshold value is a reciprocal number of the number of items to be removed (paragraph 0072: Here, the threshold for removing images from consideration is selected based upon a reciprocal rank of the item). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Zwol with Cao-Achan, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for removing items below a threshold (Zwol: paragraph 0072).
With respect to claim 17, the applicant discloses the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 5. Claim 17 is similarly rejected.
Claims 6 and 18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao and Hackett and further in view of Fink et al. (US 2022/0109654, filed 7 October 2020, hereafter Fink).
As per dependent claim 6, Cao and Hackett discloses the limitations similar to those in claim 1, and the same rejection is incorporated herein. Cao fails to specifically disclose wherein the training includes training the neutralized model using a knowledge distillation technique in which the deep learning model serves as a teacher and the neutral model serves as a student. However, Fink, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward knowledge distillation, discloses wherein the training includes training the neutralized model using a knowledge distillation technique in which the deep learning model serves as a teacher and the neutral model serves as a student (paragraph 0009). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Fink with Cao, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for addressing size and processing requirements of training a model (Fink: paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 18, the applicant discloses the limitations substantially similar to those in claim 6. Claim 18 is similarly rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s initial argument is that the prior art fails to disclose “generating a neutral model by neutralizing the deep learning model with the data to be deleted and the reallocated label of the data to be deleted as inputs, wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the deep learning model, based on the reallocated label of the data being an input, becomes a threshold value or lower (page 5).” The examiner agrees that no single reference discloses the entirety of this limitation.
However, Cao discloses generating a neutral model by neutralizing the deep learning model with the data to be deleted and the reallocated label of the data to be deleted as inputs (page 738). Specifically, a neutral model is created by removing the subset of training data. Based upon the accuracy of the classification after removing this data, the removed subset is determined to be polluted.
The examiner acknowledges that Cao fails to specifically disclose wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the learning model becomes a threshold value or lower.
However, Hackett, which is analogous to the claimed invention because it is directed toward training a machine learning model, discloses wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the learning model becomes a threshold value or lower (paragraph 0065: Here, an ensemble model is trained by breaking the data into a plurality of subsets (Figure 1, item 104) and training the models in parallel (Figure 1, item 105). Based upon a determination that the error between a trained model and the ensemble model is below a threshold, the trained model is complete and deployed for use (no longer neutralized)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the applicant’s effective filing date to have combined Hackett with Cao, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it would have allowed for deploying a newly trained model only when the difference between the newly trained model and the accepted previous model (ensemble model) falls below a threshold (Hackett: paragraph 0065).
For this reason, this argument is not persuasive.
The applicant further argues that Hackett “is directed to an entirely different technical field and solves an unrelated problem (page 5).” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both Hackett, and the claimed invention, are directed toward training a machine learning model.
Although the applicant further argues that Hackett is directed toward “efficient construction of a parallel ensemble of machine learning algorithms for improved predictive accuracy on massive datasets” and “Hackett fragments training data into non-overlapping subsets of features and observations, trains multiple distinct ML algorithms in parallel with overlapping execution times, tests them, selects the best-performing members based on validation error, and ultimately combines their outputs through weighted voting to form the final ensemble predictor (page 5),” the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this instance, Hackett is relied upon for training a machine learning model, discloses wherein the deep learning model is neutralized until an accuracy of the learning model becomes a threshold value or lower (paragraph 0065). For this reason, this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Amano (US 2021/0201114): Discloses a central AI engine based on deep learning using a convolutional neural network trained with labeled data and the capability to unlearn (paragraph 0041)
Ohtsuji (US 2021/0125102): Discloses distributed deep learning using unlearned learning data to unlearn (paragraph 0074)
Cho (US 2020/0160073): Discloses a deep learning method to learn the unlearned feature (paragraph 0005)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R STORK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2128