DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 01/13/26 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1, 3-12, 14 and 16 have been amended and claim 2 remains cancelled. In view of amendment, a new ground(s) of rejections is made under 35 USC § 103 (details below) and claims 1 and 3-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
In view of amendment and applicant’s arguments (‘remarks’, pages 6-11) with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection under 35 USC § 103 (details below) over Ko in view of Hua Yifeng does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko Kyung Min (WO 2020004897 A1; hereinafter, “Ko”) in view of Hua Yifeng (CN109795546 A; hereinafter, “Hua”).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses: an electric power steering apparatus (electric steering apparatus, fig. 1-18) comprising:
a ball screw (320, fig. 3) having an outer screw groove (325, fig.3) formed on an outer circumferential surface (fig. 3; ‘abstract’, line 2-4) of the ball screw (320):
a ball nut (330) having
a gear portion (331a, [para. 63]) formed on one lateral portion (A, annotated fig. 3 below) of an outer circumferential surface [para 14 disclose: “a ball nut having gear teeth formed on an outer peripheral surface [equivalent to formed on one lateral portion A of an outer circumferential surface”); also, see para 63, line 5-7] of the ball nut (330),
an inner screw groove (335, [para 63, line 5-7]) formed on an inner circumferential surface [para. 63, line 5-9] of the ball nut (330),
wherein the inner screw groove (335) of the ball nut (330) [fig. 1 shows inner groove of the ball nut] corresponds to the outer screw groove (325, [63]) of the ball screw (320, fig. 1), and the ball nut (330) is coupled to the ball screw (320, [para. 63]) through a ball (fig. 3) and slides in the axial direction [para. 63, line 8-9];
a sector shaft (311) having a shaft gear (331a) coupled to the gear portion of the ball nut (330, [para. 63]) on an outer circumferential surface (outer surface, [para. 63]) of the sector shaft (311) and rotating when the ball nut slides in an axial direction [para. 63, line 8-10]; and
Ko fails to expressly teach that a support surface defined by an opposite lateral portion of the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut, one lateral cut surface formed between the one lateral portion and the opposite lateral portion, an other lateral cut surface formed between the one lateral portion and the opposite lateral portion, the other lateral cut surface being positioned opposite to the one lateral cut surface, and a sliding support member disposed on and coupled to the support surface and supported on by an inner circumferential surface of a housing, wherein the sliding support member axially slides together with the ball nut wherein the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface are cut from the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut, and remaining rounded portions of the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut respectively form the one lateral portion and the support surface; however,
Hua teaches that a support surface (“support arc surface” 62; [0024]) defined by an opposite lateral portion of the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut [see fig. 5 and 7 where 62 is defined by opposite lateral portion of the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut],
one lateral cut surface (63, fig. 5 and [0024]) formed between the one lateral portion (A, see annotated fig. 5 of Hua below) and the opposite lateral portion (62); [see fig. 5]),
an other lateral cut surface (B, annotated fig. 5 of Hua below)) formed between the one lateral portion (A) and the opposite lateral portion (62), the other lateral cut surface (B) being positioned opposite to the one lateral cut surface (63), and
a sliding support member (621, fig. 5; [0024]) disposed on and coupled to the support surface (62) and supported on by an inner circumferential surface of a housing (fig. 7), wherein the sliding support member (621) axially slides together with the ball nut [para. 0025 discloses: “the arc radius of the support arc strips 621 is adapted to the arc radius of the inner wall of the rotating cavity 100; thus, axially slides together with the ball nut.]
wherein the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other lateral cut surface (B) are cut from the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut (see fig. 5) and remaining rounded portions of the outer circumferential surface (fig. 5) of the ball nut respectively form the one lateral portion (A) and the support surface (62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the support surface defined by an opposite lateral portion of the outer circumferential surface of the ball nut, one lateral cut surface, an other lateral cut surface being positioned opposite to the one lateral cut surface as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to advantageously develop an enhanced design for Ko’s power steering device, so that maximum input torque which the steering screw can withstand is greatly increased, and the circulating ball steering gear can be applicable to vehicles with larger front axle load [ ‘Abstract’ of Hua]. Such a ball screw configuration is well known in power steering design and would have been readily implemented by a person of ordinary skill in the art without requiring inventive insight.
Annotated fig. 5 of Hua
Regarding claim 3, Ko as modified above does not appear to explicitly teach a first communication hole and a second communication hole, communicating with the outer screw groove (72) and the remaining limitations as required by the claim; however,
Hua in another ‘recirculating ball steering gear with nut having a support structure’ similar to Ko teaches that a first communication hole (631, fig. 5; [0024]) and a second communication hole (631a, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above) communicating with the outer screw groove (72, fig. 5) and the inner screw groove are provided (711, [0025]) on one side and an other side [claim 1 teaches that a plurality of mounting holes (631) are provided on one of the steering planes (plane of 63); note that: a fixing member 73 or 71 for fixing the ball circulation tube is coupled to the one lateral cut surface 63] of the one lateral cut surface (63, fig. 5), and a ball circulation tube (72) is coupled to the first communication hole (631) and the second communication hole (631a, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and form the first and second communications holes of the ball screw as taught by Hua into the connection portion connecting the one end and the other end, formed in a horizontal direction with the one cut surface and the other cut surface of Ko in order to advantageously develop an enhanced design for Ko’s power steering device, the tube to utilize to form a ball circulation groove so as to create a passage for supplying and releasing of the ball bearing and a detachable steel ball guide fitting is provided on the mounting hole. [see claim 1 of Hua].
Regarding claim 4, Ko as modified above fails to explicitly teach that the ball circulation tube has one end and the other end formed in a vertical direction with the one lateral cut surface and inserted into the first communication hole and the second communication hole, and a connection portion connecting the one end and the other end is formed in a horizontal direction with the one lateral cut surface and supported on the one lateral cut surface; however,
Hua teaches that the ball circulation tube (72) has one end and the other end formed (see fig. 5) in a vertical direction (fig. 5 shows in a vertical direction) with the one lateral cut surface (63) and inserted into the first communication hole (631) and the second communication hole (631a, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above), and a connection portion (71 and 73, fig. 5) connecting the one end and the other end is formed in a horizontal direction (fig. 5 shows one one end and the other end is formed in horizontal direction) with the one lateral cut surface (63) and supported on the one lateral cut surface (63) [para. 0025 and fig. 5].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and integrate a ball circulation tube having one end and another end that is formed in the vertical direction along with a connection portion connecting to the one end and the other end into the first and second communications holes as taught by Hua into the one cut surface and other cut surface of Ko in order to advantageously develop an enhanced design for Ko’s power steering device, the tube to utilized to form a ball circulation groove so as to create a passage for supplying and releasing of the ball bearing, and a detachable steel ball guide fitting is provided on the mounting hole [see claim 1 of Hua].
Regarding claim 5, Ko as modified above does not explicitly teach at one end and an other end of the ball circulation tube, a ball support portion protruding in a wedge shape and disposed in the in a same direction as a spiral direction of the inner screw groove is formed; however,
Hua teaches that at one end and an other end (fig. 5) of the ball circulation tube (72), a ball support portion (tip end of tube 72) protruding in a wedge shape (see annotated fig. 5 of Hua above) and disposed in the in a same direction as a spiral direction (see annotated fig. 5 of Hua) of the inner screw groove is formed (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to feature a ball support portion protruding in a wedge- like shape as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to efficiently design the ball support portion of the ball circulation tube and integrate it into the Ko’s power steering device for an improved structure, ensuring smooth balls can pass through the inside of the tube.
Regarding claim 6, Ko as modified above does not explicitly teach that the first communication hole and the second communication hole are provided at a diagonal position of the one lateral cut surface; however,
Hua teaches that the first communication hole (631) and the second communication hole (631a, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above) are provided at a diagonal position (fig. 5 shows two holes are at diagonal position) of the one lateral cut surface (63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first and second communication holes at a diagonal position as taught by Hua into one cut surface and another cut surface of Ko in order to efficiently implement the ball circulation tube, ensuring smooth balls can pass through the inside of the tube body from the first open end portion to the second open end portion. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known fastening means to secure the ball circulating tube and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Ko as modified above includes all the limitation of claim 3 above and further teaches that a fixing member (71 or 73, fig. 5) for fixing the ball circulation tube (72) is coupled to the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other cut surface (C; see annotated fig. 5 of Hua above); [ also, see claim rejection 3 above).
Regarding claim 8, Ko as modified above does not appear to explicitly teach that the fixing member comprises: fixing flanges having both ends coupled to the one lateral cut surface and the other cut surface; and a close contact portion that is bent between the fixing flanges to surround an outer surface of the ball circulation tube and is in close contact; however,
Hua teaches that the fixing member (71) comprises: fixing flanges (fig. 5) having both ends coupled to the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other cut surface (fig. 2 and 5); and a close contact portion that is bent (fig. 5) between the fixing flanges to surround an outer surface of the ball circulation tube and is in close contact (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixing member having both flange ends coupled to and bent between the flanges and surrounds the outer surface of the ball circulation tube as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko’s cut surfaces in order to fasten the ball circulation tube, ensuring smooth balls pass through the inside of the tube body from the first open end portion to the second open end portion. The recited fixing flanges and close contact portion merely conventional of securing a tubular member against displacement, which would have been an obvious and predictable solution to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Ko as modified above teaches the lateral cut surface but fails to teach that a through hole through which a fastening member passes is provided in each of the fixing flanges, and a fastening groove is provided in a position corresponding to the through hole in the one lateral cut surface and the other cut surface.; however,
Hua teaches that a through hole (“mounting holes”; [0008]) through which a fastening member (73) passes is provided in each of the fixing flanges (fig. 5), a fastening groove (arc-shaped grooves”; [0009]) is provided in a position corresponding to the through hole (“mounting holes”) in the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other cut surface (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a through hole through which the fastening member passes in each of the fixing frame hole where a fastening groove is provided in a position corresponding to the through hole as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko’s cut surface in order to fasten the ball circulation tube, ensuring smooth balls pass through the inside of the tube body from the first open end portion to the second open end portion. The recited through holes and fastening grooves represent routine fastening features that would have been obvious to include to accommodate common fastening members and secure the fixing flanges in place. These features do not impart patentable distinction, and the rejection of claim 9 is fully sustained.
Regarding claim 10, Ko includes all the limitation of claim 1 but fails to explicitly teach that the sliding support member is spaced apart from both sides in the axial direction of the support surface, and two or more are coupled; however,
Hua teaches that the sliding support member (621) is spaced apart (fig. 5 shows 621 is positioned space apart) from both sides (front and rear side) in the axial direction of the support surface (62), and two or more are coupled (as depicted in fig. 5, each 621 are coupled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sliding support member, spaced apart from both sides in the axial direction of the support surface, and two or more are coupled as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to adapt the arc radius of the inner of the rotating cavity; thus, greatly increases the maximum input torque that the steering screw can withstand [para. 0026 of Hua]. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known supporting means to secure the ball circulating tube and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Ko as modified above does not appear to explicitly teach that a fixing groove formed in the axial direction is formed on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface and both ends of the sliding support member are coupled to the fixing groove; however,
Hua teaches that a fixing groove (“abuts”; annotated fig. 5 of Hua above and [para. 0026 teaches that the supporting arc 621 at the top of the steering nut 6 abuts (fixing groove) against the inner wall of the rotating cavity 100; note that abuts is being interpretated to indicate a fixing groove which are space apart as depicted in fig. 5 of Hua]) formed in the axial direction (fig. 5 shows in axial direction) is formed on the one lateral cut surface (A, annotated fig. 3 above) and the other lateral cut surface (62) and both ends of the sliding support member (621) are coupled to the fixing groove (abuts; fig. 5 and [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixing groove formed in the axial direction is formed on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface and both ends of the sliding support member are coupled to the fixing groove as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to adapt the arc radius of the inner of the rotating cavity; thus, greatly increases the maximum input torque that the steering screw can withstand [para. 0026 of Hua]. The modification represents nothing more than the predictable use of known securing means to secure the ball circulating tube and therefore claim does not include any feature that would have rendered the combination non-obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Ko as modified above does not appear to explicitly teach that the fixing groove is formed to be opened in the axial direction on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface; however,
Hua teaches that the fixing groove (“abuts”; annotated fig. 5 of Hua above and [para. 0026 teaches that the supporting arc 621 at the top of the steering nut 6 abuts (fixing groove) against the inner wall of the rotating cavity 100; note that abuts is being interpretated to indicate a fixing groove]) is formed to be opened in the axial direction (fig. 5 shows the feature where groove is open in the axial direction) on the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other lateral cut surface (B, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixing groove formed to be opened in the axial direction on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface. as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to adapt the arc radius of the inner of the rotating cavity; thus, greatly increases the maximum input torque that the steering screw can withstand [para. 0026 of Hua].
Regarding claim 13, Ko as modified above further teaches that each of both ends of the curved portion is provided with a locking portion bent (‘catch formed’; [para. 81 of Ko]) to be inserted into the fixing groove (345a; [para 81 discloses that the catch formed (‘portion bent’ of the claimed invention) on the upper side of the fixing groove and the catch on the lower side are formed with a predetermined clearance space between the upper and lower ends of the curve portion (342 of Ko); Note that: curve portion 342 is in close contact with the support surface as disclosed in para. 80]), but does not appear to explicitly teach that the sliding support member has a curved portion in close contact with the support surface; however,
Hua teaches that the sliding support member (621) has a curved portion (fig. 5) in close contact with the support surface (62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sliding support member (621) has a curved portion (fig. 5) in close contact with the support surface (62) as taught by Hua into the invention of Ko in order to abut against the inner wall of the rotating cavity; thus, greatly increases the maximum input torque that the steering screw can withstand [para. 0026 of Hua].
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko in view of Hua and further in view of Park Jeong-Sik (KR 102109341 B1, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 14, Ko as modified above includes all the limitation of claim 1 and further disclose that the support surface (621 of Hua) is provided, but fails to teach with one or more seating grooves into which the sliding support member is inserted; however,
Park in another power steering apparatus similar to the modified Ko teaches that one or more seating grooves (345a, [para 0035]) into which the sliding member (342) is inserted [para 0035 teaches that an intermediate support member 345 having a seating groove 345a in which a rolling member 342 is supported and rotates on an inner circumferential surface may be provided.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a seating groove on the support surface into which the sliding member is inserted as taught by Park into the invention of the modified Ko in order to advantageously improve the steering device structure by incorporating the support groove to the support surface, allowing the rolling member to rotate [ para. 0036 of Park].
Regarding claim 15, Ko as modified above fails to teach that the seating grooves are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the support surface, and the sliding support member is coupled to each of the seating grooves; however,
Park teaches the seating grooves (345a) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the axial direction [para 0054 teaches that the support grooves 341a and the seating grooves 345a of the first rotation support member 340A and the second rotation support member 340B are symmetrical in the vertical direction (axial direction); thus, spaced apart from each other in the axial direction] of the support surface (340A), and the sliding support member (342) is coupled to each of the seating grooves (345a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a seating groove which are exposed to be space apart in an axial direction of the support surface into which the sliding member is coupled as taught by Park into the invention of the modified Ko in order to advantageously spacing the grooves that prevent excessive movement, ensuring smoother and more controlled sliding motion ,allowing the rolling member to rotate [ para. 0036 of Park].
Regarding claim 16, Ko as modified above includes all the limitation of claim 14 but fails to explicitly teach that a fixing groove formed in the axial direction is formed on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface; however,
Hua teaches that a fixing groove (“abuts”; annotated fig. 5 of Hua above and [para. 0026 of Hua teaches that the supporting arc 621 at the top of the steering nut 6 abuts (fixing groove) against the inner wall of the rotating cavity 100; note that abuts is being interpretated to indicate a fixing groove]) formed in the axial direction (fig. 5 shows in axial direction) is formed on the one lateral cut surface (63) and the other lateral cut surface (B, annotated fig. 5 of Hua above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixing groove formed in the axial direction, formed on the one lateral cut surface and the other lateral cut surface as taught by Hua into the invention of the modified Ko in order to abut against the inner wall of the rotating cavity; thus, greatly increases the maximum input torque that the steering screw can withstand [para. 0026 of Hua].
Regarding claim 17, Ko as modified above includes all the limitation of claim 16 and further teach that the sliding support member (621 of Hua) comprises: a curved portion (fig. 5 of Hua shows 621- curved portion) coupled to the seating grooves (345a of Park); and a locking portion (‘catch formed’, [para. 81 of Ko]) provided at both ends of the curved portion (342) and coupled to the fixing groove (345a of Ko); [Para. 81of Ko teaches that the locking portion on the lower side are formed with a predetermined clearance space between the upper and lower ends of the cloud member (342) and para 80 teaches that the outer surface of the cylindrical cloud member (342) is supported and rotated by the fixing groove (345a), thus a locking portion provided at both ends of the curved portion (342) and coupled to the fixing groove]). Note that: although the claims 17 is unrelated dependency-wise to claim 13; however, identical limitations have been noted, including motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Regarding claim 18, Ko as modified above further disclose that an end of each of the seating grooves (seating groove 345a of Park) and the fixing groove (“abuts” of Hua; [0026]) and formed to be space apart from each other (fig. 5 of Hua). Note that: although the claims 18 is unrelated dependency-wise to claim 11; however, identical limitations have been noted, including motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2015029672 A1 to Muto discloses: the one chamber and the other chamber is disposed in a portion of the nut excluding a portion in which the plurality of balls is circulated on a nut-side ball threaded groove.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612
March 13, 2026