DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 03/01/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 9-13, filed 03/01/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, and 18-20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made, as is necessitated by amendment, under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Gotlischek et al (US 20180152954 A1) and Lee et al (US 20150280882 A1) for claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, and 18-20. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to specify that “wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises: monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates: during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell”, where independent claims 15 and 20 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 9-13 of Remarks that Gotlischeck and Kim do not teach these features. These arguments are however moot, as Lee does teach these features, and a claim mapping has been provided below. For more details, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gotlischek et al (US 20180152954 A1), and further in view of Lee et al (US 20150280882 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gotlischek teaches
A scheduling method, performed by a terminal, comprising ([Fig. 8] UE performing method for scheduling):
obtaining scheduling configuration information ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information); and
monitoring scheduling information of at least two scheduling objects ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier (at least two), where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration),
wherein the scheduling information is used by each of the at least two scheduling objects to schedule a scheduled object based on the scheduling configuration information ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration (schedules based on the scheduling configuration information); [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduling objects are PCell/Scell carrier and scheduled object is the Pcell, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)),
wherein the scheduled object is a primary cell (Pcell), and the at least two scheduling objects comprise the Pcell and at least one secondary cell (Scell), each of the Pcell and the at least one Scell being configured to schedule the Pcell ([0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together); [Fig. 10] shows Pcell supporting self-indicating (self-scheduling) and cross-indicating (cross-scheduled)),
Gotlischek does not explicitly teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises:
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates:
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell.
However, Lee does teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises ([0107] UE monitors search spaces):
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates ([0106]-[0110] UE may monitor search spaces for two cells PCell and SCell, where the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the cells may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)):
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell ([0106]-[0110] the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the subframes may indicate a setting for the user equipment not to monitor the two search spaces at a specific timing point (during a specific time not simultaneously monitoring the search spaces), where the two search spaces correspond to the two cells PCell and SCell which may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)).
Gotlischek and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of search space monitoring. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gotlischek to include the teachings of Lee where the UE is configured to not monitor the two search spaces simultaneously at a specific time. The rationale behind this would be to allow downlink control information of a user equipment to be effectively detected in a wireless communication system ([0019] Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Gotlischek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein monitoring the scheduling information further comprises ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)):
monitoring the search space on the scheduled object or the at least two scheduling objects based on quantity information or type information of the search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information ([0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together); [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the field sizes depend on the configurable option, starting at 0 and going up from there (based on quantity information); [0074]-[0075] the UE-specific allocations are using C-RNTI, SPS C-RNTI, or temporary C-RNTI (based on type information), and the common allocations are using SI-RNTI, P-RNTI, RA-RNTI, or UL TPC commands (also type information)).
Regarding claim 3, Gotlischeck modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 2, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the quantity information or the type information of the search space monitoring comprises at least one of the following [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the sizes depend on the configurable option (based on quantity information or type information)):
not monitoring a UE-specific search space on the scheduled object;
a quantity of UE-specific search spaces monitored on the scheduled object does not exceed a first value;
not monitoring a unicast schedule on a common search space on the scheduled object ([0135] search space relates to a single cell (unicast), and the common search spaces are not supported (not monitoring the common search space));
a quantity of UE-specific search spaces monitored on the at least two scheduling objects does not exceed a second value;
only monitoring UE-specific search spaces on the at least two scheduling objects, and a quantity of the monitored UE-specific search spaces does not exceed a third value;
a sum of the UE-specific search spaces monitored on the scheduled object and the quantity of UE-specific search spaces monitored on the at least two scheduling objects does not exceed a fourth value;
a sum of a quantity of common search spaces monitored on the scheduled object and the quantity of UE-specific search spaces monitored on the at least two scheduling objects does not exceed a first value; or
a sum of a quantity of search spaces monitored on the scheduled objects and the quantity of UE-specific search spaces monitored on the at least two scheduling objects does not exceed a sixth value.
Regarding claim 5, Gotlischeck modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischeck does not explicitly teach wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring further comprises:
during the specific time, based on a priority rule, monitoring the search space for self-scheduling the Pell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell.
However, Lee does teach wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring further comprises:
during the specific time, based on a priority rule, monitoring the search space for self-scheduling the Pell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell ([0106]-[0110] the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the subframes may indicate a setting for the user equipment not to monitor the two search spaces at a specific timing point (during a specific time not simultaneously monitoring the search spaces), where the two search spaces correspond to the two cells PCell and SCell which may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell); [0049] UE has a search space subframe start position and uses a specific hopping sequence for the search spaces (based on a priority rule)).
Gotlischek and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of search space monitoring. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gotlischek to include the teachings of Lee where the UE is configured to not monitor the two search spaces simultaneously at a specific time and the UE uses a hopping sequence for the search spaces. The rationale behind this would be to allow downlink control information of a user equipment to be effectively detected in a wireless communication system ([0019] Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 5, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the priority rule comprises at least one of the following ([0167] UE uses a priority rule to prioritize DCI formats for processing transmissions; [0147] UE monitors the search space for the cross-scheduling component carrier based on the DCI (based on the prioritized DCI); priority rule for monitoring search space):
monitoring a common search space preferentially;
monitoring a search space on a specific object preferentially;
monitoring a search space with a lowest or highest ID preferentially;
monitoring a search space associated with a specific DCI format preferentially ([0167] UE uses a priority rule to prioritize DCI formats for processing transmissions; [0147] UE monitors the search space for the cross-scheduling component carrier based on the DCI (based on the prioritized DCI); priority rule for monitoring search space); or
monitoring a search space based on an ID order.
Regarding claim 7, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein monitoring the scheduling information further comprises ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)):
monitoring a unicast schedule of the scheduled object based on quantity information or type information of a unicast schedule in the scheduling configuration information ([Fig. 8] base station sends single transmission directly to the to UE (unicast) to configure search space, and the UE monitors the configured search space (monitoring); [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the field sizes depend on the configurable option, starting at 0 and going up from there (based on quantity information); [0074]-[0075] the UE-specific allocations are using C-RNTI, SPS C-RNTI, or temporary C-RNTI (based on type information), and the common allocations are using SI-RNTI, P-RNTI, RA-RNTI, or UL TPC commands (also type information)).
Regarding claim 8, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 7, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the quantity information or type information of a unicast schedule comprises at least one of the following ([Fig. 8] base station sends single transmission directly to the to UE (unicast) to configure search space, and the UE monitors the configured search space (monitoring); [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the field sizes depend on the configurable option, starting at 0 and going up from there (based on quantity information); [0074]-[0075] the UE-specific allocations are using C-RNTI, SPS C-RNTI, or temporary C-RNTI (based on type information), and the common allocations are using SI-RNTI, P-RNTI, RA-RNTI, or UL TPC commands (also type information)):
monitoring at most one or two unicast schedules associated with the scheduled object within a specific time;
monitoring at most one unicast schedule associated with the scheduled object on each object within a specific time ([Fig. 8] base station sends single transmission directly to the to UE (unicast) to configure search space, and the UE monitors the configured search space (monitoring); [0089] and [0091] the channel is observed (monitored) by the UE for a minimum amount of time and has a time range; [0147] UE monitors the search space for the cross-scheduling component carrier); or
monitoring a specific type of unicast schedule associated with the scheduled object preferentially within a specific time.
Regarding claim 9, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 8, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the specific type of unicast schedule comprises: a unicast schedule in a specific DCI format ([Fig. 8] base station sends single transmission directly to the to UE (unicast) to configure search space, and the UE monitors the configured search space (monitoring); [0167] UE uses a priority rule to prioritize DCI formats for processing transmissions (specific DCI format)).
Regarding claim 10, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the specific time comprises at least one of the following ([0089] and [0091] the channel is observed (monitored) by the UE for a minimum amount of time and has a time range):
within a same moment;
within a same slot;
within a specific time interval ([0089] and [0091] the channel is observed (monitored) by the UE for a minimum amount of time and has a time range);
a PDCCH monitoring occasion having a same earliest starting position for scheduling a PDSCH or a PUSCH; or
within a running time of a monitoring timer.
Regarding claim 11, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the scheduling configuration information further comprises ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information):
in a plurality of times of transmission for a same HARQ process or a same TB, only allowing scheduling from the same scheduling object ([0024] at most one transport block per component carrier, and a TB (same TB) and its potential HARQ (same HARQ) transmission must be mapped on the same component carrier (same scheduling object); [0091] UE has different time periods where it must be idle and can be active with transmissions, and when idle time ends it can resume transmissions (plurality of times of transmissions)).
Regarding claim 12, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the scheduling configuration information further comprises ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information):
when an ID of a first search space on the scheduled object is the same as an ID of a second search space on one of the at least two scheduling objects, but the first search space is a common search space, considering that the first search space and the second search space are not associated ([0135], [0137] and [Fig. 6] search spaces are identified by the value n_CI (search space ID) of the carrier identification, and the n_CI value may be used to distinguish between carriers; [0074] UE has to monitor both common and UE-specific search spaces, and is able to differentiate between the two types using identifiers (determine that they are not associated), where the common search spaces may or may not overlap with the UE-specific search spaces (not associated)).
Regarding claim 13, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The scheduling method according to claim 3, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches further comprising:
reporting a terminal capability, wherein the terminal capability comprises at least one of the following ([0022] number of carriers for transmissions to and from the UE are dependent on the capability of the UE, and the UE configures the carriers accordingly (terminal reporting capability)):
a quantity of monitored search spaces supported by the terminal;
a quantity of unicast schedules supported by the terminal;
whether the terminal supports scheduling the scheduled object through the at least two scheduling objects ([0022] number of carriers for transmissions to and from the UE are dependent on the capability of the UE, and the UE configures the carriers accordingly (indicating that the terminal supports the scheduling of the carriers through the carriers by configuring them));
a quantity of HARQ processes associated with each object;
an earliest starting position of a scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH; or
a duration of a specific time interval or a monitoring timer.
Regarding claim 15, Gotlischek teaches
A terminal, comprising ([Fig. 8] and [0244]-[0246] UE/terminal):
a memory storing a computer program ([0244]-[0246] UE/terminal includes software stored on memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising ([0244]-[0246] UE/terminal includes software stored on memory that is executed by a processor):
obtaining scheduling configuration information ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information); and
monitoring scheduling information of at least two scheduling objects ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier (at least two), where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration),
wherein the scheduling information is used by each of the at least two scheduling objects to schedule a scheduled object based on the scheduling configuration information ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration (schedules based on the scheduling configuration information); [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduling objects are PCell/Scell carrier and scheduled object is the Pcell, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)),
wherein the scheduled object is a primary cell (Pcell), and the at least two scheduling objects comprises the Pcell and at least one secondary cell (Scell), each of the Pcell and the at least one Scell being configured to schedule the Pcell ([0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together); [Fig. 10] shows Pcell supporting self-indicating (self-scheduling) and cross-indicating (cross-scheduled)),
Gotlischek does not explicitly teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises:
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates:
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell.
However, Lee does teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises ([0107] UE monitors search spaces):
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates ([0106]-[0110] UE may monitor search spaces for two cells PCell and SCell, where the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the cells may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)):
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell ([0106]-[0110] the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the subframes may indicate a setting for the user equipment not to monitor the two search spaces at a specific timing point (during a specific time not simultaneously monitoring the search spaces), where the two search spaces correspond to the two cells PCell and SCell which may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)).
Gotlischek and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of search space monitoring. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gotlischek to include the teachings of Lee where the UE is configured to not monitor the two search spaces simultaneously at a specific time. The rationale behind this would be to allow downlink control information of a user equipment to be effectively detected in a wireless communication system ([0019] Lee).
Regarding claim 16, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The terminal according to claim 15, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein monitoring the scheduling information further comprises ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)):
monitoring the search space on the scheduled object or the at least two scheduling objects based on quantity information or type information of the search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information ([0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the field sizes depend on the configurable option, starting at 0 and going up from there (based on quantity information); [0074]-[0075] the UE-specific allocations are using C-RNTI, SPS C-RNTI, or temporary C-RNTI (based on type information), and the common allocations are using SI-RNTI, P-RNTI, RA-RNTI, or UL TPC commands (also type information)).
Regarding claim 18, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The terminal according to claim 15, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein monitoring the scheduling information further comprises ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration; [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)):
monitoring a unicast schedule of the scheduled object based on quantity information or type information of a unicast schedule in the scheduling configuration information ([0135] a single cell is used for scheduling/indicating and sending control information (unicast); [0074]-[0075] search space can be common search space and a UE-specific search space, and the field sizes depend on the configurable option, starting at 0 and going up from there (based on quantity information); [0074]-[0075] the UE-specific allocations are using C-RNTI, SPS C-RNTI, or temporary C-RNTI (based on type information), and the common allocations are using SI-RNTI, P-RNTI, RA-RNTI, or UL TPC commands (also type information)).
Regarding claim 19, Golitschek modified by Lee teaches The terminal according to claim 15, as is described above.
Gotlischek further teaches wherein the scheduling configuration information further comprises ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information):
in a plurality of times of transmission for a same HARQ process or a same TB, only allowing scheduling from the same scheduling object ([0024] at most one transport block per component carrier, and a TB (same TB) and its potential HARQ (same HARQ) transmission must be mapped on the same component carrier (same scheduling object)).
Regarding claim 20, Gotlischek teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, performs operations comprising ([0244]-[0246] UE/terminal includes software stored on memory that is executed by a processor):
obtaining scheduling configuration information ([Fig. 8] UE receives configuration information; [0130] configuration information may be scheduling information); and
monitoring scheduling information of at least two scheduling objects ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier (at least two), where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration),
wherein the scheduling information is used by each of the at least two scheduling objects to schedule a scheduled object based on the scheduling configuration information ([0145] system supports aggregation of a plurality of component carriers (at least two scheduling objects); [0147] and [Fig. 8] UE monitors a search space on a cross-scheduling component carrier for detecting DCI with a carrier ID field indicating the cross-scheduling CC as well as for an additional carrier, where the carrier is scheduled based on the configuration (schedules based on the scheduling configuration information); [0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduling objects are PCell/Scell carrier and scheduled object is the Pcell, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together)),
wherein the scheduled object is a primary cell (Pcell), and the at least two scheduling objects comprises the Pcell and at least one secondary cell (Scell), each of the Pcell and the at least one Scell being configured to schedule the Pcell ([0025] component carriers correspond to one PCell for the UE and Scells for the other carriers (scheduled object is PCell and scheduled objects are SCells, and the PCell and SCells correspond to the component carriers which are scheduled; i.e. Cells are grouped with CCs, where they are scheduled together); [Fig. 10] shows Pcell supporting self-indicating (self-scheduling) and cross-indicating (cross-scheduled)),
Gotlischek does not explicitly teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises:
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates:
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell.
However, Lee does teach wherein monitoring the scheduling information comprises ([0107] UE monitors search spaces):
monitoring a search space for self-scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and a search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell, based on sequence information of search space monitoring in the scheduling configuration information, wherein the sequence information of search space monitoring indicates ([0106]-[0110] UE may monitor search spaces for two cells PCell and SCell, where the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the cells may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)):
during a specific time, not simultaneously monitoring the search space for self- scheduling the Pcell by the Pcell and the search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the at least one Scell to the Pcell ([0106]-[0110] the UE receives scheduled cell related control information indicating time points of subframes instructing the UE when to monitor specific search spaces for each cell (sequence information in the scheduling configuration information), where the subframes may indicate a setting for the user equipment not to monitor the two search spaces at a specific timing point (during a specific time not simultaneously monitoring the search spaces), where the two search spaces correspond to the two cells PCell and SCell which may be self scheduling (self-scheduling Pcell by the Pcell) or cross-carrier scheduling (search space for cross-carrier scheduling from the last least one Scell to the Pcell); [0138] uplink data for scheduling a cell (i.e. the PCell) may be set to be transmitted through a UL subframe of a predefined specific cell such as an SCell (from the at least one Scell to the Pcell)).
Gotlischek and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of search space monitoring. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gotlischek to include the teachings of Lee where the UE is configured to not monitor the two search spaces simultaneously at a specific time. The rationale behind this would be to allow downlink control information of a user equipment to be effectively detected in a wireless communication system ([0019] Lee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478