DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bearing shoulders (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation of “the a” should be corrected to ---the---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Neal et al. (US 20030030291 A1).
For claim 1, Neal et al. disclose a barbecue utensil, comprising: a housing (12,16,18) configured to be usable as a handle; and having at least one tool (14) that is stowable in the housing, wherein the at least one tool is a foldable turner (26) for turning food, wherein the turner has a head with a surface area that is reduced by a folding function (fig. 3a, para. 0026-0028) for stowage purposes and is increased by the folding function in order for the turner to be used for turning food.
For claim 5, Neal et al. disclose the barbecue utensil according to claim 1, wherein the housing has two main shells (16,18) that are U-shaped profiles (fig. 7, both refs. 16,18 if cross-sectioned would be U-shaped) and that are swingable closed and swung open via at least one housing hinge (20), wherein the main shells form a stowage space for tools that are swing-action tools.
For claim 8, Neil et al. disclose the barbecue utensil according to claim 1, wherein the at least one tool includes at least one sliding tool (14’; sliding shown in arrow B) configured as a sliding knife, a fork or a skewer (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. (as above) in view of Ahn (KR 20110056828 A).
For claim 2, Neal et al. teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 1, wherein the head of the turner has a plurality of head segments that are foldable open and closed (figs. 3,3a and para. 00240028) but is silent about in a fan-like manner.
Ahn teaches a turner having a plurality of head segments (30,40) that are foldable open and closed in a fan-like manner (fig. 1) so as to create a wider head for a larger area for cooking (translation states: “Figure 1 shows the city is also the width-adjustable handle portion of the switch device (50) as dwijipgae (10), raising the top along the rail (20) head (40) The number of devices separately at the back of the head assistant 30 is the spread width to form a wider head. Therefore, a large area of food which can be easily during cooking.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the head of the turner of Neal et al. with a plurality of head segments that are foldable open and closed in a fan-like manner as taught by Ahn in order to provide create a wider head for a larger area for cooking.
For claim 3, Neal et al as modified by Ahn teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 2, (emphasis on Ahn since Ahn is relied on for the fan-like segments as stated in claim 2) wherein the head segments are connected to one another by contact elements so that all the head segments are fanned out by actuation of a single one of the head segments (although not specifically stated in the translation of Ahn, it is implied that the segments 30 are connected by some sort of contact elements so as to allow the segments to fan out as shown in fig. 1). In the event that applicant disagrees with the examiner’s interpretation of Ahn, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the head segments of Neal et al. as modified by Ahn be connected by contact elements in order to connect the segments together in one piece to create the fan-like configuration.
For claim 4, Neal et al as modified by Ahn teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 2, (emphasis on Ahn since Ahn is relied on for the fan-like segments as stated in claim 2) further comprising a fixing device that fixes the head segments of the turner in a fanned-out position (although not specifically stated in the translation of Ahn, it is implied that the segments 30 are connected by some sort of fixing device so as to allow the segments to fan out as shown in fig. 1). In the event that applicant disagrees with the examiner’s interpretation of Ahn, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the head segments of Neal et al. as modified by Ahn be fixed by a fixing device in a fanned-out position in order to connect the segments together in one piece to create the fan-like configuration.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. (as above) in view of Sun (CN 206702946 U).
For claim 6, Neal et al. teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 5, but are silent about further comprising a covering shell arranged on an outside of at least one of the main shells to form a second stowage space between the main shell and the covering shell for a sliding tool.
Sun teaches a utensil comprising a covering shell (8) arranged on an outside of at least one of the main shells (3 or 4) to form a second stowage space between the main shell and the covering shell for a sliding tool (functional recitation to which the second stowage space of Sun can store a sliding tool or flipping tool or the like, since it is a compartment with space). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a covering shell as taught by Sun arranged on an outside of at least one of the main shells of Neal et al. in order to provide a separate compartment or space for certain tool as desired so as to be more organized.
For claim 7, Neal et al. as modified by Sun teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 6, (emphasis on Sun since Sun is relied on for the covering shell as stated in claim 6) wherein the covering shell is releasably connected to the main shell so that the tool located therebeneath is removable (see figs. 2-3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. (as above) in view of Noorzai (US 20150342412 A1).
For claim 9, Neal et al. teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 1, but are silent about wherein the at least one tool includes at least one swing-action tool, wherein the swing-action tool is assigned an arresting spring.
Noorzai teaches a kitchen tool comprising wherein the at least one tool includes at least one swing-action tool (6), wherein the swing-action tool is assigned an arresting spring (para. 0019-0023). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one swing-action tool, wherein the swing-action tool is assigned an arresting spring as taught by Noorzai as one of the least one tool of Neal et al. in order to provide the user with more than one tools that can swing out for ease of usage.
In the event that applicant disagrees with the examiner that Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai teach an arresting spring, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the spring-loaded spring used in Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai with an arresting spring, since a simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another would obtain predictable results (both types of spring would allow the tool to swing outward for usage). KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai as applied to claims 1,9 above, and further in view of Avery et al. (US 20090293284 A1).
For claim 10, Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 9, but are silent about wherein the swing-action tool is barbecue tongs.
Avery et al. teach a utensil comprising a swing-action tool that is barbecue tongs (figs. 10,12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select barbecue tongs as taught by Avery et al. as the swing-action tool of Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai, depending on the user’s preference to select the desire tool as needed for certain task.
For claim 11, Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai and Avery et al. teach the barbecue utensil according to claim 10, further comprising bearing shoulders (28 for fig. 10 or 40 for fig. 12 of Avery et al.) for central alignment of the barbecue tongs in a swung-closed state of the barbecue utensil. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include
bearing shoulders as taught by Avery et al. in the barbecue tongs of Neal et al. as modified by Noorzai and Avery et al. in order to provide different cutting pattern that can also be gripping pattern, and can assist in central alignment as similar to applicant’s invention because the bearing shoulders of Avery et al. are similar to applicant’s. Note that since applicant failed to show what are bearing shoulders, the examiner is assuming the teeth on the tongs 3,4 as shown in fig. 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure of barbecue utensil:
US 2063432 A teaches Kitchen utensil
US 1047795 A teaches combination-tool
US 20190381647 A1 teaches tool having one or more rotatable tool members
US 20160288309 A1 teaches multi-function tool
US 20170283230 A1 teaches Foldable cork remover and extractor
US 20200306935 A1 teaches multi-function tool with laminated plier jaws
KR 20220135650 A teaches multi cookware assembly
CN 106943044 A teaches turner with protective cover
CN 204618011 U teaches A collapsible barbecue tool
KR 20120134985 A teaches the kitchen scissor with scoop
CN 207736318 U teaches A combined structure of three parts
CN 203210339 U teaches Small-sized and compact scissors and pliers combination tool, has pliers rotated around axle far away from primary housing such that pliers handle and primary housing form operation handle of pliers
GB 2121271 A teaches Eating implement with the function of scissors
CA 2720941 A1 teaches tool having an integral carabiner
FR 2855781 A1 teaches Kitchen utensil for cutting and serving prepared food e.g. pizza, has one scissor fixed on support slab which comprises of movable part that permits prepared food to be divided by angle and/or using dividers
WO 2024182853 A1 teaches a multipurpose tool.
/Son T Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643