DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 08/05/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-11, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160081630 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Aoshima”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Aoshima teaches an electronic device/ A method for selecting an algorithm in an electronic device including a biometric detection value acquirer to acquire a biometric detection value for calculation of biometric information of a wearer and a processor/ A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program executable by a processor of an electronic device, the electronic device including a biometric detection value acquirer to acquire a biometric detection value for calculation of biometric information of a wearer and the processor (abstract) comprising:
a biometric detection value acquirer (10/110; paragraph [0089]; Figure 4) to acquire a biometric detection value for calculation of biometric information of a wearer of the electronic device (paragraphs [0089], [0097]-[0098]; Figure 4); and
a processor (100; paragraph [0096]; Figure 4),
wherein the processor
estimates a change trend of information related to an action detail of the wearer (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]), and
based on the estimated change trend of information related to an action detail, selects an algorithm to calculate the biometric information from the biometric detection value (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 16, Aoshima teaches wherein
the processor
estimates an action detail of the wearer (paragraph [0086]),
based on the estimated action detail, estimates a change trend of the biometric information as a change trend of information related to the action detail (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]), and
based on the estimated change trend of the biometric information, selects an algorithm to calculate the biometric information from the biometric detection value (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Regarding claim 3, 11, 17, Aoshima teaches wherein
the processor,
in a case where an algorithm for low-level trend has been selected as the algorithm (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]),
when the estimated action detail is exercise start, estimates an upward trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for upward trend as the algorithm (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, Aoshima teaches wherein
the processor,
in a case where an algorithm for high-level trend has been selected as the algorithm (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]),
when the estimated action detail is exercise end, estimates a downward trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for downward trend as the algorithm (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]), and
when, based on the estimated action detail, determining that exercise intensity increases, estimates an upward trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for upward trend as the algorithm (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Regarding claim 8, Aoshima teaches further comprising an exercise detector to acquire an exercise detection value relating to an exercise state of the wearer,
wherein the processor,
based on an exercise detection value acquired by the exercise detector, estimates a change trend of information related to an action detail of the wearer (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 12-13, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoshima as applied to claims 2, 10, 16 above, and further in view of US 20160206248 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Sartor”).
Regarding claim 4, 12, 18, Aoshima does not explicitly teach in a case where an algorithm for upward trend has been selected as the algorithm (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]),
when the estimated action detail is exercise end, estimates a downward trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for downward trend as the algorithm (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
However, Aoshima does not explicitly teach when the biometric information is greater than or equal to a high-level standard value and variation of the biometric information is less than or equal to a standard variation value, estimates a high-level trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for high-level trend as the algorithm.
However, Sartor teaches when the biometric information is greater than or equal to a high-level standard value and variation of the biometric information is less than or equal to a standard variation value, estimates a high-level trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for high-level trend as the algorithm (paragraphs [0059]-[0061]; [0139]; Figures 3 and 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aoshima, to have a comparison of heart rate to a resting/reference heart rate, as taught by Sartor, because doing so provides a reference point when determining upward and downward trends.
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, Aoshima teaches wherein the processor,
in a case where an algorithm for downward trend has been selected as the algorithm (paragraphs [0101]-[0104]),
when the estimated action detail is exercise start, estimates an upward trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for upward trend as the algorithm (paragraph [0194], [0259]-[0260]).
Aoshima does not explicitly teach when the biometric information is less than or equal to a low-level standard value and variation of the biometric information is less than or equal to a standard variation value, estimates a low-level trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for low-level trend as the algorithm.
However, Sartor teaches when the biometric information is less than or equal to a low-level standard value and variation of the biometric information is less than or equal to a standard variation value, estimates a low-level trend as a change trend of information related to the action detail and selects an algorithm for low-level trend as the algorithm (paragraphs [0059]-[0061]; [0139]; Figures 3 and 5). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aoshima, to have a comparison of heart rate to a resting/reference heart rate, as taught by Sartor, because doing so provides a reference point when determining upward and downward trends.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoshima as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 20170279907 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Kita”).
Regarding claim 7, Aoshima teaches an exercise detector to acquire an exercise detection value relating to an exercise state of the wearer.
Aoshima does not explicitly teach an action history storage to store a past action detail of the wearer as an action history,
wherein the processor,
based on an exercise detection value acquired by the exercise detector and an action history stored in the action history storage, estimates an action detail of the wearer, and
causes the action history storage to store the estimated action detail.
However, Kita teaches an action history storage to store a past action detail of the wearer as an action history (paragraphs [0063]-[0064]; Figure 2),
wherein the processor,
based on an exercise detection value acquired by the exercise detector and an action history stored in the action history storage, estimates an action detail of the wearer (paragraphs [0063]-[0064]; Figure 2), and
causes the action history storage to store the estimated action detail (paragraphs [0063]-[0064]; Figure 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aoshima, to store history of user, as taught by Kita, because doing so provides a reference point when determining upward and downward trends.
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791