DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1, 4-12, 15-22, and 25-30 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 4-12, 15-22, and 25-30 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
I. The Cited References Have Not Been Shown Disclose Identifying Spatial Paths that Represent Estimated Motion Pathways Between Wireless Communication Devices
On pages 10-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that Manku’s wireless communication links as a teaching of the claimed “spatial paths” is deficient.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 02/04/2026, the rejection relied upon Manku to disclose identifying spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) between the wireless communication devices (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C) by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400).
As in Manku’s teachings, the wireless communication links between the wireless communication devices provide the monitoring area having the spatial paths (e.g. FIG. 3 the motion paths 322A and 322B) and/or the communication links between the wireless communication devices including the spanning tree based on the locations of the wireless communication devices extending from the wireless communication devices (see FIG. 3-5 for details).
II. The Cited References Have Not Been Shown Disclose Generating a Spanning Tree From Spatial Coordinates of Wireless Communication Devices
On pages 12-13 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the cited portion of Manku have not been shown to disclose a spanning tree algorithm, spanning tree generation process, or spanning tree properties.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because Applicant argues for the limitations that are not claimed.
III. The Office Action Has Not Provided Sufficient Motivation to Combine the References to Arrive at the Claimed Spanning Tree Limitation
On pages 13-14 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that Manku does not disclose the motivation to address the spanning tree limitation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as disused in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 02/04/2026, the rejection relied upon Manku to disclose a system to detect motion in or around a home where a wireless network is installed, wherein a monitoring zone is determined based on communications between wireless communication devices (Manku: FIG. 1 and FIG. 3-4).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison, Neerbek, and Manku, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison and Neerbek to include identifying spatial paths between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates, as suggested by Manku. The motivation for this is to define sensitivity level of wireless devices based on spatial locations of the wireless devices, corresponding to monitoring zones, in a motion localization system.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, 15-22, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devison et al. (Devison – US 10,109,168 B1) in view of Neerbek (Neerbek – US 2021/0360533 A1) and Manku et al. (Manku – US 10,600,314 B1).
As to claim 1, Devison discloses a method comprising:
generating motion-sensing data based on first wireless signals transmitted (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system), during a first time period (Devison: column 1 lines 57-67, column 2 lines 27-54, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 52, column 19 lines 14-30, and FIG. 4: identifying and comparing a channel response characteristic with reference characteristics includes providing the channel response obtained at 602 as inputs to a trained neural network, and identifying the location of the detected motion is based on an output of the neural network. For example, a neural network may be trained using tagged channel responses, as described above. After training, newly obtained channel responses can be input to the trained neural network, and the neural network can output an identifier associated with a distinct region of the space. The output of the neural network may be based on a function with various weightings determined during a training process), between pairs of wireless communication devices (Devison: FIG. 1 the wireless communication devices 102A-102B the first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication devices 102B-102C the second motion detection field 110 B, the wireless communication devices 102A-102C the third motion detection field 110C) in a wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract and FIG. 1), the motion-sensing data representing motion in a space associated with the wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 6, and FIG. 4: the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to detect whether an object has moved in the space 400, such as, for example, by analyzing channel responses associated with the space based on the received signals. In addition, in some implementations, the example wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to identify a location of detected motion within the space 400. For example, the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze characteristics of the channel response to determine whether the channel responses share the same or similar characteristics to channel responses known to be associated with the regions 408, 410, 412, 414, 416 of the space 400),
defining a plurality of motion zones in a motion detection system associated with the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C), each of the plurality of motion zones representing a distinct region in the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4), the plurality of motion zones comprising a first motion zone representing a first region that includes the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4: FIGS. 4C-4D are plots showing the example channel responses 401, 403 of FIGS. 4A-4B overlaid on an example of channel response 460 associated with no motion occurring in the space. When motion occurs in the space 400, a variation in the channel response will occur relative to the “no-motion” channel response 460, and thus, motion of an object in the space 400 can be detected by analyzing variations in the channel responses. In addition, a relative location of the detected motion within the space 400 can be identified. For example, the shape of channel responses associated with motion can be compared with reference information (e.g., using a trained neural network) to categorize the motion as having occurred within a distinct region of a space).
Devison does not explicitly disclose based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space;
identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek, which discloses based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space (Neerbek: Abstract, [0054]-[0058], [0060], [0101]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: Because as described above the speakers 210a-210d may be present at the same height in an embodiment, the three dimensional composite map made from just these devices would only be present in two dimensions in data at a high resolution, since all of these speakers are at the same height. Thus the other devices broadcasting signals such as WiFi remote 206, center speaker 210e, user phone 204, and subwoofer 210f are important as these are at different heights and aid in sending signal strength at a multitude of different points along the height axis, wherein the composite map can then truly be constructed in 3 dimensions, with three dimensions of data, combined with the high-resolution map in two-dimensions from the speakers 210a-210d. It is also to be noted that even though the embodiments herein describe the use of Wi-Fi signals, other RF signals such as BLUETOOTH signals can also be used in substantially the same manner).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison and Neerbek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison to include based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek. The motivation for this is to define spatial locations of wireless devices in a motion localization system.
The combination of Devison and Neerbek does not explicitly disclose identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku, which discloses
identifying spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) that represent estimated motion pathways (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) between the wireless communication devices (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C) by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400); and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400), the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic (Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison, Neerbek, and Manku, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison and Neerbek to include identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku. The motivation for this is to define sensitivity level of wireless devices based on spatial locations of the wireless devices in a motion localization system.
As to claim 4, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising:
by operation of the motion detection system, detecting motion of an object in the space based on second wireless signals transmitted between one or more pairs of the wireless communication devices during a second time period (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, the wireless communication system can identify the concave-parabolic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 401 obtained during a first training period during which a user is moving with the region 408, and can identify the convex-asymptotic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 403 obtained during a second training period during which a user is moving with the region 412);
in response to identifying one of the wireless communication devices in the selected group of the wireless communication devices as a location of the detected motion of the object (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: In some implementations, the channel responses are obtained over a series of time points, and the location of the motion is identified based on a characteristic shared by the channel responses from each of the respective time points in the series. In the example shown, channel responses are analyzed to identify a location of the motion within one of a plurality of regions within the space by identifying, at 612, a characteristic of one or more of the channel responses, and identifying, at 614, a location of the detected motion based on comparing the identified characteristic with reference characteristics associated with multiple distinct locations within the space),
generating a message indicating that motion was detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7); and
sending the message to a device associated with the motion detection system (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 5, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the method of claim 4,
wherein the user input indicates a name associated with the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4: while the user is moving through the region 408 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4A) the user may indicate on a mobile computing device that he/she is in the region 408 (and may name the region as “bedroom”, “living room”, “kitchen”, or another type of room of a building, as appropriate));
wherein defining the first motion zone comprises associating the name with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 17 lines 5-32, column 19 lines 31-44, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4-6: For instance, referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, as the object 406 moves from the region 408 to the region 412, the channel response may slowly change from the shape shown in channel response 401 to the shape shown in channel response 403. By analyzing the change in the characteristics of the channel response over time, motion by the object 406 can be tracked over time);
wherein the message indicates the name associated with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: In some implementations, the channel responses obtained while the wireless communication system is in a training mode are obtained during a training period. For example, the wireless communication system may notify the user of the start of the training period, and the end or the duration of the training period. The wireless communication system can present (e.g., via an audio playback or visual display) an indicator to the user instructing the user to move within the distinct region of the space during the training period, or another indicator to the that instructs the user to provide no motion (e.g., not move) within the region of the space during the training period); and
wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises sending a notification to a user device (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 6, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 5 further comprising the method of claim 5, wherein the user input indicates that the selected group of the wireless communication devices are associated with the same room in the space (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4), and the name indicated by the user input is a name of the room (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: As an example, the wireless communication system may receive user input may specify a distinct region in the space using a region identifier (e.g., “kitchen,” “office 1,” “office 2,” “upstairs balcony”), and may prompt the user to move within the specified region. Accordingly, the channel responses obtained during the training mode can become tagged data. For example, the channel responses may be tagged in association with the region identifier of the distinct region in the space and Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
As to claim 7, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the method of claim 4, wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises instructing the device associated with the motion detection system to perform an operation in response to motion being detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 8, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein generating the spatial coordinates comprises:
generating, based on the first motion-sensing data, likelihood values for pairs of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6), the likelihood value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a likelihood of sensing motion at the pair of wireless communication devices sequentially in time (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
generating, based on the likelihood values, distance values for the respective pairs of wireless communication devices, the distance value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a distance between two of the wireless communication devices (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point); and
generating the spatial coordinates based on the distance values (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point).
As to claim 9, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the method of claim 8, wherein the distance values (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point) are generated by an optimization process (Neerbek: [0028], [0046], [0064]-[0066], [0072]-[0073], [0080]-[0093], [0114], [0118], [0121]-[0126], and FIG. 6: Furthermore, for progressively higher samples m with higher levels of power transmission, both the above-mentioned marginal costs may be weighted higher, because since more progressively more energy is used, more battery power is lost. Thus, using the above modified equation as a loss function in error calculation, and then using the results to backpropagate through the machine learning classifier of step 1413 may result in an optimized classifier with a high degree of low-power presence detection (although lower in accuracy than the classifier of 1417) while consuming a low amount of power ).
As to claim 10, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices comprises generating spatial coordinates (Neerbek: [0056]-[0058], [0061]-[0062], [0065], [0077], [0087], [0093], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5: In particular, unique changes in the Wi-Fi signature, defined by some or all of the inputs described above, may be associated with the presence of an intruder. For example, furtive fighting motions may have a particular Wi-Fi signature in three-dimensions or cause a unique change of inputs of the Wi-Fi signature over time. At first, the parameters for such a machine model may be hardcoded by experts identifying unique changes in Wi-Fi signature) for each MAC address (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system) in the wireless communication network (Neerbek: [0056], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 11, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the spatial coordinates are generated for a two- dimensional coordinate system, and the graphical representation of the spatial arrangement comprises a two-dimensional map of the wireless communication devices (Neerbek: [0056]-[0058], [0061]-[0062], [0065], [0077], [0087], [0093], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5: Because as described above the speakers 210a-210d may be present at the same height in an embodiment, the three dimensional composite map made from just these devices would only be present in two dimensions in data at a high resolution, since all of these speakers are at the same height. Thus the other devices broadcasting signals such as WiFi remote 206, center speaker 210e, user phone 204, and subwoofer 210f are important as these are at different heights and aid in sending signal strength at a multitude of different points along the height axis, wherein the composite map can then truly be constructed in 3 dimensions, with three dimensions of data, combined with the high-resolution map in two-dimensions from the speakers 210a-210d. It is also to be noted that even though the embodiments herein describe the use of Wi-Fi signals, other RF signals such as BLUETOOTH signals can also be used in substantially the same manner).
As to claim 12, Devison discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that are operable, when executed by data processing apparatus, to perform operations comprising:
generating motion-sensing data based on first wireless signals transmitted (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system), during a first time period (Devison: column 1 lines 57-67, column 2 lines 27-54, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 52, column 19 lines 14-30, and FIG. 4: identifying and comparing a channel response characteristic with reference characteristics includes providing the channel response obtained at 602 as inputs to a trained neural network, and identifying the location of the detected motion is based on an output of the neural network. For example, a neural network may be trained using tagged channel responses, as described above. After training, newly obtained channel responses can be input to the trained neural network, and the neural network can output an identifier associated with a distinct region of the space. The output of the neural network may be based on a function with various weightings determined during a training process), between pairs of wireless communication devices (Devison: FIG. 1 the wireless communication devices 102A-102B the first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication devices 102B-102C the second motion detection field 110 B, the wireless communication devices 102A-102C the third motion detection field 110C) in a wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract and FIG. 1), the motion-sensing data representing motion in a space associated with the wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 6, and FIG. 4: the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to detect whether an object has moved in the space 400, such as, for example, by analyzing channel responses associated with the space based on the received signals. In addition, in some implementations, the example wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to identify a location of detected motion within the space 400. For example, the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze characteristics of the channel response to determine whether the channel responses share the same or similar characteristics to channel responses known to be associated with the regions 408, 410, 412, 414, 416 of the space 400); and
defining a plurality of motion zones in a motion detection system associated with the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C), each of the plurality of motion zones representing a distinct region in the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4), the plurality of motion zones comprising a first motion zone representing a first region that includes the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4: FIGS. 4C-4D are plots showing the example channel responses 401, 403 of FIGS. 4A-4B overlaid on an example of channel response 460 associated with no motion occurring in the space. When motion occurs in the space 400, a variation in the channel response will occur relative to the “no-motion” channel response 460, and thus, motion of an object in the space 400 can be detected by analyzing variations in the channel responses. In addition, a relative location of the detected motion within the space 400 can be identified. For example, the shape of channel responses associated with motion can be compared with reference information (e.g., using a trained neural network) to categorize the motion as having occurred within a distinct region of a space).
Devison does not explicitly disclose
based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space;
identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek, which discloses based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space (Neerbek: Abstract, [0054]-[0058], [0060], [0101]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: Because as described above the speakers 210a-210d may be present at the same height in an embodiment, the three dimensional composite map made from just these devices would only be present in two dimensions in data at a high resolution, since all of these speakers are at the same height. Thus the other devices broadcasting signals such as WiFi remote 206, center speaker 210e, user phone 204, and subwoofer 210f are important as these are at different heights and aid in sending signal strength at a multitude of different points along the height axis, wherein the composite map can then truly be constructed in 3 dimensions, with three dimensions of data, combined with the high-resolution map in two-dimensions from the speakers 210a-210d. It is also to be noted that even though the embodiments herein describe the use of Wi-Fi signals, other RF signals such as BLUETOOTH signals can also be used in substantially the same manner).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison and Neerbek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison to include based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek. The motivation for this is to define spatial locations of wireless devices in a motion localization system.
The combination of Devison and Neerbek does not explicitly disclose identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku, which discloses identifying spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) that represent estimated motion pathways (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) between the wireless communication devices (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C) by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400); and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400), the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic (Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison, Neerbek, and Manku, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison and Neerbek to include identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku. The motivation for this is to define sensitivity level of wireless devices based on spatial locations of the wireless devices in a motion localization system.
As to claim 15, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 12, the operations further comprising:
detecting motion of an object in the space based on second wireless signals transmitted between one or more pairs of the wireless communication devices during a second time period (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, the wireless communication system can identify the concave-parabolic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 401 obtained during a first training period during which a user is moving with the region 408, and can identify the convex-asymptotic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 403 obtained during a second training period during which a user is moving with the region 412);
in response to identifying one of the wireless communication devices in the selected group of the wireless communication devices as a location of the detected motion of the object (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: In some implementations, the channel responses are obtained over a series of time points, and the location of the motion is identified based on a characteristic shared by the channel responses from each of the respective time points in the series. In the example shown, channel responses are analyzed to identify a location of the motion within one of a plurality of regions within the space by identifying, at 612, a characteristic of one or more of the channel responses, and identifying, at 614, a location of the detected motion based on comparing the identified characteristic with reference characteristics associated with multiple distinct locations within the space),
generating a message indicating that motion was detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7); and
sending the message to a device associated with the motion detection system (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 16, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 15 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the user input indicates a name associated with the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4: while the user is moving through the region 408 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4A) the user may indicate on a mobile computing device that he/she is in the region 408 (and may name the region as “bedroom”, “living room”, “kitchen”, or another type of room of a building, as appropriate));
wherein defining the first motion zone comprises associating the name with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 17 lines 5-32, column 19 lines 31-44, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4-6: For instance, referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, as the object 406 moves from the region 408 to the region 412, the channel response may slowly change from the shape shown in channel response 401 to the shape shown in channel response 403. By analyzing the change in the characteristics of the channel response over time, motion by the object 406 can be tracked over time);
wherein the message indicates the name associated with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: In some implementations, the channel responses obtained while the wireless communication system is in a training mode are obtained during a training period. For example, the wireless communication system may notify the user of the start of the training period, and the end or the duration of the training period. The wireless communication system can present (e.g., via an audio playback or visual display) an indicator to the user instructing the user to move within the distinct region of the space during the training period, or another indicator to the that instructs the user to provide no motion (e.g., not move) within the region of the space during the training period); and
wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises sending a notification to a user device (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 17, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the user input indicates that the selected group of the wireless communication devices are associated with the same room in the space (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4), and the name indicated by the user input is a name of the room (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: As an example, the wireless communication system may receive user input may specify a distinct region in the space using a region identifier (e.g., “kitchen,” “office 1,” “office 2,” “upstairs balcony”), and may prompt the user to move within the specified region. Accordingly, the channel responses obtained during the training mode can become tagged data. For example, the channel responses may be tagged in association with the region identifier of the distinct region in the space and Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
As to claim 18, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 15 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises instructing the device associated with the motion detection system to perform an operation in response to motion being detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 19, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein generating the spatial coordinates comprises:
generating, based on the first motion-sensing data, likelihood values for pairs of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6), the likelihood value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a likelihood of sensing motion at the pair of wireless communication devices sequentially in time (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
generating, based on the likelihood values, distance values for the respective pairs of wireless communication devices, the distance value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a distance between two of the wireless communication devices (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point); and
generating the spatial coordinates based on the distance values (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point).
As to claim 20, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices comprises generating spatial coordinates (Neerbek: [0056]-[0058], [0061]-[0062], [0065], [0077], [0087], [0093], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5: In particular, unique changes in the Wi-Fi signature, defined by some or all of the inputs described above, may be associated with the presence of an intruder. For example, furtive fighting motions may have a particular Wi-Fi signature in three-dimensions or cause a unique change of inputs of the Wi-Fi signature over time. At first, the parameters for such a machine model may be hardcoded by experts identifying unique changes in Wi-Fi signature) for each MAC address (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system) in the wireless communication network (Neerbek: [0056], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5).
As to claim 21, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the spatial coordinates are generated for a two-dimensional coordinate system, and the graphical representation of the spatial arrangement comprises a two-dimensional map of the wireless communication devices (Neerbek: [0056]-[0058], [0061]-[0062], [0065], [0077], [0087], [0093], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5: Because as described above the speakers 210a-210d may be present at the same height in an embodiment, the three dimensional composite map made from just these devices would only be present in two dimensions in data at a high resolution, since all of these speakers are at the same height. Thus the other devices broadcasting signals such as WiFi remote 206, center speaker 210e, user phone 204, and subwoofer 210f are important as these are at different heights and aid in sending signal strength at a multitude of different points along the height axis, wherein the composite map can then truly be constructed in 3 dimensions, with three dimensions of data, combined with the high-resolution map in two-dimensions from the speakers 210a-210d. It is also to be noted that even though the embodiments herein describe the use of Wi-Fi signals, other RF signals such as BLUETOOTH signals can also be used in substantially the same manner).
As to claim 22, Devison discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of wireless communication devices (Devison: FIG. 1 the wireless communication devices 102A-102B the first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication devices 102B-102C the second motion detection field 110 B, the wireless communication devices 102A-102C the third motion detection field 110C) in a wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract and FIG. 1); and
a computer device comprising one or more processors operable to perform operations comprising:
generating motion-sensing data based on first wireless signals transmitted (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system), during a first time period (Devison: column 1 lines 57-67, column 2 lines 27-54, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 52, column 19 lines 14-30, and FIG. 4: identifying and comparing a channel response characteristic with reference characteristics includes providing the channel response obtained at 602 as inputs to a trained neural network, and identifying the location of the detected motion is based on an output of the neural network. For example, a neural network may be trained using tagged channel responses, as described above. After training, newly obtained channel responses can be input to the trained neural network, and the neural network can output an identifier associated with a distinct region of the space. The output of the neural network may be based on a function with various weightings determined during a training process), between pairs of wireless communication devices (Devison: FIG. 1 the wireless communication devices 102A-102B the first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication devices 102B-102C the second motion detection field 110 B, the wireless communication devices 102A-102C the third motion detection field 110C) in a wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract and FIG. 1), the motion-sensing data representing motion in a space associated with the wireless communication network (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 6, and FIG. 4: the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to detect whether an object has moved in the space 400, such as, for example, by analyzing channel responses associated with the space based on the received signals. In addition, in some implementations, the example wireless communication devices 402 can analyze the received signals to identify a location of detected motion within the space 400. For example, the wireless communication devices 402 can analyze characteristics of the channel response to determine whether the channel responses share the same or similar characteristics to channel responses known to be associated with the regions 408, 410, 412, 414, 416 of the space 400), and
defining a plurality of motion zones in a motion detection system associated with the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, and FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C), each of the plurality of motion zones representing a distinct region in the space (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4), the plurality of motion zones comprising a first motion zone representing a first region that includes the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 6 lines 13-column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4: FIGS. 4C-4D are plots showing the example channel responses 401, 403 of FIGS. 4A-4B overlaid on an example of channel response 460 associated with no motion occurring in the space. When motion occurs in the space 400, a variation in the channel response will occur relative to the “no-motion” channel response 460, and thus, motion of an object in the space 400 can be detected by analyzing variations in the channel responses. In addition, a relative location of the detected motion within the space 400 can be identified. For example, the shape of channel responses associated with motion can be compared with reference information (e.g., using a trained neural network) to categorize the motion as having occurred within a distinct region of a space).
Devison does not explicitly disclose
based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space;
identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek, which discloses based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space (Neerbek: Abstract, [0054]-[0058], [0060], [0101]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: Because as described above the speakers 210a-210d may be present at the same height in an embodiment, the three dimensional composite map made from just these devices would only be present in two dimensions in data at a high resolution, since all of these speakers are at the same height. Thus the other devices broadcasting signals such as WiFi remote 206, center speaker 210e, user phone 204, and subwoofer 210f are important as these are at different heights and aid in sending signal strength at a multitude of different points along the height axis, wherein the composite map can then truly be constructed in 3 dimensions, with three dimensions of data, combined with the high-resolution map in two-dimensions from the speakers 210a-210d. It is also to be noted that even though the embodiments herein describe the use of Wi-Fi signals, other RF signals such as BLUETOOTH signals can also be used in substantially the same manner).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison and Neerbek, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison to include based on the motion-sensing data, generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices, the spatial coordinates for each wireless communication device representing a location of the wireless communication device in the space, as suggested by Neerbek. The motivation for this is to define spatial locations of wireless devices in a motion localization system.
The combination of Devison and Neerbek does not explicitly disclose identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic.
However, it has been known in the art of motion detection system to implement identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku, which discloses identifying spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) that represent estimated motion pathways (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5: When the wireless communication devices 302A, 302B, 302C are used for motion detection, each of the wireless communication links 322A, 322B, 322C may detect motion in different (potentially overlapping) zones. For example, the wireless communication link 322A may detect motion primarily in one section of the L-shaped structure, while the wireless communication link 322B may detect motion primarily in the other section of the L-shaped structure; and the wireless communication link 322C may detect motion primarily in the outdoor area between the sections of the L-shaped structure) between the wireless communication devices (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C) by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400); and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths (Manku: column 8 lines 61-column 9 lines 5, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 5, column 10 lines 42-65, column 12 lines 24-64, and FIG. 3-5 the wireless communication devices 302A-302C: FIG. 4 is a diagram showing nodes and links in an example wireless communication network 400. The example wireless communication network 400 includes four nodes 402A, 402B, 402C, 402D, 402E and five links 422A, 422B, 422C, 422D, 422E provided by pairs of the nodes. The wireless communication network 400 may include additional or different types of nodes and links. For example, each pair of nodes may have one or more links in the wireless communication network 400), the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic (Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Devison, Neerbek, and Manku, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the motion localization system of Devison and Neerbek to include identifying spatial paths that represent estimated motion pathways between the wireless communication devices by generating a spanning tree from the spatial coordinates; and
receiving user input in response to a graphical representation of a spatial arrangement of the wireless communication devices being displayed on a display device, the spatial arrangement being generated based on the spatial coordinates and indicating the spatial paths, the user input indicating a selected group of the wireless communication devices that share a common characteristic, as suggested by Manku. The motivation for this is to define sensitivity level of wireless devices based on spatial locations of the wireless devices in a motion localization system.
As to claim 25, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the system of claim 22, the operations further comprising:
detecting motion of an object in the space based on second wireless signals transmitted between one or more pairs of the wireless communication devices during a second time period (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, the wireless communication system can identify the concave-parabolic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 401 obtained during a first training period during which a user is moving with the region 408, and can identify the convex-asymptotic frequency profile as a shared characteristic of the channel responses 403 obtained during a second training period during which a user is moving with the region 412);
in response to identifying one of the wireless communication devices in the selected group of the wireless communication devices as a location of the detected motion of the object (Devison: column 16 lines 26-52, column 18 lines 19-56, and FIG. 5-6: In some implementations, the channel responses are obtained over a series of time points, and the location of the motion is identified based on a characteristic shared by the channel responses from each of the respective time points in the series. In the example shown, channel responses are analyzed to identify a location of the motion within one of a plurality of regions within the space by identifying, at 612, a characteristic of one or more of the channel responses, and identifying, at 614, a location of the detected motion based on comparing the identified characteristic with reference characteristics associated with multiple distinct locations within the space),
generating a message indicating that motion was detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7); and
sending the message to a device associated with the motion detection system (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 26, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 25 further comprising the system of claim 25,
wherein the user input indicates a name associated with the selected group of the wireless communication devices (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4: while the user is moving through the region 408 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4A) the user may indicate on a mobile computing device that he/she is in the region 408 (and may name the region as “bedroom”, “living room”, “kitchen”, or another type of room of a building, as appropriate));
wherein defining the first motion zone comprises associating the name with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, column 17 lines 5-32, column 19 lines 31-44, column 21 lines 22-38, and FIG. 4-6: For instance, referring to the example shown in FIGS. 4A-4B, as the object 406 moves from the region 408 to the region 412, the channel response may slowly change from the shape shown in channel response 401 to the shape shown in channel response 403. By analyzing the change in the characteristics of the channel response over time, motion by the object 406 can be tracked over time);
wherein the message indicates the name associated with the first motion zone (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: In some implementations, the channel responses obtained while the wireless communication system is in a training mode are obtained during a training period. For example, the wireless communication system may notify the user of the start of the training period, and the end or the duration of the training period. The wireless communication system can present (e.g., via an audio playback or visual display) an indicator to the user instructing the user to move within the distinct region of the space during the training period, or another indicator to the that instructs the user to provide no motion (e.g., not move) within the region of the space during the training period); and
wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises sending a notification to a user device (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 27, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 26 further comprising the system of claim 26, wherein the user input indicates that the selected group of the wireless communication devices are associated with the same room in the space (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4), and the name indicated by the user input is a name of the room (Devison: column 11 lines 49 – column 12 lines 3, column 14 lines 5-27, column 15 lines 59 - column 16 lines 25, and FIG. 4: As an example, the wireless communication system may receive user input may specify a distinct region in the space using a region identifier (e.g., “kitchen,” “office 1,” “office 2,” “upstairs balcony”), and may prompt the user to move within the specified region. Accordingly, the channel responses obtained during the training mode can become tagged data. For example, the channel responses may be tagged in association with the region identifier of the distinct region in the space and Manku: Abstract, column 1 lines 39 – column 2 lines 19, column 9 lines 14-column 10 lines 4, column 10 lines 42 – column 11 lines 48, and FIG. 5-6: the user can directly adjust the sensitivity level of individual wireless communication links. For instance, the motion detection system may provide a user interface (e.g., to be displayed on a mobile device, computer screen, etc.) that associates each individual wireless communication link with a control widget (e.g., a slider, a dial, etc.), and the control widgets may allow the user increase or decrease the sensitivity setting for each individual link. In the example shown in FIG. 3, the user may reduce the sensitivity level for the wireless communication link 322C that covers the tree 320 and/or increase the sensitivity level for the wireless communication links 322A, 322B that cover the indoor area).
As to claim 28, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 25 further comprising the system of claim 25, wherein sending the message to the device associated with the motion detection system comprises instructing the device associated with the motion detection system to perform an operation in response to motion being detected in the first motion zone (Neerbek: [0092]-[0097], FIG. 7: When the phone 204 is carried away from the detection zone of the TV 202, such a message can be sent from the TV 202 wireless network interface 1224, over the internet, and to the phone 204. The message can be programmed to flash on the user's phone screen, wherein the user must either choose an option 705b to sound an alarm at the house, or an option 707b to ignore the warning. Meanwhile, the TV module (e.g. 202) may automatically turn on a play content to make a potential intruder believe there are guests inside the house, as a deterrent. Alternatively, if sounds and movement are determined to be coming inside the room in which the sensors located (e.g. inside the high resolution detection zone 212), then because the IoT model has detected an inside intruder, the message is only sent to a registered user's phone as described).
As to claim 29, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku disclose the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the system of claim 22, wherein generating the spatial coordinates comprises:
generating, based on the first motion-sensing data, likelihood values for pairs of the wireless communication devices (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6), the likelihood value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a likelihood of sensing motion at the pair of wireless communication devices sequentially in time (Devison: Abstract, column 1 lines 44-67, column 5 lines 8-62, column 6 lines 12 – column 7 lines 7, column 12 lines 4-column 13 lines 58, FIG. 1 the motion detection field 110A-110C, and FIG. 4-6: In the example shown, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the first wireless communication device 102A can be used to probe a first motion detection field 110A, the wireless communication link between the third wireless communication device 102C and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a second motion detection field 110B, and the wireless communication link between the first wireless communication device 102A and the second wireless communication device 102B can be used to probe a third motion detection field 110C. In some instances, each wireless communication device 102 detects motion in the motion detection fields 110 accessed by that device by processing received signals that are based on wireless signals transmitted by the wireless communication devices 102 through the motion detection fields 110. For example, when the person 106 shown in FIG. 1 moves in the first motion detection field 110A and the third motion detection field 110C, the wireless communication devices 102 may detect the motion based on signals they received that are based on wireless signals transmitted through the respective motion detection fields 110. For instance, the first wireless communication device 102A can detect motion of the person in both motion detection fields 110A, 110C, the second wireless communication device 102B can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110C, and the third wireless communication device 102C can detect motion of the person 106 in the motion detection field 110A);
generating, based on the likelihood values, distance values for the respective pairs of wireless communication devices, the distance value for each pair of wireless communication devices representing a distance between two of the wireless communication devices (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point); and
generating the spatial coordinates based on the distance values (Neerbek: [0056]-[0057], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 2-5, and FIG. 13: the television 202, which may also have a corresponding GPS, can determine the corresponding distance between the transmitting speaker or other transmitting device and the television, and can correlate this distance in three dimensions with the dBM data reading. In this manner, a map in three-dimensions can be made of signal strength. Also or alternatively, a user cell phone 204 may use in-built sensors such as an accelerometer or gyroscope to determine the relative position of the phone. Further, such a phone 204 may receive signals from a multitude of wireless transmitting points (e.g. speakers 210a-210f) and may through interpolation of its position and received signal strength be able to approximate the distance between each transmitting point and the phone, and thus be able to estimate the position of each transmitting point).
As to claim 30, Devison, Neerbek, and Manku discloses the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the system of claim 22, wherein generating spatial coordinates for the respective wireless communication devices comprises generating spatial coordinates (Neerbek: [0056]-[0058], [0061]-[0062], [0065], [0077], [0087], [0093], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5: In particular, unique changes in the Wi-Fi signature, defined by some or all of the inputs described above, may be associated with the presence of an intruder. For example, furtive fighting motions may have a particular Wi-Fi signature in three-dimensions or cause a unique change of inputs of the Wi-Fi signature over time. At first, the parameters for such a machine model may be hardcoded by experts identifying unique changes in Wi-Fi signature) for each MAC address (Devison: Abstract, column 5 lines 7-22, column 7 lines17-33, and FIG. 2-5: the motion probe signal 202 shown in FIG. 2 includes control data 204 and a motion data 206. A motion probe signal 202 may include additional or different features, and may be formatted in another manner. In the example shown, the control data 204 may include the type of control data that would be included in a conventional data packet. For instance, the control data 204 may include a preamble (also called a header) indicating the type of information contained in the motion probe signal 202, an identifier of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a MAC address of a wireless device transmitting the motion probe signal 202, a transmission power, etc. The motion data 206 is the payload of the motion probe signal 202. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a pseudorandom code or another type of reference signal. In some implementations, the motion data 206 can be or include, for example, a beacon signal broadcast by a wireless network system) in the wireless communication network (Neerbek: [0056], [0106]-[0107], [0118], [0122], and FIG. 2-5).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
L’Heureux et al., US 2022/0308149 A1, discloses interior positioning system for tracking communication devices within a remote location, and method therefore.
Diaz Fuente, US 2021/0021962 A1, discloses system and method for passive tracking of objects.
Manku et al., US 2017/0359804 A1, discloses operating a motion detection channel in a wireless communication.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685