DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 12 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claims 2-5, 8-9 and 11 have not been specifically addressed by Applicants at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalhan (US 2018/0152915, previously cited).
RE claims 1, 10, 12 and 13, Kalhan discloses a method of transmitting data by a remote user equipment (UE), a remote user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, and processor configured to perform operations for a remote user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store at least one computer program including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for a remote user equipment (UE), (Paragraph 50 and Figure 8.) comprising: establishing, a remote user equipment (UE), a connection with a relay UE (Figure 6 and paragraphs 41-47 teaches steps following a Remote UE performing relay discovery and selection. The remote UE requests a Mode-2 resource allocation and the Relay UE sends an allocation of Mode 2 communication resources to the OoC UE device. The Relay-UE device transmits the resource allocation, which may be used by the OoC UE device or Remote-UE group for transmitting its data on the uplink path. The communication resources allocated to the OoC UE device or Remote-UE group may belong to the LTE Rel- 12 Mode 2 resource pool preconfigured for OoC UE devices (e.g., subset(s) of the Mode 2 resource pool.); and transmitting, by the remote UE, a signal based on a resource, wherein, based on the remote UE that is connected to the relay UE providing connectivity to a network for the remote UE, the remote UE is configured to only use a resource allocation mode 2 for determining the resource (Figure 6, at step 98, the Remote UE uses the mode 2 allocation to communicate data/signal to the eNB via the Relay UE. The remote UE is Out of Coverage and thus unable to and not configured to utilize resources directly allocated by the eNB. This is contrast to Figure 3 and Paragraphs 30-31 which discloses an alternative whereby LTE mode 1 resources are first allocated by the eNB to a relay UE, the relay UE then uses those same resources to communicate with the remote UE. “This approach is indifferent to whether the remote UE is the InC remote UE device 18 or OoC UE device 16.”).
RE claim 3, Kalhan discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kalhan further discloses wherein after the remote UE establishes the connection with the relay UE, the remote UE is not allowed to transmit signals based on resources received from a base station (Figure 6, at step 98, the Remote UE uses the mode 2 allocation to communicate data/signal to the eNB via the Relay UE. The remote UE is Out of Coverage and thus unable to and not configured to utilize resources directly allocated by the eNB. Paragraphs 43-47 further discloses that Mode 2 resources are indicated only by the Relay UE, and “The third example procedure has several advantages. For example, the Relay-UE device does not need to first request resources from the eNB 12 because these resources do not belong to Mode 1 resource pool. This avoids signaling overhead and additional latency.”. This is contrast to Figure 3 and Paragraphs 30-31 which discloses an alternative whereby LTE mode 1 resources are first allocated by the eNB to a relay UE, the relay UE then uses those same resources to communicate with the remote UE. “This approach is indifferent to whether the remote UE is the InC remote UE device 18 or OoC UE device 16.” Mode 2 resources for an OoC UE are exclusive from the Mode 1 resource pool which belong to the eNB and in coverage UEs and relay UEs. Thus, thew remote UE is “not allowed” to use the Mode 1 resources from a base station/eNB).
RE claim 4, Kalhan discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kalhan further discloses wherein the relay UE uses resources received from a base station even after the connection is established (Figure 3 and Paragraphs 30-31 which discloses an alternative whereby LTE mode 1 resources are first allocated by the eNB to a relay UE, the relay UE then uses those same resources to communicate with the remote UE. “This approach is indifferent to whether the remote UE is the InC remote UE device 18 or OoC UE device 16.”. Thus, all UEs involved are using resources allocated and controlled by the eNB.)
RE claim 5, Kalhan discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kalhan further discloses wherein the signal is transmitted to a base station through the relay UE (Figure 6, remote out of coverage UE is connected to and provided services of the eNB via the relay UE.).
RE claim 8, Kalhan discloses he method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kalhan further discloses wherein the second resource is related to sidelink resource allocation mode 2 of the remote UE (Figure 6, Mode 2 resources are allocated by the Relay UE to establish a direct connection to the remote UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalhan in view of Lee et al. (US 10,111,321, Lee hereafter, previously cited).
RE claim 9, Kalhan discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Kalhan does not explicitly disclose wherein the resource is related to transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH).
However, Lee teaches wherein the resource is related to transmission of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) or a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). (Column 8, lines 25-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Kalhan with the teachings of Lee since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalhan in view of Hyde et al. (US 2014/0349569, Hyde hereafter, previously cited).
RE claim 11, Kalhan discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Kalhan further discloses wherein the remote UE communicates with at least one of another UE, the base station, or a network (As shown in at least figure 6 of Kalhan. The Remote UE communicates with a eNB/Base station/Network via a Relay UE).
Kalhan does not explicitly disclose the remote UE communicates with a UE related to an autonomous driving vehicle.
However, Hyde teaches the remote UE communicates with a UE related to an autonomous driving vehicle (Paragraph 41 teaches a relay may be in the form of various devices including a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), a wireless component for a vehicle, a roving transceiver, a wireless device that moves under its own power or control (e.g., an autonomous motorized robot or an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)), a wireless device that moves under the power or control of another entity (e.g., a vehicle or a remotely-piloted craft that is controlled by either a passenger or a remote human or by a remote machine), or a combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method Kalhan with the teachings of Hyde since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James P Duffy/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461