DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Aimone, in Paragraph 0053, Aimone teaches: “The wearable device 105 has a stereoscopic display 110; bio-signal sensors 120; facial bio-signal sensors 130; sound generator 140; a computing device 150; tracker 145; and user manual inputs such as mouse, joystick, or keyboard (not shown).” This clearly is stating that the element 105 has each of elements 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, and 145. This is evidenced further by Figure 1 which shows element 105 having these elements. Clearly Paragraph 0053 states that the keyboard, mouse, or joystick (game controller) is part of the element 105. 140 is a sound generator (i.e. a speaker device) is also mentioned as part of the device 105 and is shown in Figure 1 as part of 105. Thus, Aimone still teaches the claim limitations. The claims do not state that a virtual reality or augmented device cannot be considered part of the peripheral device. The claims do not have a negative limitation preventing this. The claims also do not limit the structure of the peripheral device to only be a mouse, keyboard, speaker device or game controller. As currently claimed the peripheral device must merely have one of those elements as part of the overall structure. But the overall structure of the peripheral device is not limited to the conventional structures of a mouse, keyboard, speaker device or game controller. The claims merely require that a peripheral device comprises one of those elements which as noted both above and below, Aimone discloses. The claims require the peripheral device to have these structures: “at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device”, “a receiver”, “at least one light source” and “a controller”. Each of those 4 structures are part of the overall device “peripheral device” and as such this is taught by Pradeep in view of Aimone as noted below. The claims do not require any particular structural layout of each component relative to each other. The claims merely require that the peripheral deice comprises those elements in some way.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aimone et al. (US 2016/0077547).
Regarding claim 1, Aimone teaches a system (Abstract) comprising:
a headset apparatus (eye mask 125 in Paragraph 0058) comprising an electroencephalography sensor configured to perform electroencephalography measurement on a user when the headset apparatus is worn by the user (Paragraphs 0058 and 0061); and
a peripheral device (105; Paragraph 0053), comprising at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device, (105; Paragraph 0053: “The wearable device 105 has a stereoscopic display 110; bio-signal sensors 120; facial bio-signal sensors 130; sound generator 140; a computing device 150; tracker 145; and user manual inputs such as mouse, joystick, or keyboard (not shown).”; further see Paragraph 0058), configured to be operatively associated with the headset apparatus when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Figure 1; Paragraph 0058), the peripheral device comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a user data based on the electroencephalography measurement from the headset apparatus (Paragraphs 0058 and 0061);
at least one light source (Paragraphs 0050-0054; a display 110, which is part of peripheral device 105, would inherently have a light source); and
a controller configured to control the at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect, through the at least one light source of the peripheral device, based on the user data (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device (Paragraph 0100; ‘The training system 100 according to some embodiments of the device allows the opportunity to create a VR environment where users learn and practise sensitivity by engaging with characters in the VR environment where they wear their “emotions on their sleeve” (visually represented in real time via colour-coding, auras, icons, logos, avatars, etc.) based on determined user or brain states during VR events within the VR environment.’; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).‘),
wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 11, Aimone teaches a method for controlling a peripheral device (Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, via a receiver of the peripheral device (105), user data based on an electroencephalography measurement from a headset apparatus (eye mask 125 in Paragraph 0058) worn by a user (Paragraphs 0058 and 0061); and
controlling, via a controller of the peripheral device, at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect, through the at least one light source of the peripheral device, based on the user data (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device, when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0100; ‘The training system 100 according to some embodiments of the device allows the opportunity to create a VR environment where users learn and practise sensitivity by engaging with characters in the VR environment where they wear their “emotions on their sleeve” (visually represented in real time via colour-coding, auras, icons, logos, avatars, etc.) based on determined user or brain states during VR events within the VR environment.’; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).‘),
wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the peripheral device comprises at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device (105; Paragraph 0053: “The wearable device 105 has a stereoscopic display 110; bio-signal sensors 120; facial bio-signal sensors 130; sound generator 140; a computing device 150; tracker 145; and user manual inputs such as mouse, joystick, or keyboard (not shown).”; further see Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Aimone teaches wherein the headset apparatus comprises the electroencephalography sensor to collect raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0058; Figure 1), wherein the headset apparatus is configured to transmit the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0058 and 0061), and wherein the user data received by the receiver of the peripheral device comprises the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraphs 0066 and 0100).
Regarding claim 3, Aimone teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a mental state determination circuit configured to determine at least one of a mental state or a motor state based on the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0066 and 0088).
Regarding claim 4, Aimone teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a control data determination circuit configured to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraph 0066 and 0088).
Regarding claim 5, Aimone teaches wherein the headset apparatus comprises the electroencephalography sensor to collect raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0058; Figure 1), wherein the headset apparatus comprises a processor to process the raw electroencephalography measurement data to determine at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraph 0058 and 0061), wherein the headset apparatus is configured to transmit data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state, wherein the user data received by the receiver of the peripheral device comprises the data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraphs 0066 and 0100).
Regarding claim 6, Aimone teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a control data determination circuit configured to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the data indicating at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraph 0066 and 0088).
Regarding claim 10, Aimone teaches wherein the at least one light source of the peripheral device comprises at least one colored light source; and wherein the controller of the peripheral device is configured to control a color of the at least one light source based on the user data (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 12, Aimone teaches wherein the user data comprises raw electroencephalography measurement data collected by an electroencephalography sensor of the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0058; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Aimone teaches further comprising: determining, via a mental state determination circuit of the peripheral device, at least one of a mental state or a motor state based on the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 14, Aimone teaches further comprising: determining, via a control data determination circuit of the peripheral device, control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 15, Aimone teaches wherein the user data comprises data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state determined at the headset apparatus based on the electroencephalography measurement by the headset apparatus (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 16, Aimone teaches further comprising: determining, via a control data determination circuit of the peripheral device, control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the data indicating at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 17, Aimone teaches further comprising analyzing, via a computing device, the electroencephalography measurement from the headset apparatus to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source of the peripheral device, wherein the user data comprises the control data for controlling the at least one light source (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 20, Aimone teaches wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one colored light source; and wherein the method further comprises controlling a color of the at least one light source based on the user data (Paragraphs 0066, 0088, and 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
Regarding claim 21, Aimone teaches wherein the at least one light source of the peripheral device comprises at least one colored light source; wherein the controller of the peripheral device is configured to control the at least one colored light source to generate a plurality of distinct lighting effects, each lighting effect comprising a distinct lighting color, respectively associated with the plurality of distinct moods of the users (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pradeep et al. (US 2012/0083668) in view of Aimone et al. (US 2016/0077547).
Regarding claim 1, Pradeep teaches a system (Abstract) comprising:
a headset apparatus comprising a sensor (Paragraph 0075; ‘The illustrated example data collector 201 is a headset ‘) configured to perform electroencephalography measurement on a user when the headset apparatus is worn by the user (Paragraph 0075; Paragraphs 0009, 0065, and 0077; ‘users may be monitored using electroencephalography (EEG)’; Figure 2A); and
a peripheral device (user interface; Paragraph 0016 and 0029), configured to be operatively associated with the headset apparatus when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0016), the peripheral device comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a user data based on the electroencephalography measurement from the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0055);
at least one light source (Paragraph 0041 and 0016; changing brightness implies a light source); and
a controller configured to control the at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect based on the user data (Paragraphs 0030 and 0058),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device (Paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0011, and 0028; ‘a user's current mental state’; ‘a user state is at least one of alert, attentive, engaged, disengaged, drowsy, distracted, confused, asleep or nonresponsive.’).
Pradeep is silent on the peripheral device comprising at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device and wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect.
Aimone teaches a peripheral device (105), comprising at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device (105; Paragraph 0053; “The wearable device 105 has a stereoscopic display 110; bio-signal sensors 120; facial bio-signal sensors 130; sound generator 140; a computing device 150; tracker 145; and user manual inputs such as mouse, joystick, or keyboard (not shown).”), configured to be operatively associated with the headset apparatus when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Figure 1; eye mask 125 in Paragraphs 0058 and 0061), the peripheral device comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a user data based on the electroencephalography measurement from the headset apparatus (Paragraphs 0058 and 0061);
at least one light source (Paragraphs 0050-0054; display 110 of the peripheral device 105 would inherently have a light source); and
a controller configured to control the at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect, through the at least one light source of the peripheral device, based on the user data (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device (Paragraph 0100; ‘The training system 100 according to some embodiments of the device allows the opportunity to create a VR environment where users learn and practise sensitivity by engaging with characters in the VR environment where they wear their “emotions on their sleeve” (visually represented in real time via colour-coding, auras, icons, logos, avatars, etc.) based on determined user or brain states during VR events within the VR environment.’; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).‘),
wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pradeep with Aimone because it would enable better training feedback of the user’s mental state (Paragraph 0181 of Aimone) and further it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the peripheral device of Pradeep with that of Aimone.
Regarding claim 11, Pradeep teaches a method for controlling a peripheral device (Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving, via a receiver of the peripheral device, user data based on an electroencephalography measurement from a headset apparatus worn by a user (Paragraph 0055; See further Paragraph 0075, 0065, and 0077; ‘The illustrated example data collector 201 is a headset ‘; ‘users may be monitored using electroencephalography (EEG)’; Figure 2A); and
controlling, via a controller of the peripheral device, at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect, through at least one light source of the peripheral device, based on the user data (Paragraphs 0030 and 0058; Paragraph 0041 and 0016; changing brightness implies a light source),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Paragraphs 0053, 0058, 0011, and 0028; ‘a user's current mental state’; ‘a user state is at least one of alert, attentive, engaged, disengaged, drowsy, distracted, confused, asleep or nonresponsive.’).
Pradeep is silent on the peripheral device comprising at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device, and wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect.
Aimone teaches controlling, via a controller of the peripheral device, at least one light source of the peripheral device to generate a lighting effect, through the at least one light source of the peripheral device, based on the user data (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the lighting effect of the at least one light source of the peripheral device indicates a mood of the user using the peripheral device, when the user uses the peripheral device in conjuncture with the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0100; ‘The training system 100 according to some embodiments of the device allows the opportunity to create a VR environment where users learn and practise sensitivity by engaging with characters in the VR environment where they wear their “emotions on their sleeve” (visually represented in real time via colour-coding, auras, icons, logos, avatars, etc.) based on determined user or brain states during VR events within the VR environment.’; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).‘),
wherein each mood, from among a plurality of distinct moods, of the user is associated with a distinct lighting effect (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
wherein the peripheral device comprises at least one of a mouse, a keyboard, a game controller, or a speaker device (105; Paragraph 0053; “The wearable device 105 has a stereoscopic display 110; bio-signal sensors 120; facial bio-signal sensors 130; sound generator 140; a computing device 150; tracker 145; and user manual inputs such as mouse, joystick, or keyboard (not shown).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pradeep with Aimone because it would enable better training feedback of the user’s mental state (Paragraph 0181 of Aimone) and further it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the peripheral device of Pradeep with that of Aimone.
Regarding claim 2, Pradeep teaches wherein the headset apparatus comprises the sensor (102) to collect raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0053), wherein the headset apparatus is configured to transmit the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0054; through 106), and wherein the user data received by the receiver of the peripheral device comprises the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0053-0055 and 0057).
Regarding claim 3, Pradeep teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a mental state determination circuit configured to determine at least one of a mental state or a motor state based on the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 4, Pradeep teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a control data determination circuit configured to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060).
Regarding claim 5, Pradeep teaches wherein the headset apparatus comprises the sensor (102) to collect raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0053), wherein the headset apparatus comprises a processor to process the raw electroencephalography measurement data to determine at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraph 0060), wherein the headset apparatus is configured to transmit data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraph 0054; through 106), wherein the user data received by the receiver of the peripheral device comprises the data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060; further see Paragraphs 0053-0055 and 0057).
Regarding claim 6, Pradeep teaches wherein the peripheral device further comprises: a control data determination circuit configured to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the data indicating at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060).
Regarding claim 7, Pradeep teaches further comprising a computing device, wherein the headset apparatus comprises the sensor (102) to collect raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0053), wherein the headset apparatus is configured to transmit the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0054; through 106), wherein the computing device is configured to receive the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0053-0055 and 0057), process the raw electroencephalography measurement data to determine at least one of a mental state or a motor state (Paragraph 0060), determine control data for controlling the at least one light source of the peripheral device based on the at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060), and transmit the control data for controlling the at least one light source of the peripheral device (Paragraphs 0058-0060), wherein the user data received by the receiver of the peripheral device comprises the control data for controlling the at least one light source of the peripheral device (Paragraphs 0053-0055 and 0057-0060).
Regarding claim 10, Pradeep teaches wherein the at least one light source of the peripheral device comprises at least one colored light source; and wherein the controller of the peripheral device is configured to control a color of the at least one light source based on the user data (Paragraph 0010, can change font color thus meaning a colored light source; Paragraph 0016, can change hue meaning a change in color thus a colored light source).
Regarding claim 12, Pradeep teaches wherein the user data comprises raw electroencephalography measurement data collected by a sensor (102) of the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0053).
Regarding claim 13, Pradeep teaches further comprising: determining, via a mental state determination circuit of the peripheral device, at least one of a mental state or a motor state based on the raw electroencephalography measurement data (Paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 14, Pradeep teaches further comprising: determining, via a control data determination circuit of the peripheral device, control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060).
Regarding claim 15, Pradeep teaches wherein the user data comprises data indicating at least one of a mental state or a motor state determined at the headset apparatus based on the electroencephalography measurement by the headset apparatus (Paragraph 0060; further see Paragraph 0075, 0065, and 0077).
Regarding claim 16, Pradeep teaches further comprising: determining, via a control data determination circuit of the peripheral device, control data for controlling the at least one light source based on the data indicating at least one of mental state or motor state (Paragraphs 0058-0060).
Regarding claim 17, Pradeep teaches further comprising analyzing, via a computing device, the electroencephalography measurement from the headset apparatus to determine control data for controlling the at least one light source of the peripheral device, wherein the user data comprises the control data for controlling the at least one light source (Paragraphs 0058-0060; further see Paragraphs 0053-0055 and 0057).
Regarding claim 20, Pradeep teaches wherein the at least one light source comprises at least one colored light source; and wherein the method further comprises controlling a color of the at least one light source based on the user data (Paragraph 0010, can change font color thus meaning a colored light source; Paragraph 0016, can change hue meaning a change in color thus a colored light source).
Regarding claim 21, Pradeep is silent on the colored light source distinct to moods. Aimone teaches wherein the at least one light source of the peripheral device comprises at least one colored light source; wherein the controller of the peripheral device is configured to control the at least one colored light source to generate a plurality of distinct lighting effects, each lighting effect comprising a distinct lighting color, respectively associated with the plurality of distinct moods of the users (Paragraph 0100; ‘Internal EEG-based states are visually overlaid on the avatar so Francine can see the emotional and mental state of the characters in real time, and they can see hers. This is done by animating facial expressions perhaps even exaggerating them in a cartoon-like way with colour enhancement such as red scale for anger, and blue scale for sadness (i.e. revise training 480).’),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pradeep with Aimone because it would enable better training feedback of the user’s mental state (Paragraph 0181 of Aimone) and further it would only require the routine skill of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143 I. B.) in this case the peripheral device of Pradeep with that of Aimone.
Conclusion
/PATRICK FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791