DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 04/22/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 4, 14, 16 and 20 are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 04/22/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (“Murphy”, US 2015/0205489) in view of Mattox, JR et al. (“Mattox”, US 2021/0081486) in view of Hshieh et al. (“Hshieh”, US 2020/0379616) and further in view of Cooley (US 8,386,588).
As per claim 1, Murphy teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
launching, by one or more processors of a computing device, a web-based application in a browser instance presented on a display device (Murphy, Figs.1-2, para.25, browser application 1102 displayed in web browser);
receiving, by the one or more processors, information for presentation in the browser instance, the information including a plurality of content items, wherein a particular content item of the plurality of content items is indicated as being a selected content item (Murphy, Figs.1-2, plurality of content items 1108 with first content item selected; para.25, 28);
generating, by the one or more processors, a system window for presentation in the browser instance along with the plurality of content items to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar); and
when a response to the system window indicates that the user wants to create the graphical indicia, the one or more processors creating the graphical indicia for the selected content item (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar).
However, Murphy does not explicitly teach generating a system notification including a query asking whether a user associated with the computing device wants to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item. Mattox teaches a method of icon creation that generates a system notification including a query asking whether a user associated with the computing device wants to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item (Mattox, para.34, 37-39, Fig.2, 5, recommendation notification 210/508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Mattox’s teaching with Murphy’s method to recommend frequently used apps to reduce access time.
Furthermore, the method of Murphy and Mattox does not explicitly teach creating a relational entry associating the graphical indicia with a direct link to the selected content item. Hshieh teaches a method of creating links by creating a relational entry associating the graphical indicia with a direct link to the content item (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331 create entries storing links). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Hshieh’s teaching with the method of Murphy and Mattox to provide details linking the indicia to the target location.
Although, the method of Murphy, Mattox and Hsieh teaches amount of time spent on items stored in a relational entry (Hshieh, para.146, usage tables 331), the method does not teach to include a pointer to a last viewed spot of the selected content item. Cooley teaches a method of displaying icons which includes a pointer to a last viewing spot of the selected content item (Cooley, Fig.3, 175-1 icons; col.7, line 30-col.8, line 16; col.11, lines 16-25, stores a cookie of last viewing position; resume from last viewed spot). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Cooley’s teaching with the method of Murphy, Mattox and Hshieh to save time by resuming content from the last viewing.
As per claim 2, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising presenting the graphical indicia in a selected region of a graphical user interface for display on the display device (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar).
As per claim 3, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the selected region of the graphical user interface is separate from the browser instance (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar).
As per claim 4, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the relational entry further includes a name of the selected content item, information identifying the graphical indicia, and a uniform resource locator that identifies the direct link to the selected content item in the web-based application (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331).
As per claim 5, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the relational entry is part of a relational file that includes information about the web-based application (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331).
As per claim 6, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, wherein creating the graphical indicia for the selected content item further includes creating a badge, the badge including a graphical identifier associated with the web-based application (Mattox, Fig.3, element 306, para.35-36, 47).
As per claim 7, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the graphical identifier has a same appearance as the graphical indicia (Mattox, Fig.3, element 306, para.35-36, 47).
As per claim 8, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the badge intersects or adjoins the graphical indicia (Mattox, Fig.3, element 306, para.35-36, 47).
As per claim 9, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the web-based application is a progressive web application (Mattox, para.35-36, 62, 64, 69, shortcuts to progressive web applications).
As per claim 10, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the progressive web application is a first progressive web application and the selected content item is a second progressive web application (Mattox, para.35-36, 62, 64, 69, Fig.4, apps 406).
As per claim 11, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the selected content item is one of a plurality of enterprise applications hosted by the progressive web application (Mattox, para.35-36, 62, 64, 69).
As per claim 12, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying that the graphical indicia for the selected content item has been selected (Murphy, Figs.1-2, plurality of content items 1108 with first content item selected; para.25, 28); obtaining the direct link to the selected content item from the relational entry (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331); and automatically launching a direct browser instance using the direct link to the selected content item (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331 include links to content).
As per claim 13, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying that the graphical indicia for the selected content item has been selected (Murphy, Figs.1-2, plurality of content items 1108 with first content item selected; para.25, 28); obtaining the direct link to the selected content item from the relational entry (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331); and accessing the direct link to install media content of the selected content item on the computing device (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331 include links to content).
As per claim 14, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying that the graphical indicia for the selected content item has been selected (Murphy, Figs.1-2, plurality of content items 1108 with first content item selected; para.25, 28); obtaining the direct link to the selected content item (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331 include links to content) and the pointer to the last viewed spot of the selected content item from the relational entry (Cooley, Fig.3, 175-1 icons; col.7, line 30-col.8, line 16; col.11, lines 16-25, stores a cookie of last viewing position; resume from last viewed spot); and automatically launching media content of the selected content item on the computing device starting at the last viewed spot (Cooley, Fig.3, 175-1 icons; col.7, line 30-col.8, line 16; col.11, lines 16-25, stores a cookie of last viewing position; resume from last viewed spot).
As per claim 15, the method of Murphy, Mattox, Hshieh and Cooley teach the method of claim 14, further comprising updating the pointer of the relational entry upon exiting the media content (Cooley, Fig.3, 175-1 icons; col.7, line 30-col.8, line 16; col.11, lines 16-25, stores a cookie of last viewing position; resume from last viewed spot).
As per claim 16, Murphy teaches a computing system comprising:
memory configured to store a relational file (Murphy, para.46, 56, Fig.9, memory 904);
a display module having a display engine configured to generate a graphical user interface (Murphy, para.55, 70, Fig.9, display 916); and
one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory and the display module (Murphy, para.61, Fig.9, processor 952), the one or more processors being configured to:
launch a web-based application in a browser instance presented by the display module on a display device (Murphy, Figs.1-2, para.25, browser application 1102 displayed in web browser);
receive information for presentation in the browser instance, the information including a plurality of content items, wherein a particular content item of the plurality of content items is indicated as being a selected content item (Murphy, Figs.1-2, plurality of content items 1108 with first content item selected; para.25, 28);
generate a system window for presentation in the browser instance along with the plurality of content items to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar); and
when a response to system window indicates that the graphical indicia should be created (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar):
create the graphical indicia for the selected content item (Murphy, Fig.2, system window 2204; para.28, 33-34, shortcut generated and displayed on desktop/start menu/launch bar).
However, Murphy does not explicitly teach generating a system notification including a query asking whether a user associated with the computing device wants to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item and present an indicator on the selected content item, which indicates to the user that the selected content item has been updated or changed. Mattox teaches a system of icon creation that generates a system notification including a query asking whether a user associated with the computing device wants to create a graphical indicia for the selected content item (Mattox, para.34, 37-39, Fig.2, 5, recommendation notification 210/508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Mattox’s teaching with Murphy’s system to recommend frequently used apps to reduce access time.
Furthermore, the system of Murphy and Mattox does not explicitly teach to create a relational entry associating the graphical indicia with a direct link to the selected content item; and store the created relational entry in the relational file. Hshieh teaches a system of creating links by creating a relational entry associating the graphical indicia with a direct link to the content item and storing the created relational entry in a relational file (Hshieh, para.146-147, usage tables 331 create entries storing links). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Hshieh’s teaching with the system of Murphy and Mattox to provide details linking the indicia to the target location.
Although, the system of Murphy, Mattox and Hsieh teaches amount of time spent on items stored in a relational entry (Hshieh, para.146, usage tables 331), the system does not teach to include a pointer to a last viewed spot of the selected content item. Cooley teaches a system of displaying icons which includes a pointer to a last viewing spot of the selected content item (Cooley, Fig.3, 175-1 icons; col.7, line 30-col.8, line 16; col.11, lines 16-25, stores a cookie of last viewing position; resume from last viewed spot). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Cooley’s teaching with the system of Murphy, Mattox and Hshieh to save time by resuming content from the last viewing.
Claim 17 is similar to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 18-19 are similar to claims 12-13, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar to claim 14, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lewis et al. (US 2018/0183881) teaches a method of navigating to a last viewed content item.
Hurwitz et al. (US 2018/0191805) teaches a method of navigating to a last viewed position within a content item.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174