DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sidorkin (Quantum-chemical study of pentacoordinated silicon compounds: Si-substituted (O--Si)dimethyl(N-acetylacetamidomethyl)silanes).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, and 9, Sidorkin discloses a compound selected from the group consisting of Formula I see below:
wherein R= Me, Me, F, wherein a=1, Sp is CH2, and Y is as set forth below (14) and b=0.
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalikhman (The influence of Si substituents on the degree of silicon intramolecular coordination and migration barriers of the Si ← O-bond in silafunctional [(N-acetylacetamido)methyl]dimethylsilanes from carbon-13 and silicon-29 NMR).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kalikhman discloses a compound selected from the group consisting of Formula I see below:
wherein R is Me, Me, and 2 halogen elements (I, Cl, Br), Y is Ac2N (14) as set forth below and Sp is CH2, wherein a=1 or 2, and b=0.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pepe (US 3,511,866).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 15, Pepe discloses a compound selected from the group consisting of (see C1/L1-72):
(R)4-a — Si —(Sp-Y)a —Z-b
wherein a can range from 1 to 3, b is 0, wherein R is fluorine, Sp is a linear alkylenyl and Y is OCN.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pepe (US 3,511,866) as applied to claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 15 above, and further in view of Syret (US 2017/0283443 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 11 and 14, Pepe discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Pepe does not disclose that when a=2 or 3, or b=1 and Z is R.
Syret discloses that a spacer group between Si and a cyanide group can have a substituent methyl group attached (see examples 9 and 10, one spacer group has a methyl group attached and one does not).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify a single spacer groups of Pepe by attaching a substituent methyl group as disclosed by Syret because Syret discloses it is possible to do so and furthermore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a modification, and the results would be reasonably predictable.
Modified Pepe now discloses now discloses when a=2 or 3, b=1 and Z is R.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726