DETAILED ACTION
Status Claims
Claims 27, 33, 40 and 49 had been canceled. Claims 24-26, 28-32, 34-39, 41-48, 50-53 are pending.
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 3/6/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY
REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the
following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply
under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed
by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and
appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth
in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant
must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by
signing below:
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 30, 36-37, 42, 44-46, 51 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magno [WO 2022/096351] in view of Balakrishnan [US 2019/0306811].
As claims 24 and 30, Magno [WO 2022/096351] discloses a transmitter device [Fig 1, Ref 11 for transmitting WUR signal using UWB], comprising: transmit circuitry configured to transmit a wakeup impulse sequence to a receiver device [Fig 1, Ref 12 and 13 wherein Ref 12 is WUR receiver] wherein the wakeup impulse sequence [Fig. 3] comprises a preamble [Fig 3, Ref 31 and 32], a start frame delimiter (SFD) [Fig. 3, Ref 33], and an address comprises a plurality of address symbols modulated to represent an identification of the receiver device [Fig. 3, Ref 34 wherein wake-up signal modulated by OOK, Par. 0011-0012] wherein the preamble comprising a plurality of preamble symbols [Fig 3, Ref 31 and 32 WUR preamble includes symbols], each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst [Fig 4, Ref 40 discloses plurality of symbols for preamble 31 wherein each symbol includes a pulse burst, Fig 4, Ref 41, Par. 0011] wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one [Fig 4, OOK modulated preamble into binary one “non-zero “1”” for transmission and zero “Zero “0”” for not transmission]. However, Magno fails to disclose wakeup impulse sequence comprising a preamble comprising a plurality of consecutive preamble symbols, each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one. In the same field of endeavor, Balakrishnan [US 2019/0306811] discloses wakeup signal [Fig 3, Par. 0006] includes the preamble comprising a plurality of consecutive preamble symbols [Fig 4, WUR preamble includes consecutive two symbols, Par. 0082], each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst [Par. 0077-0078 discloses each symbol includes sequence with length 16 bits which is modulated by OKK to form a pulse burst ] wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one [Fig 7, OOK modulated preamble into binary one “non-zero” for transmission and zero “Zero” for not transmission, Par. 0099-0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a wake up signal which includes the consecutive symbols for preamble of WUR and payload of WUR wherein each symbol comprising pulse burst which is modulated into binary one as disclosed by Balakrishnan into the teaching of Magno. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to consume large energy.
As claims 36 and 45, Magno discloses a receiver device, comprising a main receiver circuit [Fig 1, Ref 13]; and a wakeup receiver circuit [Fig 1, Ref 12 coupled to Ref 13] coupled to the main receiver circuit, the wakeup receiver circuit configured to: detect a wakeup impulse sequence received from a transmitter device [Fig 1, Ref 12 for detecting wake up signal from sender, Fig 1, Ref 13], the wakeup impulse sequence [Fig 3-4 wherein wake-up signal modulated by OOK, Par. 0011-0012] comprises a preamble [Fig 3, Ref 31 and 32, Par. 0011-0012] wherein the preamble comprising a plurality of preamble symbols [Fig 3, Ref 31 and 32], each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst [Fig 4, Ref 40 discloses plurality of symbols for preamble 31 wherein each symbol includes a pulse burst, Fig 4, Ref 41, Par. 0011] wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one [Fig 4, OOK modulated preamble into binary one “non-zero “1”” for transmission and zero “Zero “0”” for not transmission], a start frame delimiter (SFD) [Fig 3, Ref 33], and an address [Fig 3, Ref 34]; determine whether the wakeup signal is intended to wake up the main receiver circuit based on one or more of the preamble, SFD, and the address [Par. 0012-0013 discloses Ref 12 verifies if the signal used to wakeup Ref 13 or not if yes then wake up Ref 13]; and wake up the main transmitter circuit in the receiver circuit in response to determining that the wakeup packet is intended to wake up the receiver device [Par. 0012-0013 discloses Ref 13 of Fig 1 which is wakeup by Ref 12 of Fig 1, exchange data with Ref 11 of Fig 1 ]. However, Magno fails to fully disclose a wakeup impulse sequence comprises the preamble comprising a plurality of consecutive preamble symbols, each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one, for waking up the main transmitter circuit in the receiver circuit in response to determining that the wakeup packet is intended to wake up the receiver device. In the same field of endeavor, Balakrishnan [US 2019/0306811] discloses wakeup signal [Fig 3, Par. 0006] includes the preamble comprising a plurality of consecutive preamble symbols [Fig 4, WUR preamble includes consecutive two symbols, Par. 0082], each of the plurality of preamble symbols comprises a pulse burst [Par. 0077-0078 discloses each symbol includes sequence with length 16 bits which is modulated by OKK to form a pulse burst ] wherein each pulse burst is modulated to represent binary one [Fig 7, OOK modulated preamble into binary one “non-zero” for transmission and zero “Zero” for not transmission, Par. 0099-0100].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a wake up signal which includes the consecutive symbols for preamble of WUR and payload of WUR wherein each symbol comprising pulse burst which is modulated into binary one as disclosed by Balakrishnan into the teaching of Magno. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to consume large energy.
As claims 37 and 46, Magno discloses the SFD comprises a start bit symbol [Fig 3, Ref 33]; and the address comprises a plurality of address symbols modulated to represent an identification of the receiver device [Fig 3, Ref 34].
As claims 42 and 51, Magno discloses to detect a wakeup impulse sequence the wakeup receiver circuit is further configured to: detect, in the preamble, one or more of the plurality of pulse bursts in one or more of the plurality of preamble symbols [Par. 0011-0013]; and detect the start bit symbol after detecting the one or more of the plurality of pulse bursts [Par. 0011-0013 for detecting preamble then detect SFD in order to detect payload].
As claims 44 and 53, Magno discloses determine whether the wakeup impulse sequence is intended to wake up the main receiver circuit based on one or more of the preamble, SFD, and the address [Par. 0011-0013], the wakeup receiver circuit is further configured to: decode the address symbols in the address of the wakeup impulse sequence to determine the receiver identification [Par. 0011-0013, 0015-0016]; and determine that the receiver identification represented by the address symbols matches an identification of the receiver device [Par. 0011-0013, 0015-0016].
Claim(s) 25, 31, 38 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magno and Balakrishnan as applied to claims 24 and 30 above, and further in view of Mui [US 8543002].
As claims 25, 31, 38 and 47, Magno and Balakrishnan fail to fully disclose what Mui [US 8543002] discloses the pulse burst has a duration of approximately eight microseconds [Col.6:12-30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a burst of pulses having a length of 8 microseconds as discloses by Mui into the teaching of Magno and Balakrishnan. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to consume large energy.
Claim(s) 26, 32, 39 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magno and Balakrishnan as applied to claims 24 and 30 above, and further in view of Gandhi [US 2018/0132177].
As claims 26, 32, 39 and 48, Balakrishnan and Magno fail to fully disclose what Gandhi [US 2018/0132177] discloses each of the plurality of preamble symbols has a symbol duration of approximately one millisecond [Par. 0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a
symbols having a length of 1 milliseconds as discloses by Gandhi into the teaching of
Balakrishnan and Magno. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to
consume large energy.
Claim(s) 28, 34, 41 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magno and Balakrishnan as applied to claims 24 and 30 above, and further in view of Nabki [US 2019/0215030].
As claims 28, 34, 41 and 50, Magno and Balakrishnan fail to fully disclose the start bit symbol is modulated to represent a binary zero [Fig 2B, Ref 2040 is the start bit symbol is modulated to represent a binary zero by OOK].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising modulating start with OOK to have zero as discloses by Nabki into the teaching of Balakrishnan and Magno. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to consume large energy.
Claim(s) 29 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magno and Balakrishnan as applied to claims 24 and 30 above, and further in view of Dutz [US 2018/0254925].
As claims 29 and 35, Magno and Balakrishnan fail to disclose what Dutz discloses the pulse burst comprises a plurality of chip intervals of an identical chip interval duration and each of the plurality of chip intervals comprise a pulse [Fig 27, Tc has a pulse inside T burst , Par. 0321 and 0380].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising the pulse burst comprises a plurality of chip intervals of an identical chip interval duration and each of the plurality of chip intervals comprise a pulse as discloses by Dutz into the teaching of Balakrishnan and Magno. The motivation would have been to prevent the node to consume large energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43 and 52 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claims 43 and 52, the prior arts in the record fail to disclose to detect a wakeup impulse sequence the wakeup receiver circuit is further configured to: detect a first pulse burst; predict, based on a location of the detected first pulse burst in a first preamble symbol among the one or more of the plurality of preamble symbols, a predicted location of each pulse burst subsequent to the first pulse burst among the one or more of the plurality of pulse bursts in a respective subsequent preamble symbol among the one or more of the plurality of preamble symbols; determine a power-saving duty cycle based on the predicted location of each pulse burst subsequent to the first pulse burst among the one or more of the plurality of pulse bursts; and detect each pulse burst subsequent to the first pulse burst among the one or more of the plurality of pulse bursts based on the determined power-saving duty cycle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nabki [US 2018/0175905] discloses Ultra-Wideband (UWB) technology exploits modulated coded impulses over a wide frequency spectrum with very low power over a short distance for digital data transmission. Today's leading edge modulated sinusoidal wave wireless communication standards and systems achieve power efficiencies of 50 nJ/bit employing narrowband signaling schemes and traditional RF transceiver architectures. However, such designs severely limit the achievable energy efficiency, especially at lower data rates such as below 1 Mbps. Further, it is important that peak power consumption is supportable by common battery or energy harvesting technologies and long term power consumption neither leads to limited battery lifetimes or an inability for alternate energy sources to sustain them. Accordingly, it would be beneficial for next generation applications to exploit inventive transceiver structures and communication schemes in order to achieve the sub nJ per bit energy efficiencies required by next generation applications.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414