DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armistead (US 20110203588) in view of Eklund (US 6889691) further in view of Sagayama (US 20110058685)
Regarding claim 1, Armistead discloses A method comprising: extracting inspiratory portions of breaths of a patient from respiratory flow rate signals generated by a flow rate sensor (404f) (paragraph 0077, 0079-0081, 0084); applying labels (mild, moderate, severe) to the inspiratory portions (fig 10), wherein the labels indicate whether the inspiratory portions are flow limited (paragraph 0091-0093, 0119, 0122-0125); and adjusting a treatment pressure of a respiratory pressure therapy being delivered to the patient by a respiratory pressure therapy device based on the labels applied to the inspiratory portions (paragraph 0093-0094, 0188-0196).
Armistead discloses of the claimed limitations except calculating feature vectors representative of the inspiratory portions, wherein the feature vectors include (a) non-negative matrix factorization (NMF) feature vectors, or (b) difference filter (DF) feature vectors and applying label based on the feature vectors. Eklund teaches calculating feature vectors representative of the inspiratory portions (col. 5, lines 9-22) and applying label based on the feature vectors (col. 9, lines 40-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Armistead’s analytical methods by Eklund’s analytical methods which utilize feature vectors for the purpose of allowing for earlier recognition and intervention and improved testing and treatment.
Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 2, Armistead discloses all of the claim languages except The method of claim 1, wherein the feature vectors include the non-negative matrix factorization (NMF) feature vectors. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to modify Armistead’s analytical methods by Eklund’s analytical methods which utilize feature vectors. Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 3, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 2, wherein calculating the NMF feature vectors comprises multiplying the inspiratory portions by pseudoinverses of factor matrices. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 4, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 3, wherein each factor matrix is a left factor matrix of a non-negative matrix factorization of a database matrix of inspiratory portions. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 5, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 4, wherein the non-negative matrix factorization is based on sparsity constraints of the left factor matrix and a right factor matrix. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 6, Armistead discloses all of the claimed inventions except The method of claim 3, wherein the pseudoinverses are left inverses of the factor matrices. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 7, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 1, wherein the feature vectors include the difference filter (DF) feature vectors. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49 Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 8, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 7, wherein features in the DF feature vectors are calculated by summing samples of the inspiratory portions with a weighting of either +1 or -1, and wherein the weightings are coefficients of binary-valued difference filters. Eklund teaches the use of feature vectors (col. 5, lines 9-22, col. 9, lines 40-49). Sagayama teaches the use of both Non-negative matrix factorization (paragraph 0147) and difference filter feature vectors (paragraph 0078). These methods are well-known calculation methods and the use of them in the method of Armistead would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and allow for earlier recognition, intervention, and improved testing and treatment.
Regarding claim 9, Armistead discloses The method of claim 1, wherein applying the labels to the inspiratory portions comprises applying a binary classifier to the feature vectors (paragraph 0337, 0340), wherein the binary classifier is a machine learning classifier that applies labels to the inspiratory portions, wherein each of the labels indicate whether an inspiratory portion of the inspiratory portions is one of flow limited and not flow limited (paragraph 0052, 0269, 0337, 0340) (paragraph 0093-0094, 0188-0196).
Regarding claim 10 Armistead discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the binary classifier is a linear classifier (paragraph 0052, 0269, 0337, 0340).
Regarding claim 11, Armistead discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the binary classifier has been trained using a Support Vector Machine and a plurality of labelled inspiratory portions (paragraph 0337).
Regarding claim 12, Armistead discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the binary classifier has been trained by optimizing an objective function over a parameter space of the classifier (paragraph 0052, 0269, 0337, 0340).
Regarding claim 13, Armistead discloses The method of claim 1 further comprising: computing a metric indicating a degree of inspiratory flow limitation of the patient based on the labels applied to the inspiratory portions (paragraph 0021, 0091, 0093).
Regarding claim 14, Armistead discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the metric is a fraction of a total number of the breaths having an inspiratory portion to which a label has been applied that indicates the inspiratory portion is flow limited (paragraph 0021, 0091-0093, 0101, 0102, 0124).
Regarding claim 15, Armistead discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the metric is an average rate of the breaths having an inspiratory portion to which a label has been applied that indicates the inspiratory portion is flow limited (paragraph 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 16, Armistead discloses The method of claim 13, wherein the metric is a maximum rate of the breaths having an inspiratory portion to which a label has been applied that indicates the inspiratory portion is flow limited (paragraph 0123, 0192, 0232).
Regarding claim 18, Armistead discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the adjusting comprises: increasing the treatment pressure in response to a label being applied to an inspiratory portion that indicates the inspiratory portion is flow limited; or decreasing the treatment pressure in response in response to a label being applied to an inspiratory portion that indicates the inspiratory portion is not flow limited (paragraph 0093-0094, 0188-0196).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armistead (US 20110203588) in view of Eklund (US 6889691) in view of Sagayama further in view of Hedner (US 20080257349)
Regarding claim 17, Armistead discloses all of the claimed limitations except The method of claim 13, further comprising: displaying, with an output device, the metric. Hedner teaches displaying, with an output device, the metric (paragraph 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Armistead’s device which shows a display in Fig 4 by Hedner’s display which teaches using the display to output the measured data, for the purpose of providing the ventilator characteristics and function to allow the user to give immediate feedback and control.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASMEEN S WARSI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MAY A ABOUELELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791