Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 12, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mano (US20210071030, herein Mano), in the view of Matsunaga (JP03203974, herein Matsunaga, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose), Li (US20200248053, herein Li) and Nishioka (US20200283639, herein Nishioka).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 8 and 15, Mano teaches polyurethane coating composition [0010] can be used for producing a coated product by a process of forming a coating film [0178], reads on the sealer application, comprising: polyol [0025]; polyisocyanate compound [0025]; dibutyltin dilaurate [0144] reads on the curing catalyst, Mano further teaches the catalyst range between 0.5/(49.6+4+0.5+0.2+1.08+45.7+100)=0.25% [Ex. 1, Table 2, P9] to 4/(49.6+4+4+0.2+1.08+129.9+20)=1.9% [Ex. 7, Table 4, P10], overlap the claimed range.
Mano teaches ethyl acetate [0105] reads on the solvent, but Mano does not explicitly teach the solvent concentration and does not teach filler, however, Matsunaga teaches ethyl acetate [P3; L112], and solvent, usually 10-70% [P6; L290], overlaps the claimed range and “Fillers include calcium carbonate” [P6; L279]; “5-80% Filler” [P6; L290] overlaps the claimed range.
Mano and Matsunaga are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the urethane composites-based coating composition formation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add ethyl acetate [P3; L112], and solvent, usually 10-70% [P6; L290], “fillers include calcium carbonate” [P6; L279]; “5-80% Filler” [P6; L290] into the coating composition formation, because doing so would further achieve the desired property of “excellent rust prevention properties” [P10; L600] as taught by Matsunaga.
Mano teaches polyol [0025] in the range of 3 to 30% by mass [0029] overlaps the claimed range, polyisocyanate compound [0025], but does not specifically teach the wherein the polyol mixture comprises a polyester polyol and a polyether polyol, and the isocyanate compound comprises a blocked isocyanate.
However, Nishioka teaches “polyethylene adipate, polybutylene adipate, poly-3-methylpentyl adipate” [0118]; “polyether polyols such as polypropylene glycol” [0159]; an isocyanate compound “blocked polyisocyanate compound (B)” [0103], in the range of “10 to 25% by mass” [0103] overlaps the claimed range.
Mano and Nishioka are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the urethane composites-based coating composition formation via polyol selection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have add the “polyol compound (D-1): polyether polyols; polyester polyols” [0159]; an isocyanate compound “blocked polyisocyanate compound (B)” [0103], in the range of “10 to 25% by mass” [0103] into the coating composition of Mano, because doing so would further achieve the desired property of “excellent rust prevention properties” [P10; L600] as taught by Matsunaga.
Mano teaches polyol [0025], but does not specifically teach the 10 to 25% by weight of the polyester polyol, an amount of about 5 to 15% by weight of the polyether polyol.
However, Li teaches hydroxyl component (B) comprises a polyester polyol and a polyether polyol, the polyester polyol accounts for from 30 to 65 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B), and the polyether polyol accounts for from 5 to 35 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B) [0027], which indicates the blending ratio range of polyester polyol to polyether polyol as 30/35 to 65/5, hence, overlaps the claimed range.
Mano and Li are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of the urethane composites-based coating composition formation via polyol selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have add the hydroxyl component (B) comprises a polyester polyol and a polyether polyol, the polyester polyol accounts for from 30 to 65 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B), and the polyether polyol accounts for from 5 to 35 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B) [0027] into the coating composition formation, because doing so would further achieve the suitability of the composition formation which further lead to the effective bonding substrates selectivity and further application [0064-65].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Mano teaches the isocyanate compound comprises “hexamethylene diisocyanate; isophorone diisocyanate” [0072-73]
Regarding claims 9, 10, 12, 14, Mano, Matsunaga, Nishioka, and Li collectively teach the composition and ranges as set forth in claim 1 above, Mano further teaches Pigment (carbon black) [0150] as additive, in the concentration of 4/(49.6+4+0.5+0.2+1.08+45.7+100)=1.98% [Ex. 1, Table 2, P9] lies in the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mano (US20210071030, herein Mano), Matsunaga (JP03203974, herein Matsunaga, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose), Li (US20200248053, herein Li) and Nishioka (US20200283639, herein Nishioka), as set forth above in the new rejection.
In this case, the new added reference Mano teaches polyurethane coating composition [0010] can be used for producing a coated product by a process of forming a coating film [0178], reads on the sealer application, comprising: polyol [0025]; polyisocyanate compound [0025]; dibutyltin dilaurate [0144] reads on the curing catalyst, ethyl acetate [0105] reads on the solvent.
Additionally, another newly added reference_ Li teaches hydroxyl component (B) comprises a polyester polyol and a polyether polyol, the polyester polyol accounts for from 30 to 65 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B), and the polyether polyol accounts for from 5 to 35 percent by weight of the total weight of the hydroxyl component (B) [0027], which indicates the blending ratio range of polyester polyol to polyether polyol as 30/35 to 65/5, hence, overlaps the claimed range, as set forth in the new rejection above, which can further lead to the the suitability of the composition formation which further lead to the effective bonding substrates selectivity and further application [0064-65] as taught by Li.
Correspondence
/Z. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767