DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 16 October 2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 11-21 are presented for examination.
Claims 3, 7, 9-10 and 22 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 16 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 17 and 19 under Futurewei NPL have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Futurewei NPL in view of Huang and further in view of Tidestav.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding Claims 1, 17 and 19, the Applicant argues:
(1) Further regarding claim 1, the cited references also fail to teach or suggest at least “receiving, from the cellular network, a first message indicating a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups, wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values; and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only on TCI state group; and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list;.” With regard to this feature, the Office Action acknowledges the deficiency of Furturewei and cites Huang at 0366, 0361-0362, 0281-299 and Fig. 14.
Huang at 0366/Fig. 14 shows “eight 1-bit fields (e.g., S0~S7)” where “Si indicates information of at least DL component, or UL component of one TCI state associated to the TCI state IDi,1 (associated to the (i+1)-th code-point of the TCI field). Preferably, SI indicates information of at least Dl (beam indication), or UL (beam indication) for the (i+1)-th code-point of the TCI field. Preferably, Si may indicate which component of the TCI state associated to the (i+1)-th code-point of the TCI field is used or applied.” In other words, Si indicates information about a DL or UL component of one TCI state. There are 8 of these Si fields to provide information about 8 different code-points of the TCI field. There is no suggest that any value of any Si field indicates that a codepoint is associated with “both” of two different groups from different lists as claimed.
Other cited paragraphs do not remedy the deficiency.
Huang’s 0361-362 both deal with DL or UL components of “one” TCI state. There is no suggestion of or relation to separate lists of TCI states as in claim 1.
Huang at 0281-288 describes information associated with “one code-point of a TCI field.” As is clear from the disclosure of Huang, these code points are not one bit fields; none of 0281-288 describe any value of any 1-bit field. Moreover, there is no relation to any lists of codepoints similar to claim 1.
Thus, for at least the above reasons, Applicant submits that the cited art fails to teach or suggest all the features and limitations of claim 1, and so it and its dependents are patentably distinct and non-obvious over the cited art, and are thus allowable. The other indepdnent claims include similar novel features and limitations, and they (as well as their dependents) are allowable for similar reasons. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested [Remarks, pages 8-10].
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In other words, Huang is brought in to cure the deficiencies of Futurewei NPL and Tidestav is to brought in to cure the deficiencies of Futurewei NPL and Huang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-12 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Futurewei et al (“Unified TCI Frameworks Extension for Multi-TRP”), hereinafter Futurewei NPL, in view of Huang et al (US 2022/0394548 A1), hereinafter Huang, and further in view of Tidestav et al (US 2024/0072982 A1), hereinafter Tidestav.
Regarding Claim 1, Futurewei NPL discloses a method, comprising:
by a user equipment (UE) (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; by a user equipment (UE)/UE):
receiving, from a cellular network, via a resource control (RRC) signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) (see Introduction, #2 and #7 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; receiving/downlink, from a cellular network/TRP, configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states/(multi-TRP states) associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs)/multi-TRP), the configuration comprising:
receiving, from the cellular network via the RRC signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via the RRC signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups of the plurality of TCI state groups comprising multiple TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (see Introduction, #2 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; receiving/downlink, from the cellular network/gNB, configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) comprising multiple TCI states/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) of the plurality of TCI states/(multiple DL and UL TCI states));
receiving, from the cellular network, a first message indicating a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; receiving, from the cellular network/gNB, a first message/DCI indicating/indication a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1);
determining, based on the first message, an association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining, based on the first message/DCI, an association between respective TCI codepoints/(one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1);
receiving, from the cellular network, a second message indicating a first TCI codepoint (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; receiving/downlink, from the cellular network/gNB, a second message/(DCI) indicating a first TCI codepoint/TCI codepoint DCI);
determining, based on the first TCI codepoint and the association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups, a first TCI state group (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining, based on the first TCI codepoint/(TCI codepoint) and the association between respective TCI codepoints/(TCI codepoints) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1), a first TCI state group/multiple TCI states); and
communicating with the cellular network via the plurality of TRPs using multiple TCI states of the first TCI state group (see Section 4 Conclusions; communicating with the cellular network/gNB via the plurality of TRPs/(multiple TRPs) using multiple TCI states/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) of the first TCI state group/multiple TCI states).
Although Futurewei NPL discloses a method as set forth above,
Futurewei NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list”.
However, Huang discloses a method, wherein:
the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields/(eight 1-bit fields), P (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; P/S0-S7), wherein respective 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 362 and 366; wherein respective 1-bit fields/Co-Cn), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), can be one of two values (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288, 361-362 and 366; can be one of two values/one or two components); and
a first value of a 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a first value of a 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with only one TCI state group/TCI state ID, uplink or dowlink); and
a second value of the 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a second value of the 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with both/downlink and uplink):
a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a first TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the first list/downlink (DL) component); and
a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a second TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the second list/uplink component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list” as taught by Huang in the system of Futurewei NPL to provide methods for ensuring, for a unified Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) framework, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) format for associating code-point of a TCI field, and a TCI state for separate Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL) TCI beam indication (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Huang).
Although the combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang discloses a method as set forth above,
The combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang does not explicitly disclose “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states”.
However, Tidestav discloses a method, comprising:
a first list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a first list comprising TCI states/DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states (see Figure 13 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states/one list with DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)); and
a second list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a second list comprising TCI states/UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states/one list with UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states” as taught by Tidestav in the combined system of Futurewei NPL and Huang to separate implicit update of activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) wireless communications (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Tidestav).
Regarding Claim 2, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein:
the first message comprises a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; the first message/DCI comprises a media access control (MAC) control element/MAC-CE); and
the second message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; the second message/DCI comprises a media access control (MAC) control element/MAC-CE).
Regarding Claim 4, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises a variable size media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising a variable number of TCI state groups (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; wherein the first message/DCI comprises a variable size/(M>1 and N>1) media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE)/MAC-CE comprising a variable number/multiple of TCI state groups/ multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1).
Regarding Claim 5, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the variable number of TCI state groups is or equal to 8 (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; wherein the variable number of TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) is equal to 8/8 2-bit fields).
Regarding Claim 6, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the first message does not include a plurality of 1-bit fields, P (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; wherein the first message does not include a plurality of 1-bit fields, P/M and N are both greater than 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein respective TCI state groups of the plurality of TCI state groups comprise TCI states (see Introduction, #2 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; wherein respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) comprise TCI states/(DL and UL TCI states and M>1 and N>1)) either:
from only the second list (see Section 4 Conclusion, proposal 3; from the second list/(coresetPoolIndex in the MAC CE) of uplink only TCI states/uplink).
Regarding Claim 11, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein:
the first message comprises a second plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 1; the first message comprises a second plurality of 1-bit fields/Figure 1 where it says use this bit to indicate if this TCI state is from DL/join or UL TCI pool), wherein according to the 1- bit field Pi (see Figure 1; wherein according to the 1- bit field Pi/Figure 1 shows the fields for the TCI state IDs), the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group, and according to a corresponding 1-bit field of the second plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 1; the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group, and according to a corresponding 1-bit field of the second plurality of 1-bit fields/Figure 1 shows the fields for the TCI state IDs); and
the corresponding 1-bit field of the second plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 1; the corresponding 1-bit field of the second plurality of 1-bit fields/Figure 1 where it says use this bit to indicate if this TCI state is from DL/join or UL TCI pool) takes one of:
a first value indicating that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group of the first list (see Figure 1; a first value indicating that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group of the first list/The bit indicates if this TCI sate is from DL/joint); or
a second value indicating that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group of the second list (see Figure 1; a second value indicating that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group of the second list/The bit indicates if this TCI sate is from UL TCI state).
Regarding Claim 12, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein:
the first message indicates an order of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Figure 1; the first message/DCI indicates an order of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/TCI state ID number as shown in Figure 1);
the method further comprises determining a first starting position in the order based on the first TCI codepoint (see Figure 1; the method further comprises determining a first starting position in the order based on the first TCI codepoint/the TCI state is either DL/joint or UL); and
an association between the first TCI codepoint and the first TCI state group (see Figure 1 Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; an association between the first TCI codepoint/(TCI codepoint) and the first TCI state group/TCI state group) comprises one of:
if a value of a 1-bit field, Pi, associated with the first TCI codepoint is the first value, then the first TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group at the first starting position only (see Figure 1; if a value of a 1-bit field, Pi, associated with the first TCI codepoint is the first value, then the first TCI codepoint is associated with a TCI state group at the first starting position only/TCI sate is UL TCI state pool); or
if the value of the 1-bit field, Pi, is the second value, then the first TCI codepoint is associated with the TCI state group at the first starting position and a TCI state group in a position immediately following the first starting position (see Figure 1; if the value of the 1-bit field, Pi, is the second value, then the first TCI codepoint is associated with the TCI state group at the first starting position and a TCI state group in a position immediately following the first starting position/TCI state is from DL/joint state pool).
Regarding Claim 17, Futurewei NPL discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; a processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory/UE contains a processor configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory) to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a cellular network via resource control (RRC) signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) (see Introduction, #2 and #7 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; receiving/downlink, from a cellular network/TRP, configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states/(multi-TRP states) associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs)/multi-TRP), the configuration comprising:
receiving, from the cellular network via RRC signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via RRC signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups of the plurality of TCI state groups comprising multiple TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (see Introduction, #2 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; receiving/downlink, from the cellular network/gNB, configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) comprising multiple TCI states/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) of the plurality of TCI states/(multiple DL and UL TCI states));
receiving, from the cellular network, a first message indicating a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; receiving, from the cellular network/gNB, a first message/DCI indicating/indication a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1), wherein:
determining, based on the first message, an association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining, based on the first message/DCI, an association between respective TCI codepoints/(one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1);
receiving, from the cellular network, a second message indicating a first TCI codepoint (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; receiving/downlink, from the cellular network/gNB, a second message/(DCI) indicating a first TCI codepoint/TCI codepoint DCI);
determining, based on the first TCI codepoint and the association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups, a first TCI state group (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining, based on the first TCI codepoint/(TCI codepoint) and the association between respective TCI codepoints/(TCI codepoints) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1), a first TCI state group/multiple TCI states); and
communicating with the cellular network via the plurality of TRPs using multiple TCI states of the first TCI state group (see Section 4 Conclusions; communicating/(via RC) with the UE/UE via the plurality of TRPs/(multiple TRPs) using multiple TCI states/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) of the first TCI state group/multiple TCI states).
Although Futurewei NPL discloses an apparatus as set forth above,
Futurewei NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list”.
However, Huang discloses an apparatus, wherein:
the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields/(eight 1-bit fields), P (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; P/S0-S7), wherein respective 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 362 and 366; wherein respective 1-bit fields/Co-Cn), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), can be one of two values (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288, 361-362 and 366; can be one of two values/one or two components); and
a first value of a 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a first value of a 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with only one TCI state group/TCI state ID, uplink or dowlink); and
a second value of the 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a second value of the 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with both/downlink and uplink):
a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a first TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the first list/downlink (DL) component); and
a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a second TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the second list/uplink component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list” as taught by Huang in the system of Futurewei NPL to provide methods for ensuring, for a unified Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) framework, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) format for associating code-point of a TCI field, and a TCI state for separate Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL) TCI beam indication (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Huang).
Although the combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang discloses an apparatus as set forth above,
The combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang does not explicitly disclose “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states”.
However, Tidestav discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a first list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a first list comprising TCI states/DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states (see Figure 13 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states/one list with DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)); and
a second list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a second list comprising TCI states/UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states/one list with UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states” as taught by Tidestav in the combined system of Futurewei NPL and Huang to separate implicit update of activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) wireless communications (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Tidestav).
Regarding Claim 18, Futurewei NPL discloses the apparatus, further comprising a radio operably coupled to the processor ((see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; a UE contains a radio or receiver and transmitters operably coupled to the processor).
Regarding Claim 19, Futurewei NPL discloses a method, comprising:
at a cellular network:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via a resource control (RRC) signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) (see Introduction, #2 and #7 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, Conclusion, first bullet; transmitting/downlink, from a user equipment (UE)/UE, configuration of a plurality of transmission control indication (TCI) states/(multi-TRP states) associated with a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs)/multi-TRP), the configuration comprising:
transmitting, to the UE via the RRC signaling (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; via radio resource control (RRC) signaling/RRC), configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups of the plurality of TCI state groups comprising multiple TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (see Introduction, #2 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; transmitting/downlink, to the UE, configuration of a plurality of TCI state groups, respective TCI state groups/( multiple DL and UL TCI states where N>1 and M>1) of the plurality of TCI state groups/( multiple DL and UL TCI states where N>1 and M>1) comprising multiple TCI states/(multiple DL and UL TCI states where N>1 and M>1) of the plurality of TCI states/(multiple DL and UL TCI states));
transmitting, to the UE, a first message indicating a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states; transmitting/downlink, to the UE/UE, a first message/DCI indicating/indication a subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1);
determining an association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining an association between respective TCI codepoints/(one TCI codepoint in DCI TCI field can indicate two different TCI states) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple DL and UL TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/multiple DL and UL TCI states when N=1, M=N=1 and M>1, N>1 and M>1 and N>1);
transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating a first TCI codepoint (see Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; transmitting/downlink, to the UE/UE, a second message/(DCI) indicating a first TCI codepoint/TCI codepoint DCI);
determining, based on the first TCI codepoint and the association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI state groups of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups, a first TCI state group (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states, under Activation and Indication of Multiple DL and UL TCI States; determining, based on the first TCI codepoint/(TCI codepoint) and the association between respective TCI codepoints/(TCI codepoints) and respective TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states) of the subset of the plurality of TCI state groups/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1), a first TCI state group/multiple TCI states); and
communicating with the UE via the plurality of TRPs using multiple TCI states of the first TCI state group (see Section 4 Conclusions; communicating/(via RC) with the UE/UE via the plurality of TRPs/(multiple TRPs) using multiple TCI states/(multiple TCI states where M>1 and N>1) of the first TCI state group/multiple TCI states).
Although Futurewei NPL discloses an apparatus as set forth above,
Futurewei NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list”.
However, Huang discloses an apparatus, comprising:
the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields/(eight 1-bit fields), P (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; P/S0-S7), wherein respective 1-bit fields (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 362 and 366; wherein respective 1-bit fields/Co-Cn), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), can be one of two values (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288, 361-362 and 366; can be one of two values/one or two components); and
a first value of a 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a first value of a 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with only one TCI state group/TCI state ID, uplink or dowlink); and
a second value of the 1-bit field (see Figure 14 and paragraph 366; a second value of the 1-bit field/(eight 1-bit fields), Pi (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 361-362 and 366; Pi/Co-Cn), indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 281-288 and 366; indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint/(code-point of a TCI field) is associated with both/downlink and uplink):
a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a first TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the first list/downlink (DL) component); and
a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list (see Figure 14 and paragraphs 284 and 366; a second TCI state group/(TCI state ID) comprising TCI states/(TCI state) from only the second list/uplink component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein: the first message comprises a plurality of 1-bit fields, P, wherein respective 1-bit fields, Pi, can be one of two values: and a first value of a 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that an i-th TCI codepoint is associated with only one TCI state group: and a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both: a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list; and a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list” as taught by Huang in the system of Futurewei NPL to provide methods for ensuring, for a unified Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) framework, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) format for associating code-point of a TCI field, and a TCI state for separate Downlink (DL)/Uplink (UL) TCI beam indication (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Huang).
Although the combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang discloses an apparatus as set forth above,
The combination of Futurewei NPL and Huang does not explicitly disclose “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states”.
However, Tidestav discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a first list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a first list comprising TCI states/DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states (see Figure 13 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states/one list with DL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)); and
a second list comprising TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; a second list comprising TCI states/UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)), wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states (see Figure 16 and paragraphs 33, 59 and 143; wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states/one list with UL TCI states (see provisional 63/132,040, Figure 13 and paragraphs 29, 32 and 107)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “a first list comprising TCI states, wherein the first list are exclusively downlink only TCI states” or “a second list comprising TCI states, wherein the second list are exclusively uplink only TCI states” as taught by Tidestav in the combined system of Futurewei NPL and Huang to separate implicit update of activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) wireless communications (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Tidestav).
Regarding Claim 20, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the first message comprises a variable size media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising a variable number of TCI state groups (see Figure 1 and Section 2 Indication of Multiple Dl and UL TCI states and Section 4 Conclusions; the first message/DCI comprises a variable size media access control (MAC) control element/(MAC-CE) comprising a variable number of TCI state groups/TCI states where M>1 and N>1).
Regarding Claim 21, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein a second value of the 1-bit field, Pi, indicates that the i-th TCI codepoint is associated with both:
a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list (see Figure 1; a first TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the first list/The bit indicates if this TCI sate is from DL/joint); and
a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list (see Figure 1; a second TCI state group comprising TCI states from only the second list/The bit indicates if this TCI sate is from UL TCI state).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futurewei NPL in view of Huang, and further in view of Tidestav, and further in view of Awoniyi-Oteri et al (US 2021/0076269 A1), hereinafter Awoniyi-Oteri.
Regarding Claim 13, Although the combination of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav does not explicitly disclose “wherein the second message comprises a downlink grant scheduling a downlink communication”.
However, Awoniyi-Oteri discloses the method, wherein the second message comprises a downlink grant scheduling a downlink communication (see paragraphs 135 and 143; wherein the second message/(second messages) comprises a downlink grant/(downlink grant) scheduling/scheduled a downlink communication/downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the egress flexible port includes a transmit protocol conversion module that inspects the packet received from the first flexible port” as taught by Awoniyi-Oteri in the combined system of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav to support error handling (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Awoniyi-Oteri).
Regarding Claim 14, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the communicating with the cellular network includes receiving the downlink communication (see Section 4 Conclusions; communicating/(via RRC) with the cellular network/gNB includes receiving the downlink communication/DCI).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futurewei NPL in view of Huang, further in view of Tidestav, and further in view of Aiba et al (US 2019/0215871 A1), hereinafter Aiba.
Regarding Claim 15, Although the combination of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav does not explicitly disclose “further comprising receiving a third message, separate from the second message, comprising a downlink grant scheduling a downlink communication”.
However, Aiba discloses the method, further comprising receiving a third message, separate from the second message, comprising a downlink grant scheduling a downlink communication (see paragraph 162; further comprising receiving a third message/(third message), separate from the second message/(there is only a third message), comprising a downlink grant/(downlink grant) scheduling/scheduled a downlink communication/DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “further comprising receiving a third message, separate from the second message, comprising a downlink grant scheduling a downlink communication” as taught by Aiba in the combined system of Futurewei NPL, Huang and Tidestav to improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency (see page 1, paragraph 5 of Aiba).
Regarding Claim 16, Futurewei NPL discloses the method, wherein the communicating with the cellular network includes receiving the downlink communication (see Section 4 Conclusions; communicating/(via RRC) with the cellular network/gNB includes receiving the downlink communication/DCI).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al (US 2023/0300824 A1) et al discloses Terminal, Radio Communication Method, and Base Station. Specifically, see Figures 4A and 4B and paragraphs 74-75.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469