DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on December 9, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15, and 17-19 have been amended. Claims 5 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/13/2025 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Faxer et al. (US 2020/0395989).
Regarding Claim 1, Faxer teaches a channel state information (CSI) report feedback method, applied to a terminal device and comprising:
obtaining a CSI report configuration and one or a plurality of CSI measurement resource groups corresponding to the CSI report configuration, wherein each CSI measurement resource group comprises one or more CSI measurement resources, each CSI measurement resource group comprises a channel measurement resource group, and each CSI measurement resource comprises a channel measurement resource (“Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement … , wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]; The CSI report configuration includes a first CSI resource set/group, wherein the first resource set is a channel measurement set comprising one CSI resource for channel measurement such that each CSI measurement resource group comprises a channel measurement resource group and each CSI measurement resource comprises a channel measurement resource);
generating a CSI report based on the CSI report configuration and the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups and reporting the CSI report (“The process includes measuring CSI based on the first and the second NZP CSI-RS resource sets (Block S140)” – See [0125]; “the CSI measurement comprises a channel measurement based on the first NZP CSI-RS resource set … In some embodiments, the method further includes reporting the measured CSI” – See [0160]; The UE performs CSI measurements using the configured first CSI resource set and transmits a CSI report including the CSI measurements),
wherein the CSI report comprises at least one of first CSI or second CSI; the first CSI is CSI obtained based on one CSI measurement resource, and the one CSI measurement resource belongs to one of the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups; and the second CSI is CSI obtained based on the N CSI measurement resources, wherein N is greater than 1, and the N CSI measurement resources belong to the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups, or the N CSI measurement resources respectively belong to N CSI measurement resource groups (“Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement … , wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]; The first CSI for channel measurement is based on only one CSI measurement resource, wherein the one CSI measurement resource belong to the first CSI resource set/group).
Regarding Claim 2, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 1. Faxer further teaches that one CSI measurement resource comprises one channel measurement resource, and the channel measurement resource comprises a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource or a synchronization signal block (SSB) resource (“a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement” – See [0123]; The channel measurement resource includes a CSI-RS).
Regarding Claim 3, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 2. Faxer further teaches that the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups are configured by using one CSI resource configuration associated with the CSI report configuration; or the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups are respectively configured by using a CSI resource configuration associated with the CSI report configuration and a CSI resource configuration associated with another CSI report configuration, and an association relationship between the CSI report configuration and the another CSI report configuration is configured or indicated by a network device (“M≥1 Resource settings” – See [0034]; “One or multiple CSI-RS resource sets selected from at least one Resource setting” – See [0045]; The plurality of CSI resource sets/groups may be specified using one resource setting (resource configuration) associated with the CSI report configuration).
Regarding Claim 4, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 1. Faxer further teaches that the generating a CSI report based on the CSI report configuration and the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups comprises: selecting N CSI measurement resources from the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups, wherein N is an integer greater than 0 and less than or equal to M, and M is a quantity of the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups; and generating the CSI report based on the N CSI measurement resources (“According to one embodiment, the configuring further includes configuring a third resource set of N CSI-IM resources” – See [0054]; “the method further includes, based on the indication, at least one of: accumulating measured interferences on each resource in the second CSI-RS resource set for a CSI estimation, and measuring interference on each resource in the second CSI-RS resource set and use the resource with the smallest measured interference for a CSI estimation” – See [0126]; “A second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement may include: {NZP CSI-RS #1, NZP CSI-RS #2, NZP CSI-RS #0}” – See [0143]-[0144]; The CSI report configuration may also specify a third CSI resource set/group. Thus, M being the quantity of the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups is equal to 3. A CSI for interference measurement may be based on N=3 CSI measurement resources when the second CSI resource set/group includes 3 CSI-RS resources (e.g., NZP CSI-RS #1, NZP CSI-RS #2, NZP CSI-RS #0). Thus, the number N of CSI measurement resources used for the CSI measurement is 3, which is greater than 0 and less than or equal to M).
Regarding Claim 7, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 1. Faxer further teaches that before the reporting the CSI report, the method further comprises: receiving indication information from a network device, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the terminal device to choose to report the first CSI or the second CSI; or the indication information is used to indicate a type of CSI comprised in the CSI report, and the CSI type comprises the first CSI, the second CSI, or both the first CSI and the second CSI (“Resource setting indication, quantity to be measured (either channel or interference)” – See [0042]; The CSI report configuration includes an indication of whether to transmit channel measurement CSI (first CSI) or interference measurement CSI (second CSI)).
Regarding Claim 8, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 7. Faxer further teaches that in the case that the indication information is used to indicate the terminal device to choose to report the first CSI or the second CSI: the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate the N CSI measurement resources, the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate P CSI measurement resources corresponding to the first CSI or the second CSI, the P CSI measurement resources belong to the N CSI measurement resources, P is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; and when P is equal to 1, the CSI report comprises the first CSI; or when P is greater than 1, the CSI report comprises the second CSI (“Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and a second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]; “at least the second CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement includes more than one CSI-RS resource for the interference measurement” – See [0124]; “In some embodiments, the CSI-RS resource indicator is a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), the CRI indicating at least one CSI-RS resource in at least one of the first CSI-RS resource set and the second CSI-RS resource set” – See [0104]; The CSI report may comprise a channel measurement CSI/first CSI. The report includes an indicator of the P resources used to measure the first CSI and N resources in the first and second CSI resource sets/groups, wherein the P CSI resources used to measure the first CSI belong to the N CSI measurement resources. In the case that the first CSI resource set/group includes on CSI resource, P=1. Thus, when P=1, the CSI report includes the first CSI for channel measurement).
Regarding Claim 9, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 7. Faxer further teaches that in the case that the indication information is used to indicate that the type of the CSI comprised in the CSI report is the first CSI: the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource, and the first CSI corresponds to the CSI measurement resource; or the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate the N CSI measurement resources, the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI, and the CSI measurement resource belongs to the N CSI measurement resources (“In some embodiments, the CSI-RS resource indicator is a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), the CRI indicating at least one CSI-RS resource in at least one of the first CSI-RS resource set and the second CSI-RS resource set” – See [0104]; If the report quantity indicated in the CSI report configuration indicates channel measurement (first CSI), the UE reports the channel measurement CSI (first CSI), wherein the report includes a CSI-RS resource index indicating the CSI resource used for the channel measurement (first CSI)).
Regarding Claim 10, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 7. Faxer further teaches that in the case that the indication information is used to indicate that the type of the CSI comprised in the CSI report is the second CSI: the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate the N CSI measurement resources, and the second CSI corresponds to the N CSI measurement resources; or the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate the N CSI measurement resources, the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate Q CSI measurement resources corresponding to the second CSI, the Q CSI measurement resources belong to the N CSI measurement resources, Q is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (“In some embodiments, the CSI-RS resource indicator is a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), the CRI indicating at least one CSI-RS resource in at least one of the first CSI-RS resource set and the second CSI-RS resource set” – See [0104]; “Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and a second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]; “at least the second CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement includes more than one CSI-RS resource for the interference measurement” – See [0124]; “A second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement may include: [0144] {NZP CSI-RS #1, NZP CSI-RS #2, NZP CSI-RS #0}” – See [0143]-[0144]; If the report quantity indicated in the CSI report configuration indicates interference measurement (second CSI), the UE reports the interference measurement CSI (second CSI), wherein the report includes a CSI-RS resource index indicating the N CSI resources used for the interference measurement (second CSI)).
Regarding Claim 11, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 7. Faxer further teaches that in the case that the indication information is used to indicate that the type of the CSI comprised in the CSI report is the first CSI and the second CSI: the CSI report comprises CSI measurement resource information and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate the N CSI measurement resources, the second CSI corresponds to the N CSI measurement resources, the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI, and the CSI measurement resource belongs to the N CSI measurement resources; or the CSI report comprises the CSI measurement resource information, first CSI measurement resource indication information, and second CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the first CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI, the second CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate P CSI measurement resources corresponding to the second CSI, the CSI measurement resource and the P CSI measurement resources belong to the N CSI measurement resources, and P is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N; or the CSI report comprises first CSI measurement resource information, second CSI measurement resource information, first CSI measurement resource indication information, and second CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the first CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate N1 CSI measurement resources, the second CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate N2 CSI measurement resources, the first CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI, the second CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate B CSI measurement resources corresponding to the second CSI, the CSI measurement resource belongs to the N1 CSI measurement resources, the B CSI measurement resources belong to the N2 CSI measurement resources, the N1 CSI measurement resources and the N2 CSI measurement resources belong to the N CSI measurement resources, a union of the N1 CSI measurement resources and the N2 CSI measurement resources is the N CSI measurement resources, N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and B is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N2; or the CSI report comprises first CSI measurement resource information, second CSI measurement resource information, and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the first CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate one CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI, the second CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate N3 CSI measurement resources, the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate B CSI measurement resources corresponding to the second CSI, N3 is an integer greater than 1, the B CSI measurement resources belong to the N3 CSI measurement resources, a union of the one CSI measurement resource and the N3 CSI measurement resources is the N CSI measurement resources, and B is an integer greater than 1 and less than or equal to N3 (“In some embodiments, the CSI-RS resource indicator is a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), the CRI indicating at least one CSI-RS resource in at least one of the first CSI-RS resource set and the second CSI-RS resource set” – See [0104]; “Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and a second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement, wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]; “at least the second CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement includes more than one CSI-RS resource for the interference measurement” – See [0124]; “A second NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement may include: [0144] {NZP CSI-RS #1, NZP CSI-RS #2, NZP CSI-RS #0}” – See [0143]-[0144]; The CSI report includes a CSI-RS resource index (CSI measurement resource information) and the measurement information, wherein the CSI-RS resource index indicates N CSI resources used to for the interference measurements (second CSI) and the CSI resource corresponding to the channel measurement (first CSI)).
Claims 12 and 17 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 14 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claim 15 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18, Faxer teaches the network device of Claim 17. Faxer further teaches that in a case of the transmitting, to a terminal device, a CSI report configuration and one or more CSI measurement resource groups corresponding to the CSI report configuration, the method further comprises: in the case that the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups are respectively configured by using a CSI resource configuration associated with the CSI report configuration and a CSI resource configuration associated with another CSI report configuration, configuring or indicating an association relationship between the CSI report configuration and the another CSI report configuration (“N≥1 CSI reporting settings, M≥1 Resource settings, and 1 CSI measurement setting, where the CSI measurement setting includes L≥1 links. Each of the L links may correspond to a CSI reporting setting” – See [0034]; “At least the following may be dynamically selected by Layer 1 (L1) or Layer 2 (L2) signalling, if applicable: One or multiple CSI reporting settings” – See [0045]; As shown above with respect to Claim 1, the plurality of CSI resource sets/groups are configured with the CSI report configuration. A plurality of CSI report settings/configurations may be indicated such that the CSI resource configuration is associated with a second (another) CSI report configuration, wherein an association relationship between the plurality is specified).
Regarding Claim 19, Faxer teaches the network device of Claim 17. Faxer further teaches that before the receiving a CSI report from the terminal device, the method further comprises: transmitting indication information to the terminal device, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the terminal device to choose to report first CSI or second CSI; or the indication information is used to indicate a type of CSI comprised in the CSI report, and the CSI type comprises the first CSI, the second CSI, or both the first CSI and the second CSI (“Resource setting indication, quantity to be measured (either channel or interference)” – See [0042]; The CSI report configuration includes an indication of whether to transmit channel measurement CSI (first CSI) or interference measurement CSI (second CSI)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (US 2020/0395989) in view of Qi (US 2021/0234662).
Regarding Claim 6, Faxer teaches the method of Claim 1. Faxer does not explicitly teach that a transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is any one of the following: non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT), single frequency network SFN, space division multiplexing (SDM), frequency division multiplexing (FDM), and time division multiplexing (TDM); and the transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is indicated by a network device or pre-agreed upon by the network device and the terminal device.
However, Qi teaches that a transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is any one of the following: non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT), single frequency network SFN, space division multiplexing (SDM), frequency division multiplexing (FDM), and time division multiplexing (TDM); and the transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is indicated by a network device or pre-agreed upon by the network device and the terminal device (“For UE's feedback to facilitate NCJT, a plurality of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and a plurality of CSI-interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources may be used” – See [0035]; “a UE may receive configuration information related to at least one CSI report from a BS (or at least two BSs associated with CoMP transmission of the UE). For example, the configuration information may be associated with a particular transmission mode, e.g., an NCJT mode or a CoMP mode” – See [0069]; The transmission mode for CSI interference measurement (second CSI) is NCJT, wherein the NCJT transmission mode is indicated by the base station (network device)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faxer such that a transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is any one of the following: non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT), single frequency network SFN, space division multiplexing (SDM), frequency division multiplexing (FDM), and time division multiplexing (TDM); and the transmission mode corresponding to the second CSI is indicated by a network device or pre-agreed upon by the network device and the terminal device. Motivation for doing so would be to enable the UE to provide CSI feedback that facilitates coordinated multipoint transmissions with a plurality of base stations (See Qi, [0004] and [0035]).
Regarding Claim 20, Faxer teaches the network device of Claim 19. Faxer further teaches that the CSI report comprises at least one of CSI measurement resource information and CSI measurement resource indication information, wherein the CSI measurement resource information is used to indicate N CSI measurement resources, and the CSI measurement resource indication information is used to indicate a CSI measurement resource corresponding to the first CSI or the second CSI (“In some embodiments, the CSI-RS resource indicator is a CSI-RS resource index (CRI), the CRI indicating at least one CSI-RS resource in at least one of the first CSI-RS resource set and the second CSI-RS resource set” – See [0104]; The CSI report may comprise a channel measurement CSI/first CSI. The CSI report includes a CSI-RS resource index for the second CSI resource set/group. The CSI report also includes a CSI-RS resource index for the first CSI resource set/group, which corresponds to the first CSI).
Faxer does not explicitly teach after the receiving a CSI report from the terminal device, the method further comprises: determining one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) based on the at least one of the CSI measurement resource information and the CSI measurement resource indication information; and performing resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the one or more TRPs.
However, Qi teaches after the receiving a CSI report from the terminal device, the method further comprises: determining one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) based on the at least one of the CSI measurement resource information and the CSI measurement resource indication information; and performing resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the one or more TRPs (“The precoding and resource allocation of the coordinating TRPs involving CoMP may depend on CSI acquired from a UE and feedback by the UE” – See [0042]; A plurality of TRPs are selected/allocated based on the CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Faxer to include after the receiving a CSI report from the terminal device, the method further comprises: determining one or more transmission reception points (TRPs) based on the at least one of the CSI measurement resource information and the CSI measurement resource indication information; and performing resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the one or more TRPs. Motivation for doing so would be to conduct efficient radio resource allocation at coordinating TRPs (See Qi, [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 12-14 of the remarks, Applicant agues in substance that Faxer does not teach “wherein the CSI report comprises at least one of first CSI or second CSI; the first CSI is CSI obtained based on one CSI measurement resource, and the one CSI measurement resource belongs to one of the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups; and the second CSI is CSI obtained based on N CSI measurement resources, wherein N is greater than 1, and the N CSI measurement resources belong to the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups, or the N CSI measurement resources respectively belong to N CSI measurement resource groups.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding the limitation “wherein the CSI report comprises at least one of first CSI or second CSI,” the Examiner interprets the limitation to be in alternative form due to the use of the term “or” with respect to the first CSI and second CSI. Accordingly, the claimed CSI report is interpreted as comprising “first CSI, [wherein] the first CSI is CSI obtained based on one CSI measurement resource, and the one CSI measurement resource belongs to one of the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups” or “second CSI, [wherein] the second CSI is CSI obtained based on N CSI measurement resources, wherein N is greater than 1, and the N CSI measurement resources belong to the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups, or the N CSI measurement resources respectively belong to N CSI measurement resource groups.”
As shown above in the rejection of Claim 1, Faxer teaches that the CSI report CSI comprises first CSI that is CSI obtained based on one CSI measurement resource, and the one CSI measurement resource belongs to one of the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups (“Network node 16 such as via processing circuitry 68 and/or processor 70 and/or radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60 is configured to transmit a configuration for CSI measurement including a first NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement … , wherein the first NZP CSI-RS resource set has only one NZP CSI-RS resource (Block S134)” – See [0123]). The first CSI for channel measurement is based on only one CSI measurement resource, wherein the one CSI measurement resource belong to the first CSI resource set/group.
Thus, since Faxer discloses at least one of the alternatives in “wherein the CSI report comprises at least one of first CSI or second CSI; the first CSI is CSI obtained based on one CSI measurement resource, and the one CSI measurement resource belongs to one of the one or plurality of CSI measurement resource groups; and the second CSI is CSI obtained based on N CSI measurement resources, wherein N is greater than 1, and the N CSI measurement resources belong to the plurality of CSI measurement resource groups, or the N CSI measurement resources respectively belong to N CSI measurement resource groups,” Claim 1 is anticipated by Faxer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. For example, Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2023/0053790) discloses a plurality of CSI measurement resource groups that are used for multi-TRP CSI reporting (Resource Groups 0, 1, …. , N-1 – See Fig. 3 and [0039]). Thus, N CSI measurement resource groups are provided. At least one resource from each of the N CSI measurement resource groups is measured and reported to a TRP (See [0057]). Thus, a CSI is obtained based on N CSI measurement resources, where the N CSI measurement resources belong to the N CSI measurement resource groups.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478