DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 02/26/2026.
Claims 1-23 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1,13, and 23 are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al ("Link Adaptation Based on Adaptive Modulation and Coding for Multiple-Antenna OFDM System" October 2008, hereinafter "Tan"), in view of Koo et al. (US 20160330099 A1, hereinafter “Koo”), in view of Yang et al (US 20210176657 A1, hereinafter “Yang”), in view of Song et al. (US-20130188630-A1, hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding Claim 1, Tan discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a receiver, a first transmission from a transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t0-t1 “Initial Data Frame”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter),
Tan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by a receiver, a first transmission from a transmitter, wherein the first transmission comprises at least one of a null data packet announcement (NDPA), a null data packet (NDP), or beamformed data;
calculating, by the receiver, a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission, for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index;
determining, by the receiver, that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold;
in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating, by the receiver, a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme; and
determining, by the receiver, whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold.
However, Yang discloses:
calculating, by the receiver, a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission (A receiving WLAN device can observe the link quality estimation sequence in the various spatial streams to determine one or more link quality metrics. The link quality estimation sequence is constructed to enable measurement of link quality metrics such as log-likelihood ratio (LLR), signal to noise ratio (SNR), signal to interference plus noise (SINR), error vector magnitude (EVM), bit error rate (BER), or block error rate (BLER). ¶0064), for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index (For example, the transmitting WLAN device may use a first selected MCS when sending one or more first packets. ¶0062; The test packet may be formatted as a MIMO transmission that includes one or more portions for link quality estimation in various spatial streams. ¶0064; The chart 701 in FIG. 7 shows example MCS options. The chart 701 shows fourteen MCS options (numbered MCS 0 to MCS 13), each having a different combination of modulation scheme and forward error correction (FEC) code rate (sometimes referred to as code rate). ¶0106, Fig. 7; One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. ¶0107, Fig. 7);
determining, by the receiver, that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold; (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7;)
in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating, by the receiver, a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7;); and
determining, by the receiver, whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7; The rate setting 812 may indicate a selected MCS option determined by the receiving WLAN device based on link quality metrics measured for a link quality estimation portion of a link adaptation test packet. ¶0108, Fig. 8A).
Tan and Yang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP);
Tan and Yang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP);
However, Song discloses:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP) (Referring to FIG. 9, in a first transmission period, an AP 910 transmits an NDPA message to MU-MIMO paired STAs 920 (step S911), and then transmits an NDP (step S912). The NDP frame is transmitted by performing beamforming. For example, among the STAs 920, beamforming can be performed such that one spatial stream is assigned to an STA1 and an STA2, and two spatial streams are assigned to an STA3. The STAs 920 transmit a feedback frame including MFB information in sequence to the AP 910 (step S913). ¶0105, Fig. 9: S911, S912; Each STA calculates a post signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) suitable for a detection and equalization scheme of a receiver. The detection and equalization scheme of the receiver may follow a method for receiver configuration such as a maximum likelihood (ML) receiver and a minimum mean-square error (MMSE) receiver. Subsequently, a packet error rate (PER) is estimated based on the SINR. The estimated PER and a target PER are compared to update MCS information, and the aforementioned process can be repeated based on the updated MCS to estimate an optimal MCS value. ¶0075);
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan, transmission of an initial data frame for link adaptation, with the teachings of Yang, measure the link quality of the first packet and determine transmitter feedback of a desired MCS by the receiver, with the teachings of Song, requesting modulation and coding scheme (MCS) feedback based on transmitting an NDPA followed by an NDP .
The motivation for doing so would have been to calculating link characteristics by link measurements at a receiving device based on measured link quality metrics. Based on those metrics, the receiving device determines a proposed change to the downlink MCS and transmits feedback to the transmitter. In doing so, fast link adaptation to improve throughput may be achieved towards a specific receiving device. (Tan: Abstract, Section III – C, Fig. 1b; Yang: Abstract, ¶¶0064, 0101, 107, 109, Fig. 7, 8b; Song: Abstract, ¶¶0007, 0008, 0016, 0018, 0021, 0075, 0105, Fig. 9)
Regarding Claim 2, Tan discloses wherein the calculating of the second estimated packet error rate comprises further calculating the second estimated packet error rate for the first number of spatial streams (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams).
Regarding Claim 3, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the second modulation and coding scheme has a second modulation and coding scheme index, the second modulation and coding scheme index being greater, by one, than the first modulation and coding scheme index ([0135] recites increasing the MCS index by 1).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the MCS adjustment method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 4, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses further comprising calculating a first estimated throughput, for the first modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams ([0101] recites calculating throughput based on the number of packets successfully received over time).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the throughput measurement of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a measure of the actual channel throughput.
Regarding Claim 5, Tan discloses wherein the first transmission is a transmission made using the first modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig. 1(b) t0-t1 “Initial Data Frame”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter with an initial channel configuration).
Regarding Claim 6, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses determining that the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold (Fig. 5 Item 515, [0138] recites determining whether the packet loss rate is less than a threshold)
and, in response to determining that the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated throughput, for the second modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig. 5 Item 517, [0135] recite increasing the MCS index by 1 and determining the resulting packet loss rate).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 7, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses determining that the second estimated throughput is greater than the first estimated throughput (Fig. 5 Item 523, [0137] recites determining whether the updated throughput is greater than the current throughput)
and in response to determining that the second estimated throughput is greater than the first estimated throughput, sending, by the receiver, to the transmitter, the second modulation and coding scheme as a suggested modulation and coding scheme (Fig. 5 Item 527, [0137] recites increasing the MCS index by 1 at the transmitter).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 8, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses determining that the second estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Fig. 6 Item 615, [0143] recites determining that the packet loss rate is greater than a threshold)
and in response to determining that the second estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold, calculating a third estimated packet error rate for a third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig.6 Item 619, [0145] recites determining the packet loss rate for the new MCS index)
the third modulation and coding scheme having a third modulation and coding scheme index, the third modulation and coding scheme index being less, by one, than the first modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 6 Item 617, [0144] recites reducing the MCS index by 1).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 10, Tan discloses receiving, by the receiver, a second transmission from the transmitter, the second transmission using a third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams, the third modulation and coding scheme having a third modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams)
calculating a third estimated packet error rate, for the third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams)
Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses determining that the third estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Fig. 6 Item 615, [0143] recites determining that the packet loss rate is greater than a threshold)
and in response to determining that the third estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold, calculating a fourth estimated packet error rate, for a fourth modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig.6 Item 619, [0145] recites determining the packet loss rate for the new MCS index)
the fourth modulation and coding scheme having a fourth modulation and coding scheme index, the fourth modulation and coding scheme index being less, by one, than the third modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 6 Item 617, [0144] recites reducing the MCS index by 1)
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 11, Tan discloses receiving, by the receiver, a second transmission from the transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter)
making a determination that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission: the number of spatial streams is less than the maximum supported number of spatial streams, the modulation and coding scheme is the maximum supported modulation and coding scheme, and the packet error rate is less than the threshold (Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams comprehending the maximum available)
and in response to making the determination, sending, by the receiver, to the transmitter, a second number of spatial streams, higher than the first number of spatial streams, as a suggested number of spatial streams (Fig. 1(b) t2-t3 shows feedback of the selected updated channel parameters “FB: MCS Y”).
Regarding Claim 12, Tan discloses receiving, by the receiver, a second transmission from the transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter)
determining that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission, the packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams)
and in response to determining that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission, the packet error rate is greater than the threshold, sending, by the receiver, to the transmitter, a third modulation and coding scheme as a suggested modulation and coding scheme, the third modulation and coding scheme having an index less than the first modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 1(b) t2-t3 “FB MCS Y”, Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams).
Regarding Claim 13, Tan discloses A receiver, comprising: receiving a first transmission from a transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t0-t1 “Initial Data Frame”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter),
Tan does not explicitly disclose:
a processing circuit; and
memory, operatively connected to the processing circuit and storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit, cause the receiver to perform a method, the method comprising:
wherein the first transmission comprises at least one of a null data packet announcement (NDPA), a null data packet (NDP), or beamformed data;
calculating a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission, for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial
streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index;
determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold;
in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme, and
determining whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold.
However, Yang discloses:
a processing circuit (Receiving WLAN device. ¶¶ 0032, 0116, 0138, Fig. 9B, 15B); and
memory, operatively connected to the processing circuit and storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuit, cause the]receiver to perform a method (Receiving WLAN device supporting link adaptation. ¶¶ 0032, 0116, 0138, Fig. 9B, 15B), the method comprising:
calculating a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission (A receiving WLAN device can observe the link quality estimation sequence in the various spatial streams to determine one or more link quality metrics. The link quality estimation sequence is constructed to enable measurement of link quality metrics such as log-likelihood ratio (LLR), signal to noise ratio (SNR), signal to interference plus noise (SINR), error vector magnitude (EVM), bit error rate (BER), or block error rate (BLER). ¶0064), for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index (For example, the transmitting WLAN device may use a first selected MCS when sending one or more first packets. ¶0062; The test packet may be formatted as a MIMO transmission that includes one or more portions for link quality estimation in various spatial streams. ¶0064; The chart 701 in FIG. 7 shows example MCS options. The chart 701 shows fourteen MCS options (numbered MCS 0 to MCS 13), each having a different combination of modulation scheme and forward error correction (FEC) code rate (sometimes referred to as code rate). ¶0106, Fig. 7; One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. ¶0107, Fig. 7); determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7;); and
in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7;),
determining whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7; The rate setting 812 may indicate a selected MCS option determined by the receiving WLAN device based on link quality metrics measured for a link quality estimation portion of a link adaptation test packet. ¶0108, Fig. 8A).
Tan and Yang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP);
However, Song discloses:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP) (Referring to FIG. 9, in a first transmission period, an AP 910 transmits an NDPA message to MU-MIMO paired STAs 920 (step S911), and then transmits an NDP (step S912). The NDP frame is transmitted by performing beamforming. For example, among the STAs 920, beamforming can be performed such that one spatial stream is assigned to an STA1 and an STA2, and two spatial streams are assigned to an STA3. The STAs 920 transmit a feedback frame including MFB information in sequence to the AP 910 (step S913). ¶0105, Fig. 9: S911, S912; Each STA calculates a post signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) suitable for a detection and equalization scheme of a receiver. The detection and equalization scheme of the receiver may follow a method for receiver configuration such as a maximum likelihood (ML) receiver and a minimum mean-square error (MMSE) receiver. Subsequently, a packet error rate (PER) is estimated based on the SINR. The estimated PER and a target PER are compared to update MCS information, and the aforementioned process can be repeated based on the updated MCS to estimate an optimal MCS value. ¶0075);
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan, transmission of an initial data frame for link adaptation, with the teachings of Yang, measure the link quality of the first packet and determine transmitter feedback of a desired MCS by the receiver, with the teachings of Song, requesting modulation and coding scheme (MCS) feedback based on transmitting an NDPA followed by an NDP .
The motivation for doing so would have been to calculating link characteristics by link measurements at a receiving device based on measured link quality metrics. Based on those metrics, the receiving device determines a proposed change to the downlink MCS and transmits feedback to the transmitter. In doing so, fast link adaptation to improve throughput may be achieved towards a specific receiving device. (Tan: Abstract, Section III – C, Fig. 1b; Yang: Abstract, ¶¶0064, 0101, 107, 109, Fig. 7, 8b; Song: Abstract, ¶¶0007, 0008, 0016, 0018, 0021, 0075, 0105, Fig. 9)
Regarding Claim 14, Tan discloses wherein: the calculating of the second estimated packet error rate comprises further calculating the second estimated packet error rate for the first number of spatial streams (Section II second paragraph recites a ‘link predictor’ mechanism to calculate Packet Reception Rate (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams).
Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the second modulation and coding scheme has a second modulation and coding scheme index, the second modulation and coding scheme index being greater, by one, than the first modulation and coding scheme index ([0135] recites increasing the MCS index by 1).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the MCS adjustment method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 15, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the method further comprises calculating a first estimated throughput, for the first modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams ([0101] recites calculating throughput based on the number of packets successfully received over time).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the throughput measurement of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a measure of the actual channel throughput.
Regarding Claim 16, Tan discloses wherein the first transmission is a transmission made using the first modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig. 1(b) t0-t1 “Initial Data Frame”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter with an initial channel configuration).
Regarding Claim 17, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining that the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold (Fig. 5 Item 515, [0138] recites determining whether the packet loss rate is less than a threshold)
and, in response to determining that the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated throughput, for the second modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig. 5 Item 517, [0135] recite increasing the MCS index by 1 and determining the resulting packet loss rate).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 18, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining that the second estimated throughput is greater than the first estimated throughput (Fig. 5 Item 523, [0137] recites determining whether the updated throughput is greater than the current throughput)
and in response to determining that the second estimated throughput is greater than the first estimated throughput, sending, to the transmitter, the second modulation and coding scheme as a suggested modulation and coding scheme ((Fig. 5 Item 527, [0137] recites increasing the MCS index by 1 at the transmitter).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 19, Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining that the second estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Fig. 6 Item 615, [0143] recites determining that the packet loss rate is greater than a threshold)
and in response to determining that the second estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold, calculating a third estimated packet error rate for a third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig.6 Item 619, [0145] recites determining the packet loss rate for the new MCS index)
the third modulation and coding scheme having a third modulation and coding scheme index, the third modulation and coding scheme index being less, by one, than the first modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 6 Item 617, [0144] recites reducing the MCS index by 1).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 20, Tan discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second transmission from the transmitter, the second transmission using a third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams, the third modulation and coding scheme having a third modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams)
calculating a third estimated packet error rate, for the third modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Section II second paragraph recites a ‘link predictor’ mechanism to calculate Packet Reception Rate (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams)
Tan fails to disclose but Koo discloses determining that the third estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Fig. 6 Item 615, [0143] recites determining that the packet loss rate is greater than a threshold)
and in response to determining that the third estimated packet error rate is greater than the threshold, calculating a fourth estimated packet error rate, for a fourth modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams (Fig.6 Item 619, [0145] recites determining the packet loss rate for the new MCS index)
the fourth modulation and coding scheme having a fourth modulation and coding scheme index, the fourth modulation and coding scheme index being less, by one, than the third modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 6 Item 617, [0144] recites reducing the MCS index by 1)
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan with the decision method of Koo.
The motivation for doing so would have been to make link adaptation management decisions.
Regarding Claim 21, Tan discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second transmission from the transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter)
making a determination that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission: a number of spatial streams is less than a maximum supported number of spatial streams, a modulation and coding scheme is a maximum supported modulation and coding scheme, and a packet error rate is less than the threshold (Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams comprehending the maximum available)
and in response to making the determination, sending, to the transmitter, a second number of spatial streams, higher than the first number of spatial streams, as a suggested number of spatial streams (Fig. 1(b) t2-t3 shows feedback of the selected updated channel parameters “FB: MCS Y”).
Regarding Claim 22, Tan discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second transmission from the transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t4-t5 “Data Frame MCS Y”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter)
determining that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission, a packet error rate is greater than the threshold (Section III.C. first paragraph recites a methodology for determining PER for a given MCS and spatial streams)
and in response to determining that, for each of the first transmission and the second transmission, the packet error rate is greater than the threshold, sending, to the transmitter, a third modulation and coding scheme as a suggested modulation and coding scheme, the third modulation and coding scheme having an index less than the first modulation and coding scheme index (Fig. 1(b) t2-t3 “FB MCS Y”, Section IV recites choosing an updated MCS with an updated number of spatial streams).
Regarding Claim 23, Tan discloses A system comprising: receiving a first transmission from a transmitter (Fig. 1(b) t0-t1 “Initial Data Frame”, Section II last paragraph recites receiving from a transmitter),
Tan does not explicitly disclose:
a processor; and
memory, operatively connected to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform a method, the method comprising:
wherein the first transmission comprises at least one of a null data packet announcement (NDPA), a null data packet (NDP), or beamformed data;
calculating a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission, for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index;
determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold;
in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams, and
determining whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold.
However, Yang discloses:
a processor (Receiving WLAN device. ¶¶ 0032, 0116, 0138, Fig. 9B, 15B); and
memory, operatively connected to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform a method (Receiving WLAN device supporting link adaptation. ¶¶ 0032, 0116, 0138, Fig. 9B, 15B), the method comprising:
calculating a first estimated packet error rate based on the first transmission (A receiving WLAN device can observe the link quality estimation sequence in the various spatial streams to determine one or more link quality metrics. The link quality estimation sequence is constructed to enable measurement of link quality metrics such as log-likelihood ratio (LLR), signal to noise ratio (SNR), signal to interference plus noise (SINR), error vector magnitude (EVM), bit error rate (BER), or block error rate (BLER). ¶0064), for a first modulation and coding scheme and a first number of spatial streams, the first modulation and coding scheme having a first modulation and coding scheme index (For example, the transmitting WLAN device may use a first selected MCS when sending one or more first packets. ¶0062; The test packet may be formatted as a MIMO transmission that includes one or more portions for link quality estimation in various spatial streams. ¶0064; The chart 701 in FIG. 7 shows example MCS options. The chart 701 shows fourteen MCS options (numbered MCS 0 to MCS 13), each having a different combination of modulation scheme and forward error correction (FEC) code rate (sometimes referred to as code rate). ¶0106, Fig. 7; One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. ¶0107, Fig. 7)
and in response to determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold, calculating a second estimated packet error rate, for a second modulation and coding scheme and the first number of spatial streams, and (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7;);
determining that the first estimated packet error rate is less than a threshold (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7; The rate setting 812 may indicate a selected MCS option determined by the receiving WLAN device based on link quality metrics measured for a link quality estimation portion of a link adaptation test packet. ¶0108, Fig. 8A).
determining whether the second estimated packet error rate is less than the threshold. (One or more thresholds may be used with the link quality metric to determine which MCS option to select. When the link quality metric below a first threshold then MCS 0 may be selected. When the link quality metric is above the first threshold and below a second threshold then MCS 1 may be selected. ¶0107, Fig. 7; The rate setting 812 may indicate a selected MCS option determined by the receiving WLAN device based on link quality metrics measured for a link quality estimation portion of a link adaptation test packet. ¶0108, Fig. 8A).
Tan and Yang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP);
However, Song discloses:
wherein the first transmission comprises a null data packet announcement (NDPA) and a null data packet (NDP) (Referring to FIG. 9, in a first transmission period, an AP 910 transmits an NDPA message to MU-MIMO paired STAs 920 (step S911), and then transmits an NDP (step S912). The NDP frame is transmitted by performing beamforming. For example, among the STAs 920, beamforming can be performed such that one spatial stream is assigned to an STA1 and an STA2, and two spatial streams are assigned to an STA3. The STAs 920 transmit a feedback frame including MFB information in sequence to the AP 910 (step S913). ¶0105, Fig. 9: S911, S912; Each STA calculates a post signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) suitable for a detection and equalization scheme of a receiver. The detection and equalization scheme of the receiver may follow a method for receiver configuration such as a maximum likelihood (ML) receiver and a minimum mean-square error (MMSE) receiver. Subsequently, a packet error rate (PER) is estimated based on the SINR. The estimated PER and a target PER are compared to update MCS information, and the aforementioned process can be repeated based on the updated MCS to estimate an optimal MCS value. ¶0075);
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan, transmission of an initial data frame for link adaptation, with the teachings of Yang, measure the link quality of the first packet and determine transmitter feedback of a desired MCS by the receiver, with the teachings of Song, requesting modulation and coding scheme (MCS) feedback based on transmitting an NDPA followed by an NDP .
The motivation for doing so would have been to calculating link characteristics by link measurements at a receiving device based on measured link quality metrics. Based on those metrics, the receiving device determines a proposed change to the downlink MCS and transmits feedback to the transmitter. In doing so, fast link adaptation to improve throughput may be achieved towards a specific receiving device. (Tan: Abstract, Section III – C, Fig. 1b; Yang: Abstract, ¶¶0064, 0101, 107, 109, Fig. 7, 8b; Song: Abstract, ¶¶0007, 0008, 0016, 0018, 0021, 0075, 0105, Fig. 9)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, in view of Koo, in view of Yang, in view of Song, in view of Eriksson et al (US 2012/0039207 A1, hereinafter "Eriksson").
Tan and Koo fail to disclose but Eriksson discloses wherein the calculating of the first estimated throughput comprises calculating the first estimated throughput based on an assumption about a degradation in channel quality due to aging of channel state information ([0010] recites improvements to applying age-based CQI compensation).
It would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tan, transmission of an initial data frame for link adaptation and calculation of PER, with the teachings of Koo, adjust MCS index by 1 based on link quality metrics with the teachings of Yang, measure the link quality of the first packet and determine transmitter feedback of a desired MCS by the receiver with the age-based CQI of Eriksson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to calculating link characteristics by link measurements at a receiving device based on measured link quality metrics. Based on those metrics, the receiving device determines a proposed change to the downlink MCS and transmits feedback to the transmitter. Channel variability also a link quality metric and an age-based compensation is applied to the channel quality feedback. In doing so, fast link adaptation and age-based link adaptation may be achieved towards a specific receiving device. (Tan: Abstract, Section III – C, Fig. 1b; Koo: Abstract, ¶¶0003, 0005, 0011-0014; Yang: Abstract, ¶¶0064, 0101, 107, 109, Fig. 7, 8b; Eriksson: Abstract, ¶¶0002-0003, 0006-0010, 0015-0016)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20130010632-A1 Wang et al.
FIG. 6 illustrates a channel sounding and feedback procedure in wireless system 600 in accordance with one novel aspect. Wireless system 600 comprises a transmitting device 601 and a receiving device 602. During the channel sounding and feedback process, transmitting device 601 sends a sounding announcement (e.g., null data packet announcement (NDPA) 603) followed by a sounding packet (e.g., null data packet (NPD) 604,) to receiving device 602. NPDA 603 is transmitted first to inform the intended receiving device (e.g., via STA INFO fields) and NDP 604 is then transmitted for the intended receiving device to estimate the channel. In NPD 604, the L-STF, L-LTF, L-SIG fields are used for setting up the protection field against legacy devices. Receiving device 602 then transmits a feedback packet 605 back to transmitting device 601. The feedback information includes channel quality information such as the average SNR, the estimated MCS, and possibly other channel quality metrics such as BER or mutual information.
US-20210194629-A1 Shellhammer et al.
In one aspect, the link adaptation protocol may be used to select a transmission rate option (such as a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)) for communications from a first WLAN device to a second WLAN device based on wireless channel conditions. a basic link adaptation message sequence may include the use of a link adaptation null data packet announcement (LA-NDPA) indicate that a test packet (which may be referred to as a link adaptation null data packet, LA-NDP) will follow the LA-NDPA. In some implementations, the LA-NDPA may indicate a format or type of feedback expected from the receiving WLAN devices. A receiving device may send feedback information in a link adaptation feedback (LA-FB) message in response to the LA-NDP. The techniques in this disclosure may be used in a link adaptation protocol for efficiently determining the transmission rate (such as an MCS) and other parameters for a communication link based on the conditions of a wireless channel. In some implementations, the link adaptation protocol may be referred to as a fast rate adaptation (FRA) protocol.
US 20130272209 A1 Merlin et al.
Link adaptation is supported in a multi-user MIMO environment. In some aspects, a frame including a transmission parameter request (e.g., a null data packet announcement (NDPA) including a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) request (MRQ)) specifies multiple destinations. In some aspects, a decision to transmit a frame specifying multiple destinations is based on whether all of destinations support providing feedback to such a frame. In some aspects, transmission parameter feedback (e.g., MCS feedback (MFB)) including channel estimate information is provided in a case where MFB of type MU is requested.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419