Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3, 5-6 and 8-14 remain in the application as withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lundberg (US 1,579,875). Lundberg discloses a press-fit structure and method comprising a body (1) with a pressurizing portion (6), a material storage space (2'), a restricting portion (7) and a limit stop portion formed as a flat side (10). The pressurizing and restricting portions are arc-shaped and on an opposite side from the flat limit stop portion (Fig. 5). An object (2) includes a stop portion corresponding to the limit stop portion (paragraph beginning line 91). The pressure portion is first arranged on a pressurizing portion of the object and then pressurizing the press-fit structure by an external force to cause the material of the object to flow into the storage space to restrict the object to the press-fit structure (paragraph beginning line 58). And a corner formed between the bottom of the body and the limit stop portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2018/0274265) in view of Ernest (US 3,770,037). Wang discloses a press-fit structure (114) and method comprising a body (116) with a pressurizing portion, a material storage space, a restricting portion and a limit stop portion formed as a flat side over a lower part of the body as defined by the pressurizing portion and restricting portion where the flat side extends over the entire lower part. The pressurizing and restricting portions are arc-shaped and on an opposite side from the flat limit stop portion. An object (a) includes a stop portion corresponding to the limit stop portion. The pressure portion is first arranged on a pressurizing portion of the object and then pressurizing the press-fit structure into the object. The object flow into the storage space is a recitation of the intended use which the structure of Wang would be capable of. See MPEP 2111.02. Additionally, Wang teaches to the object flow in another embodiment (Figs. 17 and 18) but it is unclear if the embodiment including the flat side includes the same object flow.
Wang does not disclose the limit stop portion extending from a bottom surface of the body to form a corner therewith. Ernest discloses a press-fit structure including a planer limit stop portion (67 or 68) similar to Wang but, in Ernest the limit stop portion forms a corner with a bottom surface of the body (62).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the body portion of Wang circular to form a corner with the limit stop portion as disclosed in Ernest because it would yield the same results. In Wang it is not critical that the planer limit stop portion extend to the body portion because body portion is located above the surface of the object.
Conclusion
Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
The deletion of the limitation that the limit stop portion is “throughout the lower part” makes the pervious rejection over Lundberg applicable again.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675