Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are currently pending;
Claim 3 is cancelled;
Claims 4-11 are withdrawn.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending Since the Office Action Dated 05/30/2025
The drawing objections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 1-3 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and have been replaced by a 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US-20180375094-A1), hereinafter He, in view of Kung et al. (US-20120288750-A1), hereinafter Kung.
Regarding claim 1, He teaches an anode active material included in an anode material of a battery ([0001]), the anode active material comprising, a silicon structure ([0001]), wherein the silicon structure includes: silicon nanoparticles (fig. 1 [0053] nano silicon core), a metal thin film formed in a core-shell structure on a surface of the silicon nanoparticles (fig. 1; [0053] metal alloy layer 3) to increase electrical conductivity of the silicon nanoparticles (it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art that a metal alloy layer would increase electrical conductivity; [0050]-[0051] high conductivity); and graphene deposited and coated on a surface of the metal thin film (fig. 1; [0053] conductive carbon layer 4; [0017] the carbon of the conductive carbon layer can include graphene) in an environment at a temperature of 25°C to 400°C ([0042] gives example of 320°C and 360°C), wherein the graphene prevents degradation of properties of the metal thin film, enhances mechanical strength, and prevents damage to the silicon nanoparticles due to a volume change of the silicon nanoparticles (these properties would be inherent to the graphene layer; [0051] the composite silicon anode material effectively reduces volume expansion of the nano silicon).
He fails to teach a carbon material and a silicon structure attached to the carbon material, wherein the carbon material is formed of graphene, activated carbon, or a composite of graphene and activated carbon.
Kung is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrode active material including silicon nanoparticles ([0015];[0021]).
Kung teaches a carbon material and a silicon structure attached to the carbon material, wherein the carbon material is formed of graphene, activated carbon, or a composite of graphene and activated carbon (fig. 1B; [0020]-[0021] graphene sheets mixed with silicon nanoparticles with the nanoparticles dispersed between graphene sheets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified He with the addition of a carbon material, wherein the silicon structure is attached to the carbon material such as in Kung. Doing so gives combined advantages of high electrical conductivity and structural stability of graphite with the flexibility of graphene as well as in the high Li ion storage capacity of the electrochemically active material (Kung [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, modified He teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. He also teaches that the metal thin film includes at least one or a combination of copper (Cu), nickel (Ni), iron (Fe), platinum (Pt), aluminum (Al), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), palladium (Pd), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), gold (Au), silver (Ag), molybdenum (Mo), rhodium (Rh), tantalum (Ta), titanium (Ti), tungsten (W), uranium (U), vanadium (V), zirconium (Zr), and iridium (Ir) ([0021] aluminum, titanium, nickel, iron, copper, manganese, cobalt).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722