DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-18, and 20-25 are pending, where claim 9 is the broadest claim.
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. In particular, this Application is the bypass application of an international application that was filed on 10 Feb 2020.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements, submitted on 13 Sept 2022, 17 Jan 2023, and 12 Jun 2023, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The Reply alleges the combination of Shan and Chen (used to reject claim 1) and the combination of Tooher and Liu (used to reject claim 9) fail to teach “non-reduced capability terminal device” involved in the paging configurations of the claimed invention. Reply, 9 (arguments directed to claim 9); see also id. at 8 (additional arguments directed to claim 1’s “reduced capacity terminal device”). In the Examiner’s understanding of both primary references, the need for two different paging cycles is dictated by the capabilities of each user terminal and/or the requirements of the system within which the user terminals operate.
Regarding claim 9, the terminal device in Tooher matches its DRX cycle to accommodate its paging cycle when using unlicensed spectrum. Non-final Act. at 7 (citing Tooher, ¶¶99, 150). The terminal device is a multi-mode WTRU that may communicate via New Radio (NR). Tooher, ¶49. According to the described invention, a “non-reduced capability UE” may be an “NR legacy UE.” Spec., ¶79. It is unclear how the WTRU of Tooher cannot be interpreted as being a “non-reduced capability UE” when it can also implement NR. As a result, the obviousness rejection of claim 9 is maintained.
Regarding claim 1, while the background of Sha discusses “bandwidth-reduced low-complexity UEs,” these UEs are not explicitly mentioned in Sha’s described invention. Sha, ¶5. Chen also teaches low-cost MTC UEs that have “limited bandwidth.” Chen, ¶3. And Chen teaches “regular UEs.” Chen, ¶31. For the low-cost UEs, the format of the DCI scheduling a paging message is different from the legacy DCI format. Chen, ¶45. The RA field of the DCI indicates “which narrowband is used for paging transmission” in Chen. Ibid. While implied, both Sha and Chen are not explicit on UEs having reduced bandwidth or antennas. As a result, Sun is now cited for teaching NR-light UEs and NR UEs, where NR-light UEs have “limited bandwidth and limited number of receiving antennas.” Sun, ¶¶150, 210. For paging, different RNTIs are used (like in Chen) to scramble the DCI for NR UEs and the DCI for NR-light UEs. Sun, ¶¶280, 282 and figure 12 (each DCI is scrambled by a different RNTI, which indicates a different PDSCH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 2, 17, 18, 20, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sha (US 20210058893) in view of Chen (US 20180139720) and Sun (US 20220264589).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Sha teaches a paging method performed by a network device and an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
sending first paging configuration information . . . corresponding to a first-type terminal device (Sha, ¶¶58-59 – BS broadcasts paging parameter configured according to a UE’s category through the SIB); and
sending second paging configuration information . . . corresponding to a second-type terminal device (Sha, ¶¶58-59 – broadcasted SIB reaches all UEs served by BS; Sha, ¶¶53, 84-85 – the multiple UEs may be of different categories [i.e. “types”]).
Sha does not explicitly teach (1) sending a “first paging downlink control information (DCI) . . . based on a radio transmission resource corresponding to the first-type terminal device, wherein the first paging DCI comprises an indication information set indicating whether at least one system information block (SIB) in a SIB group corresponding to the first-type terminal device changes, wherein the first-type terminal device is a non-reduced capability terminal device” or (2) sending a “second paging DCI . . . based on a radio transmission resource corresponding to the first-type terminal device, wherein the second paging DCI comprises second information for notifying the second-type terminal device to obtain updated system information or indicating that paging scheduling information is available for the second-type terminal device, and wherein the second-type terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device with reduced maximum transmission bandwidth or reduced quantity of antennas compared to the first-type terminal device.”
However, Chen teaches two paging DCIs – an SI or system information paging DCI and a call paging DCI. Chen ¶¶53, 75. Regarding (1), the SI-paging indicates which system information (SIB) will be updated for a group of low cost MTC UEs. Id. at ¶42. SI-paging includes a bitmap used to indicate which system information changes [i.e. indicating a “group” of possible SIs]). Chen, ¶¶42-43. Regarding (2), the call-paging is monitored by the group of idle UEs for setting up an RRC connection. Id. at ¶52. The call-paging DCI informs the idle UE that it is being paged (step 803) and indicates the paging information it should use for its scheduled RRC connection (step 804). Id. at ¶57 and figure 8. Regarding radio transmission resources for each group, Chen teaches the use of different P-RNTIs (P-RNTI 1 and P-RNTI 2) for different paging groups. Chen, ¶41. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use different paging occasions for separate DCIs, as taught by Chen, when executing the paging for the different devices, taught by Sha, in order to conserve UE power by allowing the UE to wake up only to receive required DCIs for its current state. Chen, ¶¶28, 42.
The combination of Sha and Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein the first-type terminal device is a non-reduced capability terminal device” or “wherein the second-type terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device with reduced maximum transmission bandwidth or reduced quantity of antennas compared to the first-type terminal device.” However, Sun teaches NR UEs and NR-light UEs where each type is allocated different PDSCH bearers using different RNTIs. Sun, ¶279. The different RNTIs enable a different paging configuration for NR-light UEs. Sun, ¶282. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use RNTIs for different paging groups, as taught the combination of Sha and Chen, when the different groups are based on NR or NR-light capabilities of the UE, as taught by Sun, in order to enable the base station to transmit PDCCHs of the PDSCHs indicating system information for the NR-light UEs at different time-frequency resources than NR UEs. Ibid.; see also id. at ¶131 for different DRX cycles for paging.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, the combination of Sha, Chen, and Sun also teaches the first-type terminal device and the second-type terminal device has different maximum transmission bandwidth, transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, quantity of antennas, or standby time. Sha, ¶56, 83 (UEs of different categories may have different maximum transmit power and/or other restrictions); Sha, ¶71 (UE capability may be a restriction on the UE); Sha, ¶83 (restriction may be on paging cycle [standby time], number of paging resources, paging carrier, or a narrowband [maximum bandwidth] limitation); Sun, ¶¶150, 210.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the combination of Sha, Chen, and Sun teaches sending first information indicating a SIB group corresponding to the second-type terminal device. Sun, ¶279 (SIB1 transmitted for NR UEs, while SIB-1-NL is transmitted for NR-light UEs); Sun, ¶280 (NR-light UEs receive SI-RNTI2 to decode DCI2, which indicates PDSCH2, which carries SIB1-NL).
Regarding claims 21 and 25, the combination of Sha, Chen, and Sun also teaches sending fourth information indicating that there is third paging DCI, on a paging occasion (PO), notifying the second-type terminal device to obtain the updated system information or indicate that there is the paging scheduling information for the second-type terminal device. Chen, ¶¶52-53 (SI-paging DCI is transmitted in SI-paging PO and informs all UEs of a system information update).
Claims 9, 13-16, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Tooher (US 20210176710) in view of Liu (US 20220394663).
Regarding claim 9, Tooher teaches a paging method performed by a second-type terminal device, comprising:
receiving first paging configuration information corresponding to the first-type terminal device (Tooher, ¶¶163-165 – WTRU is configured with multiple paging parameters regarding its DRX cycle; Tooher, ¶¶99, 150 – WTRU is a DRX-enabled device and configured to match its DRX cycle to paging occasions),
wherein the first-type terminal device is a non-reduced capability terminal device (Tooher, ¶49 – WTRU is an NR device, which based on the disclosure appears to constitute a non-reduced capability UE);
receiving first paging downlink control information (DCI) based on the first paging configuration information (Tooher, ¶¶151, 164-165 – WTRU receive DCI with paging information based on matching its DRX cycle to paging occasions) and a radio transmission resource corresponding to the first-type terminal device (Tooher, ¶¶105, 107 – DRX-enabled WTRUs monitor common search spaces to receive DCI),
wherein the first paging DCI comprises first information corresponding to the first-type terminal device . . . (Tooher, ¶170 – a bit in the DCI indicates the activation or deactivation of a paging occasion), and
wherein the first information indicates that paging schedule information is available for first-type terminal device. Tooher, ¶¶150,158 (a signal, such as paging DCI, enables WTRU to determine future paging occasions when the WTRU is in idle mode and operating with an adaptive DRX cycle).
Tooher does not explicitly teach an DCI comprising “an indication information set indicating whether at least one system information block (SIB) in a SIB group corresponding to the first-type terminal device changes.” However, Liu teaches a paging DCI that informs the terminal that system information has changed. Liu, ¶44. There are multiple system informations (i.e. a group) in Liu. Id. at ¶¶45, 73. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to inform the DRX-enabled terminal devices, taught by Tooher, of a change in system information using the paging DCI, taught by Liu, in order to inform the terminal device of a modification to the eDRX. Id. at ¶¶23, 45.
Regarding claim 13, Tooher teaches wherein the first paging DCI is carried on a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Tooher, ¶104 – WTRU monitors PDCCH occasions to receive DCI), but does not explicitly teach “wherein the first PDCCH is scrambled by using a first paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) corresponding to the first-type terminal device, wherein a format of the first paging DCI corresponds to the first-type terminal device, and wherein the first information is indicated by using a reserved field.” However, Liu teaches a paging DCI, carried in a PDCCH, that is scrambled by a P-RNTI. Liu, ¶34. Liu also teaches a paging DCI that includes reserved bits for carrying an indication. Id. at e.g. ¶¶57, 74. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use an RNTI, as taught Liu, to scramble the PDCCH, taught by Tooher, in order to enable the UE categories to identify the paging resources intended for it. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement reserved bits, as taught by Liu, within the paging DCI, taught by Tooher, in order to simplify the UE’s decoding of the DCI, such that the conditional PO or PF indication of Tooher is in a constant location within the paging DCI.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tooher and Liu also teaches wherein the first paging configuration information further comprises second information indicating a radio transmission resource corresponding to a terminal device (Tooher, ¶170 – bit in DCI indicates activation or deactivation of a conditional PO/PF [for which the WTRU will have to be awake]; Tooher, ¶171 – activation of PO/PF is based on time), and wherein the radio transmission resource comprises one or more of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a code domain resource. Tooher, figure 2 (time resource).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tooher and Liu also teaches wherein the radio transmission resource comprises: a search space, a control resource set (CORESET) or a P-RNTI. Liu, ¶¶36, 43 (a P-RNTI identifying the transmission resources for a paging message). At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use an RNTI, as taught by Liu, to define the time resources used for paging, as taught by Tooher, in order to enable WTRUs to identify the paging resources intended for them.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tooher and Liu also teaches receiving the first paging DCI based on a radio transmission resource corresponding to the first paging configuration information. Tooher, ¶¶151, 164-165 (WTRU receive DCI on the time resources that match its DRX cycle to paging occasions).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tooher and Liu also teaches wherein the first paging configuration information further comprises third information indicating a radio transmission resource corresponding to a terminal device, and wherein the radio transmission resource comprises one or more of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a code domain resource. Liu, ¶¶100, 125 (paging DCI can include either frequency domain allocation information field or time domain allocation information field).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Tooher and Liu also teaches receiving fourth information indicating that there is fifth paging DCI, on a paging occasion (PO), notifying the first-type terminal device to obtain updated system information or indicate that there is the paging scheduling information for the second-type terminal device. Tooher, ¶155 (WTRU receives DCI for SI transmission during PO); Tooher, ¶166 (WTRU receives a signal prior to the PO, activating the PO of the WTRU to monitor it to receive the DCI in the activated PO); Liu, ¶37 (paging DCI in first PO notifies terminal that system information has changed [i.e. updated]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tooher in view of Liu (both of record) and further in view of He (US 20210068074).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tooher and Liu taches the method of claim9, but does not explicitly teach “receiving first information indicating a SIB group corresponding to the first-type terminal device.” However, He teaches either a bit or bit group in a paging DCI that is used to indicate an update to one or more SIB groups. He, ¶32. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to update the SIBs, as taught by He, for the DRX-enabled WTRUs, taught by the combination of Tooher and Liu, in order to modify the SIB configurations only for a subset of device (e.g. those with coverage restrictions).
Claims 6-8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha (US 20210058893) in view of Chen and Sun (both of record) and Liu (US 20220394663).
Regarding claims 6, the combination of Sha, Chen, and Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, and wherein the second paging DCI is carried on a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Chen, ¶53 – call-paging DCI is carried within the MPDCCH), but does not explicitly teach “wherein the first PDCCH is scrambled by using a first paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) corresponding to the second-type terminal device, wherein a format of the second/fifth paging DCI corresponds to the second-type terminal device, and wherein the second/fifth information is indicated by using a reserved field.” However, Liu teaches a paging DCI, carried in a PDCCH, that is scrambled by a P-RNTI. Liu, ¶34. Liu also teaches a paging DCI that includes reserved bits for carrying an indication. Id. at e.g. ¶¶57, 74. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use an RNTI, as taught Liu, to scramble the PDCCH, taught by the combination of Sha, Chen, and Sun, in order to enable the UE categories to identify the paging resources intended for it. At the time of the invention (pre-AIA ) or at the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement reserved bits, as taught by Liu, within the paging DCI, taught by the combination of Sha and He, in order to simplify the UE’s decoding of the DCI, such that is SIB update indicator is a constant location within the paging DCI.
Regarding claim 7 and 24, the combination of Sha, Chen, Sun, and Liu also teaches wherein the second paging configuration information further comprises third information indicating a radio transmission resource corresponding to a terminal device, and wherein the radio transmission resource comprises one or more of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a code domain resource. Liu, ¶¶100, 125 (paging DCI can include either frequency domain allocation information field or time domain allocation information field).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sha, Chen, Sun, and Liu also teaches wherein the radio transmission resource comprises: a search space, a control resource set (CORESET) or a P-RNTI. Liu, ¶¶36, 43 (P-RNTI identifies the transmission resources used for paging message [i.e. paging DCI]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include paragraph 71 of Selvaganathy, paragraph 39 of Tang, paragraphs 64-66 and 96 of Katagiri, and figure 4 and paragraphs 87-88 of Qiu.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Lamont/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461