DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has canceled claims 7 and 14 and added claims 23, 24 on 08/14/2025 and canceled claims 12, 17, 21, 22 previously on 12/24/2024.
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection:
101 Rejection has been withdrawn based on the amendments.
Double Patenting Rejection:
Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn based on the amendments.
103 Rejection:
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Cosby does not teach “identifying, by a computer system, a plurality of subscribing applications that subscribe to a data dimension, and wherein each subscribing application in the plurality of subscribing applications stores a copy of the data dimension in an application storage of the computer system that is associated with the subscribing application”, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner cites that Cosby teaches “identifying, by a computer system, a plurality of subscribing applications that subscribe to a data dimension” in paragraphs [0034, [0034, A hierarchy is a model for defining the relationships between pieces of reference data. Hierarchies are also referred to as dimensions], [0050, Hierarchy management program 520 can pull data from and push data to the subscribing systems (e.g., financial system 502, financial system 504, reporting system 506, and ETL system 510).], [0058, This can be done, for example, through the use of hierarchy analysis tools. At step 534, the user can make the hierarchy change in a centralized hierarchy corresponding to the subscribing system for which it was determined a hierarchy change should be made], [0059, the centralized hierarchies exported (step 546) to the respective subscribing systems in which the change is not already reflected] which describes that the subscribing application i.e. financial system is identified to import the changes, the subscribing applications are subscribed to a data dimension i.e. Hierarchies),
Cosby also teaches “wherein the data dimension is shared by the plurality of subscribing applications” in paragraph [0035, The hierarchy management program can publish the centralized hierarchies to subscribing systems for use by the subscribing systems in managing data of interest] which describes that the subscribing applications uses data from the hierarchies (data dimensions)),
Cosby further teaches “wherein each subscribing application in the plurality of subscribing applications stores a copy of the data dimension in an application storage of the computer system that is associated with the subscribing application” in paragraphs [0050, Hierarchy management program 520 can pull data from and push data to the subscribing systems (e.g., financial system 502, financial system 504, reporting system 506, and ETL system 510). Hierarchies can be published to subscribing systems in readily loadable formats specific to the particular subscribing system], [0059, If the change is valid across the centralized hierarchies maintained by the hierarchy management program, the centralized hierarchies exported (step 546) to the respective subscribing systems in which the change is not already reflected], which describes that each subscribing system has its own storage to store data and the changes of data from the hierarchies. Therefore, Cosby teaches the above cited limitation.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Cosby does not teach that “the data dimension is retrieved from the hierarchical master data store”, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Cosby teaches in paragraph [0034, A hierarchy is a model for defining the relationships between pieces of reference data. Hierarchies are also referred to as dimensions], [0038, Hierarchy management program 220 can maintain a master set of reference data in a data repository 221 representing the hierarchical reference data used by source data management systems 202. Hierarchy management program 220 can, from the master set of reference data, instantiate centralized hierarchies and publish the centralized hierarchies to systems 202], [0049, Master set of reference data 522 can include a copy of all the pieces of reference data being managed by hierarchy management system 514. Thus master set of reference data 522 can maintain copies of data for hierarchy 400, hierarchy 444 and hierarchy 508.], the master set of reference data includes hierarchy and stores reference data/properties/relationships data for hierarchies and the data are retrieved (hierarchy data (data dimension) is retrieved from the master set of reference data). Therefore, Cosby teaches the above cited limitation.
For new limitation “upon determining that a number of subscribing applications in the plurality of subscribing applications is greater than a threshold, performing processing comprising: importing the data dimension into a hierarchical master data store of the computer system, deleting the data dimension from the application storage of each application of the plurality of subscribing applications, and updating subscriptions of the plurality of subscribing applications; receiving, by the computer system and from a first application in the plurality of subscribing applications, a first request to update data within the data dimension”, new references are cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, 15, 16, 18-20, 23, 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The independent claims 1, 8 and 15 recites “upon determining that a number of subscribing applications in the plurality of subscribing applications is greater than a threshold” and instant specification paragraph [0069] describes “if the hierarchy management system130 determines that a particular data dimension or hierarchy maintained by a first application121 is being shared, copied, or subscribed to by more than threshold number of other external applications120”; instant specification discuses counting number of external application’s subscriptions to a specific data dimension or hierarchy and comparing it to a threshold and the claim requires counting a number of subscribing applications in the plurality of subscribing applications greater than a threshold. Therefore, the claim lacks support.
The dependent claims depend from the independent claims and they are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13, 15, 16, 18-20, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims 1, 8, 15 lack support from the specification, therefore, it is unclear what is meant by the claims. For the purpose of the examination, it is interpreted as counting subscribing applications and comparing it to a threshold.
The dependent claims depend from the independent claims and they are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 15, 19, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosby et al. (US 2008/0109458) and in view of Angermayer (US 2017/0185241) and in view of Quoc et al. (US 2007/0198363) and in view of Campbell et al. (US 2014/0344129).
With respect to claim 1, Cosby teaches a method comprising:
identifying, by a computer system, a plurality of subscribing applications that subscribe to a data dimension ([0034, [0034, A hierarchy is a model for defining the relationships between pieces of reference data. Hierarchies are also referred to as dimensions], [0050, Hierarchy management program 520 can pull data from and push data to the subscribing systems (e.g., financial system 502, financial system 504, reporting system 506, and ETL system 510).], [0058, This can be done, for example, through the use of hierarchy analysis tools. At step 534, the user can make the hierarchy change in a centralized hierarchy corresponding to the subscribing system for which it was determined a hierarchy change should be made], [0059, the centralized hierarchies exported (step 546) to the respective subscribing systems in which the change is not already reflected], the subscribing application i.e. financial system is identified to import the changes, the subscribing applications are subscribed to a data dimension i.e. Hierarchies), wherein the data dimension is shared by the plurality of subscribing applications ([0035, The hierarchy management program can publish the centralized hierarchies to subscribing systems for use by the subscribing systems in managing data of interest], the subscribing applications uses data from the hierarchies (data dimensions)), and wherein each subscribing application in the plurality of subscribing applications stores a copy of the data dimension in an application storage of the computer system that is associated with the subscribing application ([0050, Hierarchy management program 520 can pull data from and push data to the subscribing systems (e.g., financial system 502, financial system 504, reporting system 506, and ETL system 510). Hierarchies can be published to subscribing systems in readily loadable formats specific to the particular subscribing system], [0059, If the change is valid across the centralized hierarchies maintained by the hierarchy management program, the centralized hierarchies exported (step 546) to the respective subscribing systems in which the change is not already reflected], each subscribing system has its own storage to store data and the changes of data from the hierarchies);
importing the data dimension into a hierarchical master data store of the computer system ([0051, This change can be imported by hierarchy management program 520 to the master set of reference data], [0049, Database 516 can include a master set of reference data 522. Master set of reference data 522 can include a copy of all the pieces of reference data being managed by hierarchy management system 514. Thus master set of reference data 522 can maintain copies of data for hierarchy 400, hierarchy 444 and hierarchy 508], the changes of a hierarchical data is imported to a master reference data (master data store)),
so that, for each application of the plurality of subscribing applications, the data dimension is retrieved from the hierarchical master data store ([0034, [0034, A hierarchy is a model for defining the relationships between pieces of reference data. Hierarchies are also referred to as dimensions],], [0038, Hierarchy management program 220 can maintain a master set of reference data in a data repository 221 representing the hierarchical reference data used by source data management systems 202. Hierarchy management program 220 can, from the master set of reference data, instantiate centralized hierarchies and publish the centralized hierarchies to systems 202], [0049, Master set of reference data 522 can include a copy of all the pieces of reference data being managed by hierarchy management system 514. Thus master set of reference data 522 can maintain copies of data for hierarchy 400, hierarchy 444 and hierarchy 508.], the master set of reference data includes hierarchy and stores reference data/properties/relationships of data hierarchies and the data are retrieved);
updating, by the computer system, the data within the data dimension in the hierarchical master data store ([0051, Returning to the example of adding a "NewCost" cost center to the "DE3" cost center group in hierarchy 444, the new cost center can be added to hierarchy 444 at financial system 504. This change can be imported by hierarchy management program 520 to the master set of reference data], the master set of reference data (master data store) is updated by the computer system).
Cosby does not explicitly teach upon determining that a number of subscribing applications in the plurality of subscribing applications is greater than a threshold, performing processing comprising: importing the data dimension into a hierarchical master data store of the computer system; deleting the data dimension from the application storage of each application of the plurality of subscribing applications, and
updating subscriptions of the plurality of subscribing applications
However, Angermayer teaches upon determining that a number of subscribing applications in the plurality of subscribing applications is greater than a threshold, performing processing comprising: importing the data dimension into a hierarchical master data store of the computer system (fig. 9B, [0079, FIG. 9B, the custom copy module 218 determines whether the copying of the selected object would result in exceeding this history threshold (Operation 922). Where the history threshold would be met or exceeded (e.g., the “Yes” branch of Operation 922), the custom copy module 218 removes the earliest copied object and/or reference to the copied object from the history (Operation 924], [0079, the custom copy module 218 ads the copied object and/or reference to the copied object to the history of copied objects (Operation 926)], determining that the number of copies are exceeded and the copies are added to the history, Cosby teaches data dimensions, hierarchical master data store and subscribing applications in paragraph [0049, 0051]);
deleting the data dimension from the application storage of each application of the plurality of subscribing applications (fig. 9B, [0079, FIG. 9B, the custom copy module 218 determines whether the copying of the selected object would result in exceeding this history threshold (Operation 922). Where the history threshold would be met or exceeded (e.g., the “Yes” branch of Operation 922), the custom copy module 218 removes the earliest copied object and/or reference to the copied object from the history (Operation 924], [0079, the custom copy module 218 ads the copied object and/or reference to the copied object to the history of copied objects (Operation 926)], determining that the number of copies are exceeded and the old copies are deleted, Cosby teaches data dimensions, hierarchical master data store in paragraph [0034, 0049, 0051]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating the functionalities of Angermayer i.e. deleting importing based on threshold into the system of Cosby to have a system which will import data based on a threshold and also delete data based on a threshold which are not needed. Cosby and Angermayer are analogous arts because each art teaches importing, updating data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating functionalities of Angermayer into the system of Cosby to threshold-based data import and deletion. The motivation would be to improve the storage system to have reduced redundant storage, improve consistency of the data and also to improve hierarchy management (Angermayer, [0031, The technical benefit provided by this disclosure is that a mobile device is enhanced to provide a contextual history of objects that may be pasted by the user, which reduces the amount of time a user would ordinarily spend in having to re-copy objects previously copied]).
Cosby and Angermayer do not in combination explicitly teach updating subscriptions of the plurality of subscribing applications
However, Quoc teaches updating subscriptions of the plurality of subscribing applications ([0198, Based on a comparison of a popularity index 1410 with a threshold, a subscription may be modified 1412. In the embodiment shown, the popularity index is compared to the threshold 1410 and, if the popularity index is determined to be greater than the threshold, a subscription is modified 1412], the updating of subscription information based on exceeding a threshold).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating the functionalities of Quoc i.e. updating subscription information based on threshold into the system of Cosby to have a system which will update information of subscription data of applications based on a threshold to modify data properly. Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc are analogous arts because each art teaches updating data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating functionalities of Quoc into the system of Cosby/Angermayer to threshold-based data updates. The motivation would be to optimize system performance, reduce redundant updates and improve consistency of the data (Quoc, [0131, the cataloging engine 700 may provide a means of efficiently searching and retrieving bit prints]).
Cosby, Angermayer and Quoc do not explicitly teach receiving, by the computer system and from a first application in the plurality of subscribing applications, a first request to update data within the data dimension.
However, Campbell teaches receiving, by the computer system and from a first application in the plurality of subscribing applications, a first request to update data within the data dimension ([0080, the subscribing application server 24 may send a request for an entitlement update after the network interface receives a service request and/or at a schedule time], the subscribing applications sends a request to update data, Cosby teaches data dimension is paragraph [0034, 0050, 0051]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating the functionalities of Campbell i.e. sending updating request from the subscription application into the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc to have a system which will update information of subscription data of applications based on a request. Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc, Campbell are analogous arts because each art teaches updating data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to incorporating functionalities of Campbell into the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc to have request to update data. The motivation would be to improve data consistency, system robustness and fault recovery (Campbell, [0004, In order to ensure efficient updating of the database, banks group related services]).
With respect to claim 5, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 1, Cosby teaches wherein data hierarchies associated each of the plurality of subscribing applications each have an associated set of data rules and validations applicable to their respective data hierarchies ([0035, From the master set of reference data, the hierarchy management program can instantiate centralized hierarchies, validate changes to the centralized hierarchies and enforce business rules with respect to the centralized hierarchies. The hierarchy management program can publish the centralized hierarchies to subscribing systems for use by the subscribing systems in managing data of interest… Additionally, business rules, validations and other process can be easily applied across hierarchies], each hierarchies has its rules and validations).
Claim 8 encompasses the same scope of limitation of claim 1, in additions of a processing unit comprising one or more processors; and memory coupled with and readable by the processing unit and storing therein a set of instructions which, when executed by the processing unit (Cosby, fig. 1). Therefore, claim 8 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 1.
Claim 15 encompasses the same scope of limitation of claim 1, in additions of a computer-program product tangibly embodied in a non- transitory machine-readable storage medium, including instructions configured to cause one or more data processors of a computer system to perform actions (Cosby, fig. 1). Therefore, claim 15 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 1.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 5.
With respect to claim 23, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 1, Cosby teaches wherein the data dimension comprises one or more levels of a data hierarchy ([0038, associate properties with particular pieces of reference data and can enforce inherencies between properties across different levels of a hierarchy and across hierarchies], the hierarchies contains multiple levels).
With respect to claim 24, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 1, Cosby teaches wherein each application of the plurality of subscribing applications maintains a plurality of data dimensions comprising the first data dimension, and the plurality of data dimensions forms a data hierarchy for the application ([0035, The hierarchy object model can include global nodes which represent pieces of reference data, their associated properties and relationships across multiple hierarchies and local nodes that represent the pieces of reference data, their properties and relationships with respect to particular hierarchies], each hierarchy which also contains subscription hierarchies contains nodes/reference data/properties/relationships).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosby et al. (US 2008/0109458) and in view of Angermayer (US 2017/0185241) and in view of Quoc et al. (US 2007/0198363) and in view of Campbell et al. (US 2014/0344129) and in view of Bjoernsen (US 2004/0174392).
With respect to claim 2, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell teach the method of claim 1, Campbell further teaches wherein receiving the first request to update the data dimension: receiving the first request, via a first execution session of the first application, to update the data within the data dimension ([0080, the subscribing application server 24 may send a request for an entitlement update after the network interface receives a service request and/or at a schedule time. The entitlement request may be a request for an entitlement update. In optional processing step 323, the central entitlement server determines the entitlements for the requesting subscribing application server], the data updates within the first request is the first sessions);
receiving a second request, via a second execution session of the first application, to update the data within the data dimension ([0080, In step 320, the subscribing application server 24 receives a service request 320. The service request may be received from the web portal 22. In step 322, the processor of the subscribing application server 24 instructs the network interface to send an entitlement request 322 to the central entitlement server 20], multiple request to update data is send, each update includes a sessions).
Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell do not in combination teach
displaying a graphical interface that includes concurrently displayed sets of graphical representations identifying both the first request and the second request.
However, Bjoernsen teaches displaying a graphical interface that includes concurrently displayed sets of graphical representations identifying both the first request and the second request ([0007, The first and second collaboration sessions may be displayed concurrently], [0053, which may be indicated by the user clicking on a submission button, and may be provided to the system concurrently with the session request], [0093, The local user may also use the launch pad to start additional collaboration sessions, which may be open concurrently with the first collaboration session]; examiner's note: the sessions (requests) are displayed concurrently)..
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that displaying multiple requests concurrently of Bjoernsen into the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell to view multiple types of data concurrently. Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell/Bjoernsen are analogous arts because all the arts teach hierarchical structure of data items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date to include the features of Bjoernsen in the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell to have an efficient display system. The motivation would be to view different types of data concurrently to edit data faster and also to display updated data from multiple applications (Bjoernsen, [0034, Advantageously, integration system 22 may relieve the user of the chore of locating an appropriate or best collaboration provider for a particular situation], [0066, user 180 may choose to have multiple sessions operating at the same time, so as to perform multiple jobs at the same time]).
Claim 9 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 2.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosby et al. (US 2008/0109458) and in view of Angermayer (US 2017/0185241) and in view of Quoc et al. (US 2007/0198363) and in view of Campbell et al. (US 2014/0344129) and in view of Bjoernsen (US 2004/0174392) and in view of Arimilli et al. (US 2002/0129211).
With respect to claim 3, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 2, Cosby teaches wherein the data updates requested by the first request to update the data within the data dimension conflict with the data updates requested by the second request to update the data within the data dimension.
However, Arimilli teaches wherein the data updates requested by the first request to update the data within the data dimension conflict with the data updates requested by the second request to update the data within the data dimension ([0032, In the case of the multiple conflicting requests shown in FIG. 2, the combined response informs an agent 10 that issued a transaction whether or not it "won" the arbitration performed by the CDP and is the new owner of the target cache]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that identifying multiple conflicting update requests of Arimilli into the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell/Bjoernsen to identify conflicting update request. Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell/Bjoernsen/Arimilli are analogous arts because all the arts teach updating data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date to include the features of Arimilli in the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell/ Bjoernsen to identify conflicting requests and update the data correctly. The motivation would be to improve data integrity and consistency across systems (Arimilli, [0010, The present invention also recognizes that the coherency and system bus protocols must somehow protect the ownership of a shared cache line by an agent that wins ownership of the shared cache line during arbitration]).
Claim 10 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosby et al. (US 2008/0109458) and in view of Angermayer (US 2017/0185241) and in view of Quoc et al. (US 2007/0198363) and in view of Campbell et al. (US 2014/0344129) and in view of McGuire et al. (US 2004/0153998).
With respect to claim 4, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 1, Cosby teaches wherein identifying the plurality of subscribing applications comprises: retrieving, from a hierarchy management server associated with the hierarchical master data store ([0051, Because hierarchy management program 520 can instantiate centralized hierarchies from a master set of reference data representing multiple hierarchies of subscribing systems, changes to particular hierarchies can be propagated to other hierarchies and can be validated across hierarchies], the subscribing applications are identified from the master set of reference data), Cosby, Angermayer, and Campbell do not explicitly teach data identifying the plurality of subscribing applications as subscribers data dimension.
However, McGuire teaches data identifying the plurality of subscribing applications as subscribers data dimension ([0035, The event subscription logic also manages subscribers on behalf of the system event daemon and filters the kernel event buffers for each event subscriber in order to free kernel entries], [0093, The queued events are then provided to the event delivery module 713 which delivers the events to the event subscriber SLM. The event subscriber SLM in-turn makes door calls to the door server 718, 725 and 735 for each respective subscriber application 720, 730 and 740 to make delivery of each respective system event buffer (A-C) to each respective application], identifying subscribing applications as subscribers).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating identifying subscribing application as subscribers of McGuire into the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell to identify subscribers. Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell/McGuire are analogous arts because all the arts teach updating data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date to include the features of McGuire in the system of Cosby/Angermayer/Quoc/Campbell to have an efficient system. The motivation would ensure data integrity and consistency across multiple applications (McGuire, [0028, which improves efficiency, reliability and provides a means to compile programs without losing the embedded features designed in these programs]).
Claim 11 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 4.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosby et al. (US 2008/0109458) and in view of Angermayer (US 2017/0185241) and in view of Quoc et al. (US 2007/0198363) and in view of Campbell et al. (US 2014/0344129) and in view of Kesler et al. (US 2009/0031230).
With respect to claim 6, Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination teach the method of claim 5, Cosby further teaches a first external data hierarchy associated with a first external application ([0058, the change can be made to a subscribing system (e.g., financial system 504 of FIG. 5), imported by the hierarchy management program]; the user can update multiple data within the data hierarchies associated with the first application and can also change the hierarchy that is affected by the updated and they are external application);
transmitting a notification indicating a violation of a data rule, to an administrator account associated with the first external application ([0091, The hierarchy management program can therefore notify the user that the "NewCost" piece of reference data does not meet a particular criteria associated with the "DataEntry" hierarchy even the though the "NewCost" piece of reference data may be legal in the "England" hierarchy]; examiners note: notifying the user that the requested data update is not valid which is a violation of a data rule).
Cosby, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell in combination do not explicitly teach generating and outputting, via a graphical interface, an indication of a violation of a data rule,
receiving, via the graphical interface, an instruction to commit the first request to update the data dimension.
However, Kesler teaches generating and outputting, via a graphical interface, an indication of a violation of a data rule,resulting from the first request to update the data dimension ([0315, Entity business rules are used to provide edit checks prior to inserts, updates, and deletes to an underlying table], [0316, When a business rule is violated, a message is presented to the end user informing them of the violation]; the interface output a message of the violation of rule when there is a request to update a data).
receiving, via the graphical interface, an instruction to commit the first request to update the data dimension ([0192, After editing a record, the user can cancel the changes by clicking the Cancel button or choose to save the changes to the underlying table by clicking the OK button]; saving the changes is committing the update).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that displaying violations rules to data update and displaying a commit request to the data update of Kesler to include in the invention of COSBY, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell to display violations of rules and also to display commit request. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date to implement the features such as displaying violations of rules and commit request of Kesler to add in the system of COSBY, Angermayer, Quoc and Campbell. The motivation would be to display the violations of rules and commit data to update data faster and properly (Kesler, [0023, the user interface should be extensible so that a system administrator can modify the interface to provide users with a better data entry experience and to ensure the integrity of data stored in the underlying database)).
Claim 13 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 6.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis of rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FATIMA P MINA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2159
/ANN J LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159