DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument in page 12, lines 10-25 of the remarks, the examiner notes that the applicant’s interpretation of the spatial placement of the second and third user terminals relative to the first user terminal (i.e., spatial distance, spatial formation, or spatial order, particularly along a predefined direction, and …spatially closest to the first user terminal, explained in page 11 of the remarks) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the claim limitation of a spatial placement is not limited to any of the particular descriptions argued by the applicant. Paragraph [0025] of Karmoose specifically discloses generating a data packet with different MACs for each follower vehicle, clearly contradicting applicant’s argument that Karmoose does not suggest content of authentication data being specific to particular spatial placements, because if each of the followers (see fig. 1B) have different MACs generated for them, then a specific MAC associated with a follower vehicle is based on the position of that follower vehicle. For example, in fig 1B, key 12 is associated with follower vehicle 1030 with ID 2, and it (i.e. key 12) can’t be associated with follower vehicle 1090 because follower vehicle 1090 is not the vehicle positioned immediately behind lead vehicle 1010. This means that the authentication data content does differ depending on the spatial placement of the vehicles/user terminals.
Regarding applicant’s arguments in page 12, line 26 – page 13, line 14, the applicant asserts that nothing in Karmoose suggests selectively using a subset of payload data, rather than the entire payload data, to generate the authentication data, as recited in the second feature of claim 1 and in claim 4. The examiner notes that this feature is optional. In claim 1, the method included one or both of the features (I)-(II). The rejection clearly treated feature (I). Therefore, since the claim only requires that one of the features, the examiner maintains that Karmoose is used to treat feature (I) only, and by addressing (I) and not addressing (II) (including the features of (II) in claim 4), Karmoose still reads on the claim limitations as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 12 recite the limitation "their different relative spatial placements" in lines 22-23, lines 17-18, lines 26-27, and lines 19-20 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims because “their” in the claims refer to “the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data” instead of the relative spatial placements of the second and third user terminals (i.e., “differ from each other due to their different relative spatial placements and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data” should be “differ from each other due to the different relative spatial placements of the second and third user terminals and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data…”).
Claims 2-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmoose et al US 20190044728 (hereinafter Karmoose) in view of Schneider US 20090220081.
Regarding claim 1 Karmoose discloses a method for authenticating a first user terminal (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0025], [0043]) as a transmitter of messages (1300, see fig. 1D, [0044]) transmitted in a wireless communication network having a plurality of spatially distributed user terminals including at least a first user terminal, a second user terminal, and a third user terminal (1030-1094, see fig. 1B, [0035]), the messages being transmitted from the first user terminal to at least the second user terminal and the third user terminal using a wireless communications connection (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]), the messages includes a first message comprising payload data (see [0043], [0046]) provided with first user-terminal-specific authentication data (see fig. 1D, [0025], [0044], [0047]), and a second message comprising payload data (see [0043], [0046]) provided with second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see fig. 1D, [0025], [0044], [0047]), the method comprising:
the second user terminal (any one of vehicles 1030-1094, see figs. 1A-1D) authenticating the first user terminal as transmitter of the message based on the first user-terminal-specific authentication data, the second user-terminal specific authentication data not being usable by the second user terminal for the second user terminal’s authentication (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]);
and
the third terminal (another one of any one of vehicles 1030-1094, see figs. 1A-1D) authenticating the first user terminal as transmitter of the message based on the second user-terminal-specific authentication data, the first user-terminal-specific authentication data not being usable by the third user terminal for the third user terminal’s authentication (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]);
wherein the method includes one or both of the following two features (I)-(II):
(I) a content of the first user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message is dependent on a recognized spatial placement of the second and third user terminals relative to the first user terminal such that the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data differ from each other due to their different relative spatial placements and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the second user terminal is relative to the first user terminal and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal is relative to the first user terminal (leader and follower vehicles in the platoon are in a spatial arrangement, and the MAC generated depends on the key between the follower and the leader vehicle, see figs. 1B, 1D, 1F, [0077]-[0080]); and
(II) the method further includes selecting a subset of the payload data based on at least one criterion, and the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user-terminal-specific authentication data are generated using a symmetrical key provided to two user terminals in each case, and also selectively using the subset of the payload data according to the selecting.
Karmoose does not specifically disclose the message being a single message that includes a single instance of payload data provided with both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data.
Schneider, however, discloses a method for authenticating a first user terminal (110, see fig. 1, [001]) as a transmitter of a message (see [0021]) transmitted in a communication network (see fig. 1, [0018]) having a plurality of spatially distributed user terminals including at least the first user terminal, a second user terminal, and a third user terminal (110, 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being transmitted from the first user terminal to the second and third user terminal using a communications connection (transmitting messages from 110 to recipients 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being a single message that includes a single instance of payload data provided with both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 2-4, [0022], [0024]-[0028], [0043]-[0047]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Schneider with Karmoose by broadcasting a single message with all the MACs to the devices/vehicles, as taught by Schneider, in order to improve efficiency of the transmitter by transmitting one message from the transmitter to all the other terminals/devices/vehicles.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the content of the first user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message is derived from spatial placement of the user terminals relative to the first user terminal such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects what the spatial placement of the second user terminal is relative to the first user terminal and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects what the spatial placement of the third user terminal is relative to the first user terminal (leader and follower vehicles in the platoon are in a spatial arrangement, and the MAC generated depends on the key between the follower and the leader vehicle, see figs. 1B, 1D, 1F, [0077]-[0080] (note: this rejection is based on the 35 USC 112(a) rejection above. The Examiner is interpreting this limitation as the user-terminal-specific authentication data depends on spatial placement of the second and third user terminals relative to the first user terminal)).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Karmoose further discloses wherein the spatial placement of the user terminals represents a positioning of vehicles driving one behind the other along a common driving direction each having a respective user terminal of the user terminals (see fig. 1B, [0025], [0039]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses selecting of the subset of the payload data based on the at least one criterion, wherein the first user- terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user- terminal-specific authentication data are generated using the symmetrical key provided to two user terminals in each case, and also selectively using the subset of the payload data according to the selecting (see [0023]-[0026], [0076]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user- terminal-specific authentication data include a user-terminal-specific message authentication code (see [0025]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the message further includes a random value, and the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user-terminal-specific authentication data include a user-terminal-specific function value based on the random value (see [0047]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the payload data of the message or the message is encrypted using a key provided to the user terminals of the communication network (see fig. 1F, [0026], [0079]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the second user terminal and/or the third user terminal and/or a second vehicle having the second user terminal and/or a third vehicle including the third user terminal, is controlled based on the transmitted message (see [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein the message is transmitted from the first user terminal to a fourth user terminal and a fifth user terminal of the wireless communication network, and the message further includes third user-terminal-specific authentication data specific to the fourth user terminal (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, see fig. 1B, [0025]-[0026]), and the first user terminal is authenticated as the transmitter of the message based on the third user-terminal-specific authentication data using the fourth user terminal (see [0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]).
Regarding claim 10, Karmoose discloses a first user terminal (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0025], [0043]) configured to:
generate messages (see fig. 1D), wherein a first message includes payload data (see [0043], [0046]) and first user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]), and wherein a second message includes payload data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]); and
transmit the first and second messages to at least a second user terminal and a third user terminal respectively, using a wireless communications connection (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]), wherein the first user-terminal-specific authentication data is usable by the second user terminal, and not by the third user terminal, for authenticating the first user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]), and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data is usable by the third user terminal, and not by the second user terminal, for authenticating the first user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]);
wherein the method includes one or both of the following two features (I)-(II):
(I) a content of the first user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message is dependent on a recognized spatial placement of the user terminals relative to the first user terminal such that the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data differ from each other due to their different relative spatial placements and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal (leader and follower vehicles in the platoon are in a spatial arrangement, and the MAC generated depends on the key between the follower and the leader vehicle, see figs. 1B, 1D, 1F, [0077]-[0080]); and
(II) the method further includes selecting a subset of the payload data based on at least one criterion, and the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user-terminal-specific authentication data are generated using a symmetrical key provided to two user terminals in each case, and also selectively using the subset of the payload data according to the selecting.
Karmoose does not disclose generating a single message that includes a single instance of payload data and both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data; and
transmitting the message to at least a second user terminal and a third user terminal using a wireless communications connection.
Schneider, however, discloses a method for authenticating a first user terminal (110, see fig. 1, [001]) as a transmitter of a message (see [0021]) transmitted in a communication network (see fig. 1, [0018]) having a plurality of spatially distributed user terminals including at least the first user terminal, a second user terminal, and a third user terminal (110, 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being transmitted from the first user terminal to the second and third user terminal using a communications connection (transmitting messages from 110 to recipients 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being a single message that includes a single instance of payload data provided with both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 2-4, [0022], [0024]-[0028], [0043]-[0047]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Schneider with Karmoose by broadcasting a single message with all the MACs to the devices/vehicles, as taught by Schneider, in order to improve efficiency of the transmitter by transmitting one message from the transmitter to all the other terminals/devices/vehicles.
Regarding claim 11, Karmoose discloses a system, comprising:
a first user terminal (platoon leader vehicle 1010 or follower vehicle 1030, see figs. 1A-1B) configured to:
generate a first message (see fig. 1D) that includes payload data (see [0043], [0046]) and first user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]); a second message (see fig. 1D) that includes payload data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]), and
transmit the first message to a second user terminal using a wireless communications connection (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]) and the second message to a third user terminal using a wireless communications connection (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]);
the second user terminal (any one of vehicles 1030-1094, see figs. 1A-1D); and
the third user terminal (another one of any one of vehicles 1030-1094, see figs. 1A-1D);
wherein the second user terminal (anyone of vehicles 1030-1094 if the platoon leader 1010 transmits the packet, or anyone of vehicle 1090 and platoon leader vehicle 1010 if vehicle 1030 transmits the packet, see [0035], [0038], [0043]) is configured to receive the message transmitted from the first user terminal (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]), and authenticate the first user terminal as a transmitter of the message based on the first user-terminal-specific authentication data (see [0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]), the second user-terminal-specific authentication data not being usable by the second user terminal for the authentication by the second user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]); and
the third user terminal (anyone of vehicles 1030-1094 if the platoon leader 1010 transmits the packet, or anyone of vehicle 1090 and platoon leader vehicle 1010 if vehicle 1030 transmits the packet, see [0035], [0038], [0043]) is configured to receive the message transmitted from the first user terminal (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]) and authenticate the first user terminal as the transmitter of the message based on the second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see [0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]), the first user-terminal-specific authentication data not being usable by the third user terminal for the authentication by the second user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]);
wherein the method includes one or both of the following two features (I)-(II):
(I) a content of the first user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message is dependent on a recognized spatial placement of the second and third user terminals relative to the first user terminal such that the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data differ from each other due to their different relative spatial placements and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal (leader and follower vehicles in the platoon are in a spatial arrangement, and the MAC generated depends on the key between the follower and the leader vehicle, see figs. 1B, 1D, 1F, [0077]-[0080]); and
(II) the method further includes selecting a subset of the payload data based on at least one criterion, and the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user-terminal-specific authentication data are generated using a symmetrical key provided to two user terminals in each case, and also selectively using the subset of the payload data according to the selecting.
Karmoose does not disclose generating a single message that includes a single instance of payload data and both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data; and
transmitting the message to at least a second user terminal and a third user terminal using a wireless communications connection.
Schneider, however, discloses a method for authenticating a first user terminal (110, see fig. 1, [001]) as a transmitter of a message (see [0021]) transmitted in a communication network (see fig. 1, [0018]) having a plurality of spatially distributed user terminals including at least the first user terminal, a second user terminal, and a third user terminal (110, 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being transmitted from the first user terminal to the second and third user terminal using a communications connection (transmitting messages from 110 to recipients 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being a single message that includes a single instance of payload data provided with both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 2-4, [0022], [0024]-[0028], [0043]-[0047]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Schneider with Karmoose by broadcasting a single message with all the MACs to the devices/vehicles, as taught by Schneider, in order to improve efficiency of the transmitter by transmitting one message from the transmitter to all the other terminals/devices/vehicles.
Regarding claim 12, Karmoose discloses a non-transitory machine-readable memory medium on which is stored a computer program which includes instructions (see fig. 1A) that that are executable by a first user terminal, and that, when executed by a first user terminal (platoon leader vehicle 1010 or follower vehicle 1030, see figs. 1A-1B), induce the first user terminal to:
generate a first message (see fig. 1D) that includes payload data (see [0043], [0046]) and first user- terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]), and a second message (see fig. 1D) that includes payload data (see [0043], [0046]) and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 1D and 1F, [0025], [0044], [0047]); and
transmit the first message to at least a second user terminal and second message to at least a third user terminal using a wireless communications connection (Platoon leader 1010, transmitting to follower vehicles, or vehicle 1030 transmitting to platoon leader 1010 and follower vehicle 1090, see figs. 1A and 1B, [0015], [0025], [0027]-[0028], [0043]), wherein the first user-terminal-specific authentication data is usable by the second user terminal, and not by the third user terminal, for authenticating the first user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]), and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data is usable by the third user terminal, and not by the second user terminal, for authenticating the first user terminal (each vehicle 1010-1094 has a MAC, used for authentication with the transmitting vehicle. The MAC of a specific vehicle can only be used for MAC authentication with said specific vehicle only, see [0025]-[0026], [0047], [0076]-[0077], [0081]-[0082], [0086], [0097]);
wherein the method includes one or both of the following two features (I)-(II):
(I) a content of the first user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data of the message is dependent on a recognized spatial placement of the second and third user terminals relative to the first user terminal such that the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data differ from each other due to their different relative spatial placements and such that the first user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal and the second user-terminal-specific authentication data reflects the spatial placement of the third user terminal relative to the first user terminal (leader and follower vehicles in the platoon are in a spatial arrangement, and the MAC generated depends on the key between the follower and the leader vehicle, see figs. 1B, 1D, 1F, [0077]-[0080]); and
(II) the method further includes selecting a subset of the payload data based on at least one criterion, and the first user-terminal-specific authentication data and/or the second user-terminal-specific authentication data are generated using a symmetrical key provided to two user terminals in each case, and also selectively using the subset of the payload data according to the selecting.
Karmoose does not disclose generating a single message that includes a single instance of payload data and both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data; and
transmitting the message to at least a second user terminal and a third user terminal using a wireless communications connection.
Schneider, however, discloses a method for authenticating a first user terminal (110, see fig. 1, [001]) as a transmitter of a message (see [0021]) transmitted in a communication network (see fig. 1, [0018]) having a plurality of spatially distributed user terminals including at least the first user terminal, a second user terminal, and a third user terminal (110, 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being transmitted from the first user terminal to the second and third user terminal using a communications connection (transmitting messages from 110 to recipients 130, see fig. 1, [0018]-[0019]), the message being a single message that includes a single instance of payload data provided with both first user-terminal-specific authentication data and second user-terminal-specific authentication data (see figs. 2-4, [0022], [0024]-[0028], [0043]-[0047]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Schneider with Karmoose by broadcasting a single message with all the MACs to the devices/vehicles, as taught by Schneider, in order to improve efficiency of the transmitter by transmitting one message from the transmitter to all the other terminals/devices/vehicles.
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1, Karmoose further discloses wherein:
each of the second and third user terminals separately negotiates its own respective symmetrical key with the first user terminal directly, the keys being used to generate the first and second user-terminal-specific authentication data respectively (see [0025]-[0026], [0077], [0080]); and
the second user terminal is spatially located between the first and third user terminals (see figs. 1A-1B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648