DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 9/11/2025 are acceptable. The associated objection has been withdrawn.
Specification
The amendments to the specification received on 9/11/2025 are acceptable. The associated objection/rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12-15, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20240413335 A1) in view of OH (US 20230085811 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, KIM discloses an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions (“lithium secondary battery” [0008]), wherein the electrochemical cell comprises: a positive electrode having a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 6.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the positive electrode active material layer may be specifically 4.5 mAh/cm2 to 6.5 mAh/cm2” [0113] as well as an example with “a loading amount of 5.2 mAh/cm2” [0150]),
wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electroactive material selected from the group consisting of LiNixM2-X02 (where M is selected from the group consisting of cobalt, manganese, aluminum, and combinations thereof and x ≥ 0.8) (“LiNiO2 … Li(Ni0.8Mn0.1Co0.1)O2 … Li(Ni0.8CO0.15Al0.05)O2” [0103]);
a negative electrode having a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 5.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 may be 1 mAh/cm2 to 5 mAh/cm2” [0056] where one layer overlaps with claimed ranged and furthermore the negative electrode has a total “sum of the loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 and the loading amount of the second negative electrode active material layer 220 may be … 4 mAh/cm2 to 7 mAh/cm2 ” [0090]; as well as an example where the negative electrode as a whole had a loading amount of “5.47 mAh/cm2 ” [0146]),
wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electroactive composite material comprising a carbonaceous material (“first carbon-based active material may include at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite” [0031]) and silicon oxide (SiOx, 0.95 ≤ x ≤ 1.05) (“The first silicon-based active material may include a first silicon-based compound represented by the chemical formula … SiOx (0.5≤x≤1.5)” [0034]; furthermore graphite and SiO were used in examples such as Example 1, [0135] and [0137]).
KIM discloses an electrolyte (“electrolyte” [0121]) dispersed in one or both of the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and an electrolyte additive (example 1 with “3% by weight of vinylene carbonate” [0151], reading on the range of claim 6, where VC is listed by the instant in paragraph [0011] as one of a list of additives). However, KIM does not expressly teach an additive listed in claim 1.
OH is directed to non-aqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery. Like KIM, OH discloses a Li-NMC positive electrode [0078] and a silicon oxide negative electrode [0095]. OH discloses “the non-aqueous electrolyte solution of the present disclosure may further include, if necessary, other additional additives” [0058] and “other additive may be used in combination of two or more compounds” [0070] as well as that when “vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, or succinonitrile is included, it is possible to form a more robust SEI film on the surface of a negative electrode during an initial activation process of a secondary battery” [0069]. In addition to the vinylene carbonate of KIM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to additionally include the vinylethylene carbonate and/or succinonitrile of OH to form a more robust SEI film.
Regarding claim 12, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the negative electrode comprises greater than or equal to about 92 wt.% to less than or equal to about 98 wt.% of the carbonaceous material (“first carbon-based active material may be contained in the first negative electrode active material layer 210 in an amount of … 80% to 95% by weight” [0033]), and greater than or equal to about 2 wt.% to less than or equal to about 8 wt.% of silicon oxide (SiOx 0.95 ≤ x ≤ 1.05) (“first silicon-based active material may be contained in an amount of … 3% to 15%” [0043]; wherein SiOx is the majority of the silicon-based active material, which includes a metal dopant and a coating, per [0038] and [0040], therefore fully reading on the claimed range).
Regarding claim 13, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the carbonaceous material is selected from the group consisting of graphite, hard carbon, soft carbon, graphene, carbon nanotube, carbon fiber, and combinations thereof (“first carbon-based active material may include at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite” [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the negative electrode further comprises greater than or equal to about 0.05 wt.% to less than or equal to about 1 wt.% of single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNT) (Example 1: “a single-wall carbon nanotube (SWCNT) as the second conductive material were mixed at a weight ratio of … 0.3” [0139], wherein the 0.3 is weight percent.
Regarding claim 15, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the electrochemical cell has a N/P ratio greater than or equal to about 1 to less than or equal to about 1.15 (“N/P ratio … preferably 1.0 to 1.2” [0116] as well as “N/P ratio of the secondary battery according to Example 1 was 1.07” [0152]).
Regarding claim 21, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the positive electrode is a single layered positive electrode (“positive electrode active material layer disposed on the positive electrode current collector” [0096]), and the negative electrode is a single layered negative electrode (while KIM designates separate elements 220 and 210 in its Figure, these two elements contribute to form a single functional negative electrode layer between the current collector and separator).
Regarding claim 22, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the positive electrode has a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 5.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 6.5 mAh/cm2 (the negative electrode has a total “sum of the loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 and the loading amount of the second negative electrode active material layer 220 may be … 4 mAh/cm2 to 7 mAh/cm2 ” [0090]; as well as an example where the negative electrode as a whole had a loading amount of “5.47 mAh/cm2” [0146] which rounds to 5.5 mAh/cm2).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of LI (US 20210175511 A1).
Regarding claim 2, KIM discloses a positive electrode reading on the claimed positive electrode of claim 1 and “achieving high positive electrode energy density” [0105].
KIM does not expressly teach the positive electrode has a press density greater than or equal to about 3.2 g/cm3 to less than or equal to about 3.8 g/cm3 and a porosity greater than or equal to about 25 vol.% to less than or equal to about 35 vol.%.
LI is directed to a lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “silicon oxide” [0072] and a positive electrode with “lithium nickel transition metal oxide” [0063], similar to KIM.
LI discloses “the compacted density PD of the positive electrode plate satisfies … 3.2 g/cm3 ≤ PD ≤ 3.5 g/cm3” [0058]. LI further discloses “the porosity P1 of the positive electrode plate satisfies … 20%≤P1≤25%” [0057].
LI teaches “when the compacted density PD of the positive electrode plate is within the above range, thickness of the positive electrode plate formed after cold pressing is moderate, under the same capacity, the energy density is relatively large, and the charge-discharge power is relatively high” [0058.
LI further teaches the “porosity of the positive electrode plate being controlled within the above range can not only ensure a relatively high composition of active substances that can be loaded in the positive electrode plate, which is beneficial to improving the volume energy density of the battery, but also ensure quick entrance of lithium ions into the plate, facilitating relatively good charge-discharge power of the lithium-ion battery using the positive electrode plate” [0057].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the press density and porosity of KIM’s positive electrode per the teachings of LI in order to have a high charge-discharge power and improve the energy density while allowing mobility of lithium ions.
Following the optimization, modified KIM discloses the positive electrode has a press density greater than or equal to about 3.2 g/cm3 to less than or equal to about 3.8 g/cm3, and a porosity greater than or equal to about 25 vol.% to less than or equal to about 35 vol.% (as taught by LI).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of ZENG (US 20190020013 A1).
Regarding claim 3, although control of electrode size is well within the capabilities of PHOSITA, KIM does not expressly teach the positive electrode has a width greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters, and a length greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters.
ZENG is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “silicon oxide” [0015] and a positive electrode with a lithium nickel compound [0016], similar to KIM.
ZENG discloses “electrode 30 current collector can comprise a length of about 300 mm to about 600 mm and a width of about 50 mm to about 100 mm” [0033].
ZENG teaches “the dimensions (i.e., aspect ratio) of electrode 30 provide high strength and efficient heat dissipation” [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to size the electrodes, including the positive electrode, of KIM based off of the teachings of ZENG to improve strength and heat dissipation.
Following the sizing of electrodes, modified KIM discloses the positive electrode has a width greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters, and a length greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters (as taught by ZENG).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of HO (US 20230142072 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, KIM discloses the positive and negative electrodes of claim 1. Although control of moisture content is well within the capabilities of PHOSITA, KIM does not expressly teach the positive electrode has a moisture content of less than or equal to about 600 ppm (claim 4) and the negative electrode has a moisture content of less than or equal to about 500 ppm (claim 11).
HO is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with silicon, graphite, and Si—C composites [0130] as well as and a positive electrode with a “nickel-containing lithium transition metal oxide” [0127], similar to KIM.
HO discloses the “dried electrode assembly may have a water content from about 20 ppm to about 350 ppm” [0194] wherein this assembly includes both the positive and negative electrodes, as well as a separator, per paragraph [0191].
HO teaches the drying step allows for “the use of less expensive and more environmentally-friendly solvents, such as water” during the manufacturing process and a “method to improve the flexibility of electrodes produced” [0009].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the moisture content of the positive and negative electrodes of KIM such that they were less than 600 and 500 ppm respectively by utilizing the teaches of HO in order to allow for the use of water solvent during manufacturing and improve flexibility.
Following the addition, modified KIM discloses the positive electrode has a moisture content of less than or equal to about 600 ppm (claim 4, as taught by HO) and the negative electrode has a moisture content of less than or equal to about 500 ppm (claim 11, as taught by HO).
Claims 5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of JUNG (US 20130101886 A1).
Regarding claim 5, KIM discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (“separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode” [0094]). KIM further discloses “the separator may include a porous polymer film” [0120].
Although control of separator thickness and porosity is well within the capabilities of PHOSITA, KIM does not expressly teach the separator has a thickness greater than or equal to about 17 micrometers to less than or equal to about 23 micrometers and a porosity greater than or equal to about 35 vol.% to less than or equal to about 55 vol.%.
JUNG is directed to is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “silicon oxide” [0021] and a positive electrode with a lithium-nickel compound [0009], similar to KIM.
JUNG discloses “the separator may have a thickness of about 5 μm to about 30 μm … about 15 μm to about 20 μm, about 20 μm to about 25 μm” [0053]. JUNG further discloses “the separator includes a porous substrate having porosity of about 40% to about 60%” [0040].
JUNG discloses an example separator of “polyethylene substrate having a porosity of 48% and a thickness of 19.3 μm” [0091].
JUNG teaches “the thickness of the separator may be determined by the capacity of battery to be required” [0053] and “may improve the drawback of cell degradation by including a separator including a porous substrate having a porosity of about 40% to about 60%” [0040].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a separator with the thickness and porosity of JUNG for the battery of KIM in order to improve drawback of cell degradation and as needed for the capacity of the battery.
Following the selection, modified KIM discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (as taught by KIM), wherein the separator has a thickness greater than or equal to about 17 micrometers to less than or equal to about 23 micrometers and a porosity greater than or equal to about 35 vol.% to less than or equal to about 55 vol.% (as taught by JUNG).
Regarding claim 16, KIM discloses an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions (“lithium secondary battery” [0008]), wherein the electrochemical cell comprises: a positive electrode having a positive electroactive material selected from the group consisting of:LiNixM2-X02 (where M is selected from the group consisting of cobalt, manganese, aluminum, and combinations thereof and x ≥ 0.8) (“LiNiO2 … Li(Ni0.8Mn0.1Co0.1)O2 … Li(Ni0.8CO0.15Al0.05)O2” [0103]),
a negative electrode having a negative electroactive composite material comprising a carbonaceous material (“first carbon-based active material may include at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite” [0031]) and silicon oxide (SiOx, 0.95 ≤ x ≤ 1.05) (“The first silicon-based active material may include a first silicon-based compound represented by the chemical formula … SiOx (0.5≤x≤1.5)” [0034]; furthermore graphite and SiO were used in examples such as Example 1, [0135] and [0137]);
wherein the electrochemical cell has a N/P ratio greater than or equal to about 1 to less than or equal to about 1.15 (“N/P ratio … preferably 1.0 to 1.2” [0116] as well as “N/P ratio of the secondary battery according to Example 1 was 1.07” [0152]).
KIM discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (“separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode” [0094]). KIM further discloses “the separator may include a porous polymer film” [0120].
Although control of separator thickness and porosity is well within the capabilities of PHOSITA, KIM does not expressly teach the separator has a thickness greater than or equal to about 17 micrometers to less than or equal to about 23 micrometers and a porosity greater than or equal to about 35 vol.% to less than or equal to about 55 vol.%.
JUNG is directed to is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “silicon oxide” [0021] and a positive electrode with a lithium-nickel compound [0009], similar to KIM.
JUNG discloses “the separator may have a thickness of about 5 μm to about 30 μm … about 15 μm to about 20 μm, about 20 μm to about 25 μm” [0053]. JUNG further discloses “the separator includes a porous substrate having porosity of about 40% to about 60%” [0040].
JUNG discloses an example separator of “polyethylene substrate having a porosity of 48% and a thickness of 19.3 μm” [0091].
JUNG teaches “the thickness of the separator may be determined by the capacity of battery to be required” [0053] and “may improve the drawback of cell degradation by including a separator including a porous substrate having a porosity of about 40% to about 60%” [0040].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a separator with the thickness and porosity of JUNG for the battery of KIM in order to improve drawback of cell degradation and as needed for the capacity of the battery.
Following the selection, modified KIM discloses a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (as taught by KIM), wherein the separator has a thickness greater than or equal to about 17 micrometers to less than or equal to about 23 micrometers and a porosity greater than or equal to about 35 vol.% to less than or equal to about 55 vol.% (as taught by JUNG).
KIM discloses an electrolyte (“electrolyte” [0121]) dispersed in one or both of the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and an electrolyte additive (example 1 with “3% by weight of vinylene carbonate” [0151], where VC is listed by the instant in paragraph [0011] as one of a list of additives). However, KIM does not expressly teach an additive listed in claim 16.
OH is directed to non-aqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery. Like KIM, OH discloses a Li-NMC positive electrode [0078] and a silicon oxide negative electrode [0095]. OH discloses when “vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, or succinonitrile is included, it is possible to form a more robust SEI film on the surface of a negative electrode during an initial activation process of a secondary battery” [0069]. Since the prior art of OH recognizes the equivalency of vinylene carbonate to vinylethylene carbonate and succinonitrile in the field of additives for SEI formation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the vinylene carbonate of KIM with the vinylethylene carbonate or succinonitrile of OH as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent additive recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Regarding claim 17, modified KIM discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and KIM further discloses the positive electrode has a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 6.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the positive electrode active material layer may be specifically 4.5 mAh/cm2 to 6.5 mAh/cm2” [0113] as well as an example with “a loading amount of 5.2 mAh/cm2” [0150]),
and wherein the negative electrode having a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 5.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 may be 1 mAh/cm2 to 5 mAh/cm2” [0056] where one layer overlaps with claimed ranged and furthermore the negative electrode has a total “sum of the loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 and the loading amount of the second negative electrode active material layer 220 may be … 4 mAh/cm2 to 7 mAh/cm2” [0090]; as well as an example where the negative electrode as a whole had a loading amount of “5.47 mAh/cm2” [0146]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of KANG (US 20210249650 A1).
Regarding claim 7, KIM discloses the negative electrode has a press density greater than or equal to about 1.4 g/cm3 to less than or equal to about 1.8 g/cm3 (“1.6 g/cc to 1.8 g/cc” [0092]),
KIM does not expressly teach the negative electrode has a porosity greater than or equal to about 30 vol.% to less than or equal to about 40 vol.%.
KANG is directed to is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “carbon materials and silicon-based materials” [0025] and a positive electrode with a lithium-nickel compound [0035], similar to KIM.
KANG discloses “the porosity P of the negative electrode film satisfies 25%≤P≤40%” [0024] allowing for “higher energy density and the dynamics performance is further improved” [0024]. KANG further discloses example 26 which is a mixture of “graphite and silicon oxide” with a porosity of 39% (Table 1).
KANG teaches the “greater the porosity of the negative electrode film, the better the infiltration of the electrolyte to the negative electrode film”, however “when the porosity of the negative electrode film increases, it is not conducive to improve the energy density of the battery” [0024].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the porosity of the negative electrode of KIM to fall within the range given by KANG in order to balance infiltration of electrolyte with energy density.
Following the addition, modified KIM discloses the negative electrode has a press density greater than or equal to about 1.4 g/cm3 to less than or equal to about 1.8 g/cm3 (as taught by KIM), and a porosity greater than or equal to about 30 vol.% to less than or equal to about 40 vol.% (as taught by KANG).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of KAMIYA (US 20220181609 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified KIM does not expressly teach the sizing of the negative electrode relative to the positive electrode.
KAMIYA is directed to an anode with silicon, like KIM.
KAMIYA discloses a “non-opposing region where the anode active material layer and the cathode active material layer are not opposing to each other” [0012] as well as Figs 1A and 1B showing the anode having a larger width and length. KAMIYA discloses the difference in each dimension, corresponding to R2 in Fig. 1A, may be “0.1 mm or more and 10 mm or less” [0065].
KAMIYA teaches that by “providing a difference in sizes, the occurrence of a short circuit due to the contact between the cathode and the anode, during the production of the all solid state battery (such as at the time of shape forming by cutting an electrode), may be suppressed”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to size the anode of cathode of KIM such that the anode was larger than the cathode per the teaching of KAMIYA to limit short circuits, especially during assembly.
Therefore, modified KIM discloses the negative electrode has a second width that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first width of the positive electrode, the second width being less than 10 millimeters greater than the first width, and the negative electrode has a second length that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first length of the positive electrode, and wherein the second width is less than ten millimeters greater than the first width, the second length being less than 10 millimeters greater than the first length (as taught by KAMIYA).
Regarding claim 20, KIM discloses an electrochemical cell that cycles lithium ions (“lithium secondary battery” [0008]), wherein the electrochemical cell comprises: a positive electrode having a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 6.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the positive electrode active material layer may be specifically 4.5 mAh/cm2 to 6.5 mAh/cm2” [0113] as well as an example with “a loading amount of 5.2 mAh/cm2” [0150]),
wherein the positive electrode comprises a positive electroactive material selected from the group consisting of LiNixM2-X02 (where M is selected from the group consisting of cobalt, manganese, aluminum, and combinations thereof and x ≥ 0.8) (“LiNiO2 … Li(Ni0.8Mn0.1Co0.1)O2 … Li(Ni0.8CO0.15Al0.05)O2” [0103]);
and a negative electrode having a single-sided loading capacity at room temperature of greater than or equal to about 4.5 mAh/cm2 to less than or equal to about 5.5 mAh/cm2 (“loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 may be 1 mAh/cm2 to 5 mAh/cm2” [0056] where one layer overlaps with claimed ranged and furthermore the negative electrode has a total “sum of the loading amount of the first negative electrode active material layer 210 and the loading amount of the second negative electrode active material layer 220 may be … 4 mAh/cm2 to 7 mAh/cm2” [0090]; as well as an example where the negative electrode as a whole had a loading amount of “5.47 mAh/cm2” [0146]),
wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electroactive composite material comprising a carbonaceous material (“first carbon-based active material may include at least one kind of material selected from the group consisting of artificial graphite, natural graphite” [0031]) and silicon oxide (SiOx, 0.95 ≤ x ≤ 1.05) (“The first silicon-based active material may include a first silicon-based compound represented by the chemical formula … SiOx (0.5≤x≤1.5)” [0034]; furthermore graphite and SiO were used in examples such as Example 1, [0135] and [0137]).
KIM discloses the electrochemical cell has a N/P ratio greater than or equal to about 1 to less than or equal to about 1.15 (“N/P ratio … preferably 1.0 to 1.2” [0116] as well as “N/P ratio of the secondary battery according to Example 1 was 1.07” [0152]).
KAMIYA discloses a “non-opposing region where the anode active material layer and the cathode active material layer are not opposing to each other” [0012] as well as Figs 1A and 1B showing the anode having a larger width and length. KAMIYA discloses the difference in each dimension, corresponding to R2 in Fig. 1A, may be “0.1 mm or more and 10 mm or less” [0065].
KAMIYA teaches that by “providing a difference in sizes, the occurrence of a short circuit due to the contact between the cathode and the anode, during the production of the all solid state battery (such as at the time of shape forming by cutting an electrode), may be suppressed”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to size the anode of cathode of KIM such that the anode was larger than the cathode per the teaching of KAMIYA to limit short circuits, especially during assembly.
Therefore, modified KIM discloses the negative electrode has a second width that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first width of the positive electrode, and a second length that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first length of the positive electrode, wherein the second width is less than or equal to 10 millimeters larger than the first width, and the second length is less than or equal to 10 millimeters larger than the first length (as taught by KAMIYA).
KIM discloses an electrolyte (“electrolyte” [0121]) dispersed in one or both of the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and an electrolyte additive (example 1 with “3% by weight of vinylene carbonate” [0151], where VC is listed by the instant in paragraph [0011] as one of a list of additives). However, KIM does not expressly teach an additive listed in claim 1.
OH is directed to non-aqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery. Like KIM, OH discloses a Li-NMC positive electrode [0078] and a silicon oxide negative electrode [0095]. OH discloses when “vinylene carbonate, vinylethylene carbonate, or succinonitrile is included, it is possible to form a more robust SEI film on the surface of a negative electrode during an initial activation process of a secondary battery” [0069]. Since the prior art of OH recognizes the equivalency of vinylene carbonate to vinylethylene carbonate and succinonitrile in the field of additives for SEI formation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the vinylene carbonate of KIM with the vinylethylene carbonate or succinonitrile of OH as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent additive recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of KAMIYA in view of ZENG.
Regarding claim 10, although control of electrode size is well within the capabilities of PHOSITA, modified KIM does not expressly teach the positive electrode has a width greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters, and a length greater than or equal to about 50 millimeters to less than or equal to about 500 millimeters.
ZENG is directed to lithium-ion battery including a negative electrode with “silicon oxide” [0015] and a positive electrode with a lithium nickel compound [0016], similar to KIM.
ZENG discloses “electrode 30 current collector can comprise a length of about 300 mm to about 600 mm and a width of about 50 mm to about 100 mm” [0033].
ZENG teaches “the dimensions (i.e., aspect ratio) of electrode 30 provide high strength and efficient heat dissipation” [0034].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to size the electrodes, including the positive electrode, of KIM based off of the teachings of ZENG to improve strength and heat dissipation.
Following the sizing of electrodes, modified KIM discloses the positive electrode has a width greater than or equal to about 50 mm to less than or equal to about 500 mm, and a length greater than or equal to about 50 mm to less than or equal to about 500 mm (as taught by ZENG).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of OH in view of JUNG in view of KAMIYA.
Regarding claim 19, modified KIM does not expressly teach the sizing of the negative electrode relative to the positive electrode.
KAMIYA is directed to an anode with silicon, like KIM.
KAMIYA discloses a “non-opposing region where the anode active material layer and the cathode active material layer are not opposing to each other” [0012] as well as Figs 1A and 1B showing the anode having a larger width and length. KAMIYA discloses the difference in each dimension, corresponding to R2 in Fig. 1A, may be “0.1 mm or more and 10 mm or less” [0065].
KAMIYA teaches that by “providing a difference in sizes, the occurrence of a short circuit due to the contact between the cathode and the anode, during the production of the all solid state battery (such as at the time of shape forming by cutting an electrode), may be suppressed”.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to size the anode of cathode of KIM such that the anode was larger than the cathode per the teaching of KAMIYA to limit short circuits, especially during assembly.
Therefore, modified KIM discloses the negative electrode has a second width that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first width of the positive electrode, the second width being less than 10 millimeters greater than the first width, and the negative electrode has a second length that is at least 2 millimeters larger than a first length of the positive electrode, and wherein the second width is less than ten millimeters greater than the first width, the second length being less than 10 millimeters greater than the first length (as taught by KAMIYA).
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721