DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7, 16-36, and 61-88 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 16-36, and 61-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bestermann et al. (US 2016/0044036 A1, “Bestermann”), in view of Singh et al. (US 2013/0318572 A1, “Singh”).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Bestermann discloses a method comprising:
based on a request to connect a user device (e.g., Fig. 2, 110) to a first network (e.g., Fig. 3, 305, a client device request to join a public service set 115), determining, by a computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 105), a device identifier associated with the user device (e.g., [0024], [0028], [0029], [0034], the MAC address of the client device); determining, based on the device identifier, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network (e.g., Fig. 3, 310, [0023], [0028]-[0030], [0035], the MAC address of the client device is found to be in the known device data store (the client device is previously connected to a private service set 120)); rejecting, based on the policy (e.g., Fig. 3, 310, 320, 325, and 340), the request to connect the user device to the first network (e.g., Fig. 3, 345; [0029]-[0031], [0041]) and causing, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network (e.g., [0024], [0041], [0046], inform the client device to join the preferred network) by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device (e.g., [0041] “the authentication response may inform the client device 110 as to which specific network or SSID is preferred for the client device 110 … the authentication response may include … an identification of the preferred SSID and using the information included within the authentication response, the client device 110 may attempt to associate and/or authenticate with the preferred SSID.”
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding claim 2:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first network comprises a public network and wherein the second network comprises a private network (e.g., Fig. 2, 115 and 120).
Regarding claim 3:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises at least one of: a subscriber database, an access point, or a gateway device (e.g., Fig. 2, 105).
Regarding claim 4:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the policy associated with the user device comprises: sending the device identifier; and receiving, based on the device identifier, the policy associated with the user device (e.g., [0029], [0030], [0035]).
Regarding claim 5:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the policy is based on a time of day (e.g., [0032], [0037], [0040], the times of the client device’s attempts to join the public service set).
Regarding claim 6:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the device identifier associated with the user device comprises receiving, from the user device, the request (e.g., [0028]).
Regarding claim 7:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the policy associated with the user device comprises determining, by the computing device and based on a subscriber database, the policy, wherein the subscriber database is locally stored at the computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 215, [0035]).
Regarding independent claim 16:
Bestermann discloses an apparatus (e.g., Fig. 4, 400) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 4, 410); and a memory (Fig. 4, 420) storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: based on a request to connect a user device to a first network, determine a device identifier associated with the user device; determine, based on the device identifier, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network; reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network; and causing, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 1.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding independent claim 23:
Bestermann discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions (e.g., Fig. 4, 420/430, [0047]) that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: based on a request to connect a user device to a first network, determine a device identifier associated with the user device; determine, based on the device identifier, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network; reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network; and cause, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 1.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding independent claim 30:
Bestermann discloses a system comprising: a first computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 105) configured to: based on a request to connect a user device to a first network, determine a device identifier associated with the user device, determine, based on the device identifier, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network, reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network, and cause, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device; and a second computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 210) configured to: receive the device identifier associated with the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 1.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding claims 17-22, 24-29, and 31-36:
See rejections of claims 2-7.
Regarding independent claim 61:
Bestermann discloses a method comprising:
based on a request to connect a user device (e.g. Fig. 2, 110) to a first network (e.g., Fig. 3, 305, a client device request to join a public service set 115), sending, to a computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 215), a device identifier associated with the user device (e.g., Fig. 3, 310, [0035], searching the known device data store for the MAC address of the client device); receiving, from the computing device, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network (e.g. [0023], [0028]-[0030], [0035], the MAC address of the requesting client device is found in the known device data store); rejecting, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network (e.g., Fig. 3, 345; [0029]-[0031], [0041]); and causing, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device (e.g., [0024], [0041], [0046], inform the client device to join the preferred network).
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding claim 62:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 61, wherein the first network comprises a public network and wherein the second network comprises a private network (e.g., Fig. 2, 115 and 120).
Regarding claim 63:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 61, wherein the computing device comprises a subscriber database (e.g., Fig. 2, 215).
Regarding claim 64:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 61, wherein the policy indicates the user device is a known device (e.g., Fig. 3, 310).
Regarding claim 65:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 61, wherein the policy is based on a time of day (e.g., [0032], [0037], [0040], the times of the client device’s attempts to join the public service set).
Regarding claim 66:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 61, wherein the policy indicates the request is to be rejected based on the user device being associated with at least one of an access point or a gateway device (e.g., Fig. 3, 345, [0029]-[0031], [0041]).
Regarding claim 67:
Bestermann further discloses the method of claim 66, wherein at least one of the access point or the gateway device broadcasts the first network and the second network (e.g., Fig. 2, 105, [0009]).
Regarding independent claim 68:
Bestermann discloses an apparatus (e.g., Fig. 4, 400) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 4, 410); and a memory (Fig. 4, 420/430) storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: based on a request to connect a user device to a first network, sending, to a computing device, a device identifier associated with the user device; receive, from the computing device, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network; reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network; and cause, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 61.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding independent claim 75:
Bestermann discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 4, 420/430, [0047]) storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: based on a request to connect a user device to a first network, sending, to a computing device, a device identifier associated with the user device; receive, from the computing device, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network; reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network; and cause, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 61.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding independent claim 82:
Bestermann discloses a system comprising: a user device (e.g., Fig. 2, 110) configured to send a request to connect the user device to a first network; and a first computing device (e.g., Fig. 2, 105) configured to: based on the request to connect the user device to the first network, sending, to a second computing device, a device identifier associated with the user device; receive, from the second computing device, a policy associated with the user device, wherein the policy indicates the user device is associated with a second network; reject, based on the policy, the request to connect the user device to the first network; and cause, based on the policy, the user device to connect to the second network by at least assigning a network address associated with the second network to the user device. (See similar claim features discussed in rejection of claim 61.)
Bestermann is silent regarding the request comprises the device identifier.
Singh teaches a request to connect to a network comprises a device identifier (e.g., [0078], the request includes address information to identify the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Bestermann in light of Singh to include the feature that the request comprises the device identifier in order to reduce signaling overhead and enable access point to identify the device associated with an access request more efficiently.
Regarding claims 69-74, 76-81, and 83-88:
See rejections of claims 62-67.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465