DETAILED ACTION
[1] The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Notice to Applicant
[2] This communication is in response to the amendment filed 8 May 2026. It is noted that this application benefits from Foreign Application Serial No. 2022-007720 (Japan) filed 21 January 2022. Claims 1, 13, and 14 have been amended. Claim 15 has been added. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
[3] Previous rejection(s) of claims 1-14 (now claims 1-15 as presented by amendment) under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter has/have not been overcome by the amendments to the subject claims and is/are maintained. The revised statement of rejection presented below is necessitated by amendment and addresses the present amendments to the pending claims.
The following analysis is based on the framework for determining patent subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 established in the decisions of the Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Incorporated and Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. (See MPEP 2106 subsection III and 2106.03-2106.05). Claim(s) 1-15 as a whole is/are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Abstract ideas are excluded from patent eligibility based on a concern that monopolization of the basic tools of scientific and technological work might serve to impede, rather than promote, innovation. Still, inventions that integrate the building blocks of human ingenuity into something more by applying the abstract idea in a meaningful way are patent eligible (See MPEP 2106.04).
Consistent with the findings of the Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Incorporated and Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. ineligible abstract ideas are defined in groups, namely: (1) Mathematical Concepts (e.g., mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations; (2) Mental Processes (e.g., concepts performed or performable in the human mind including observations, evaluations, judgements, or opinions); and (3) Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Groupings of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity include three sub-categories within the group, namely: (1) fundamental economic principles or practices; (2) commercial or legal interactions (e.g., agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations); (3) managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (See MPEP 2106.04(a).
Eligibility Step 1: Four Categories of Statutory Subject Matter (See MPEP 2106.03): Independent claims 1, 13, and 14 are directed to an apparatus, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium computer-executable instructions, and a method, respectively, and are reasonably understood to be properly directed to one of the four recognized statutory classes of invention designated by 35 U.S.C. 101; namely, a process or method, a machine or apparatus, an article of manufacture, or a composition of matter. While the claims, generally, are directed to recognized statutory classes of invention, each of method/process, system/apparatus claims, and computer-readable media/articles of manufacture are subject to additional analysis as defined by the Courts to determine whether the particularly claimed subject matter is patent-eligible with respect to these further requirements. In the case of the instant application, each of claims 1, 13, and 14 are determined to be directed to ineligible subject matter based on the following analysis/guidance:
Eligibility Step 2A prong 1: (See MPEP 2106.04): In reference to claim 14, the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do/does not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim(s) is/are directed to the abstract idea of managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting, which is reasonably considered to be method of Organizing Human Activity. In particular, the general subject matter to which the claims are directed consists of a series of steps/functions in which through which a proposed meeting time/window is evaluated in consideration of an existing schedule information and conversational activity associated with a user and a meeting is scheduled or adjusted in accordance with the analysis, which is an ineligible concept of Organizing Human Activity, namely: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., scheduling interactions/meetings among participants).
In support of Examiner’s conclusion, Examiner respectfully directs Applicant’s attention to the claim limitations of representative claim 14. In particular, claim 14 includes:
“…receiving an instruction to produce a meeting notice; acquire a schedule of a participant of a meeting, the schedule arranged within a meeting time of the meeting; if the participant is occupied during the meeting time, acquiring log information on a conversation that the participant has made…displaying information indicating whether holding of the meeting is possible during the meeting time…”
Considered as an ordered combination, the steps/functions of claim 14 are reasonably considered to be representative of the inventive concept and are further reasonably understood to be series of actions or activities directed to a general process of managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting, which is an ineligible concept of Organizing Human Activity, namely: managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (e.g., scheduling interactions/meetings among participants) (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Further limitations are directed to ineligible processes/functions which are performable by Human Mental Processing and/or or by a human using pen and paper (See CyberSource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
The courts have previously identified subject matter limited to the implementation of steps/processes performable by Human Mental Processing and/or by a human using pen and paper to be ineligible abstract ideas (See CyberSource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2011). Lastly, if a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for a recitation of generic computer components, then the claim is still to be grouped as a mental process unless the limitation cannot practically be performed in the human mind (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
With respect to functions/steps limited to processes performable by Human Mental Processing and/or by a human using pen and paper, representative claim 14 recites:
“…if the participant is occupied during the meeting time…analyzing the log information on the conversation…”
Respectfully, absent further clarification of the processing steps executed by the recited “application” (claims 1, 13, and 14) and/or “computer/processor(s)” and “programs/instructions” (claims 1 and 13), one of ordinary skill in the art would readily be relied upon to observe and analyze calendar/schedule information and content of conversations to determine/infer whether an individual is available for a meeting are practicable/performable by a employing by the human mental processing (See CyberSource Corp v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“a method that can be performed by human thought alone is merely an abstract idea and is not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C 101).
Claims 1, 13, and 14 recite technical elements which have been considered at each step of Examiner’s analysis but are determined to constitute generic computing structures executing generic computing functions previously identified by the courts, as further analyzed under Step 2A prong 2 and Step 2B below.
Eligibility Step 2A prong 2: (See MPEP 2106.04(d)): Under step 2A prong two, Examiners are to consider additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluate whether those additional elements integrate the exception into a practical application. Further, to be considered a recitation of an element which integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, the additional elements must apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes meaningful limits on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
As presented by amendment, additional technical elements of claim 14 that potentially integrate the claimed ineligible subject matter into a practical application of the claimed subject are limited to: “messenger application”, “display”, “natural language processing”. Claims 1 and 13, directed to an apparatus and non-transitory computer-readable medium introduce a “processor/computer” and processor-executable “programs/instructions” as engaged in a general manner in the performance of each of the recited steps/functions. With respect to these potential additional elements:
(1) The “processor/computer” and “programs/instructions” are identified as engaged in an unspecified, general manner in the performance of each of the recited steps/functions.
(2) The “messenger application” is identified as providing conversation log information.
(3) As presented by amendment, the “display” is identified as (i) including a transmit button to send and instruction to produce the meeting notice and displaying (ii) on the display, based on a result of the determining, information indicating whether holding of the meeting is possible during the meeting time; (ii) content of a conversation (claims 2 and 3); and (iii) alternative meeting times (claims 8 and 9).
(4) The “natural language processing” is identified as “…analyzing through natural language processing, the log information on the conversation to determine whether the schedule of the participant during the meeting time is adjustable…”.
As presented by amendment, the action/functions performed by the “natural language processing” are limited to a general statement that the NLP performs analysis to determine information from the conversation logs. Accordingly, the recited analyzing is reasonably understood to be performable by a generic NLP process.
Further, the additional indication that a transmit button is displayed and the selection of the transmit button results in a receipt of the meeting notice and that the initiation of the NLP conversation analysis occurs responsive to or subsequent to the transmission of the meeting notice. Accordingly, the recited transmit button and transmission of the meeting notice is reasonably considered to constitute an additional generic data transmission step and additional generic NLP processes responsive to the transmission of the notice.
With respect to the above noted functions attributable to the identified additional elements, MPEP 2106.05 stipulates that: Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f); Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g); and/or Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) serve as indications that the use of the technology recited does not indicate integration into a practical application of the judicial exception.
Each of the above noted limitations states a result (e.g., instructions/notifications are received, meeting times and schedules are acquired, conversational logs are acquired and analyzed, determination as to whether a meeting at a time is possible is made based on the analysis, information is displayed, and meeting times are adjusted and meetings are scheduled etc.) as associated with a respective “processor/computer”, “programs/instructions” and “applications/displays”. Beyond the general statement that information is gathered, analyzed, and displayed, the limitations provide no further clarification with respect to the functions performed by the “processor/computer”, “programs/instructions” and “applications/displays” in producing the claimed result. A recitation of “by a computer” or “processor configured to”, absent clarification of particular processing steps executed by the underlying technology to produce the result are reasonably understood to be an equivalent of “apply it”. The identified functions performed by the recited technology are limited to: (1) receiving and sending data via a computer network (e.g., notifications/instructions and determinations); (2) storing and retrieving information and data from a generic computer memory (e.g., schedules); (3) displaying data on a generic computer display (e.g., determinations and to whether a meeting is possible); and (4) performing repetitive calculations and/or mental observations using the obtaining information/data (e.g., analyzing schedule information and conversations to determine whether meetings are possible and/or adjusting a time for a meeting) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, claim 14 is reasonably understood to be conducting standard, and formally manually performed process of managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting using the generic devices as tools to perform the abstract idea. The identified functions of the recited additional elements reasonably constitute a general linking of the abstract idea to a generic technological environment. The claimed managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting benefit from the inherent efficiencies gained by data transmission, data storage, and information display capacities of generic computing devices, but fails to present an additional element(s) which practical integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of the judicial exception.
Eligibility Step 2B: (See MPEP 2106.05): Analysis under step 2B is further subject to the Revised Examination Procedure responsive to the Subject Matter Eligibility Decision in Berkheimer v. HP, Inc. issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (19 April 2018). Examiner respectfully submits that the recited uses of the underlying computer technology constitute well-known, routine, and conventional uses of generic computers operating in a network environment. In support of Examiner’s conclusion that the recited functions/role of the computer as presented in the present form of the claims constitutes known and conventional uses of generic computing technology, Examiner provides the following:
In reference to the Specification as originally filed, Examiner notes Fig. 1 and pages 7-9. In the noted disclosure, the Specification provides listings of generic computing systems, e.g., a general computing platform including exemplary servers, network configurations and various processor configuration which are identified as capable and interchangeable for performing the disclosed processes. The disclosure does not identify any particular modifications to the underlying hardware elements required to perform the inventive methods and functions. Accordingly, it is reasonably understood that this disclosure indicates that the hardware elements and network configurations suitable for performing the inventive methods are limited to commercially available systems at the time of the invention. Absent further clarification, it is reasonably understood that any modifications/improvements to the underlying technology attributable to the inventive method/system are limited to improvements realized by the disclosed computer-executable routines and the associated processes performed.
While the above noted disclosure serves to provide sufficient explanation of technical elements required to perform the inventive method using available computing technology, the disclosure does not appear to identify any particular modifications or inventive configurations of the underlying hardware elements required to perform the inventive methods and functions. Accordingly, it is reasonably understood that the disclosure indicates that the hardware elements and network configurations suitable for performing the inventive methods are limited to commercially available systems at the time of the invention. Further, absent further clarification, it is reasonably understood that any modifications/improvements to the underlying technology attributable to the inventive method/system are limited to improvements realized by the disclosed computer-executable routines and the associated processes performed.
The claims specify that the above identified generic computing structures and associated functions/routines include:
(1) The “processor/computer” and “programs/instructions” are identified as engaged in an unspecified, general manner in the performance of each of the recited steps/functions.
(2) The “messenger application” is identified as providing conversation log information.
(3) As presented by amendment, the “display” is identified as (i) including a transmit button to send and instruction to produce the meeting notice and displaying (ii) on the display, based on a result of the determining, information indicating whether holding of the meeting is possible during the meeting time; (ii) content of a conversation (claims 2 and 3); and (iii) alternative meeting times (claims 8 and 9).
(4) The “natural language processing” is identified as “…analyzing through natural language processing, the log information on the conversation to determine whether the schedule of the participant during the meeting time is adjustable…”.
While Examiner acknowledges that the noted limitations are computer-implemented, Examiner respectfully submits that, in aggregate (e.g., “as a whole”) they do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea/ineligible subject matter to which the claimed invention is primarily directed.
While utilizing a computer, the claimed invention is not rooted in computer technology nor does it improve the performance of the underlying computer technology. The computer-implemented features of the claimed invention noted above are reasonably limited to: (1) receiving and sending data via a computer network (e.g., notifications/instructions and determinations); (2) storing and retrieving information and data from a generic computer memory (e.g., schedules); (3) displaying data on a generic computer display (e.g., determinations and to whether a meeting is possible); and (4) performing repetitive calculations and/or mental observations using the obtaining information/data (e.g., analyzing schedule information and conversations to determine whether meetings are possible and/or adjusting a time for a meeting).
The above listed computer-implemented functions are distinguished from the generic data storage, retrieval, transmission, and data manipulation/processing capacities of the generic systems identified in the Specification solely by the recited identification of particular data elements that are of utility to a user performing the specific method of managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting. In summary, the computer of the instant invention is facilitating non-technical aims, i.e., managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting, because it has been programmed to store, retrieve, and transmit specific data elements and/or instructions that is/are of utility to the user. The non-technical functions of managing schedules including analyzing schedule information and conversational activity information associated with users to determine a time for a meeting benefit from the use of computer technology, but fail to improve the underlying technology.
In support, the courts have previously found that utilization of a computer to receive or transmit data and communications over a network and/or employing generic computer memory and processor capacities store and retrieve information from a computer memory are insufficient computer-implemented functions to establish that an otherwise unpatentable judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) is patent eligible. With respect to the determinations of the Courts regarding using a computer for sending and receiving data or information over a computer network and storing and retrieving information from computer memory, see at least: receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; sending messages over a network OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); receiving and sending information over a network buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93 and see performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199; and Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) with respect to the performance of repetitive calculations does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claims.
Independent claims 1 and 13, directed to an apparatus/system and computer-executable instructions stored on computer-readable media for performing the method steps are rejected for substantially the same reasons, in that the generically recited computer components in the apparatus/system and computer readable media claims add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 15 when analyzed as a whole are held to be ineligible subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claimed invention is not directed to an abstract idea.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For further guidance and authority, see Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. 573 U.S.____ (2014)) (See MPEP 2106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[4] Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0169418 hereinafter ‘Singh’) in view of Gorzela et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0137472 hereinafter ‘Gorzela’) and further in view of Drummond et al. (United States Patent No. 12,033,118 hereinafter ‘Drummond’).
With respect to (currently amended) claim 1, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: receive an instruction to produce a meeting notice (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0009] [0016] [0032]; See at least messenger/conversation application analyzes conversation log to generate invitation notices to invite additional participants); acquire a schedule of a participant of a meeting, the schedule arranged within a meeting time of the meeting (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0043] [0047] [0094]-[0096]; See at least system applies user status manager and language model to analyze interactions with conversation applications and further accesses calendar data to determine availability of additional participants for the meeting time); if the participant is occupied during the meeting time, acquire log information on a conversation that the participant has made using a messenger application (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0091] [0095] [0097]-[0098]; See at least determination of availability and status where status is determined based on obtained system interaction information including current and previous interactions with messaging/conversation applications, i.e., log information); and by analyzing the log information on the conversation, display information indicating whether holding of the meeting is possible during the meeting time (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least analysis of conversation and system interactions to determine applicability of additional participant. See further determination of availability conditions for additional participant. See generation of displays of whether the additional participant can join the meeting presently and/or when available in the future).
With respect to the acquisition of log information of the participant, Singh discloses analysis of interactions via messenger/conversation application to generate a log of communications. Singh further discloses that assessing the prospective invitee/participant availability includes assessment of current status and previous participant interactions with the messenger/conversation application, i.e., a log. Accordingly, while Singh reasonably discloses accessing logs and conversational content of a current conversation/meeting and previous meeting communications, Singh fails to expressly state that content from the additional participant or invitee conversational logs are displayed to assess relative availability.
However, as evidenced by Gorzela, it is well-known in the calendar-based scheduling art to analyze content of messenger or conversational application logs to predict or estimate user availability for upcoming meetings (Gorzela et al.; paragraphs [0024]-[0027] [0044]-[0046]]; See at least recognition of phrases within dialog to indicate/estimate conclusion of meeting and associated availability of participants in subsequent scheduled meetings).
Claim 1 has been amended with respect to the previously recited “receiving” step to further specify “…receiving from a user, via a selection of a transmit button displayed on a display, an instruction to produce a meeting notice…”.
Claim 1 has been further amended specify “…analyzing through natural language processing, the log information on the conversation to determine whether the schedule of the participant during the meeting time is adjustable, and, displaying, on the display, based on a result of the determining…”.
With respect to this element, while Singh discloses analysis of interactions via messenger/conversation application to generate a log of communications. Singh further discloses that assessing the prospective invitee/participant availability includes assessment of current status and previous participant interactions with the messenger/conversation application, i.e., a log, in association with a transmitted meeting invitation. Singh fails to expressly state that a transmit button is applied or that analysis of the log is responsive to the transmission of the meeting notice. Gorzela fails to remedy this deficiency.
However, as evidenced by Drummond, it is well-known in the art to provide a user interface to a group of users from which event invitations/messages are initiated by a displayed graphical element, i.e., a button. It is further well-known to initiate analysis of a conversation log subsequent to the transmission of the event invitation to determine whether other calendared events can be adjusted to accommodate a newly scheduled event (Drummond et al.; col. 17, lines 34-67, col. 18, lines 1-30 and lines 55-67, and col. 19, lines 1-27; See at least meeting and event scheduling via messaging sent/transmitted using interface elements, i.e., button. See further responsive analysis of messaging logs to determine and display of adjustments to calendar event times and dates, i.e., shorten or lengthen to make a meeting/event feasible based on analysis of the messaging log).
Regarding the combination that includes Gorzela, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the content extraction and analysis from the conversation meeting log features of Singh by further including specific analysis of content associated with extracted conversational logs from a prospective invitee to determine availability as taught by Gorzela. The instant invention is directed to a system and method of analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants. As Singh disclose the use of content extraction and analysis from the conversation meeting log in the context of a system and method for analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants and Gorzela similarly discloses the utility of specific analysis of content associated with extracted conversational logs from a prospective invitee to determine availability in the context of a system and method for analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants, the teachings are reasonably considered to have been derived from analogous references and applied in the manner disclosed by the respective references. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the noted combination/modification as rationalized by combining prior art elements accordingly to known methods to yield the predictable results of avoiding negative consequences of interrupting ongoing meetings and discussion due to scheduling requirements of participants, thereby improving meeting efficiency and flow of ideas (Gorzela et al.; paragraphs [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding the combination that includes Drummond, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the content extraction and analysis from the conversation meeting log features of Singh by further including meeting and event scheduling via messaging sent/transmitted using interface elements and responsive analysis of messaging logs to determine and display adjustments to calendar event times and dates as taught by Drummond. The instant invention is directed to a system and method of analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants. As Singh disclose the use of content extraction and analysis from the conversation meeting log in the context of a system and method for analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants and Drummond similarly discloses the utility of meeting and event scheduling via messaging sent/transmitted using interface elements and responsive analysis of messaging logs to determine and display adjustments to calendar event times and dates in the context of a system and method for analyzing messenger or communication interactions to asses availability of meeting participants, the teachings are reasonably considered to have been derived from analogous references and applied in the manner disclosed by the respective references. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the noted combination/modification as rationalized by combining prior art elements accordingly to known methods to yield the predictable results of providing for flexible convenient event/meeting scheduling based on current participant state or status thereby improving meeting efficiency and flow of ideas.
With respect to claim 2, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to, if the holding of the meeting is possible during the meeting time, display, out of the log information on the conversation, at least contents of the conversation that provide a basis that determines that the holding of the meeting is possible (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] [0108] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least determination of availability of participants. See also extracted topic of the meeting ‘workspace integration’ from the conversational log. See further interface displays of the information and invitation. See further calendar meting request option prepopulates the request with information related to the conversation logs).
With respect to claim 3, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to display an indication that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is possible if referencing the schedule of the participant determines that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is difficult and when the analyzing of the log information determines that the schedule of the participant during the meeting time is adjustable (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least options to invite the additional participant immediately, when available, or schedule a meeting in the calendar. These settings are reasonably forms of determining from the system interaction and associated current status information that the meeting time is adjustable and adjusted by the selection option).
With respect to claim 4, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to arrange the meeting during the meeting time by adjusting the schedule that is determined to be adjustable (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least options to invite the additional participant immediately, when available, or schedule a meeting in the calendar. These settings are reasonably forms of determining from the system interaction and associated current status information that the meeting time is adjustable and adjusted by the selection option).
With respect to claim 5, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to delete the schedule if the analyzing of the log information detects the schedule that does not permit the meeting to be held as arranged during the meeting time (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least options to invite the additional participant immediately, when available, or schedule a meeting in the calendar. See cancel meeting option).
With respect to claim 6, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to modify a planned time of the schedule if the analyzing of the log information detects the schedule that permits the planned time during the meeting time to be modified (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least options to invite the additional participant immediately, when available, or schedule a meeting in the calendar. These settings are reasonably forms of determining from the system interaction and associated current status information that the meeting time is adjustable and adjusted by the selection option).
With respect to claim 7, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to shorten a time length of the schedule during the meeting time if the analyzing of the log information detects the schedule that permits the time length of the schedule to be shortened (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0091] [0095] [0097]-[0098]; See at least determination of availability and status where status is determined based on obtained system interaction information including current and previous interactions with messaging/conversation applications. See further determinations of time and duration of interactions and meetings).
With respect to claim 8, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to, if the analyzing of the log information determines that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is difficult, display alternative meeting time throughout which the holding of the meeting is possible (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0043] [0096]-[0099] [0105] and Figs. 7a and 7B; See at least assessments of availability including assessments of unavailable and uninterruptible, i.e., meeting is or isn’t difficult at the requested time. See further options to join, join when available, schedule at an alternative time, or decline/cancel meeting).
With respect to claim 9, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to display an indication that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is possible if referencing the schedule of the participant determines that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is difficult and when the holding of the meeting is determined to be possible with a modification introduced in a condition to hold the meeting specified in the instruction to produce the meeting notice (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0096]-[0099] [0103]-[0105] [0108] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least determination of availability of participants. See further interface displays of the information and invitation. See calendar meeting request option prepopulates the request with information related to the conversation logs. See further options to join, join when available, schedule at an alternative time, or decline/cancel meeting).
With respect to claim 10, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to shorten a time length of the meeting time if the analyzing of the log information determines that shortening the time length of the meeting time of the meeting is possible (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0096]-[0099] [0103]-[0105] [0108] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least determination of availability of participants. See further interface displays of the information and invitation. See calendar meeting request option prepopulates the request with information related to the conversation logs. See further options to join, join when available, schedule at an alternative time, or decline/cancel meeting).
With respect to claim 11, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to change the participant of the meeting if the analyzing of the log information determines that changing the participant is possible (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0032] [0104]-[0107]; See at least options to invite participants based on availability, i.e., changing to an available participant that meets the expertise profile).
With respect to claim 12, Singh discloses an information processing apparatus wherein the processor is configured to adjust the meeting time of the meeting if the referencing of the schedule of the participant determines that the holding of the meeting during the meeting time is possible and when the analyzing of the log information detects the schedule of the participant during the meeting time (Singh et al.; paragraphs [0096]-[0099] [0103]-[0105] [0108] Figs. 7A and 7B; See at least determination of availability of participants including referencing calendar application. See further interface displays of the information and invitation. See calendar meeting request option prepopulates the request with information related to the conversation logs. See further options to join, join when available, schedule at an alternative time, or decline/cancel meeting).
With respect to claim 15, as noted above Singh fails to expressly state that a transmit button is applied or that analysis of the log is responsive to the transmission of the meeting notice and by extension fails to disclose adjustments of scheduled events to facilitate the feasibility of a meeting as a function of the analysis of the logs.
However, Drummond discloses an apparatus wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine that the participant has a first schedule arranged during at least a portion of the meeting time, determine that a first time length of the first schedule is reducible to a second time length shorter than the first time length based on the analyzing of the log information on the conversation reduce the first time length of the first schedule to the second time length, and
arrange the meeting during the meeting time and outside of the second time length of the first schedule (Drummond et al.; col. 17, lines 34-67, col. 18, lines 1-30 and lines 55-67, and col. 19, lines 1-27; See at least meeting and event scheduling via messaging sent/transmitted using interface elements, i.e., button. See further responsive analysis of messaging logs to determine and display of adjustments to calendar event times and dates, i.e., shorten or lengthen to make a meeting/event feasible based on analysis of the messaging log).
Regarding claim 15, the conclusions of obviousness and rationale to modify as established for claim 1 above are applicable to claim 15 and are hereby incorporated by reference.
[5] Claims 13-14 substantially repeat the subject matter addressed above with respect to claim 1 as directed to performed method/process and enabling computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions. With respect to these elements, Singh discloses performance of the method/process steps employing the enabling systems and executable instructions (See at least Singh paragraphs [0034]-[0040]). Accordingly, claims 13-14 are rejected under the applied teachings, conclusions obviousness, and rationale to modify as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Response to Remarks/Amendment
[6] Applicant's remarks filed 8 May 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
[i] In response to rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 (now claims 1-15 as presented by amendment) under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter as set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 12 February 2026, Applicant provides commentary that the instant claims as amendment are consistent with Example 37 of the present subject matter eligibility guidelines.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to any similarity between the initiation of conversation analysis of the instant claims and the usage-based arrangement/configuring of GUI icons of example 37, Examiner notes the features relied upon in example 37 include monitoring a usage of individual applications and an output of rearranging the launch icons on the users GUI thereby modifying the interface to accommodate the usage pattern of the user. In contrast, the output of the instant claims is limited to a determination that a meeting schedule can be adjusted based on analyzed conversations. There does not appear to be any modification of underlying interfaces and/ or other computing functions based on the determination of moving a meeting to accommodate a new meeting. Accordingly. As presented, the claimed meeting adjustment is not reasonably similar to the reconfiguring of the interface in example 37.
[ii] Applicant’s remaining remarks in response to previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 (now claims 1-15 as presented by amendment) under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter as set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 12 February 2026 are reasonably considered to have been fully addressed in the context of the revised rejection of the claims presented above responsive to the amendments to the subject claims and in consideration of the framework for determining patent subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101 established in the decisions of the Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Labs., Incorporated and Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. (See MPEP 2106 subsection III and 2106.03-2106.05).
[iii] Applicant’s remarks directed to previous rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as set forth in the previous Office Action mailed 12 February 2026 have been fully considered and are moot in light of newly added grounds of rejection responsive to the amendments to the subject claims. See revised rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 presented above.
Conclusion
[7] The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cited PATENT Literature:
Bell et al., Channel Agnostic Scheduling System, United States Patent No. 11,544,800, column(s) 2-3: Relevant Teachings: Bell discloses a system/method that provides scheduling for group meetings based on analysis of chat logs among the users.
Bhattacharya et al., RESOLVING TEMPORAL AMBIGUITIES IN NATURAL LANGUAGE INPUTS LEVERAGING SYNTAX TREE PERMUTATIONS, United States Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0081494, paragraphs [0024]-[0027]: Relevant Teachings: Bhattacharya discloses a system/method that includes steps/functions to schedule meetings by monitoring chat communications among the meeting participants.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D RINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625