DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 11 to incorporate subject matter from dependent claims 9 and 19.
Applicant asserts that Wang is configured to cease battery balancing when the state of charge or pack voltage is balanced (e.g., SOC imbalance is less than CAL) and subsequently execute a requested mod transition. Further applicant argues that Beaston “merely discusses providing overcurrent protection by sensing current and opening contactors to disconnect a battery string when overcurrent is detected. Beaston is entirely silent any operation of contactors with regards to battery balancing”.
Regarding the combination of Wang et al (US 20200070667 A1) as modified by Beaston et al (US 20160141894 A1), applicant argues it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the apparatus of Wang to drive relays of other battery packs when the charging current decreases to the reference current or less according to Beaston in order to reduce excess energy consumption and allow for longer battery life. Wang discloses an apparatus configured to cease battery balancing when a chosen parameter is indicates that the battery packs are balanced and subsequently execute a requested mode transition. The parameters Wang uses are state of charge or pack voltage to determine when the battery packs are balanced, as detailed above, through Ohm’s law when the difference in voltage across the battery packs decreases so does the difference in current.
Beaston discloses an apparatus with multiple battery packs 302 controlled by MCU 808, which connects and disconnects individual packs based on a charging parameter. This forms a similar base between Wang and Beaston of a main controller connecting and disconnecting battery packs in parallel based on a charging parameter. Beaston ¶0239 discloses “if over-current (a current level higher than a pre-determined threshold) is sensed in current sensor 3020, current sensor unit 3028 may provide a value to MCU 3025, which instructs contactor control units 3026 and 3030 to open contactors 3016 and 3018, respectively, disconnecting battery string from PCS”, describing the function of the controller (MCU 3025 on string controller 3000, which communicates with MCU 808) to connect and disconnect battery strings based on a detected current threshold. Although Beaston does teach a controller responding to a current value relative to a threshold, Beaston teaches a current level higher than a threshold and does not teach the limitation “when the current is less than or equal to the reference current”.
Applicant's arguments filed 18 March 2025 have been fully considered, and with regard to Beaston are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1, 9, 11, and 19 recite the broad recitation “at least two or more battery packs”, and the claim also recites “of other battery packs” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20200070667 A1) modified by Yano et al (US 20110074354 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an apparatus for balancing batteries connected in parallel, the apparatus comprising: a communication device configured to receive States Of Charge (SOCs) of at least two or more battery packs; (¶0033 "input signals (arrow CC.sub.I) may be determined during charging as part of ongoing communication between the controller 50 and the DC fast-charging station 30 of FIG. 1 upon connection of the vehicle 10 to the station 30, such as when the DC fast-charging station 30 communicates its maximum charging voltage to the controller 50 and during an active charging event of the RESS 12, or during ongoing drive operation of the vehicle 10");
and a processing device electrically connected with a detection device, (¶0034 "FIG. 1, the controller 50 determines the corresponding first and second pack voltages V1 and V2, e.g., via Page 4 onboard measurement and/or calculation, as will be appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art"),
wherein the processing device is configured to: determine whether the at least two or more battery packs (¶0036 " FIG. 3 depicts an alternative embodiment of the RESS 12 includes another switching circuit 220 Such an embodiment may be used when the respective states of charge of battery packs 12A and 12B differ from each other by a predetermined amount, e.g., by more than 5%")
enter a balancing mode based on SOCs of the at least two or more battery packs, the SOCs being collected by the communication device, (¶0036 "PID logic block 55, shown separately from the controller 50 for clarity but possibly implemented as programmed control logic thereof, receives control inputs in the form of a measured state of charge (SOC mea) and a desired state of charge (SOC des), with the identities of each control input variable being readily available to the controller 50 and described below with reference to FIG. 4")
determine a balancing control mode as a charging balancing mode or a driving balancing mode based on a vehicle state, when it is determined that the at least two or more battery packs enter the balancing mode, (¶0026 "controller 50 automatically balances the state of charge or pack voltage, doing so using open/closed state control of the cell balancing circuits shown in FIG. 2A. The controller 50 may also execute the requested mode transition when the state of charge or pack voltage is balanced, or another control unit may be responsible for such a control action."),
and control a relay of at least one of the at least two or more battery packs depending on the determined balancing control mode to perform charging or discharging and performs balancing between the at least two or more battery packs; (¶0026 "Responsive to a threshold imbalance being present in a state of charge or pack voltage of the first and second battery packs 12A and 12B relative to each other, the controller 50 automatically balances the state of charge or pack voltage, doing so using open/closed state control of the cell balancing circuits shown in FIG. 2A")
and wherein the processing device is further configured to: drive a relay of at least one discharging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs having an SOC higher than an average SOC of the at least two or more battery packs to supply power necessary to drive the vehicle, when the driving balancing mode is determined; (¶0033 "controller 50 is programmed to execute instructions 100 embodying a self balancing switching control method, with the controller 50 receiving input signals (arrow CC.sub.I) indicative of a driver-requested or autonomously-requested operating mode of the electrified powertrain 24")
[and drive relays of other battery packs, the discharging of which is excluded, except for the at least one discharging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs, based on a discharging current of the at least one discharging target battery pack,]
after determining that the balancing between the at least two or more battery packs is ended. (¶0046 "Block Application/Control B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)… If so, the method 100 is complete (*)", when the SOC imbalance falls below the calibrated threshold balancing ends)
Wang does not teach and drive relays of other battery packs, the discharging of which is excluded, except for the at least one discharging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs, based on a discharging current of the at least one discharging target battery pack.
Yano teaches and drive relays of other battery packs, the discharging of which is excluded, except for the at least one discharging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs, based on a discharging current of the at least one discharging target battery pack. (¶0045 “power source apparatus can also be provided with a charging and discharging controller (not illustrated) to control battery block 15 charging and discharging, a current detector (not illustrated) to detect charging and discharging current flow in the battery block 15, a battery capacity computation section (not illustrated) to calculate battery block 15 remaining capacity based on the charging and discharging current detected by the current detector”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the apparatus as taught by Wang to drive relays of other battery packs based on a discharging current of the at least one discharging target battery pack, after determining that the balancing between the at least two or more battery packs is ended as taught by Yano. Wang discloses an apparatus configured to cease battery balancing when the controller determines a condition has been met, such the state of charge or pack voltage is balanced. Similarly Yano teaches an apparatus for charging/discharging batteries arranged in parallel with differing states of charge using a controller configured to determine charge/discharge conditions to operate the switches connecting the battery packs. It would be an obvious modification to incorporate the current detector (not pictured) for calculating remaining capacity as taught by Yano into the apparatus of Wang to use as the parameter for determining when to balance two or more battery packs. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure all the battery packs are balanced protecting them from degradation and improving battery lifespan.
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a method for balancing batteries in parallel the method comprising: collecting States Of Charge (SOCs) of at least two or more battery packs. (Wang ¶0032 “controller 50 also includes application-sufficient amounts of random access memory, electrically-erasable programmable read only memory, and the like”, Wang ¶0033 “controller 50 is programmed to execute instructions 100 embodying a self-balancing switching control method, with the controller 50 receiving input signals ”)
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a method for balancing batteries.
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine whether an SOC difference between the at least two or more battery packs is greater than a first reference SOC difference, (Wang ¶0044 B110, the controller 50 next implements proportional-integral derivative (PID) control via the PID logic block 55 of FIG. 3 to charge the battery pack 12A using the excess stored energy in the supercapacitor 142 (FIG. 3A). Block B110 continues until the SOC imbalance is within a calibrated threshold")
determine whether a voltage difference between the at least two or more battery packs is greater than a first reference voltage difference, (Wang ¶0046 "B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)")
and determine that the at least two or more battery packs enter the balancing mode, when the SOC difference is greater than the first reference SOC difference and when the voltage difference is greater than the first reference voltage difference. (Wang ¶0048 "block B115, the controller 50 implements PID control via PID logic block 55 of FIG. 3 to discharge energy from battery pack 12A to the supercapacitor 142 (FIG. 3A). Block B115 continues until the SOC imbalance is within a calibrated (CAL) threshold")
Similarly for claim 12 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 3, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine the balancing control mode as the charging balancing mode, when the vehicle state is a charging state, (Wang ¶0051" If the charging station 30 does not provide the 400-voltcharging in this example, the controller 50 may discharge the stronger battery pack 12A or 12B through the resistive load 242 of FIG. 3B with minimal wasted energy", controller 50 is able to implement instructions 100 through controller 50 while connected to charging station 30)
and determine the balancing control mode as the driving balancing mode, when the vehicle state is a driving state. (Wang ¶0033 "controller 50 is programmed to execute instructions 100 embodying a self-balancing switching control method, with the controller 50 receiving input signals (arrow CC.sub.I) indicative of a driver-requested or autonomously-requested operating mode of the electrified powertrain 24").
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 4, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: drive a relay of at least one charging target battery pack having a relatively low SOC among the at least two or more battery packs, when the charging balancing mode is determined, (Wang ¶0040 "block B104, the controller 50 determines whether the pack voltage (V1) of battery pack 12A is less than the pack voltage (V2) of the battery pack 12B", 10042 "Block B108 is arrived at after determining that the battery pack 12B is stronger than battery pack 12A, and that excess energy is stored in supercapacitor 142. Block B108 includes determining the state of charge (SOC) of the battery pack 12A, i.e., SOC_meas=SOC1, with SOC1 being the state of charge of battery pack 12A. The desired SOC in this instance is that of battery pack 12B, such that SOC_des=SOC2")
[calculate a necessary charging current for charging the at least one charging target battery pack, request the calculated necessary charging current from a charger and proceed with charging the at least one charging target battery pack,]
and determine whether to end balancing between the at least two or more battery packs, when the SOC of the at least one charging target battery pack reaches a first target battery capacity. (Wang ¶0046 "Block B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)... If so, the method 100 is complete (*). The method 100 repeats block B104when the present SOC imbalance exceeds the calibrated threshold (CAL)")
Wang as modified by Yano does not teach calculate a necessary charging current for charging the at least one charging target battery pack, request the calculated necessary charging current from a charger and proceed with charging the at least one charging target battery pack.
Yano further teaches calculate a necessary charging current for charging the at least one charging target battery pack, request the calculated necessary charging current from a charger and proceed with charging the at least one charging target battery pack. (¶0045 “a battery capacity computation section (not illustrated) to calculate battery block 15 remaining capacity based on the charging and discharging current detected by the current detector, and a power source-side communication section (not illustrated) to send charging and discharging current limits based on battery block 15 remaining capacity calculated by the battery capacity computation section to the vehicle-side that is being supplied with power”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the processing device as taught by Wang modified by Yano calculate a necessary charging current for charging the at least one charging target battery pack, request the calculated necessary charging current from a charger and proceed with charging the at least one charging target battery pack as taught by Yano. Wang and Yano share the functionality of charging and discharging unbalanced batteries connected in parallel using a measured parameter to control the charging of at least one charging target battery pack. Incorporating the current detector as taught by Yano wherein charging a battery pack is controlled through the applied current to the controller 50 as taught by Wang would result in requesting the calculated necessary charging current from a charger and proceed with charging the at least one charging target battery pack. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure all the battery packs are balanced protecting them from degradation and improving battery lifespan.
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: request the charger to control the charging current to a predetermined reference current or less, (¶0045 “a battery capacity computation section (not illustrated) to calculate battery block 15 remaining capacity based on the charging and discharging current detected by the current detector, and a power source-side communication section (not illustrated) to send charging and discharging current limits based on battery block 15 remaining capacity calculated by the battery capacity computation section to the vehicle-side that is being supplied with power”)
when it is determined that the balancing between the battery packs is ended, drive relays of other battery packs, the charging of which is excluded, except for the at least one charging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs, when the charging current decreases to the reference current or less, (Yano ¶0045 “power source apparatus can also be provided with a charging and discharging controller (not illustrated) to control battery block 15 charging and discharging, a current detector (not illustrated) to detect charging and discharging current flow in the battery block 15, a battery capacity computation section (not illustrated) to calculate battery block 15 remaining capacity based on the charging and discharging current detected by the current detector”)
and end the balancing between the battery packs, when it is identified that the relays of the other battery packs, the charging of which is excluded, are driven. (Wang ¶0046 "B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL). the method 100 is complete (*). The method 100 repeats block B104when the present SOC imbalance exceeds the calibrated threshold (CAL)")
The battery packs in the apparatus for balancing batteries as taught by Wang modified by Yano are connected in parallel, through Ohm's law this necessitates that all batteries are held at the same voltage across the battery and approximately the same resistance across each battery resulting in a combined current. However, during balancing due to the differences in each battery’s state of charge this will result in a variance in the current across each battery.
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: calculate a vehicle charging and discharging output by the at least one discharging target battery pack, (Wang ¶0034 "FIG. 1, the controller 50 determines the corresponding first and second pack voltages V1 and V2, e.g., via onboard measurement and/or calculation, as will be appreciated by those of ordinary skill in the art")
transmit the calculated vehicle charging and discharging output to a vehicle main controller, (Wang ¶0027 "Each battery pack or each battery cell may be associated with one or more sensors to measure one or more battery characteristics (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, SOC, capacity, etc.) associated with each pack/cell.. resident vehicle controller 23 is communicatively connected to the engine 12, traction motors 14, 16, vehicle battery system 15, and transmission 18 to control the operation thereof"),
control discharging of the at least one discharging target battery pack under an instruction of the vehicle main controller, (Wang ¶0027 "Each battery pack or each battery cell may be associated with one or more sensors to measure one or more battery characteristics (e.g., voltage, current, temperature, SOC, capacity, etc.) associated with each pack/cell... resident vehicle controller 23 is communicatively connected to the engine 12, traction motors 14, 16, vehicle battery system 15, and transmission 18to control the operation thereof"),
and determine whether to end the balancing between the at least two or more battery packs, when the SOC of the at least one discharging target battery pack reaches a second target battery capacity. (Wang ¶0046 "Block B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)")
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 13.
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine whether a discharging current of a vehicle is less than or equal to a reference current, when it is determined that the balancing between the at least two or more battery packs is ended, (Wang ¶0046 "Block B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)")
drive relays of other battery packs, the discharging of which is excluded, except for the at least one discharging target battery pack among the at least two or more battery packs, when the discharging current is less than or equal to the reference current, (Yano ¶0045 “power source apparatus can also be provided with a charging and discharging controller (not illustrated) to control battery block 15 charging and discharging, a current detector (not illustrated) to detect charging and discharging current flow in the battery block 15, a battery capacity computation section (not illustrated) to calculate battery block 15 remaining capacity based on the charging and discharging current detected by the current detector”)
and end the balancing between the at least two or more battery packs, when it is identified that the relays of the other battery packs, the discharging of which is excluded, are driven. (Wang ¶0046 "Block B112 includes determining whether the present SOC imbalance is less than a calibrated threshold (CAL)")
Similarly for claim 19 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 17.
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Wang as modified by Yano further teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to perform discharging of the at least one discharging target battery pack again, when a voltage difference between the at least two or more battery packs by a cell voltage deviation is greater than or equal to a second reference voltage difference when the SOC of the at least one discharging target battery pack reaches the second target battery capacity. (Wang ¶0043 " B109 includes determining via the controller 50 whether the pack voltage (V1) of battery pack 12A exceeds the pack voltage (V2) of battery pack 12B. At the same time, the controller 50 determines whether circuit element 42 of FIG. 3 has a capacitor voltage (Vcap) that is less than the pack voltage (V2) of the battery pack 12B. The method 100 proceeds to block B111 when this combined condition is detected, and to B112 in the alternative")
Similarly for claim 20 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 17.
Claim(s) 5, 8, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang modified by Yano and further in view of Takao et al (US 20230396074 A1). Takao has a priority date of 29 September 2020.
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Wang as modified by Yano does not teach wherein the processing device is further configured to multiply a number of charging target battery packs by a minimum necessary charging current to calculate the necessary charging current.
Takao teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to multiply a number of charging target battery packs by a minimum necessary charging current to calculate the necessary charging current. (¶0078 “Computing unit 312 multiplies the maximum charging current value of one battery pack 20 by the number of parallel-connected battery packs 20 to estimate a maximum charging current value of the entire parallel system (S45)”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wang modified by Yano wherein the processing device is further configured to multiply a number of charging target battery packs by a minimum necessary charging current to calculate the necessary charging current as taught by Takao. Takao discloses a battery management device for managing the discharging power of battery packs connected in parallel, Takao FIG 8 depicts the management device performing balancing across parallel connected battery packs. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize balancing time and minimizing battery degradation.
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Wang as modified by Yano does not teach wherein the processing device is further configured to: select a minimum charging and discharging output of the at least one discharging target battery pack, and multiply the selected minimum charging and discharging output by a number of discharging target battery packs to calculate the vehicle charging and discharging output.
Takao teaches wherein the processing device is further configured to: select a minimum charging and discharging output of the at least one discharging target battery pack, and multiply the selected minimum charging and discharging output by a number of discharging target battery packs to calculate the vehicle charging and discharging output. (¶0078 “Computing unit 312 multiplies the maximum charging current value of one battery pack 20 by the number of parallel-connected battery packs 20 to estimate a maximum charging current value of the entire parallel system (S45)”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the processing device as taught by Wang modified by Yano wherein the processing device is further configured to multiply a number of charging target battery packs by a minimum necessary charging current to calculate the necessary charging current as taught by Takao. Takao discloses a battery management device for managing the discharging power of battery packs connected in parallel, Takao FIG 8 depicts the management device performing balancing across parallel connected battery packs. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize balancing time and minimizing battery degradation.
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a method for balancing batteries, Wang as modified by Yano teaches the method of claim 17.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Books et al (US 20210226267 A1) teaches a battery charging/discharging device of multiple packs connected in parallel at different states of charge, using switches to connect and disconnect battery packs during balancing.
Mori et al (US 20180375177 A1) teaches a battery charging/discharging device for battery packs in parallel controlled by a main controller, and each pack being balanced on the cell level by a sub-controller.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859