Restriction/Election Requirement
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I, Species B, Claims 1-10, 17-20 on 4/14/2025, has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is not clear how "a first internal side surface of the first cavity" is "vertically spaced from a first floor of the first cavity" and "a second internal side surface of the second cavity" is "vertically spaced from a second floor of the second cavity", because it appears that the first/second internal side surface of the first/second cavity shown in Fig. 6 of current application are connected to the first/second floor of the first/second cavity rather than being spaced from the first/second floor of the first/second cavity. Furthermore, it is not clear what a "floor" of the first and second cavity refers to, because a cavity is an empty space, and therefore, a cavity does not exactly have a floor. Claims 2-10 and 17-20 depend on claim 1, and therefore, claims 2-10 and 17-20 are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable in view of Shen et al. (US 20200043817 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly (504, FIG. 5A/5B) comprising:
a substrate (wiring substrate 120, protective substrate 410) with a first cavity (414) having a first connective element (130) at a first internal side surface of the first cavity vertically spaced from a first floor of the first cavity; a second cavity having a second connective element (130) at a second internal side surface of the second cavity vertically spaced from a second floor of the second cavity (FIG. 12);
A first semiconductor die (110, FIG. 3E) disposed in the first cavity and having a third connective element at a first edge surface of the first semiconductor die;
A second semiconductor die (110, FIG. 3E) disposed in the second cavity and having a fourth connective element at a second edge surface of the second semiconductor die, wherein the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die are electrically coupled through the first connective element, the second connective element, the third connective element, and the fourth connective element.
Regarding claim 2, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly (504) further comprising an interposer (wiring substrate 120.1) and coupling the first connective element to the second connective element (140.1, FIG. 5A/5B).
Regarding claim 3, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly (504) wherein the first connective element and the third connective element comprise a conductive contact; wherein the semiconductor device assembly further comprises a solder joint (140) coupling the first connective element and the third connective element (140.1).
Regarding claim 6, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly wherein an upper surface of the first semiconductor die (120) is recessed from an upper surface of the substrate (protective substrate 410, substrate 410S, FIG. 1).
Figure 1 Semiconductor Device Assembly
Regarding claim 7, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly further comprising a third semiconductor die mounted to the upper surface of the interposer substrate (120.1S, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly wherein the first and second connective elements (130) are spaced from an upper surface of the interposer substrate (120.1S, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly wherein the substrate further includes a fifth connective element at the first floor of the first cavity;
The first semiconductor die has a sixth connective element at a bottom surface of the first semiconductor die, the sixth connective element coupled with the fifth connective element effective to electrically couple the first semiconductor die and the substrate.
Regarding claim 10, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly comprising a third semiconductor die (110 annotated below in FIG. 5A) disposed in the first cavity below the first semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 17, Shen et al. disclose a substrate comprising:
A first cavity (414) recessed in a top surface of the substrate (120.1S), the first cavity having a first connective element exposed at a side surface of the first cavity;
A second cavity (414) recessed in the top surface of the substrate, the second cavity having a second connective element exposed at a side surface of the second cavity; and circuitry ([0025] “Interposer 120.1 may include transistors, resistors, capacitors, and other devices (not shown) in substrate 120.1S”) internal to the interposer substrate and coupling the first and second connective element.
Regarding claim 18, Shen et al. disclose a substrate wherein the first connective element comprises a conductive contact. Shen does not disclose an inductor or optical element, however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form an inductor and optical element at the connective elements in order to increase inductance to optimize current regulation and smoothing, protect against transient change in current and voltage spikes, decrease the footprint of the semiconductor device and ensure precise alignment and stability.
Regarding claim 19, Shen et al. disclose a substrate which further includes a third connective element (140.1, FIG. 5A) exposed at a bottom surface of the first cavity (414).
Regarding claim 20, Shen et al. disclose a substrate wherein the first cavity and second cavity have different depths (which can vary due to fabrication variation, metrology error, and die and connection sizes):
[0030] “The cavity depth depends on the thickness of dies 410 and connections 140.1.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Shen et al. (US 20200043817 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly including the first and third connective element, however, Shen does not disclose these elements as being inductive. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form inductors at the connective elements (and other passive elements as suggested in [0025]) in order to increase inductance to optimize current regulation and smoothing and protect against transient change in current and voltage spikes.
[0025] “Interposer 120.1 may include transistors, resistors, capacitors, and other devices (not shown) in substrate 120.1S and redistribution layer 210.T.”
Regarding claim 5, Shen et al. disclose a semiconductor device assembly including the first and third connective element, however, Shen does not disclose these elements as being an optical element. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form optical elements at the connective elements (and other elements as suggested in [0025]) and to electrically couple the first and third element through an optical connection in order to decrease the footprint of the semiconductor device and ensure precise alignment and stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed October 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants amendment with regards to Claim 1 "A semiconductor device assembly, comprising: a substrate including: a first cavity having a first connective element at a first internal side surface of the first cavity vertically spaced from a first floor of the first cavity; and a second cavity having a second connective element at a second internal side surface of the second cavity vertically spaced from a second floor of the second cavity". Regarding claim 1, it is not clear how "a first internal side surface of the first cavity" is "vertically spaced from a first floor of the first cavity" and "a second internal side surface of the second cavity" is "vertically spaced from a second floor of the second cavity", because it appears that the first/second internal side surface of the first/second cavity shown in Fig. 6 of current application are connected to the first/second floor of the first/second cavity rather than being spaced from the first/second floor of the first/second cavity. Furthermore, it is not clear what a "floor" of the first and second cavity refers to, because a cavity is an empty space, and therefore, a cavity does not exactly have a floor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA SCOTT WYATT/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JAY C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815