DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,316,834 to Matsuda in view of USPAP 2016/0039172 to Kawka, USPAP 2018/0100256 to Handermann and/or USPAP 2009/0301304 to Bass.
Claim 14, 17, 19, 21 and 23, Matsuda discloses a composite sheet comprising a textile component having a first and a second surface and a first polymeric coating on the first surface of the textile component wherein the textile component further comprises a first fabric structure of at least one woven fabric of continuous filament yarns, the woven fabric having an areal weight of from about 70 to about 508 gsm, and a second fabric structure of a nonwoven fabric comprising discontinuous (e.g. polyacrylonitrile) fibers (see entire document including column 4, line 59 through column 10, line 37 and the Examples). Plus, Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to sandwich two fabric layers between two polymeric coating layers (see entire document including [0011]-[0016]).
Matsuda does not appear to mention the nonwoven fabric comprising a blend of oxidized polyacrylonitrile fibers and silica fibers but Handermann and Bass disclose that it is known in the art to construct a flame resistant nonwoven from a blend of oxidized polyacrylonitrile fibers and silica fibers, wherein the oxidized polyacrylonitrile fibers are present in an amount of from about 30 to about 70 weight percent of the combined weight of the oxidized polyacrylonitrile fibers and silica fibers, to provide improved flame resistance (see entire documents including [0002], [0008], [0017] and the Examples of Handermann and [0002], [0009], [0011], [0029], [0030], [0088] and [0117] of Bass). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the nonwoven fabric of Matsuda from the claimed blend of oxidized polyacrylonitrile fibers and silica fibers, to provide improved flame resistance.
Matsuda does not appear to mention using the composite sheet in a cargo container but Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to include a fire resistant composite sheet in a cargo container to provide fire resistance [0002]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct a cargo container with the composite sheet of Matsuda to provide a fire resistant cargo container. Regarding the (nonwoven) second fabric structure being positioned to face a cargo, Matsuda discloses that the composite sheet may comprise any number of woven and nonwoven fabrics and that the orientation of the fabrics may be varied as desired and explicitly discloses that the nonwoven fabric(s) may be positioned as an external structure of the composite sheet (column 11, lines 3-34 and column 18, lines 50-55). Further, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2 of the current application, all the layers (15-19) of a composite sheet (11a and 11b) have one surface that faces the cargo (arrow side) and another surface that faces away from the cargo (non-arrow side). Therefore, Matsuda teaches that the second fabric structure may be located on an external surface of the composite sheet and the applied prior art teaches that the second fabric structure would be positioned within the cargo container such that second fabric structure faces the cargo. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the woven and nonwoven fabrics of Matsuda in any suitable configuration, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known configuration on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claims 2 and 18, a second polymeric coating is on the second surface of the textile component (column 10, lines 19-37). Plus, Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to sandwich two fabric layers between two polymeric coating layers (see entire document including [0011]-[0016]).
Claims 3 and 9, the filaments of the at least one woven fabric of the first fabric structure are of aromatic polyamide, aromatic copolyamide, glass, carbon, or aliphatic polyamide (paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5). Plus, Kawka discloses that it is known to use a variety of different fiber materials for a woven layer including p-aramid ([0065] and [0070]).
Claim 4, at least one of the first fabric structure and the second fabric structure is impregnated with a matrix resin (paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5).
Claim 5, the first polymeric coating on the first surface of the textile component is polyurethane, silicone rubber, polyvinylchloride, or a blend thereof (column 5, lines 20-29 and column 6, lines 24-28).
Claims 6 and 17, the first structure and the second structure are attached to each other by an attachment means (paragraph bridging pages 4 and 5).
Claim 7, the at least one woven fabric of the first fabric structure has an areal weight of at least 203 gsm (Example 6). Plus, Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to construct woven fabrics with a weight of 70 to 508 gsm [0014].
Claim 8, the second polymeric coating on the second surface of the textile component is polyurethane, silicone rubber, polyvinylchloride, ethylene acid copolymer, or blends thereof (column 5, lines 20-29 and column 6, lines 24-28).
Claim 10, Matsuda does not appear to mention the claimed matrix resin material but Matsuda does disclose that the matrix resin may include a flame retardant (column 5, lines 20-29) and Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to use a polyurethane matrix resin [0079]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the matrix resin from any suitable matrix resin material, such as flame retardant polyurethane, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 11, Matsuda does not appear to mention the claimed resin amount but Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to include 20 to 50 weight percent resin to provide proper flame resistance [0045]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of resin to 20 to 50 weight percent to provide proper flame resistance.
Claims 12 and 20, the attachment means is adhesion, stitching, or fiber entanglement (column 10, lines 19-37).
Claim 13, the second fabric structure may have an areal weight of at least 237 gsm (Example 6). Plus, Kawka discloses that it is known in the art to construct nonwoven fabrics with a weight of 136 to 339 gsm [0039] and the needle-punched oxidized-PAN/silica nonwoven of Bass is preferably about 12-17 oz/yd2 (roughly 407-576 gsm) [0114], and greater than 10 osy is also disclosed, supporting a prima facie case under MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 15 and 22, the (nonwoven) second fabric structure is the innermost (fabric) layer of the composite sheet (column 11, lines 3-34 and column 18, lines 50-55).
Claims 16 and 19, the second polymeric coating is the innermost layer of the composite sheet (column 11, lines 3-34 and column 18, lines 50-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that the applied prior art fails to teach or suggest the second structure being arranged in the specific position as claimed. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Matsuda discloses that the composite sheet may comprise any number of woven and nonwoven fabrics and that the orientation of the fabrics may be varied as desired and explicitly discloses that the nonwoven fabric(s) may be positioned as an external structure of the composite sheet (column 11, lines 3-34 and column 18, lines 50-55). Further, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 2 of the current application, all the layers (15-19) of a composite sheet (11a and 11b) have one surface that faces the cargo (arrow side) and another surface that faces away from the cargo (non-arrow side). Therefore, Matsuda teaches that the second structure may be located on an external surface of the composite sheet and the applied prior art teaches that the second structure would be positioned within the cargo container such that second structure faces a cargo. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the woven and nonwoven fabrics of Matsuda in any suitable configuration, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known configuration on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789