DETAILED ACTION
Pending Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki et al. (JP 2016-189390 A) in view of Yoshikawa et al. (US 2017/0200841 A1).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasaki et al. (JP 2016-189390 A) in view of Yoshikawa et al. (US 2017/0200841 A1) and Yokoyama (US 2007/0228503 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 12, and 15-17, Kawasaki et al. disclose: (1) a photoelectric conversion element (Abstract; paragraph 0022; Figure 2) comprising:
a first electrode layer (paragraphs 0034-0037);
a second electrode layer (paragraph 0038);
a photoelectric conversion layer provided between the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer (paragraphs 0046-0083);
an electron transport layer provided between the first electrode layer and the photoelectric conversion layer (paragraphs 0039-0045); and
a hole transport layer provided between the photoelectric conversion layer and the second electrode layer (paragraphs 0084-0129,
wherein the photoelectric conversion layer contains an aggregate of semiconductor quantum dots that contain a metal atom (paragraphs 0052-0071) and contains a ligand coordinated to the semiconductor quantum dot (paragraphs 0052-0054 & 0072-0083),
the hole transport layer contains an organic semiconductor (paragraphs 0084-0119); and
(12) wherein the ligand contains at least one selected from a ligand containing a halogen atom or a polydentate ligand containing two or more coordination moieties (paragraphs 0072-0077).
Kawasaki et al. fail to explicitly disclose: (1) the second electrode layer is formed of a metal material containing at least one metal atom selected from Au, Pt, Ir, Pd, Cu, Pb, Sn, Zn, Ti, W, Mo, Ta, Ge, Ni, Cr, or In; and (3) wherein the second electrode layer is formed of a metal material containing at least one metal atom selected from Au, Pd, Ir, or Pt. Rather, they disclose that the second electrode layer can be formed from a number of materials including gold, platinum, copper, and indium (see paragraph 0038; see also paragraph 0251).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the instantly claimed second electrode layer (formed from {Au, Pt, Ir, Pd, Cu, Pb, Sn, Zn, Ti, W, Mo, Ta, Ge, Ni, Cr, or In} or {Au, Pd, Ir, or Pt}) in the element of Kawasaki et al. because: Kawasaki et al. disclose that the second electrode layer can be formed from a number of materials including gold, platinum, copper, and indium.
Lastly, Kawasaki et al. disclose that their photoelectric conversion element is suitable for use in solar cells (see paragraphs 0238-0240). They fail to explicitly disclose: (1) a photodetector element; (15) wherein the photodetector element is a photodiode-type photodetector element; (16) an image sensor comprising the photodetector element; and (17) wherein the image sensor is an infrared image sensor.
Yoshikawa et al. disclose a related photoelectric conversion element (see Abstract). They demonstrate that photoelectric conversion elements are equally suitable for solar cells and photodetectors (see paragraphs 0004 & 0053). These include photodiode-type elements and infrared sensors (see paragraph 0126). In light of this, it has been found that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination – see MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the photoelectric conversion element of Kawasaki et al. as a photodetector element because: (a) Kawasaki et al. disclose that their photoelectric conversion element is suitable for use in solar cells; (b) Yoshikawa et al. disclose a related photoelectric conversion element and demonstrate that photoelectric conversion elements are equally suitable for solar cells and photodetectors; (c) suitable photodetectors include photodiode-type elements and infrared sensors; and (d) it has been found that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. fail to explicitly disclose: (2) wherein a content of an Ag atom in the second electrode layer is 98% by mass or less. Rather, they disclose that the second electrode layer can be formed from a number of materials including gold, platinum, copper, and indium (see paragraph 0038; see also paragraph 0251). None of the embodiments featuring gold, platinum, copper, and indium would have required any silver to be present, obviously satisfying the instantly claimed range of 98% by mass or less.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. fail to explicitly disclose: (4) wherein a work function of the second electrode layer is 4.6 eV or more. However, the skilled artisan would have expected the teachings of Kawasaki et al. to obviously embrace embodiments capable of exhibiting a work function of 4.6 eV or more because the teachings of Kawasaki et al. obviously satisfy all the material/chemical limitations of the instantly claimed second electrode.
Therefore, the skilled artisan would have expected the element resulting from the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} to obviously embrace embodiments with a second electrode capable of exhibiting a work function of 4.6 eV or more because: the teachings of Kawasaki et al. obviously satisfy all the material/chemical limitations of the instantly claimed second electrode.
Regarding claims 5-9, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. fail to explicitly disclose an embodiment:
(5) wherein the organic semiconductor contained in the hole transport layer is a compound represented by any of Formulae 1-1 to 1-6:
(see claim for variable details);
(6) wherein: {at least one of Arl to Ar3 of Formula 1-1} or {at least one of Ar4 to Ar8 of Formula 1-2} or {at least one of Ar9 to Ar15 of Formula 1-3} or {at least one of Ar16 to Ar24 of Formula 1-4} or {at least one of Ar25 to Ar33 of Formula 1-5} or {at least one of Ar34 to Ar42 of Formula 1-6} has an electron donating group;
(7) wherein the electron donating group is an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an alkynyl group, an aryl group, a heterocyclic group, an alkoxy group, an aryloxy group, an alkylthio group, an amino group, a hydroxy group, or a silyl group;
(8) wherein the organic semiconductor contained in the hole transport layer is a compound represented by Formula 3-1 or 3-2,
(see claim for variable details);
(9) wherein at least one of Ar43 to Ar46 of Formula 3-1 has an electron donating group, and at least one of Ar47 to Ar52 of Formula 3-2 has an electron donating group.
Rather, they disclose that the hole transport layer contains a p-type compound semiconductor (charge transport agent) (see paragraphs 0084-0090). These include aromatic amine derivatives (see paragraphs 0085-0088). Specifically, these include triphenylamine derivatives, such as MTDATA (see paragraphs 0087-0088). Furthermore, the teachings of Yokoyama demonstrate that MTDATA as the following structure:
(see paragraph 0054).
This satisfies structure 1-5 of instant claims (5-7) and structure 3-2 of instant claims (8 & 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the instantly claimed organic semiconductor in the hole transport layer of the element resulting from the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} because: (a) Kawasaki et al. disclose that the hole transport layer contains a p-type compound semiconductor (charge transport agent), including aromatic amine derivatives; (b) the aromatic amine derivatives of Kawasaki et al. include triphenylamine derivatives; and (c) the triphenylamine derivatives of Kawakas et al. include MTDATA. Furthermore: (d) the teachings of Yokoyama demonstrate that MTDATA satisfies structure 1-5 of instant claims (5-7) and structure 3-2 of instant claims (8 & 9).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. fail to explicitly disclose an embodiment: (10) wherein the semiconductor quantum dot contains a Pb atom; and (11) wherein the semiconductor quantum dot contains PbS. Rather, they contemplate the use of various core-shell semiconductor nanoparticles as quantum dots (see paragraphs 0055-0071). These include materials having PbS, PbSe and PbTe cores (see paragraphs 0057-0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the instantly claimed semiconductor quantum dots in the photoelectric conversion layer of the element resulting from the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} because: (a) Kawasaki et al. contemplate the use of various core-shell semiconductor nanoparticles as quantum dots; and (b) the core-shell semiconductor nanoparticles of Kawasaki et al. include materials having PbS, PbSe and PbTe cores.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. fail to disclose: (13) wherein the ligand containing a halogen atom is an inorganic halide; and (14) wherein the inorganic halide contains a Zn atom. However, the scope of these claims remains open to a ligand containing a halogen atom or a polydentate ligand containing two or more coordination moieties. Accordingly, the combined teachings of {Kawasaki et al. and Yoshikawa et al.} satisfy these claims because: Kawasaki et al. disclose a polydentate ligand containing two or more coordination moieties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/171,385 (US 2023/0295494 A1) in view of Kawasaki et al. (JP 2016-189390). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/171,385 (US 2023/0295494 A1) in view of Kawasaki et al. (JP 2016-189390) and Yoshikawa et al. (US 2017/0200841 A1). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 12, copending claims 10-11 (dependent from copending claim 1) satisfy the instantly claimed photodetector element except for: (1 & 12) wherein the second electrode layer is formed of a metal material containing at least one metal atom selected from Au, Pt, Ir, Pd, Cu, Pb, Sn, Zn, Ti, W, Mo, Ta, Ge, Ni, Cr, or In; (2) wherein a content of an Ag atom in the second electrode layer is 98% by mass or less; (3) wherein the second electrode layer is formed of a metal material containing at least one metal atom selected from Au, Pd, Ir, or Pt; and (4) wherein a work function of the second electrode layer is 4.6 eV or more.
The prior art teachings of Kawasaki et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Kawasaki et al. demonstrate that gold, platinum, copper, and indium are recognized in the art as suitable second electrode materials for this type of element (see paragraph 0038; see also paragraph 0251). In light of this, it has been found that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination – see MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the combined teachings of {the copending claims and Kawasaki et al.} fail to disclose: (13) wherein the ligand containing a halogen atom is an inorganic halide; and (14) wherein the inorganic halide contains a Zn atom. However, the scope of these claims remains open to a ligand containing a halogen atom or a polydentate ligand containing two or more coordination moieties. Accordingly, the combined teachings satisfy these claims because: the copending claims disclose a polydentate ligand containing two or more coordination moieties.
Regarding claims 15-17, the combined teachings of {the copending claims and Kawasaki et al.} fail to disclose: (15) wherein the photodetector element is a photodiode-type photodetector element; (16) an image sensor comprising the photodetector element; and (17) wherein the image sensor is an infrared image sensor.
The prior art teachings of Yoshikawa et al. are as set forth above and incorporated herein. Yoshikawa et al. disclose a related photoelectric conversion element (see Abstract). They demonstrate that photoelectric conversion elements are equally suitable for solar cells and photodetectors (see paragraphs 0004 & 0053). These include photodiode-type elements and infrared sensors (see paragraph 0126). In light of this, it has been found that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination – see MPEP 2144.07.
Communication
/MICHAEL J FEELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766
November 1, 2025