DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-11, 18-21, 27-28 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et. al US 20190348455 (hereinafter “Cheng”) of record, in view of Boutami et. al US 20110290982 (hereinafter “Boutami”) and Park et. al US 20180203170 (hereinafter “Park”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches an optical filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 116) comprising:
a spectral filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 120, 122, 124); and
a polarizing filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 610, see also para. 0048) provided on the same plane as the spectral filter in a horizontal direction with respect to the spectral filter (Cheng fig. 9 - the spectral filter 120, 122, and 124 are on the same horizontal plane as the polarizer 600),
wherein the spectral filter (120, 122, 124) comprises a plurality of spectral unit filters (see annotated Cheng fig. 9 below which shows multiple units having 116 which includes 120, 122, 124) having different central wavelengths (Cheng para. 0029 – 116 which includes 120, 122, and 124 can include various color filters having different central wavelengths),
wherein the polarizing filter (610) comprises a plurality of polarization unit filters (Cheng fig. 9 - 600 within 610).
Cheng does not specify wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters comprises a lower metal reflector, a first cavity, and an upper metal reflector provided in a vertical direction in that order, however Cheng does teach a lower metal reflector (Cheng fig. 9 - 122) and a first cavity (Cheng fig. 9 – 120 which has a color filter disposed within it).
In the same field of endeavor, Boutami teaches wherein each spectral unit filter (Boutami fig. 4 – blue, green, and red filter) of the plurality of spectral unit filters (Boutami fig. 4 – blue, green, and red filters) comprises a lower metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 68), a first cavity (Boutami fig. 4 – 66), and an upper metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 72) provided in a vertical direction in that order (Boutami fig. 4 – shows 68, 66, and 72 in that order in blue, green, and red spectral unit filters) for the purpose of compensating the effects of variation in the angle of incidence on the transmission spectrum of the cavities (Boutami para. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters comprises a lower metal reflector, a first cavity, and an upper metal reflector provided in a vertical direction in that order as taught by Boutami in the optical filter of Cheng in order to compensate the effects of variation in the angle of incidence on the transmission spectrum of the cavities (Boutami para. 0027).
Cheng and Boutami do not teach wherein the polarizing filter comprises a plurality of polarization unit filters having different central wavelengths.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches the polarizing filter (Park fig. 1a-b – 130 including 130a, 130b, 130c) comprises a plurality of polarization unit filters (Park fig. 1b - A1, A2, A3) having different central wavelengths (Park para. 0080) for the purpose of having varied duty cycles between the different semiconductor gratings (Park para. 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of polarization unit filters having different central wavelengths as taught by Park in the optical filter of Cheng and Boutami in order to have varied duty cycles between semiconductor gratings (Park para. 0081).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 1, and Cheng further teaches wherein the spectral filter (120, 122, 124) comprises four or more spectral unit filters (Cheng fig. 9 - 120, 122, 124 at least two of each on either side of 610, plus fig. 1 shows that there are more layers and filters disposed – at least four of each, see also para. 0029) having different central wavelengths (Cheng para. 0028).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 1, and they further teach wherein an effective refractive index or a thickness of the first cavity (Cheng 120; Park para. 0076-0078) is adjusted based on the central wavelength of each of the spectral unit filters (Park para. 0018, 0069-0073, and 0081-0082 – the effective refractive index may be adjusted based on the duty cycles of the semiconductor gratings, and the duty cycles correspond to the central wavelength of the unit filters).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 1, and they further teach wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters (Cheng 120, 122, 124) each further comprises a lower dielectric layer (Cheng fig. 9 - 124) provided on the lower metal reflector (122, Cheng fig. 9 – 124 is disposed on 122).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 5, and they further teach wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters (Cheng 120, 122, 124) each further comprises an upper dielectric layer (Cheng fig. 9 - 126) provided on the upper metal reflector (Park para. 0013 and 0088-0089).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 6, and they further teach wherein an effective refractive index or a thickness of the lower dielectric layer (Cheng 124) and the upper dielectric layer (Cheng 126) is adjusted based on the central wavelength of each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters (Park para. 0018, 0069-0073, and 0081-0082 – the effective refractive index may be adjusted based on the duty cycles of the semiconductor gratings, and the duty cycles correspond to the central wavelength of the unit filters).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 1, and they further teach wherein the polarization unit filters (Park A1-A3) each comprise the lower metal reflector (Park 120), a second cavity provided on the lower metal reflector (120, see Park para. 0076-0078), and a polarizer (130 including 130a-c) provided on the second cavity (Park para. 0076-0078).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 8, and Cheng further teaches wherein the polarization unit filters each further comprise the lower dielectric layer (Cheng fig. 9 – 124 is deposited on 122, see also para. 0030) provided on the lower metal reflector (Cheng fig. 9 – shows 124 on 122 within 610).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 8, and Park further teaches wherein the polarizer comprises a metal grid (Park fig 1a-b shows a grid structure using semiconductor material).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 10, and they further teaches wherein the upper metal reflector (Boutami 72) comprises a metal pattern (Park para. 0089) having the same thickness as the metal grid (Park para. 0017 and Boutami para. 0080 – Park’s semiconductor gratings range in thickness between 20nm and 60 nm, and Boutami’s 72 has a thickness of 40 nm, so they could have the same thickness as desired).
Regarding claim 27, Cheng teaches an electronic device comprising:
an image sensor (Cheng abstract, see also para. 0017-0018) comprising:
a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixels (Cheng fig. 9 – 104, see also para. 0026); and
an optical filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 116) provided on the pixel array (104, Cheng fig. 9 shows 116 provided on 104),
wherein the optical filter (116) comprises:
a spectral filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 120, 122, 124); and
a polarizing filter (Cheng fig. 9 - 600, see also para. 0048) provided on the same plane as the spectral filter (Cheng fig. 9 - the spectral filter 120, 122, and 124 are on the same horizontal plane as the polarizer 600),
wherein the spectral filter (120, 122, 124) comprises a plurality of spectral unit filters (120, 122, 124) having different central wavelengths (Cheng para. 0029 – 116 which includes 120, 122, and 124 can include various color filters having different central wavelengths), and
wherein the polarizing filter (600) comprises a plurality of polarization unit (Cheng fig. 9 - 600 within 610) filters.
Cheng does not specify wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters comprises a lower metal reflector, a first cavity, and an upper metal reflector provided in a vertical direction in that order, however Cheng does teach a lower metal reflector (Cheng fig. 9 - 122) and a first cavity (Cheng fig. 9 – 120 which has a color filter disposed within it).
In the same field of endeavor, Boutami teaches wherein each spectral unit filter (Boutami fig. 4 – blue, green, and red filter) of the plurality of spectral unit filters (Boutami fig. 4 – blue, green, and red filters) comprises a lower metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 68), a first cavity (Boutami fig. 4 – 66), and an upper metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 72) provided in a vertical direction in that order (Boutami fig. 4 – shows 68, 66, and 72 in that order in blue, green, and red spectral unit filters) for the purpose of compensating the effects of variation in the angle of incidence on the transmission spectrum of the cavities (Boutami para. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each spectral unit filter of the plurality of spectral unit filters comprises a lower metal reflector, a first cavity, and an upper metal reflector provided in a vertical direction in that order as taught by Boutami in the electronic device of Cheng in order to compensate the effects of variation in the angle of incidence on the transmission spectrum of the cavities (Boutami para. 0027).
Cheng and Boutami do not teach wherein the polarizing filter comprises a plurality of polarization unit filters having different central wavelengths.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches the polarizing filter (Park fig. 1a-b – 130 including 130a, 130b, 130c) comprises a plurality of polarization unit filters (Park fig. 1b - A1, A2, A3) having different central wavelengths (Park para. 0080) for the purpose of having varied duty cycles between the different semiconductor gratings (Park para. 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of polarization unit filters having different central wavelengths as taught by Park in the electronic device of Cheng and Boutami in order to have varied duty cycles between semiconductor gratings (Park para. 0081).
Regarding claim 28, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the electronic device of claim 27, and they further teach wherein the electronic device comprises a mobile phone, a smart phone, a tablet, a smart tablet, a digital camera, a camcorder, a notebook computer, a television, a smart television, a smart refrigerator, a security camera, a robot, or a medical camera (Cheng para. 0002 and 0017 – semiconductor image sensor devices can be used in mobile phone camera applications).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, Boutami, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Uesaka US 20190006407 (hereinafter “Uesaka”).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng, Boutami, and Park teach the optical filter of claim 1.
Cheng, Boutami, and Park do not teach further comprising a reference filter provided on the same plane as the spectral filter and the polarizing filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Uesaka teaches further comprising a reference filter (Uesaka fig. 1 – 125, see also para. 0063) provided on the same plane as the spectral filter and the polarizing filter (Uesaka fig. 1 – shows 125 on the same plane as polarizer 124 and color filter 128 – where 128 is laminated onto 125 and 124 which puts all three on the same plane) for the purpose of enhancing the accuracy of detecting the polarization information and color information of each pixel (Uesaka para. 0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a reference filter on the same plane as a spectral filter and a polarizing filter in order to enhance the accuracy of the polarization information and color information detected from each pixel (Uesaka para. 0063).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, Boutami, Park, and Uesaka as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Higashitani et. al US 10942304 (hereinafter “Higashitani”).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng, Boutami, Park, and Uesaka teach the optical filter of claim 18.
Cheng, Boutami, Park, and Uesaka do not specify that the reference filter comprises at least one of a transparent filter and a black filter, however Uesaka does teach the utility of the light-shielding film in para. 0063. In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches a black filter (Higashitani col. 6 lines 53-63) for the purpose of decreasing the light transmission factor in a visible-light region by a predetermined ratio (Higashitani col. 6 lines 53-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a black filter as taught by Higashitani in the optical filter of Cheng, Boutami, Park, and Uesaka in order to decrease the light transmission factor in a visible-light region by a predetermined ratio (Higashitani col. 6 lines 53-55).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boutami et. al US 20110290982 (hereinafter “Boutami”) in view of Park et. al US 20180203170 (hereinafter “Park”) of record.
Regarding claim 20, Boutami teaches an optical filter comprising:
a plurality of unit filters (Boutami fig. 4 - blue filter, green filter, red filter) provided on the same plane and having different central wavelengths (Boutami fig. 4 - 66 includes zones 74, 76, and 78 corresponding to different central wavelengths),
a metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 68, see also para. 0053);
a cavity provided on an upper surface of the metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 - 66 is on an upper surface of 70); and
wherein each of the plurality of unit filters comprises:
wherein the metal reflector (68), the cavity (66) are provided in a first vertical direction, that is perpendicular to the upper surface of the metal reflector (Boutami fig. 4 – 66 is on 68 in a vertical direction perpendicular to the upper surface of 68), in that order.
Boutami does not teach a polarizer, however Boutami does teach second metal layer provided on an upper surface of the cavity (Boutami fig. 4 - 72 is disposed on an upper surface of 66).
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches a polarizer (Park para. 0087 – the polarization layer can be defined as 130 and the cavities or have further polarizing means arranged on 130) provided on the cavity (Park para. 0087) for the purpose of reducing the variation of the resonance wavelength on the incident angle of the incident light-beam (Park para. 0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a polarizer in order to reduce the variation of the resonance wavelength on the incident angle of the incident light-beam (Park para. 0087). When the polarization layer of Park is arranged on 66 or 72 of Boutami, it would be on an upper surface of the cavity in a first vertical direction.
Regarding claim 21, Boutami and Park teach the optical filter of claim 20, and Park further teaches wherein the polarizer comprises a metal grid (Park fig. 1a-1b – 130 and 130a-c are arranged in a grid and are made of semiconductor material).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boutami et. al US Patent 8,933,389, patent of Boutami et. al US 20110290982.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872