DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect amended claims 1, 14 filed on 01/1/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
However, examiner found some amended limitations are taught by references previous introduced.
In Remark page 9, third paragraph, applicant argued that the amended claim includes "a compute engine associated with a partition of compute circuitry," "a first command streamer configured to submit commands for first compute workloads to a first plurality of hardware command queues of the compute engine," "a second
command streamer configured to submit commands for second compute workloads to a second plurality of hardware command queues of the compute engine" and "circuitry configured to schedule the commands for the first compute workloads and the second compute workloads to the compute engine for execution via the partition of compute circuitry," Vembu' s VCS is not used for scheduling to a compute engine, thus fails to teach the elements of the amened claim.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. In fact, in paragraph [0026], Vembu discloses “compute engines within the device can readily acquire new work items for execution with minimal latency” and [0028] “The software can then submit work items directly to a tile and local hardware schedulers within the tile can schedule the workload to the appropriate engine within the tile. Each engine can execute the same command buffer. When an engine is ready to execute a new work item, the engine can dynamically and atomically acquire the next chunk (e.g., partition) of work for execution” and [0183] “one or more microchips or integrated circuits interconnected using a parent-board, hardwired logic” Vembu teaches a compute engine associated with a partition of compute circuitry (local hardware).
Furthermore, in paragraph [0157], Vembu discloses “Fig. 16C, engines of the engine block tile include compute command streamer (CCS 625)” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition and submit the set of commands to the first tile of graphics processing engines. The first tile of graphics processing engines can read a first partition identifier from a first hardware context, where the first partition identifier is associated with the first partition” Vembu teaches a first command streamer (e.g., CCS 625 of 1st engine of the engine block tile, Fig. 16C) to submit for first computer workload to a first plurality of hardware command queues of the computer engine (a set of command queues for a workload of first/second partitions to the first tile of graphics processing engine); and
In paragraph [0157], Vembu discloses “ Fig. 16C, engines of the engine block tile include compute command streamer (CCS 625)” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition and submit the set of commands to the second tile of graphics processing engines. The second tile of graphics processing engines can read a second partition identifier from a first hardware context, where the second partition identifier is associated with the second partition” Vembu teaches a second command streamer (e.g., CCS 625 of 2nd engine of the engine block tile, Fig. 16C) to submit for second computer workload to a second plurality of hardware command queues of the computer engine (a set of command queues for a workload of first/second partitions to the second tile of graphics processing engine); and
In paragraph [0133], Vembu discloses “FIG. 12, integrated circuit 1200 includes at least one graphics processor 1210” and [0028], “The software can then submit work items directly to a tile and local hardware schedulers within the tile can schedule the workload to the appropriate engine within the tile. Each engine can execute the same command buffer. When an engine is ready to execute a new work item, the engine can dynamically and atomically acquire the next chunk (e.g., partition) of work for execution” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition, submit the set of commands to the first tile of graphics processing engines, and submit the set of commands to the second tile of graphics processing engines. The first tile of graphics processing engines can read a first partition identifier from a first hardware context. The first tile can then conditionally execute commands of the first partition while bypassing commands of the second partition. The second tile of graphics processing engines can read a second partition identifier from a second hardware context, where the second partition identifier is associated with the second partition. The second tile can then conditionally execute commands of the second partition” Vembu teaches a circuitry (include a graphics processor) is configured to schedule the commands for the first compute workloads (execute command of the first partition) and the second compute workloads (execute command of the first partition) to the compute engine for execution via the partition of compute circuitry.
Independent claims 14 has been amended similarly to claim 1 and are rejected as the explanation above.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-13,15-20 depend on independent claims 1, 9 and 14 and rejected as current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 14-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Vembu et al. (U.S. 2020/0219223 A1) in view of Evans et al. (U.S. 2021/0294707 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Vembu discloses an apparatus (Vembu, [0033] “FIG.1, a processing system 100”) comprising:
a system interface (Vembu, Fig. 16A, [0153] “workloads can be submitted directly to an engine block tile 1605A-1605D via a doorbell 1603A-1603D within a system graphics interface 1602A-1602D” Vembu teaches a system interface 1602A-1602D); and
a general-purpose graphics processor coupled with the system interface (Vembu, Fig. 15, [0149] “The GPGPU 1520 can also include a set of resources that can be shared by the engine block tiles 1524A-1524N” and [0150] “Software that executes on a host processor can submit work items to the global scheduler 1522, which can distribute the various work items to one or more engine block tiles 1524A-1524N” and [0152] “in FIG. 16A, the graphics processing system 1600 includes an application and/or graphics driver (app/driver 1601) that can send workloads 1604A-1604D to one or more engine block tiles 1605A-1605D and Fig. 16A, [0153] “workloads can be submitted directly to an engine block tile 1605A-1605D via a doorbell 1603A-1603D within a system graphics interface 1602A-1602D” Vembu teaches a GPGPU (1520) can use the global scheduler (1522, Fig. 15) to distribute workloads of work items to engine block tiles (1524A-1524N) via system interface, (1602A -1602F, 16A) the general- purpose graphics processor comprising:
a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions (Vembu, Fig. 4, [0056] “the graphics core array 414 include one or more blocks of graphics cores (e.g., graphics core(s) 415A, graphics core(s) 415B), each block including one or more graphics cores. Each graphics core includes a set of graphics execution resources” and [0139] “FIG. 14A. The graphics core 1400 can include multiple slices 1401A-1401N or partition for each core, and a graphics processor can include multiple instances of the graphics core 1400” Vembu teaches a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources (graphics cores), each graphics processor is partitioned into plurality of partitions or slices , each of the plurality of isolated partitions including:
a compute engine associated with a partition of compute circuitry (Vembu,[0026] “compute engines within the device can readily acquire new work items for execution with minimal latency” and [0028] “The software can then submit work items directly to a tile and local hardware schedulers within the tile can schedule the workload to the appropriate engine within the tile. Each engine can execute the same command buffer. When an engine is ready to execute a new work item, the engine can dynamically and atomically acquire the next chunk (e.g., partition) of work for execution” and [0183] “one or more microchips or integrated circuits interconnected using a parent-board, hardwired logic” Vembu teaches a compute engine associated with a partition of compute circuitry (local hardware);
a first command streamer configured to submit commands for first
compute workloads to a first plurality of hardware command queues of the
compute engine (Vembu, [0157] “Fig. 16C, engines of the engine block tile include compute command streamer (CCS 625)” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition and submit the set of commands to the first tile of graphics processing engines. The first tile of graphics processing engines can read a first partition identifier from a first hardware context, where the first partition identifier is associated with the first partition” Vembu teaches a first command streamer (e.g., CCS 625 of 1st engine of the engine block tile, Fig. 16C) to submit for first computer workload to a first plurality of hardware command queues of the computer engine (a set of command queues for a workload of first/second partitions to the first tile of graphics processing engine);
a second command streamer configured to submit commands for
second compute workloads to a second plurality of hardware command
queues of the compute engine (Vembu, [0157] “ Fig. 16C, engines of the engine block tile include compute command streamer (CCS 625)” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition and submit the set of commands to the second tile of graphics processing engines. The second tile of graphics processing engines can read a second partition identifier from a first hardware context, where the second partition identifier is associated with the second partition” Vembu teaches a second command streamer (e.g., CCS 625 of 2nd engine of the engine block tile, Fig. 16C) to submit for second computer workload to a second plurality of hardware command queues of the computer engine (a set of command queues for a workload of first/second partitions to the second tile of graphics processing engine); and
circuitry configured to schedule the commands for the first compute workloads and the second compute workloads to the compute engine for execution via the partition of compute circuitry (Vembu, [0133], “FIG. 12, integrated circuit 1200 includes at least one graphics processor 1210” and [0028] “The software can then submit work items directly to a tile and local hardware schedulers within the tile can schedule the workload to the appropriate engine within the tile. Each engine can execute the same command buffer. When an engine is ready to execute a new work item, the engine can dynamically and atomically acquire the next chunk (e.g., partition) of work for execution” and [0187] a graphics processor comprising a first tile of graphics processing engines, a second tile of graphics processing engines, and an interface between a host system and the graphics processor. The interface can be configured to receive a set of commands for a workload having a first partition, and a second partition, submit the set of commands to the first tile of graphics processing engines, and submit the set of commands to the second tile of graphics processing engines. The first tile of graphics processing engines can read a first partition identifier from a first hardware context. The first tile can then conditionally execute commands of the first partition while bypassing commands of the second partition. The second tile of graphics processing engines can read a second partition identifier from a second hardware context, where the second partition identifier is associated with the second partition. The second tile can then conditionally execute commands of the second partition” Vembu teaches a circuitry (includes a graphics processor) is configured to schedule the commands for the first compute workloads (execute command of the first partition) and the second compute workloads (execute command of the first partition) to the compute engine for execution via the partition of compute circuitry.
However, Vembu does not explicitly teach a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions.
Evan teaches a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions (Evans, [0047] “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a partitioned 112, 114, 116, 118 graphics processing unit 110, a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110, such that each partition 112, 114, 116, 118 appears as an independent GPU 110, a physically isolated computing slice on a GPU 110 is a set of processor resources” and [0108] “FIG. 10, “one or more graphics processors 1008” Evans teaches a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions (112, 114, 116, 118 partitions).
Vembu and Evans are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Vembu to combine with partitioning graphics processors into a plurality of isolated partitions (as taught by Evans) in order to partition graphics processors into a plurality of isolated partitions because Evans can provide a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions (112, 114, 116, 118 partitions) (Evans, [0047]). Doing so, it may provide when executed, facilitate each partition to directly address and access memory resources on a GPU using traditional and new direct memory access (DMA) techniques without using software on said partition (Evans, [0049]).
Regarding Claim 2, the apparatus as in claim 1, Vemu does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a cluster of graphics processor cores.
However, Evans teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a cluster of graphics processor cores (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047] “a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110” and Fig. 19B, [0170] “GPGPU 1930 includes memory 1944A-1944B coupled with compute clusters 1936A-1936H via a set of memory controllers 1942A-1942B” and [0171] “compute clusters 1936A-1936H each include a set of graphics cores, such as graphics core 1900 of FIG. 19A” Evans teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a cluster of graphics processor cores.
Vembu and Evans are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, Vembu discloses the apparatus as in claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a tile of graphics processor engines (Vembu, [0159] “FIG. 17 illustrates a tile work portioning and scheduling system 1700, according to embodiments described herein. The tile work partitioning and scheduling system 1700 enables a workload to be distributed across multiple GPUs 1730A-1730D, where each of the multiple GPUs can be an instance of an engine block tile 1605A-1605D as in FIG. 16A” Vembu teaches a tile of graphics processor (engine block tile 1605A-1605D) for the plurality of partitions.
However, Vembu does not teach each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a tile of graphics processor engines.
Evans teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a tile of graphics processor engines (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047] “a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110” and [0166] “graphics processor 1840 includes a thread dispatcher to dispatch execution threads to one or more shader cores 1855A-1855N and a tiling unit 1858 to accelerate tiling operations for tile-based rendering” Evans teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a tile of graphics processor engines (a tiling unit 1858).
A combination between Vembu and Evans can be used to teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a tile of graphics processor engines.
Vembu and Evans are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 4, Vembu discloses the apparatus as in claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of isolated partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die (Vembu, [0129] “FIG. 11B, Each unit of logic 1172, 1174 can be implemented within a semiconductor die and coupled with the substrate 1180 via an interconnect structure 1173” and [0139] FIG. 14A. The graphics core 1400 can include multiple slices 1401A-1401N or partition for each core” Vembu teaches each of the plurality of partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die.
However, Vembu does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of isolated partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die.
Evans teaches each of the plurality of isolated partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047] “a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110” and [0255] “PPU is embodied on a single semiconductor substrate. PPU may be an integrated GPU (“iGPU”) included in chipset of motherboard” each of the plurality of isolated partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die (semiconductor substrate).
Vembu and Evans are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Vembu discloses the apparatus as in claim 1, wherein the plurality of isolated partitions include a first isolated partition and a second isolated partition, wherein the first isolated partition and the second isolated partition include separate functional units, separate cache memory, and separate paths to local memory of the general-purpose graphics processor (Vembu, Fig. 19, [0167] As shown at block 1902. At block 1904 the operations partition the set of commands into a first partition and a second partition. At block 1912, the operations additionally execute the first partition via the first graphics processing engine tile and execute the second partition via the second graphics processing engine tile” and [0159] “FIG. 17, The tile work partitioning and scheduling system 1700 enables a workload to be distributed across multiple GPUs 1730A-1730D” and [0160] “a separate hardware context 1720A-1720D can be created and associated with each respective GPU 1730A-1730D…A batch buffer start command is inserted into the command ring buffers 1710A-1710D associated with the respective GPU 1730A-1730D” Vembu teaches plurality of partitions includes a first partition and second partition with separated function units (first graphics processing engine tile, second graphics processing engine tile), separate cache memory, separate paths to local memory (the command ring buffers 1710A-1710D with separated paths, Fig. 17).
However, Vembu does not explicitly teach first isolated partition and second isolated partition.
Evans teaches first isolated partition and second isolated partitions (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047] “a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110” Evans teaches a first isolated partition (112) and a second isolated partition (114).
A combination of Vembu and Evans can be used to teach the plurality of isolated partitions include a first isolated partition and a second isolated partition, wherein the first isolated partition and the second isolated partition include separate functional units, separate cache memory, and separate paths to local memory of the general-purpose graphics processor.
Vembu and Evans are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Vembu discloses the apparatus as in claim 5, wherein the first isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a first sub-device and the second isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a second sub-device (Vembu, Fig. 16A, [0153] “workloads can be submitted directly to an engine block tile 1605A-1605D via a doorbell 1603A-1603D within a system graphics interface 1602A-1602D” Vembu teaches a system interface 1602A-1602D)” Vembu teaches the first partition is presented via the system interface as a first sub-device (1602A, Fig. 16A) and the second partition is presented via the system interface as a second sub-device (1602B, Fig. 16A).
However, Vembu does not explicitly teach first isolated partition and second isolated partition.
Evans teaches first isolated partition and second isolated partitions (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047] “a partition 112, 114, 116, 118 is isolated by hardware and software features on a GPU 110” Evans teaches a first isolated partition (112) and a second isolated partition (114).
The combination of Vembu and Evans can be used to teach the first isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a first sub-device and the second isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a second sub-device.
Vembu and Evans are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14 (Currently amended), a combination of Vembu and Evans discloses a graphics processing system (Vembu, [0001] “Computing systems may include a graphics processor to perform graphics processing”) comprising:
a system interface;
a memory device (Vembu, [0038] “The memory device 120 can be a dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) device, a static random-access memory (SRAM) device, flash memory device”; and
a general-purpose graphics processor coupled with the system interface and the memory device (Vembu, [0038] “the memory device 120 can operate as system memory for the system 100, to store data 122 and instructions 121 for use when the one or more processors 102 executes an application or process”, the general-purpose graphics processor comprising:
a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions, each of the plurality of isolated partitions including:
a compute engine associated with a partition of compute circuitry;
a first command streamer configured to submit commands for first
compute workloads to a first plurality of hardware command queues of the
compute engine;
a second command streamer configured to submit commands for
second compute workloads to a second plurality of hardware command
queues of the compute engine; and
circuitry configured to schedule the
commands for the first compute workloads and the second compute workloads
to the compute engine for execution via the
partition of compute circuitry.
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 15, a combination of Vembu and Evans discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of isolated partitions includes a cluster of graphics processor cores or a tile of graphics processor
engines.
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 2 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 16, a combination of Vembu and Evans discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 15, wherein each of the plurality of isolated partitions resides on a separate semiconductor die.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 4 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 17, a combination of Vembu and Evans discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 14, wherein the plurality of isolated partitions include a first isolated partition and a second isolated partition, wherein the first isolated partition and the second isolated partition include separate functional units, separate cache memory, and separate paths to local memory of the general-purpose graphics processor.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 5 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 18, a combination of Vembu and Evans discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 17, wherein the first isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a first sub-device and the second isolated partition is presented via the system interface as a second sub-device.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 6 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Claims 7, 8, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Vembu et al. (U.S. 2020/0219223 A1) in view of Evans et al. (U.S. 2021/0294707 A1) and further in view of Raganathan et al. (U.S. 2022/0138895 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the apparatus as in claim 6, a combination of Vembu and Evans does not explicitly teach wherein the first isolated partition includes a first compute partition and a second compute partition, the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts while sharing graphics processor hardware resources of the first isolated partition.
However, Reganathan teaches the first isolated partition includes a first compute partition and a second compute partition, the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts while sharing graphics processor hardware resources of the first isolated partition (Reganathan, Fig. 28, [0372] “the GPU walker is to select tiles of the multi-tile GPU 2800 for the performance of each partition unit of the compute work 2850, with an appropriate tile being assigned to each work unit. In the illustrated example, the GPU is to assign work unit PO to Tile-0, work unit P1 to Tile-2, work unit P2 to Tile-6, and work unit P3 to Tile-7” Reganathan teaches the first partition includes a first compute partition (partition unit P0) and a second compute partition (partition unit P01), the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts (separate Tile-0, Tile-1,Fig. 28) ,while sharing graphics processor hardware resources (Mult-Tile GPU 2800) of the first partition.
A combination of Vembu, Evans and Reganathan can be used to teach the first isolated partition includes a first compute partition and a second compute partition, the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts while sharing graphics processor hardware resources of the first isolated partition.
Vembu and Evans and Reganathan are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Vembu to combine with compute partition (as taught by Reganathan) in order to apply the first compute partition and the second compute partition because Reganathan can provide the first partition includes a first compute partition (partition unit P0) and a second compute partition (partition unit P01), the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts (separate Tile-0, Tile-1,Fig. 28) ,while sharing graphics processor hardware resources (Mult-Tile GPU 2800) of the first partition (Reganathan, Fig. 28, [0372]). Doing so, it may provide sufficient area efficiency for cache, and for providing efficient compute operation in a multi-tile GPU architecture (Reganathan, [0369]).
Regarding Claim 8, the apparatus as in claim 7, Vembu teaches engines of the engine block tile include compute command streamers (CCS 625) (Vembu, [0157], Fig. 16C).
However, a combination of Vembu and Evans does not explicitly teach wherein the first command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the first compute partition and the second command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the second isolated partition.
Reganathan teaches command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the first compute partition and the command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the second isolated partition (Reganathan, [0247] “Scheduling operations include determining which workload to run next, submitting a workload to a command streamer, pre-empting existing workloads running on an engine” and [0263] “The graphics processor 1620 has a tiled architecture, may include a graphics processing engine cluster 1622 having multiple instances of the graphics processing engine 1610 of FIG. 16A within a graphics engine tile 1610A-1610D” and Fig. 28, [0372] “the GPU walker is to select tiles of the multi-tile GPU 2800 for the performance of each partition unit of the compute work 2850, with an appropriate tile being assigned to each work unit. In the illustrated example, the GPU is to assign work unit PO to Tile-0, work unit P1 to Tile-2, work unit P2 to Tile-6, and work unit P3 to Tile-7” Reganathan teaches command streamer of the first partition associated with the first compute partition (partition unit P0) and the command streamer of the first partition is associated with the second partition and the command streamer of the first partition is associated with the second isolated partition (partition unit P1).
A combination of Vembu, Evans and Reganathan can be used to teach the first command streamer of the first isolated partition (as taught by Vembu, Evan) is associated with the first compute partition (as taught by Reganathan) and the second command streamer of the first isolated partition (as taught by Vembu, Evan) is associated with the second isolated partition (as taught by Reganathan).
Vembu and Evans and Reganathan are combinable see rationale in claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19, a combination of Vembu, Evans and Reganathan discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 18, wherein the first isolated partition includes a first compute partition and a second compute partition, the first compute partition and the second compute partition configurable to execute separate compute contexts while sharing graphics processor hardware resources of the first isolated partition.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 7 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 20, a combination of Vembu, Evans and Reganathan discloses the graphics processing system as in claim 19, wherein the first command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the first compute partition and the second command streamer of the first isolated partition is associated with the second isolated partition.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 8 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to independent claims 1, 14 the closest prior art references the examiner found are Vembu et al. (U.S. 2020/0219223 A1) in view of Evans et al. (U.S. 2021/0294707 A1) have been made of record as teaching: a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of partitions (Vembu, Fig. 4, [0056], [0139]); a first command streamer, a second command streamer (Vembu, Fig. 16C, [0157]); configured to schedule general-purpose graphics compute workloads submitted to a first plurality of command queues associated with the first command streamer and a second plurality of command queues associated with the second command streamer (Vembu, [0067], Fig. 9B, [0120]); a plurality of graphics processor hardware resources configured to be partitioned into a plurality of isolated partitions (Evans, Fig. 1, [0047]), recite on claims 1, 14.
However, the art of record did not teach or suggest the claim taken as a whole and particular the limitation pertaining
acquiring at least a minimum number of graphics processor hardware resources of the first isolated partition to associate with the first command queue, wherein the first command queue includes commands associated with a workload and the workload specifies the minimum number of graphics processor hardware resources;
dispatching threads of the workload to physical thread slots of at least the minimum number of graphics processor hardware resources; and
load balancing a number of graphics processor hardware resources assigned to the workload between the minimum number of graphics processor hardware resources and a maximum number of graphics processor hardware resources, recited in independent claim 9.
Dependent claims 10-14 are allowed because they depend on independent claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611