DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic benefit to U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63231320
filed 08/10/2021. Domestic benefit is acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date of claims 1-9 is
08/10/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 12/02/2022 and 02/26/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of list of references cited from each IDS is included with this Office Action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see ¶ 70 of the instant application). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea and natural phenomenon without significantly more.
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea or natural phenomenon:
Claim 1 recites (c) processing the first biomarker data set and historical biomarker data setusing at least one algorithm… to identify at least one correlation between the first biomarker data set and historical biomarker data set;
Using an algorithm to identify a correlation is a mathematical relationship because it involves making a series of mathematical calculations, and the correlation is itself a relationship between the two data sets based on a mathematical equation. A human being is capable of identifying a correlation between two lists of numbers (the biomarker data sets) using a pen and paper to carry out the steps of the algorithm, making it a mental process.
Claim 1 continues with (d) generating at least one suggested intervention predicted to improve health, performance, or a combination thereof;
A human being can generate an idea in their mind that they predict will improve the health or performance of an animal, such as giving an animal water when a person sees signs of dehydration. This makes it a type of mental process.
Claim 1 continues with (e) generating a report comprising the at least one suggested intervention;
A human being could generate a report about the suggested intervention they thought of, for example by verbally reporting, “I think that animal needs water.” They generate the report by thinking and saying it, making it a mental process.
Claim 1 continues with (g) confirming or denying acceptance of the report by the livestock owner.
Receiving confirmation of report acceptance is a mental process because a human being could ask the livestock owner whether they could, for example, give a bowl of water to their animal, and remember their reply. This constitutes determining acceptance of the report, making it a mental process.
Claim 3 recites the step of generating a second biomarker data set from the same or different one or more livestock animals in need of improvement in health, performance, or a combination thereof from which the first biomarker data set was obtained, wherein upon generation of a second biomarker data set, steps (b)-(g) are repeated
This is a mental process for the same reasons as claim 1 above, since it is a restatement of it. A human being could carry out the algorithm steps for two animals, think of a report, and then ask the rancher if they could, e.g. give both animals water, thereby confirming acceptance of it.
Claim 4 recites assigning a score to each of one or more of observed traits selected from the group consisting of tissue inflammation severity, lymphoid immunity, microbial organism presence, mucosa integrity, hyperplasia, immune cell infiltration, cell sloughing, necrosis, vascularization, and overall architecture
Assigning a score based on data is a mental process and a mathematical relationship because a human being could practically perform the visual confirmation of e.g. inflammation and then write down a score with a pen and paper. The score reflects a numerical representation of the observed trait, establishing a mathematical relationship to the observed trait.
Claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one intervention includes feeding the livestock a customized feedstock recipe, modifying water intake, and administering one or more supplements, medicaments, enzymes, prebiotics, or probiotics to the livestock.
This only further limits the possibility space of the decisions made in the generated suggested intervention of claim 1, making it part of the mental process of claim 1.
Claim 6 recites that the customized feedstock recipe includes a change in protein, vitamin, mineral or caloric intake
Making the choice to change nutrient intake based on data is a mental process because A human could think to feed an animal more proteins, vitamins, minerals, or calories.
Claim 8 recites that the gastrointestinal microbiota analysis includes the step(s) of: evaluating microbiome diversity including alpha diversity and beta diversity; performing microbiome differential abundance analysis; or a combination thereof
Evaluating alpha diversity and beta diversity, as well as performing differential abundance analysis are mathematical relationships because they are verbal equivalents to algorithms and mathematical methods for evaluating statistical patterns in microbiota. A human being can perform the steps of these analyses with a pen and paper, making them mental processes.
While claim 1 recites performing some aspects of the analysis with a processor, there are no additional limitations that indicate that this processor requires anything other than carrying out the recited mental process or mathematical concept in a generic computer environment. Merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment does not preclude the steps from being performed practically in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then if falls within the “Mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claims 1-9 recites an abstract idea and natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1 : YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception to affect a particular treatment for a condition. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment or mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exception via a generic treatment. Specifically, the claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites (a) obtaining a first biomarker data set from one or more livestock animals in need of improvement in health, performance, or a combination thereof, the first biomarker data set including biomarker data obtained from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof;
Claim 1 continues, “executed by at least one processor”
Claim 1 continues with (b) obtaining a historical biomarker data set from a database, wherein the historical data set includes: (i) data previously measured from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof; (ii) data obtained from one or more external databases; or (iii) a combination thereof;
Claim 1 continues with (f) transmitting the report to an owner of the livestock, wherein the report is viewable on a livestock owner interface;
Claim 2 recites that upon confirming acceptance of the report, the livestock owner introduces the at least one intervention to the one or more livestock animals
Claim 3 recites that steps (b)-(g) of claim 1 are repeated, which includes the additional elements of steps (b) and (f)
Claim 7 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the gut gene expression data is obtained from a livestock host gene selected from the group consisting of interleukins (IL), tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF-alpha), transforming growth factor beta (TGF-beta), interferon gamma (IFN- gamma), cluster of differentiation (CD) genes, occludin, zonula occludens, claudins, mucin genes, nuclear factor kappa B (NFkB), lipopolysaccharide induced TNF factor (LITAF), toll-like receptors (TLR), secretory IgA (slgA), and beta-defensins.
Claim 9 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more external databases is in wireless communication with one or more data services which aid in and provide third party historical biomarker data related to disease diagnosis, prescriptions medicines, health assessment data, histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, and gastrointestinal microbiota analysis.
There are no limitations that indicate that the claimed processor, “livestock owner interface,” or the formats of the provided data require anything other than generic computing systems. As such, these limitations equate to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
The additional elements of claim 1, 7 and 9 do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to mere data gathering steps that would be required for the claimed mental processes. These limitations serve to gather data that is used as input for the abstract idea and there is no indication that the abstract idea has any impact on those data gathering steps. The courts have indicated that mere data gathering activity is insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation in claim 2 for introducing the intervention does not recite a “particular” treatment as there is no indication of the type of drug or treatment that is applied that would have more than a nominal or insignificant relationship to the exception. Rather, this limitation is an “apply it” step that merely applies the exception in a generic way and does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)). As such, claims 1-9 are directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon ( Step 2A, Prong 2 : NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment. The instant claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 1 recites (a) obtaining a first biomarker data set from one or more livestock animals in need of improvement in health, performance, or a combination thereof, the first biomarker data set including biomarker data obtained from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof;
Claim 1 continues with “executed by at least one processor”
Claim 1 continues with (b) obtaining a historical biomarker data set from a database, wherein the historical data set includes: (i) data previously measured from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof; (ii) data obtained from one or more external databases; or (iii) a combination thereof;
Claim 1 continues with (f) transmitting the report to an owner of the livestock, wherein the report is viewable on a livestock owner interface;
Claim 2 recites that upon confirming acceptance of the report, the livestock owner introduces the at least one intervention to the one or more livestock animals
Claim 3 recites that steps (b)-(g) of claim 1 are repeated, which includes the additional elements of steps (b) and (f)
Claim 7 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the gut gene expression data is obtained from a livestock host gene selected from the group consisting of interleukins (IL), tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF-alpha), transforming growth factor beta (TGF-beta), interferon gamma (IFN- gamma), cluster of differentiation (CD) genes, occludin, zonula occludens, claudins, mucin genes, nuclear factor kappa B (NFkB), lipopolysaccharide induced TNF factor (LITAF), toll-like receptors (TLR), secretory IgA (slgA), and beta-defensins.
Claim 9 recites The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more external databases is in wireless communication with one or more data services which aid in and provide third party historical biomarker data related to disease diagnosis, prescriptions medicines, health assessment data, histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, and gastrointestinal microbiota analysis.
As discussed above, there are no additional limitations to indicate that the claimed processor or “livestock owner interface” requires anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
The additional elements of claim 1 and 7 place limitations upon the receipt of biomarker data from livestock animals as an input for the method. Determining the level of a biomarker in blood has been found to be a conventional laboratory technique that amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968. See also PerkinElmer, Inc. v. Intema Ltd., 496 Fed. App'x 65, 73, 105 USPQ2d 1960, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Applicant considers the gut gene expression data of claims 1 and 7 to be a biomarker by their own admission in the language of claim 1. Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546 has also been found by the courts to be a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claims 1 and 9 have other additional elements which place limitations upon the receipt of data from external databases. Selecting information based upon types for collection, analysis and display has been identified by the courts as a type of insignificant extra-solution activity, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) has also been identified by the courts as a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
The limitation in claim 2 for introducing the intervention equates to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception in a generic way because the treating step is so generically recited. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims. The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself ( Step 2B : No).
As such, claims 1-9 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robey et al. (WO2004050835A2, IDS document) (hereafter “Robey”) in view of Butterwick et al. (US20200058405A1, IDS document) (hereafter “Butterwick”) and The Spur Line (The Spur Line Ranch and Pet Supply, thespurline.com/nutrition-services, 07/2021).
Regarding claim 1, applicant sets forth a series of method steps:
(a) obtaining a first biomarker data set from one or more livestock animals in need of improvement in health, performance, or a combination thereof, the first biomarker data set including biomarker data obtained from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof
Claim 1 of Robey sets a limitation for “determining a microbial profile in a biological sample with one or more animals” and defines a microbial profile as “representations of individual strains, subspecies, species, and/or genera of microorganisms with a community,” (specification page 6 lines 10-12) which would be an example of gastrointestinal microbiota analysis.
(b) obtaining a historical biomarker data set from a database, wherein the historical data set includes: (i) data previously measured from histopathological tissue analysis, gut gene expression analysis, gastrointestinal microbiota analysis, or a combination thereof; (ii) data obtained from one or more external databases; or (iii) a combination thereof;
Robey claim 1: "comparing said profile with a control microbial profile to determine a microbial profile index". The control microbial profile of Robey meets the limitations to be considered equivalent to the historical biomarker data set of the instant application.
(c) processing the first biomarker data set and historical biomarker data set using at least one algorithm executed by at least one processor to identify at least one correlation between the first biomarker data set and historical biomarker data set;
Robey claim 1: "comparing said profile with a control microbial profile to determine a microbial profile index; correlating said index with said animal performance." The correlations of Robey meet the conditions to be considered equivalent to the processed identified correlation of the instant application.
(d) generating at least one suggested intervention predicted to improve health, performance, or a combination thereof;
Robey is silent as to this.
Butterwick (specification ¶ 102): "calculating, based on the one or more biomarker inputs of the first animal, the difference between the weight of the first animal and the recommended growth weight of an ideal animal of the same species in a similar growth stage, determining if the difference is within two centiles of the recommended growth weight and displaying a recommendation on the graphical user interface based on the determination, wherein the recommendation includes a tailored intervention step if the difference is not within about two centiles of the recommended growth weight". This is an example of a suggested health intervention.
(e) generating a report comprising the at least one suggested intervention; (f) transmitting the report to an owner of the livestock, wherein the report is viewable on a livestock owner interface;
Robey is silent as to this.
Butterwick (spec ¶ 102): "displaying a recommendation on the graphical user interface based on the determination". The recommendation of Butterwick includes at least one suggested intervention, thus making it equivalent to the report of the instant application. The display and GUI of Butterwick are intended for owners of livestock (spec ¶ 1).
(g) confirming or denying acceptance of the report by the livestock owner.
(MPEP 2144.04.III) Broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result, such as verbally asking a customer if they accept a product, has previously been held by the courts to be considered obvious, In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Confirming or denying acceptance of a report about livestock feeding is taught by The Spur Line. The Spur Line Ranch and Pet Supply Company specializes in the sale and delivery of customized feedstock, and their website advertises on-ranch animal nutrition consulting: “If you need on-site nutrition consulting, we can send one of our specialists out to your ranch to become acquainted with the needs of your livestock. Whether your retired race horse needs a special formula or your cows need fattening, we can help.” When sending a specialist to a ranch to assess the livestock and to sell the rancher a custom feedstock recipe from their company, the specialist must confirm or deny whether the rancher accepts the company’s recommended feedstock, otherwise they could not send the rancher the custom feedstock blends their company makes, and it would not constitute a complete transaction of “on-site nutrition consulting” between the rancher and the specialist. Automating this process through a computer system would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 1, An invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. The text of Robey provides for characterizing animal performance based on a microbial profile, and for monitoring the effects of feed on the microbial profile. In the text of Butterwick, there is a teaching to generate suggested health interventions, and to transmit and display them to livestock-owning customers, based on correlations between biomarker data, such as the microbial profiles of Robey. In their background section, Butterwick states they were motivated to create “systems and methods to determine ideal body weight for animals and provide recommendations and/or tailored interventions when such animal growth deviates from target” (Butterwick spec ¶ 6). The Spur Line teaches customized feedstock consulting, which includes confirmation of acceptance of the consultation recommendation, and recognizing the MPEP’s statement about automation, the computerized confirming/denying acceptance of a recommendation about feedstock is obvious. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the inventions, as the method of Butterwick is based on biomarker correlations in animal health data, which is found in Robey, and both are directed towards making recommendations about animal feeding, which is the goal of The Spur Line’s service. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Robey with the method of Butterwick and The Spur Line, in order to help livestock owners maintain proper animal growth.
Regarding claim 4, observed traits such as mucosa integrity and necrosis are scored (Robey spec page 7 lines 26-31: “GIT tissues can be excised and histologically evaluated for the number, size, shape, mucosal-cell turnover and condition of the Villi.”) as part of the histopathological analysis step of Robey (Claims 1, 23, 24).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Robey is silent as to the details of a customized feedstock recipe.
Regarding claim 5, feeding the livestock a customized feedstock recipe (Butterwick spec ¶ 92: “For example, if the animal is ‘overweight,’ intervention recommendations may include… ‘adjust and decrease food intake.’”), modifying water intake (Butterwick spec ¶ 123-127: the pet owner logs other biomarkers daily, such as… modifying water intake… Given the new input, the optimal animal growth application may recommend an updated and/or additional intervention), and administering one or more supplements, medicaments, enzymes, prebiotics, or probiotics (Butterwick spec ¶ 75: “Such intervention can also include prebiotic or probiotic supplements.”) to the livestock is taught by Butterwick.
Regarding claim 6, that the customized feedstock recipe includes a change in protein, vitamin, mineral or caloric intake is taught by Butterwick (Butterwick spec ¶ 92: " Conversely, if the dog is “underweight,” intervention recommendations may include “supplement dry dog food with high protein wet dog food once per day” or “monitor and schedule visit with veterinarian.”")
Regarding claims 4-6, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. The text of Robey provides for histopathological analysis data to be part of the biomarker input data. In the text of Butterwick, there is a teaching to create customized feedstock recipes using animal health correlations. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the two inventions, as both inventions use biomarker input data to create correlations, thus making it trivial to use those correlations as terms in a recommendation system. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Robey with the method of Butterwick, in order to help livestock owners maintain proper animal growth.
Regarding claim 9, Robey is silent as to receiving information from an external database.
Regarding claim 9, that the system receives information from an external database is taught by Butterwick (Butterwick spec ¶ 97: "At operation 620, the one or more first biomarker inputs of the first animal are compared to at least one predetermined reference biomarker input stored in a reference database. ")
Regarding claim 9, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Robey uses many types of biomarker data as input. In the text of Butterwick, there is a teaching to include input from reference databases. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the two inventions, as there would be no issue with incorporating internet-gathered data of the same type. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Robey with the method of Butterwick, in order to increase the amount of data available for analysis.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robey, Butterwick, and the Spur Line as applied to claims 1, 4-6 and 9 above, and in further view of Crunick et al. (US20150080990A1, IDS document) (hereafter “Crunick”).
Regarding claim 3, that the process of claim 1 is repeated in multiple animals is taught by Robey (the “plurality of animals” of claims 2 and 30.)
Regarding claim 2, Robey is silent as to the introduction of the intervention.
Claim 2 states that upon confirming acceptance of the report, the livestock owner introduces the at least one intervention to the one or more livestock animals.
Regarding claim 2, Paragraph 83 of Crunick’s specification reads: "The stored treatment protocol module 210 is configured to generate a menu of treatment protocols from which the operator may select a treatment for the tissues of the patient, as well as to implement the treatment protocol selected from the menu by the operator."
Regarding claims 2-3, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In the text of Crunick, there is a teaching for the operator (“livestock owner”) to implement a treatment protocol (“introduce the intervention”). There would be a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the two inventions, as the livestock owner could easily implement the interventions given to them by the system. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Robey with the method of Crunick, to make sure the recommendations are put in place, ensuring that the animals’ health and performance is actually improved by the method.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robey, Butterwick, and The Spur Line as applied to claims 1, 4-6 and 9 above, and in further view of Warda (Front. Microbiol. 11:69, 2020).
Regarding claims 7-8, Robey is silent as to the genes analyzed for recommendation, and as to the aspects of microbiota analysis.
Regarding claim 7, that gut gene expression is obtained from livestock host genes such as interleukins and TNF is taught by Warda (Warda page 3 right col 3rd paragraph: Colons of ADR-159 fed animals had 0.49 times lower expression levels of IL-12α (ANOVA, p < 0.0005) compared to the colons of the standard fed animals. In contrast IL-17f (ANOVA, p = 0.0038) expression levels in colons of ADR-159 fed animals were 2.38 times higher (Figure 6). No significant differences were observed for IL-12β, IFN-γ, TNF, IL-1β, IL-6, IL-18, IL-10, IL-22, IL-23α, and CXCL1 expression levels.)
Regarding claim 8, that microbiota analysis includes alpha-and-beta diversity analysis and differential abundance analysis is taught by Warda (Warda page 8 left col 1st paragraph: “The phyloseq package (McMurdie and Holmes, 2013) was used to calculate alpha and beta diversity. Alpha diversity comparisons were performed using a MannWhitney test, while beta diversity was via an Adonis test from the vegan package. The differential abundance of the genera and RSVs was carried out with DESeq2 (Love et al., 2014).”)
Regarding claims 7-8, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In the text of Warda, there is a teaching to conduct gut gene expression analysis of cytokines such as IL and TNF, and a teaching to calculate alpha/beta diversity as well as differential abundance analysis. There would be a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the two inventions, as the methods requiring adaptation to the task of feedstock recommendation are explained in detail in Warda and its references. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Robey with the method of Warda, in order to incorporate metagenomics data into the recommendations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. US 10,806,130 B2 (hereafter “Moreno”) in view of Warda. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of Moreno states:
“1. A method of managing livestock health in real-time, the method comprising obtaining real-time livestock sensor data from at least one sensor located on or around one or more livestock, the data comprising at least one of livestock weight, livestock activity level, livestock ammonia level, body temperature, body weight, water intake, or body pH; analyzing, by processor, the real-time livestock sensor data to detect at least one anomaly in the livestock weight, livestock activity level, livestock ammonia level, body temperature, body weight, water intake, or body pH; generating a customized livestock health management plan that includes a tailored feedstock recipe adapted to cure the at least one detected anomaly upon being fed to the livestock; transmitting the livestock health management plan wirelessly to at least one livestock owner interface; and confirming or denying acceptance of the livestock health management plan by the livestock owner; wherein upon confirmation of acceptance of the livestock health management plan, a wireless signal is sent to a feedstock producer including instructions to manufacture the customized feedstock recipe for the livestock owner.”
The “generating a customized livestock health management plan” of Moreno teaches the generating an intervention, and generating a report of steps (d) and (e) of claim 1.
The “transmitting the livestock health management plan wirelessly to at least one livestock owner interface; and confirming or denying acceptance of the livestock health management plan by the livestock owner” teaches steps (f) and (g) of claim 1.
Moreno is silent as to the use of biomarker data of the types listed in (a) of claim 1, as to the historical data set of (b) of claim 1, and the biomarker dataset processing of step (c) of claim 1.
Regarding step (a), the use of gut gene expression data and histopathological tissue analysis is taught by Warda (page 4 left col ¶ 2, page 5 right col).
Regarding steps (b) and (c), the use of external biomarker data to process the input data to find correlations is taught by Warda (page 5 right col ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 2, the “confirming or denying acceptance of the livestock health management plan by the livestock owner” in claim 1 of Moreno is the same language as that of claim 2, thus teaching it.
Regarding claim 3, the same arguments for claim 1 apply, as this is a restatement of claim 1 with a different set of input data, which is fully within the scope of the prior art combination listed.
Regarding claim 5, claim 8 of Moreno teaches that the “health management plan” or intervention includes “at least one prescribed medicament,” which reads on “administering one or more… medicaments.”
Regarding claim 6, “the customized feedstock recipe includes a change in protein, vitamin, mineral or caloric intake” of claim 7 of Moreno is the same language as that of claim 6, thus teaching it.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 6, an invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention if some teaching in the prior art would have led that person to combine the prior art teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In the text of Warda, there is a teaching to use gut gene expression analysis and histopathological tissue analysis. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to a person of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to combine the two inventions, as these data types have no distinguishing features that make them unable to be used as input for a recommendation system like that of Moreno. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify the method of Moreno with the methods of Warda, in order to make more informed recommendations to the livestock owners about their animals’ health.
As such, claims 1-3, 5 and 6 are rejected due to nonstatutory double patenting.
Contact
/G.M.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/OLIVIA M. WISE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1685