DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 depends upon canceled Claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nederveld (US 4,884,741 A) in view of Rapp et al. (CA 3138416 A1; hereinafter Rapp).
Regarding claim 12, Nederveld discloses a box comprising a plurality of main panels, each main panel comprising an upper panel, a central panel, and a lower panel (i.e. main body 11-14, upper closure flaps, and lower closure flaps); at least one attaching connection feature (17a/18a) located on at least one lower panel; and at least one receiving connection feature (21/22) located on at least one lower panel, wherein each lower panel is connected to at least two other lower panels by an attaching connection feature connecting to a receiving connection feature such that all lower panels are connected together thereby forming a bottom (see Fig. 4), wherein each main panel defines an inner surface and an outer surface, and wherein the box maintains its structure without fasteners. Examiner notes that Applicant’s Specification defines “without fasteners” as being without tape (see Par. 0003). Examiner notes that Nederveld does not employ tape to construct the box.
Nederveld lacks teaching that the box is made of corrugated cardboard (Nederveld uses corrugated fiberboard); and Nederveld also lacks instructions printed on an outer surface of the container.
Rapp teaches a cardboard carrying tray for holding transporting, and/or delivering food and beverage containers and a method of making wherein instructions for assembly are printed on an outside thereof (see Par. 0046, 0062; and Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Nederveld’s container to include instructions of use printed thereon in order to provide a guide for a user to assemble the container, as taught by Rapp; and it would have been obvious to use cardboard as a substitute for fiberboard, as a known material alternative in the art. Further, Examiner does not consider a functional relationship between the claimed printed matter and associated substrate to be new and nonobvious (see MPEP 2111.05).
Regarding claim 14, Nederveld, as modified above, teaches a box wherein each upper panel and each lower panel comprises one of the reference numerals, and wherein at least one panel comprises graphics displaying the stages of assembly (Rapp; see Fig. 2; Examiner notes that each flap comprises reference indicia; therefore it would have been obvious to include reference indicia on each of Nederveld’s flaps). Examiner considers a “stage of assembly” graphic to be any instruction indicia.
Regarding claim 15, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box wherein at least one attaching connection feature comprises a connecting tab (Nederveld; 27) and wherein at least one receiving connection feature comprises a connection aperture (Nederveld; 21a-c), wherein the connection aperture is defined in the panel containing the receiving connection feature.
Regarding claim 16, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box wherein each connection aperture comprises a slim portion (Nederveld; 21a) and an expanded portion (Nederveld; 21b-c), wherein the connection aperture defines a first lateral end (i.e. left side), a second lateral end (i.e. right side), a first vertical end (i.e. top most extent), and a second vertical end (i.e. bottom most extent).
Regarding claim 17, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box wherein the expanded portion is defined by an angled portion of one of the first lateral end and the second lateral end (Nederveld; see Fig. 1 and 6). Examiner notes that each connection aperture represents a general “S” shape. Examiner considers the expanded portions at the ends to have an “angle” that is parallel to the fold line attaching the end flap to the main panel.
Regarding claim 18, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box wherein at least one of the first vertical end and the second vertical end is a stop end, wherein at least one side of the connecting tab contacts the stop end. Examiner considers closed ends of all locking apertures (i.e. slots) to be “stop ends”.
Regarding claim 19, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box wherein each connecting tab defines a first side and a second side, wherein the first side and side are about parallel (Nederveld; 26 and 27; see Figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 20, Nederveld, as modified above, discloses a box further comprising a support tab (Nederveld; 28) arranged adjacent to at least one connecting tab, wherein at least one side of the support tab and at least one side of the connecting tab together define a recess (Nederveld; 25) between the support tab and the connecting tab (Nederveld; see Figures 1 and 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Nederveld fails to disclose the box maintaining its structure by the at least one attaching connection feature and the at least one receiving connection feature and without fasteners, as claimed.
-Examiner notes that Applicant has defined a fastener within Applicant’s Specification as being tape (see Applicant’s Specification Par. 0003). Examiner notes that Nederveld does not employ tape to hold the box together, therefore, Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734