DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is found to change the scope of the claim such that it is no longer drawn to non-elected Species A. Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are no longer withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s assertions (Applicant’s Remarks pages 6-8) that the new limitations “a first insulating layer composed of an inorganic material and disposed directly on the upper surface of the first substrate” from claim 1, and analogous limitations from claim 9, are not taught by the disclosure of US 20180166520 A1 (Kang et al) since in previous examination on the merits, the feature considered to represent the claimed first insulating layer (substrate 121) is not directly contacting an upper surface of the first substrate (complex blocking layer 114), and that the feature that does directly contact the upper surface of the first substrate (adhesive 113 is in direct contact with complex blocking layer 114) does not satisfy the limitation “composed of an inorganic material” is acknowledged. Applicant also asserted that the complex blocking layer 114 of Kang is not characterized in the specification of Kang to provide structural support for components built upon it and is thus not appropriate to be considered a substrate, but the Examiner respectfully disagrees since complex blocking layer 114 is a layer upon which the TFT and pixel structure of the display device are disposed; complex blocking layer 114 therefore representing a substrate to a person of ordinary skill in the art even if the specification of Kang does not explicitly characterize it as such.
Regarding the amended limitation, the disclosure of Kang is considered in view of US 20010015256 A1 (Yamazaki et al), which discusses a variety of materials suitable for use as an adhesive layer in a display device. The Examiner finds that the amended limitations of claims 1 and 9 are obvious based on the disclosures of Kang in view of Yamazaki, whereby the material of the adhesive layer 113 of Kang is an inorganic insulating material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publications US 20180166520 A1 (Kang et al hereinafter Kang) in view of US 20010015256 A1 (Yamazaki et al hereinafter Yamazaki).
Kang discloses a display device (display device 100, FIGS. 1-2, ¶ [0036-0037]), comprising: a first substrate (FIG. 2, complex blocking layer 114, which is part of protective substrate 110 ¶ [0087-0093]) comprising a display area (FIG. 2, portions of the substrate overlapping the pixel structures constitute an active display area, ¶ [0055]) where a plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (FIG. 2, while only one pixel structure is illustrated, Kang teaches that a plurality of pixels and sub-pixels is present ¶ [0055, 0080]) and a non-display area (FIG. 2, portions of the substrate non-overlapping the pixel structures constitute a non-display area, ¶ [0055]), wherein:
the first substrate has an upper surface (FIG. 2, complex blocking layer 114 has an upper surface), and the first substrate forms a single-continuous layer made of one of transparent conducting oxide and oxide semiconductor (complex blocking layer 114 may be a transparent conductive oxide ¶ [0092]); a first insulating layer (FIG. 2, adhesive 113 being an insulating layer disposed directly on the upper surface of layer 114 ¶ [0087, 0090]) disposed directly on the upper surface of the first substrate; a plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 2, organic light emitting diodes 140 in sub-pixels ¶ [0054]) disposed in the plurality of sub-pixels.
Kang does not disclose that the first insulating layer is composed of an inorganic material (an acrylic based adhesive is suggested as a material ¶ [0090]).
However, Yamazaki discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 2C ¶ [0015]) wherein a first insulating layer (FIG. 2C, second adhesive 131 ¶ [0048]) is composed of an inorganic material (second adhesive may be formed of an inorganic material ¶ [0048]) and disposed directly on an upper surface of a first substrate (FIG. 2C, plastic film 132 is a plastic substrate ¶ [0048]). Yamazaki also teaches that the inorganic material of the adhesive layer is interchangeable with an acrylic based adhesive (¶ [0048]).
Kang and Yamazaki both pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki such that the first insulating layer is composed of an inorganic material, because Yamazaki has demonstrated that such a material is interchangeable with the material taught by Kang, and such a modification may be done in consideration of materials costs and changing market conditions.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20190081090 A1 (Lee et al hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 3, Kang in view of Yamazaki discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose a second substrate disposed between the first insulating layer and the plurality of light emitting elements and made of one of the transparent conducting oxide and the oxide semiconductor; and a second insulating layer disposed between the second substrate and the plurality of light emitting elements.
However, Lee discloses a display device (the display device of FIG. 3-4 ¶ [0030-0031]) comprising a second substrate (FIG. 4, shielding layer 143 ¶ [0117]) disposed between a first insulating layer (FIG. 4, first inorganic barrier layer 131 is a first insulating layer ¶ [0106-0109]) and a plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 4, pixels include OLEDs 300 ¶ [0018, 0079]) and made of one of the transparent conducting oxide and the oxide semiconductor (shielding layer 143 may be transparent conductive oxide ¶ [0117]); and a second insulating layer (FIG. 4, second inorganic barrier layer 132 is a second insulating layer ¶ [0106-0109]) disposed between the second substrate and the plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 4, barrier layer 132 is between shielding layer 143 and OLED 300). Lee also teaches that the shielding layers of their disclosure both shield the device against damage from electrostatic discharges (ESD) as well as improve the adhesiveness between neighboring layers (¶ [0116-0117]).
Kang, Yamazaki, and Lee pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki further in view of Lee to comprise a second substrate disposed between the first insulating layer and the plurality of light emitting elements and made of one of the transparent conducting oxide and the oxide semiconductor; and a second insulating layer disposed between the second substrate and the plurality of light emitting elements, in order to provide the second substrate as a shielding layer which protects the device against ESD and improves the adhesiveness between neighboring layers as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 5, Kang in view of Yamazaki and Lee discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above, and they further disclose that a plurality of second substrates is disposed to correspond to the plurality of sub-pixels (in Lee, the view of the device shown in FIG. 4 is one cross-section of one sub-pixel; the other sub-pixels in the device likewise comprise corresponding shielding layers 143 ¶ [0054, 0110, 0116-0117]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yamazaki and Lee as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20180006274 A1 (Kim et al hereinafter Kim 2).
Kang in view of Yamazaki and Lee discloses the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above, and further discloses a plurality of transistors (Kang FIG. 2, driving element 130 in each sub-pixel is a transistor ¶ [0054]; Lee FIG. 2 demonstrates that a plurality of transistors may be present in each sub-pixel), but does not further disclose that each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes: one or more light shielding layers disposed on the second substrate; and the plurality of transistors is disposed overlapping with the light shielding layers, wherein the light shielding layer is electrically connected to the second substrate corresponding to each of the plurality of sub-pixels.
However, Kim 2 discloses a device comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (the device of FIG. 18 includes a plurality of sub-pixels ¶ [0146]) which include a light shielding layer (FIG. 18, conductive layer 225a which is part of light shielding layer 225 ¶ [0150, 0172-0173]) disposed on a second substrate (FIG. 18, light blocking layer 225b is a second substrate formed of a transparent conductive oxide material ¶ [0173]); and a plurality of transistors (FIG. 18, gate electrode 221, and source/drain electrodes 222 and 223 form a transistor in each sub-pixel ¶ [0150]) disposed overlapping with the light shielding layers (FIG. 18, the transistors overlap the light shielding layers 225a in a direction perpendicular to the lower substrate), wherein the light shielding layer is electrically connected to the second substrate corresponding to each of the plurality of sub-pixels (FIG. 18, conductive layer 225a and light blocking layer 225b are electrically connected to each other ¶ [0173]). Kim 2 also teaches that their configuration of light shielding layers 225a and 225b causes destructive interference to occur between light reflected on different interfaces, to prevent visibility from being deteriorated due to external light (¶ [0173]).
Kang, Yamazaki, Lee, and Kim 2 all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki and Lee further in view of Kim 2 such that each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes: one or more light shielding layers disposed on the second substrate; and the plurality of transistors is disposed overlapping with the light shielding layers, wherein the light shielding layer is electrically connected to the second substrate corresponding to each of the plurality of sub-pixels, in order to cause destructive interference to occur between light reflected on different interfaces, to prevent visibility from being deteriorated due to external light as taught by Kim 2.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20200111978 A1 (Kim et al hereinafter Kim).
Kang in view of Yamazaki discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above but does not further disclose a polarizing plate attached to the first substrate.
However, Kim discloses a display device (display device 1000 FIGS. 1A-1B ¶ [0067-0070]) wherein a polarizing plate (a non-pictured polarizing plate disposed under lower substrate 110 ¶ [0070]) is attached to a first substrate (FIG. 1B, lower substrate 110 ¶ [0070]) wherein the first substrate includes a display area where a plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (FIG. 1B, active area A/A overlapping lower substrate 110 includes a plurality of sub-pixels). Kim also teaches that the polarizing plate polarizes light traveling into the display device “so the external light reflection of the stretchable display device 1000 may be reduced”.
Kang, Yamazaki, and Kim both pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki further in view of Kim such that a polarizing plate is attached to the first substrate, in order to reduce the external light reflection of the display device.
Claims 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee.
Regarding claim 9, Kang discloses a display device (display device 100, FIGS. 1-2, ¶ [0036-0037]), comprising: a first transparent thin film layer (FIG. 2, complex blocking layer 114, which is part of protective substrate 110 ¶ [0087-0093]) including a display area (FIG. 2, portions of the substrate overlapping the pixel structures constitute an active area, ¶ [0055]) and a non-display area (FIG. 2, portions of the substrate non-overlapping the pixel structures constitute a non-display area, ¶ [0055]) wherein: the first transparent thin film layer has an upper surface (FIG. 2, complex blocking layer 114 has an upper surface), and the first transparent thin film layer is a single, continuous layer (FIG. 2, complex blocking layer 114, which is part of protective substrate 110, is a single continuous layer disposed as a substrate in the device ¶ [0096]) made of one of a transparent conducting oxide and oxide semiconductor (complex blocking layer 114 may be a transparent conductive oxide ¶ [0092]); a pixel unit (FIG. 2 illustrates a sub-pixel of a pixel unit ¶ [0055, 0080]) disposed in the display area and including a plurality of sub-pixels (while only one sub-pixel structure is illustrated in FIG. 2, it is explained that each pixel comprises a plurality of sub-pixels to separately emit red, green, and blue light ¶ [0080]); a first insulating layer (FIG. 2, adhesive 113 being an insulating layer disposed directly on the upper surface of layer 114 ¶ [0087, 0090]) disposed directly on the upper surface of the first transparent thin film layer (FIG. 2, adhesive 113 is directly on the upper surface of complex blocking layer 114).
Kang does not further disclose that the first insulating layer is composed of an inorganic material (an acrylic based adhesive is suggested as a material ¶ [0090]), a polarizing plate disposed under the first transparent thin film layer, or a low-potential power line disposed on the first transparent thin film layer and configured to transmit a low-potential power voltage to the pixel unit, though in the case of the latter Kang does teach that OLEDs are driven at a low voltage to be advantageous in terms of power consumption (¶ [0007]).
However, Yamazaki discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 2C ¶ [0015]) wherein a first insulating layer (FIG. 2C, second adhesive 131 ¶ [0048]) is composed of an inorganic material (second adhesive may be formed of an inorganic material ¶ [0048]) and disposed directly on an upper surface of a first substrate (FIG. 2C, plastic film 132 is a plastic substrate ¶ [0048]). Yamazaki also teaches that the inorganic material of the adhesive layer is interchangeable with an acrylic based adhesive (¶ [0048]).
Kang and Yamazaki both pertain to the field of display devices. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki such that the first insulating layer is composed of an inorganic material, because Yamazaki has demonstrated that such a material is interchangeable with the material taught by Kang, and such a modification may be done in consideration of materials costs and changing market conditions.
Further, Kim discloses a display device (display device 1000 FIGS. 1A-1B ¶ [0067-0070]) wherein a polarizing plate (a non-pictured polarizing plate disposed under lower substrate 110 ¶ [0070]) is disposed under a first transparent thin film layer (FIG. 1B, lower substrate 110 ¶ [0070], which may be formed of transparent materials such as silicon rubber and epoxy resin ¶ [0071, 0076-0077]) wherein the first transparent thin film layer includes a display area where a plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (FIG. 1B, active area A/A overlapping lower substrate 110 includes a plurality of sub-pixels). Kim also teaches that the polarizing plate polarizes light traveling into the display device “so the external light reflection of the stretchable display device 1000 may be reduced”.
Kang, Yamazaki, and Kim all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki further in view of Kim such that a polarizing plate is disposed under the first transparent thin film layer, in order to reduce the external light reflection of the display device.
Kang in view of Yamazaki and Kim does not disclose a low-potential power line disposed on the first transparent thin film layer and configured to transmit a low-potential power voltage to the pixel unit.
However, Lee discloses a display device (the display device of FIGS. 2-4 ¶ [0029-0031, 0079]) comprising a low-potential power line (FIGS. 2-3, driving voltage line 172 ¶ [0058]) configured to transmit a low-potential power voltage to a pixel unit (FIGS. 3-4, the illustrated OLED 300 and its connected pixel circuit form a pixel unit ¶ [0079]).
Kang, Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki and Kim further in view of Lee to include a low-potential power line disposed on the first transparent thin film layer (when the driving voltage line 172 of Lee FIGS. 2-3 is applied to the device of Kang, it is located on complex blocking layer 114 of Kang FIG. 2 since the blocking layer is part of the lower protective substrate) and configured to transmit a low-potential power voltage to the pixel unit, in order to configure a low potential power line for the device of Kang that is advantageous in terms of power consumption as was suggested in Kang (¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee discloses the limitations of claim 9 as detailed above. Further, the display device of Lee discloses one or more second transparent thin film layers (FIG. 4, shielding layer 143 ¶ [0117]) made of one of the transparent conducting oxide and the oxide semiconductor (shielding layer 143 may be transparent conductive oxide ¶ [0117]) and disposed between a first insulating layer (FIG. 4, first inorganic barrier layer 131 is a first insulating layer ¶ [0106-0109]) and a pixel unit (FIG. 4, pixels include OLEDs 300 ¶ [0018, 0079]); and a second insulating layer (FIG. 4, second inorganic barrier layer 132 is a second insulating layer ¶ [0106-0109]) disposed between the second transparent thin film layers and the pixel unit (FIG. 4, barrier layer 132 is between shielding layer 143 and OLED 300). Lee also teaches that the shielding layers of their disclosure both shield the device against damage from electrostatic discharges (ESD) as well as improve the adhesiveness between neighboring layers (¶ [0116-0117]).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee further in view of Lee to include one or more second transparent thin film layers made of one of the transparent conducting oxide and the oxide semiconductor and disposed between the first insulating layer and the pixel unit; and a second insulating layer disposed between the second transparent thin film layers and the pixel unit, in order to provide the second substrate as a shielding layer which protects the device against ESD and improves the adhesiveness between neighboring layers as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 13, Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above, and they further disclose that the second transparent thin film layers are divided into a plurality of second transparent thin film layers in the display area (in Lee, the view of the device shown in FIG. 4 is one cross-section of one sub-pixel; the other sub-pixels in the device likewise comprise corresponding shielding layers 143 ¶ [0054, 0110, 0116-0117]), and wherein the plurality of second transparent thin film layers overlap with the plurality of sub-pixels (Lee FIG. 4, OLED 300 is overlapped along the Z-direction by shielding layers 143).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Kim 2.
Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee disclose the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above, and they further disclose that each of the plurality of sub-pixels includes: a plurality of transistors (Kang FIG. 2, driving element 130 in each sub-pixel is a transistor ¶ [0054]; Lee FIG. 2 demonstrates that a plurality of transistors may be present in each sub-pixel) disposed on the second insulating layer (Lee FIG. 4, second inorganic barrier layer 132 being the second insulating layer is below the transistors T1, T2 ¶ [0057]). They do not further disclose a light shielding layer disposed between the plurality of transistors and the second insulating layer and overlapping with at least one of the plurality of transistors, and wherein the light shielding layers in the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the plurality of second transparent thin film layers.
However, Kim 2 discloses a device comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (the device of FIG. 18 includes a plurality of sub-pixels ¶ [0146]) which include a light shielding layer (FIG. 18, conductive layer 225a which is part of light shielding layer 225 ¶ [0150, 0172-0173]) disposed between a plurality of transistors (FIG. 18, gate electrode 221, and source/drain electrodes 222 and 223 form a transistor in each sub-pixel ¶ [0150]; Kim 2 FIG. 4 indicates that multiple transistors are present in each sub-pixel) and a second insulating layer (FIG. 18, layer 225a is between a lower portion of buffer layer 215a, understood to represent the second insulating layer, and the transistors when viewed from a non-vertical angle) and overlapping with at least one of the plurality of transistors (FIG. 18, layer 225a overlaps the transistor), and wherein the light shielding layers in the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the plurality of second transparent thin film layers (FIG. 18, conductive layer 225a and light blocking layer 225b are electrically connected to each other ¶ [0173]; light blocking layer 225b is formed of transparent conductive oxide material and thus considered a second transparent thin film layer). Kim 2 also teaches that their configuration of light shielding layers 225a and 225b causes destructive interference to occur between light reflected on different interfaces, to prevent visibility from being deteriorated due to external light (¶ [0173]).
Kang, Yamazaki, Kim, Lee, and Kim 2 all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Kang in view of Yamazaki, Kim, and Lee further in view of Kim 2 such that a light shielding layer is disposed between the plurality of transistors and the second insulating layer and overlapping with at least one of the plurality of transistors, and wherein the light shielding layers in the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the plurality of second transparent thin film layers, in order to cause destructive interference to occur between light reflected on different interfaces, to prevent visibility from being deteriorated due to external light as taught by Kim 2.
Conclusion
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813