DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated December 19, 2025, claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 8 and 14 are amended, claim 21 is newly added, and claim 7 is previously cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Feng fails to teach that the SOC information is received “through power line communication (PLC)” instead teaching that the contacts correspond to a transmitter and receiver respectively for transmitting data, indications or other instructions whereas the third contact corresponds to a power contact to transmit power.
However, it should be noted that the interface receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication (column 5, lines 41-45).
The applicant argues that Feng describes varying the charging voltage depending on time intervals, but is not controlled based on PLC communication timing or the timing of SOC transmission/reception.
This argument along with the amendments have been fully considered and is persuasive. However, the reference of Ichikawa US20120098488A1 is newly cited as disclosing the features of using the PLC communication to determine the charging time, as further detailed below.
The applicant argues that Yabuuchi fails to cure the deficiencies of Feng.
This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. The reference of Yabuuchi is withdrawn and Ichikawa US20120098488A1 is newly cited, as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. US11431185B1 in view of Ichikawa US20120098488A1.
Regarding claim 1. Feng discloses a power supply device (FIG. 1) comprising:
a first charging accommodation (108-1) configured to accommodate a first power receiving device (102-1), and
a second charging accommodation (108-2) configured to accommodate a second power receiving device (102-2), the second power receiving device forming a pair with the first power receiving device (FIG. 1; column 4, lines 45-50);
a first interface (110) disposed in the first charging accommodation (108-1) and being configured to electrically connect with the first power receiving device (102-1) when the first power receiving device (102-1) is mounted in the first charging accommodation (108-1);
a second interface (114) disposed in the second charging accommodation (108-2) and being configured to electrically connect with the second power receiving device (102-2) when the second power receiving device (102-2) is mounted in the second charging accommodation (108-2);
a battery (126); and
at least one processor (168) electrically connected with the first interface (110) , the second interface (114), and the battery (126) (FIG. 1 at case 100),
Feng discloses that the at least one processor (168) is configured to:
Receive, from the first power receiving device through power line communication (PLC) based on the first interface (column 5, lines 41-45 the case receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication through an interface), first state of charge (SOC) information of the first power receiving device mounted in the first charging accommodation (column 20, lines 29-42 - the process 400 may transmit an indication to the case 100 indicating the charge (e.g., voltage) of the battery is less than the first charge threshold) ,
Receive, from the second power receiving device through the PLC based on the second interface (column 5, lines 41-45 the case receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication through an interface), second SOC information of the second power receiving device mounted in the second charging accommodation (108-2) (column 20, lines 29-42 - the process 400 may transmit an indication to the case 100 indicating the charge (e.g., voltage) of the battery is less than the first charge threshold),
based on the first SOC information and the second SOC information received through the PLC (column 20, lines 29-42 - the process 400 may transmit an indication to the case 100 indicating the charge (e.g., voltage) of the battery is less than the first charge threshold), determine at least one charging parameter (column 20, line43-50 - an associated voltage/current is provided to the wireless headphone),
charge the first power receiving device through the first interface by applying a first charging voltage (column 3 lines 18-20 – output voltage supplied), or a first charging current (column 3 lines 4-10 – current supplied) and charge the second power receiving device through the second interface (FIG. 4 at 406 and 408 – column 18, lines16-45 – if the charge is less than a threshold then the battery is charged until it is equal or greater) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously) by applying a second charging voltage (column 3 lines18-20 – output voltage supplied), or a first charging current (column 3 lines 4-10 – current supplied) simultaneously (column 8 lines 16-32 – headphones charged simultaneously), and
wherein charging is performed in the second charging section based on a higher charging voltage, or a higher charging current than a charging voltage, or a charging current in the first charging section (column 8 lines 16-32 – charging may be performed at different rates depending on the respective battery levels/percentages).
Feng does not explicitly teach that based on a timing of the PLC, identify a first charging section in which PLC is not performed and a second charging section in which PLC is performed; based on the at least one charging parameter, the first charging section, and the second charging section, charge the first power receiving device through the first interface by applying a first charging voltage.
Ichikawa discloses that based on a timing of the PLC, identify a first charging section in which PLC is not performed (¶92 – PLC is turned off when the charging comes to an end ) and a second charging section in which PLC is performed (¶92 – PLC is started).
Ichikawa discloses that based on the at least one charging parameter (¶90 – Calculate the time for charging based on the SOC), the first charging section (¶92 – PLC is turned off when the charging comes to an end ), and the second charging section (¶92 – PLC is started), charge the first power receiving device through the first interface by applying a first charging voltage (FIG. 11-12; ¶92 – charging is determined for the length of time that the PLC is on to off)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the power line communication teaching of Ichikawa to the communication of Feng in order to enable continued communication throughout charging (¶12). Although Ichikawa is used in a vehicle, it is the aspect of the communication between the charging device and the device-to-be charged that is utilized. It would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a charging communication teaching could be applied between a device such as earbuds and a vehicle as the communication provides the same information regarding a battery.
Regarding claim 2. Feng discloses that when the first SOC information is received through the first interface, determine the first charging voltage corresponding to the first SOC information (FIG. 4A - determine charge of wireless headphone 404; column 18, lines 10-15 – along with the remaining charge the voltage is also determined).
Feng discloses that when third SOC information which is higher than the first SOC information is received through the first interface (FIG. 4A – 408 – charge is greater than a first charge threshold), determine a third charging voltage which corresponds to the third SOC information and is higher than the first charging voltage (FIG. 4A – pre-charge until the charge is greater than the second charge threshold) (see further FIG. 3 at 302).
Regarding claim 3. Feng discloses that when charging from an external power device is detected, transmit charging information of the external power device to the first power receiving device through the first interface (column 6, lines 40-43 – external power sources transfers power to the batteries of the receiving devices; FIG. 4A 408, 410, 412, 414 – trickle charge, pre-charge, fast charge, constant voltage).
Regarding claim 4. Feng discloses that when the first SOC information received through the first interface and the second SOC information received through the second interface are different (column 8, lines 16-20 – charging rate dependent on each of their respective battery levels or percentages thus the SOC may be different), the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine the first charging voltage on the first SOC information with respect to the first power receiving device (FIG. 4A – 404- determine charge of wireless headphone) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously),
determine the second charging voltage on the second SOC information with respect to the second power receiving device (FIG. 4A – 404- determine charge of wireless headphone) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously), and
based on the first charging voltage and the second charging voltage, charge the first power receiving device and the second power receiving device through the first interface and the second interface, respectively (column 8, lines 16-32 – each headphone charged based on their respective levels, computing demands and processes).
Regarding claim 5. Feng discloses that when the first SOC information of the first power receiving device is lower than the second SOC information of the second power receiving device, the at least one processor is further configured to determine the first charging voltage to be higher than the second charging voltage (column 16, lines 26-43 increased voltage serves to reduce charging time, thus if the first device has a lower state of charge below a threshold it is charged at a higher voltage to reduce time until it reaches a threshold voltage or percentage. Those devices over the threshold charge at a lower voltage rate).
Regarding claim 6. Feng discloses that the at least one processor is configured to determine a communication timing to perform the PLC with the first power receiving device by using the first interface while charging the first power receiving device (column 17, lines 9-41 – charging timing is determined and the headphone is charged; column 22, lines 2-14 communication to enable fast charging by turning FETS on/off).
Regarding claim 11. Feng discloses that when it is detected that the first power receiving device is mounted in the first charging accommodation (FIG. 4A – determine wireless headphone is connected to the case 402), the at least one processor is further configured to:
request the first SOC information from the first power receiving device through the first interface (FIG. 4A – determine charge of wireless headphone 404), and receive the first SOC information from the first power receiving device (FIG. 4A - determine charge of wireless headphone 404; column 18, lines 10-15 – remaining charge).
Regarding claim 12. Feng discloses that the at least one charging parameter is converted in response to the first SOC information and the second SOC information (FIG. 4 at 406, 408; column 18, lines 16-25 – determine whether the charge is less than a first charge threshold and providing a charging).
Regarding claim 13. Feng discloses that the charging information of the external power device includes quick charging information column 6, lines 40-43 – external power sources transfers power to the batteries of the receiving devices; FIG. 4A at 412 fast charge).
Regarding claim 14. Feng discloses an operating method of a power supply device, the method comprising:
Receiving, by the power supply device from a first power receiving device through power line communication (PLC) based on a first interface (column 5, lines 41-45 the case receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication through an interface) first state of charge (SOC) information of the first power receiving device (102-1) mounted in a first charging accommodation (108-1) (column 20, lines 29-42 - the process 400 may transmit an indication to the case 100 indicating the charge (e.g., voltage) of the battery is less than the first charge threshold);
receiving, by the power supply device from a second power receiving device through the PLC based on a second interface (column 5, lines 41-45 the case receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication through an interface) second SOC information of a second power receiving device (102-2) mounted in a second charging accommodation (108-2) (column 20, lines 29-42 - the process 400 may transmit an indication to the case 100 indicating the charge (e.g., voltage) of the battery is less than the first charge threshold)
based on the first SOC information and the second SOC information received through the PLC (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously) (FIG. 4 at 406; column 18, lines16-25 – determine whether the charge is less than a first charge threshold) (column 5, lines 41-45 the case receives data, indications or other instructions where the communication is completed through a communication line between the devices thus being considered a power line communication through an interface), determining, by the power supply device, at least one charging parameter (FIG. 4 at 406; column 18, lines16-25 – determine whether the charge is less than a first charge threshold; FIG. 4A-B based on the charge level, the charging is different – i.e. trickle, pre-charge, fast, constant voltage – each has a different parameter);
charging, by the power supply device, the second power receiving device through the first interface and the second interface by applying a second charging voltage (column 3 lines 18-20 – output voltage supplied), or a second charging current (column 3 lines 4-10 – current supplied), simultaneously, (column 8 lines 16-32 – headphones charged simultaneously; FIG. 4 at 406 and 408 – column 18, lines16-45 – if the charge is less than a threshold then the battery is charged until it is equal or greater) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously);
wherein charging is performed in the second charging section based on a higher charging power, a higher charging voltage, or a higher charging current than a charging power, a charging voltage, or a charging current in the first charging section (column 8 lines 16-32 – charging may be performed at different rates depending on the respective battery levels/percentages).
Feng does not explicitly teach that based on a timing of the PLC, identify a first charging section in which PLC is not performed and a second charging section in which PLC is performed; based on the at least one charging parameter, the first charging section, and the second charging section, charge the first power receiving device through the first interface by applying a first charging voltage.
Ichikawa discloses that based on a timing of the PLC, identify a first charging section in which PLC is not performed (¶92 – PLC is turned off when the charging comes to an end ) and a second charging section in which PLC is performed (¶92 – PLC is started).
Ichikawa discloses that based on the at least one charging parameter (¶90 – Calculate the time for charging based on the SOC), the first charging section (¶92 – PLC is turned off when the charging comes to an end ), and the second charging section (¶92 – PLC is started), charge the first power receiving device through the first interface by applying a first charging voltage (FIG. 11-12; ¶92 – charging is determined for the length of time that the PLC is on to off)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the power line communication teaching of Ichikawa to the communication of Feng in order to enable continued communication throughout charging (¶12). Although Ichikawa is used in a vehicle, it is the aspect of the communication between the charging device and the device-to-be charged that is utilized. It would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a charging communication teaching could be applied between a device such as earbuds and a vehicle as the communication provides the same information regarding a battery.
Regarding claim 15. Feng discloses that based on the first SOC information is received through the first interface, determining, by the power supply device, the first charging voltage corresponding to the first SOC information (FIG. 4A - determine charge of wireless headphone 404; column 18, lines 10-15 – along with the remaining charge the voltage is also determined).
Feng discloses that based on third SOC information which is higher than the first SOC information being received through the first interface (FIG. 4A – 408 – charge is greater than a first charge threshold), determining by the power supply device, a third charging voltage which corresponds to the third SOC information and being higher than the first charging voltage (FIG. 4A – pre-charge until the charge is greater than the second charge threshold) (see further FIG. 3 at 302).
Regarding claim 16. Feng discloses that based on detecting charging from an external power device, transmitting by the power supply device charging information of the external power device to the first power receiving device through the first interface (column 6, lines 40-43 – external power sources transfers power to the batteries of the receiving devices; FIG. 4A 408, 410, 412, 414 – trickle charge, pre-charge, fast charge, constant voltage).
Regarding claim 17. Feng discloses that based on the first SOC information received through the first interface and the second SOC information received through the second interface being different (column 8, lines 16-20 – charging rate dependent on each of their respective battery levels or percentages thus the SOC may be different),
Determining, by the power supply device, the first charging voltage on the first SOC information with respect to the first power receiving device (FIG. 4A – 404- determine charge of wireless headphone) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously);
Determining, by the power supply device, the second charging voltage on the second SOC information with respect to the second power receiving device (FIG. 4A – 404- determine charge of wireless headphone) (column 23, lines 1-8 – headphones may perform the process in FIG. 4 simultaneously); and
based on the first charging voltage and the second charging voltage, charging, by the power supply device, the first power receiving device and the second power receiving device through the first interface and the second interface, respectively (column 8, lines 16-32 – each headphone charged based on their respective levels, computing demands and processes).
Regarding claim 18. Feng discloses that based on the first SOC information of the first power receiving device is lower than the second SOC information of the second power receiving device, determining, by the power supply device, the first charging voltage to be higher than the second charging voltage (column 16, lines 26-43 increased voltage serves to reduce charging time, thus if the first device has a lower state of charge below a threshold it is charged at a higher voltage to reduce time until it reaches a threshold voltage or percentage. Those devices over the threshold charge at a lower voltage rate).
Regarding claim 19. Feng discloses that based on detecting that the first power receiving device is mounted in the first charging accommodation (FIG. 4A – determine wireless headphone is connected to the case 402), requesting, by the power supply device, the first SOC information from the first power receiving device through the first interface (FIG. 4A – determine charge of wireless headphone 404); and
Receiving, by the power supply device the first SOC information from the first power receiving device (FIG. 4A - determine charge of wireless headphone 404; column 18, lines 10-15 – remaining charge).
Regarding claim 20. Feng discloses that the at least one charging parameter is converted in response to the first SOC information and the second SOC information (FIG. 4 at 406, 408; column 18, lines 16-25 – determine whether the charge is less than a first charge threshold and providing a charging).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. US11431185B1 in view of Ichikawa US20120098488A1 and further in view of Mizuno et al. US20160152154A1.
Regarding claim 9. Feng does not explicitly disclose in a third charging section from a time when it is detected that the first power receiving device is mounted in the first charging accommodation until a time when initial performance of the power line communication with the first power receiving device is completed, charge the first power receiving device based on a charging voltage of a designated level, and identify a fourth charging section in which the power line communication is not performed with the first power receiving device, and a fifth charging section in which PLC is performed with the first power receiving device, based on the communication timing.
Mizuno discloses in a third charging section from a time when it is detected that the first power receiving device is mounted in the first charging accommodation (t1) (FIG. 9; ¶124 – connector connected to the inlet at time t1) until a time when initial performance of the power line communication with the first power receiving device is completed (t2) (¶124 – CPLT starts oscillating at time t2), charge the first power receiving device based on a charging voltage of a designated level (9V), and
identify a fourth charging section in which the power line communication is not performed with the first power receiving device (switched off after t2), and a fifth charging section in which the PLC is performed with the first power receiving device (switched back on during the duty cycle after t2), based on the communication timing (timing is divided into sections).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the known duty cycle charging, as taught by Mizuno, to the charging system of Feng in order to manage the charging level and prevent potential damage to a battery.
Regarding claim 10. Feng does not explicitly teach in the fourth charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a first charging voltage corresponding to the first SOC information, and in the fifth charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a fourth charging voltage which is higher than the first charging voltage and is of a level that is the same as or different from the charging voltage of the designated level.
Mizuno discloses in the fourth charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a first charging voltage (0V) corresponding to the first SOC information (FIG. 9).
Mizuno discloses in the fifth charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a fourth charging voltage (9V) which is higher than the first charging voltage (0V) and is of a level that is the same as the charging voltage of the designated level (designated level and fourth charging voltage are the same).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the known duty cycle charging, as taught by Mizuno, to the charging system of Feng in order to manage the charging level and prevent potential damage to a battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, although the prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1, the prior art is silent as to “the at least one processor is further configured to: in the first charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a first charging voltage corresponding to the first SOC information, and in the second charging section, charge the first power receiving device based on a charging voltage that is variably converted between the first charging voltage and a fourth charging voltage which is higher than the first charging voltage”.
Regarding claim 21, although the prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1, the prior art is silent as to “in the first charging section of the timing of the PLC, charge at least one of the first power receiving device or the second power receiving device by using a first charging voltage stepped up from a voltage of the battery or a second charging voltage V2 stepped down from the voltage of the battery according to first SOC information and second SOC information, in the second charging section of the timing of the PLC, apply a margin to the first charging voltage or the second charging voltage and charge at least one of the first power receiving device or the second power receiving device based on a charging voltage higher than the first charging voltage or higher than the second charging voltage V2 according to application of the margin”.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859