DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment dated 06 February 2026. Claims 1, 11 and 19-31 are amended. No claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1, 11 and 19-31 remain pending and have been considered below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 21-24 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa (US 2010/0245630 A1) in view of Tutvid “#PSin30 – Secrets of the Navigator Panel! (Photoshop)”, published 02 December 2015, <URL: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38iv9dc-R54> and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2018/0069983 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Kurokawa teaches a device comprising:
a display; a camera; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions; [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraph 0026) ”the controlling section (central processing unit [CPU]) 20 runs programs stored in a program memory 30 described hereafter and controls the overall digital camera (imaging apparatus)”].
that executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to a first user input, on the object, selecting a first magnification that is among a plurality of magnifications that are greater than 1.0x magnification and less than a designated value in a first magnification range, display, on the display, a first image enlarged to the first magnification without displaying a guide map image [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraphs 0039, 0042 and Fig. 3 numeral 100) ”the controlling section (CPU) 20 judges whether or not the zoom magnification has exceeded a predetermined magnification (such as 3.times.) (Step S20) … when judged that the zoom magnification has not exceeded the predetermined magnification, the controlling section (CPU) 20 deletes the guidance image … when judged that the magnification has been changed from a high magnification to the predetermined magnification or lower, the controlling section (CPU) 20 stops the guidance screen and deletes the guidance image (Step S26)”]. Examiner notes that, as described and depicted in Fig. 3, image (numeral 100) can be zoomed up until 3x (i.e. predetermined magnification threshold) without displaying the guidance screen (numeral 50).
in response to a second user input, on the object, changing magnification relating to the camera from the first magnification to a second magnification, that is greater than or equal to the designated value, in the first magnification range, display a second image enlarged to the second magnification and the guide map image, in a designated area of the display, including a guide box having a first size, wherein the guide box indicates a location of the second image on the guide map image [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraphs 0039, 0045 and Fig. 3 numeral 50) ”the controlling section (CPU) 20 judges whether or not the zoom magnification has exceeded a predetermined magnification (such as 3.times.) (Step S20). When judged that the zoom magnification has exceeded the predetermined magnification, a guidance function is turned ON and a guidance screen is activated (Step S22) … FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing an example of a display example of the above-described guidance screen according to the embodiment. When a zoom operation in which an area indicated by a frame F1 is the angle-of-view is performed on a wide-angle image 100 during wide-angle imaging, image data (high magnification) 200 imaged after the zoom operation is displayed in the display section 25, and guidance image data (wide-angle image) 110 captured before the zoom operation and a frame F2 indicating a position corresponding to the current telephoto image are displayed within a guidance screen 50 with being superimposed on the through-image”]. Examiner notes that, as described and depicted in Fig. 3, zooming the image beyond 3x (numeral 200) causes display of the guidance screen (numeral 50).
Kurokawa does not specifically teach display, on the display, an object indicating a plurality of magnifications relating to the camera, in response to a third user input, on the object, changing magnification relating to the camera from the second magnification to a third magnification, that is greater than the second magnification, in the first magnification range, display a third image enlarged to the third magnification and the guide map image, in the designated area of the display, including the guide box having a second size, that is smaller than the first size, wherein the guide box indicates a location of the third image on the guide map image or wherein the guide box on the guide map image varies in size in response to a magnification change in the first magnification range. However, in the same field of invention, Tutvid teaches:
display, on the display, an object indicating a plurality of magnifications relating to the camera [(e.g. see Tutvid @00:36-00:43) the user can zoom through the magnification levels using the slider].
in response to a third user input, on the object, changing magnification relating to the camera from the second magnification to a third magnification, that is greater than the second magnification, in the first magnification range, display a third image enlarged to the third magnification and the guide map image, in the designated area of the display, including the guide box having a second size, that is smaller than the first size, wherein the guide box indicates a location of the third image on the guide map image [(e.g. see Tutvid @0:24-0:26, 0:36-0:43) zooming to 400%, 500%, 600%, etc. causes the red bounding box within the navigator guide, representing the currently zoomed-in portion, to become smaller in size compared to 300% zoom].
wherein the guide box on the guide map image varies in size in response to a magnification change in the first magnification range [(e.g. see Tutvid @00:36-00:43) the user dragging the slider to change the zoom level causes the red bounding box within the navigator guide to vary in size based on the selected zoom level].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kurokawa and Tutvid, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add display, on the display, an object indicating a plurality of magnifications relating to the camera, in response to a third user input, on the object, changing magnification relating to the camera from the second magnification to a third magnification, that is greater than the second magnification, in the first magnification range, display a third image enlarged to the third magnification and the guide map image, in the designated area of the display, including the guide box having a second size, that is smaller than the first size, wherein the guide box indicates a location of the third image on the guide map image and wherein the guide box on the guide map image varies in size in response to a magnification change in the first magnification range, as taught by Tutvid, to the teachings of Kurokawa because it allows the user to quickly navigate to a different part of the image even when extremely zoomed-in (e.g. see Tutvid @01:07-01:14).
Kurokawa and Tutvid do not specifically teach wherein the first image, the second image, the third image and the guide map image are live preview images acquired from the camera. However, in the same field of invention, Cho teaches:
wherein the first image, the second image, the third image and the guide map image are live preview images acquired from the camera [(e.g. see Cho paragraphs 0027, 0185, 0214, 0229 and Fig. 12) ”The terminal 100 according to various embodiments of the present invention may provide a zoom function centering on a selected object from a preview image captured by the camera 121. The terminal 100 may provide a smart zoom for enlarging/reducing the selected object in optimal or maximal size, and may display a mini map at an original magnification … The controller may track the selected object in the captured preview image and control the display unit to display the selected object … the terminal 100 may display a preview image taken through the camera 121 on the display unit 151. The terminal 100 may obtain an input for selecting a prescribed subject 750 from the displayed preview image and mark the selected subject 750 with a focus indicator. If the selected subject 750 moves along a moving path 755, the terminal 100 can adjust the moving subject 750 to be displayed on a center of a display region of the display unit 151 … the controller 180 may display an enlarged image 1230 for a selected subject and also display a zoom slide 1280 on a prescribed region. On the zoom slide 1280, the controller 180 may display a slide bar 1287 at a point corresponding to a magnification of the currently displayed image 1230. The controller 180 may display a mini map 1270 at an original magnification on a prescribed region of the display unit 151. Herein, the original magnification may mean a magnification of a preview image failing to zoom in or out. On the displayed mini map 1270, the controller 180 may display a current region indicator 1275 indicating a region corresponding to the enlarged image 1230 currently displayed”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the first image, the second image, the third image and the guide map image are live preview images acquired from the camera, as taught by Cho, to the teachings of Kurokawa and Tutvid because it enables a user to capture a desired subject easily (e.g. see Cho paragraph 0032).
As for independent claim 11, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach a method. Claim 11 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
As for dependent claim 27, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kurokawa further teaches:
wherein the instructions, that executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: while the guide map image is displayed in the designated area of the display, in response to magnification relating to the camera being reduced to less than the designated value based on a user input on the object, remove display of the guide map image from the designated area of the display [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraph 0042) ”Conversely, when judged that the zoom magnification has not exceeded the predetermined magnification, the controlling section (CPU) 20 deletes the guidance image. Alternatively, when judged that the magnification has been changed from a high magnification to the predetermined magnification or lower, the controlling section (CPU) 20 stops the guidance screen and deletes the guidance image (Step S26)”].
As for dependent claim 28, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kurokawa further teaches:
wherein the instructions, that executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: in response to a change in at least one of a size or proportion of a preview image displayed on the display, resize at least one of a size or a proportion of the guide map image displayed in the designated area, so as to correspond to at least one of the changed size or the changed proportion of the preview image [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraph 0050 and Fig. 7) ”Moreover, as the example shown in FIG. 7, the through-image being imaged may be reduced and the guidance screen 50 may be displayed next to the through-image so as not to overlap. As described above, the size (ratio to the through-image) and the position of the guidance screen 50 may be changed arbitrarily by user operation”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Fig. 7, in the non-overlapping embodiment, any change to the size of the image or guidance screen will result in a corresponding size change to the image or guidance screen.
As for dependent claim 29, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the device as described in claim 1 and Kurokawa further teaches:
wherein the instructions, that executed by the at least one processor, further cause the electronic device to: receive a drag touch input on the display for changing a location of the guide map image; and in response to the drag touch input, change the location of the guide map image [(e.g. see Kurokawa paragraph 0049 and Figs. 6A-C) ”various display configurations can be conceived regarding the display configuration of the guidance screen. In the example shown in FIG. 6A, the guidance screen 50 is displayed with being superimposed on the through-image 200, and as shown in FIG. 6B, the position of the guidance screen 50 may be moved arbitrarily by user designation such as through the use of a cursor button or by the touch panel being touched. In addition, as shown in FIG. 6C, the size of the guidance screen 50 may be changed (enlarged or reduced) by a corner section or a frame portion of the guidance screen 50 being dragged”].
As for dependent claim 30, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the device as described in claim 1, but Kurokawa does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Tutvid teaches:
wherein a location of the guide box on the guide map image is fixed to a central area on the guide map image regardless of the magnification change in the first magnification range [(e.g. see Tutvid @00:24-00:28, 00:38-00:43) when the user changes the magnification level, the red bounding box within the navigator guide remains fixed to the center of the guide while it increases or decreases in size].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 21, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the method as described in claim 11; further, claim 21 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 27. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 27.
As for dependent claim 22, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the method as described in claim 11; further, claim 22 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 28. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 28.
As for dependent claim 23, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the method as described in claim 11; further, claim 23 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 29. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 29.
As for dependent claim 24, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach the method as described in claim 11; further, claim 24 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 30. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 30.
As for independent claim 31, Kurokawa, Tutvid and Cho teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage media. Claim 31 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 06 February 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that [“Kurokawa and Tutvid do not describe the features recited in claim 1 in the context of the feature ‘wherein the first image, second image, the third image and the guide map image are live preview images acquired from the camera’ as recited in [amended] claim 1.” (Page 11).].
The argument described above, in paragraph number 7, with respect to the newly added limitations to the independent claims has been considered, but is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2022/0394190 A1 issued to Cui et al. on 08 December 2022. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1, 11 and 19-31 (e.g. preview camera viewfinder).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174